Military Review

General Douglas. Sky of madrid

2
General Douglas. Sky of madrid


An accompanying note written by the Deputy Chief of the Red Army Air Force, Commander Smushkevich, addressed to USSR Commissar for Defense Marshal KE Voroshilov, October 8 1939.

“I am sending you material, once compiled by Comrade Serov, on the creation of a special fighter group at the disposal of the command. The experience of our further combat work fully confirmed the need to have at the disposal of the high command a strong fighter maneuver group that, by its appearance on the decisive section of the front, would make a turning point in the air and together with the rest aviation "this front gained air supremacy, while in peacetime such a group would serve as a development and dissemination of fighter culture among all parts of the Air Force."


And then follows the attached detailed letter of Serov, where he proposes an idea that will be implemented during the second world war - first by the Germans in the person of the famous “cheerful guys”, and then by ours. In particular, one of these elite regiments will be assembled by Vasily Stalin under his wing (I think I already said that he liked to do team building?). But more than the very advanced idea, I was pleased with the names, its surrounding. Serov (about which I will definitely tell sometime) is, of course, bright and beautiful, but in this case his authorship raises serious doubts. No, it was written, of course, with his hand, but who owned the idea was actually a big question. For Smushkevich ... However, first things first.

For the first time about him talking after a civil war in Spain, in which he participated as a volunteer. Under the pseudonym "General Douglas" he not only led the Soviet and republican aviation, but also personally participated in air battles. Under his leadership, our fighters successfully fought off air attacks on Madrid, for the first time conducted a night battle. Hermann Goering appointed the German pilot, who will kill General Douglas, a prize in the 1 000 000 marks. For the successful organization of the fight against enemy aviation, personal courage and heroism in battles, Yakov Vladimirovich Smushkevich 21 of June 1937 was awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union. Then there was Khalkhin-Gol, where Smushkevich actually directs Soviet aviation and for which he receives the second star of the hero. During the break, there was a severe accident, a leg injury, an operation from which Yakov Vladimirovich never recovered. He continued to work in hospitals, because he was appointed assistant to the chief of the General Staff of the Red Army for aviation.

And in 41, a few days before the war began, they came for him. He did not wait for the trial: the troops retreated from Kuybyshev and it was not with the hand to take out political prisoners. According to some versions, Zhukov had a hand in his arrest, removing too dangerous competitors who had shared Khalkhin-Gol glory with him, while others were the work of Beria, against whom Smushkevich had the imprudence to come forward defending the repressed comrade.
I will not go deep into the biography of this wonderful man, for I wanted to tell you about something else. I talked about the letter Serov. I will not say anything myself, I will cite one episode from Golovanov’s book, noting in brackets that the letter that will be discussed gave rise to the creation of ADD, at the head of which they put just Golovanov and which became one of the most successful units in the Soviet military aviation. The candidacy of the commander, admittedly, was chosen just perfect ...

31 December 1940 was noisy and festive in the House of Pilots (now here is the Sovetskaya Hotel). Pilots with their wives, comrades, relatives and lovely heart girls met a new, 1941 year.

Behind many - Khalkhin-Gol, the liberation of Western Belarus and Western Ukraine, the war with the White Finns. There was something to talk about: most of each other had not seen for a long time.

The People's Commissar of the Aviation Industry Alexey Ivanovich Shakhurin and his wife sat with us at the table, Air Force Inspector General Yakov Vladimirovich Smushkevich, who recaptured in Spain and Khalkhin-Gol in the rank of the actual commander of our Air Force and enjoyed great authority and love among the flight crew; as well as Mikhail Fedorovich Kartushev, new deputy chief of the Civil Air fleet, also with his wife.

Here I must say that our crew, with whom I happened to take part in two military campaigns, was carrying the dream of making a distant, in any weather, non-stop flight or flying around the globe in the shortest possible time. We have already trained, having made, in particular, a flight from Mongolia to Moscow in less than a day, including here the time of all landings and gas stations. At that time it meant something. In Mongolia, more than once we have been in the air eighteen hours a day.

An unexpected acquaintance with the People's Commissar of the aviation industry excited me. I didn’t stop thinking about that cherished thing that our crew lived. But how to approach this now, which side to approach? Having thought it over, I decided that since I’m a bad diplomat, I’ll not be able to come up with a subtle approach, but immediately put the “selfish” question before a person with whom I had just met, found it indecent. I decided to postpone this matter, consult with the crew and in the near future ask Alexei Ivanovich to receive us. These were the thoughts that wandered in my head that night, and the mood made them even better.

Mikhail Fedorovich Kartushev and I have sometimes met before in various cases directly related to our crew. During the Finnish campaign, he somehow even flew with us and was interested in how we were on an unarmed aircraft - after all, we were pilots of the Civil Air Fleet - during the day, hiding behind clouds, we perform tasks over the territory of Finland. But this, in fact, our relationship ended. Ya. V. Smushkevich was more familiar to me at our table than others. With his simplicity, he somehow surprisingly quickly attracted people to him. With him it was possible to start a conversation on any topic, without fear that you will be misunderstood.

Having apologized to my wife, I sat down beside Ya. V. Smushkevich and, picking up courage, without any frills, I began to state the essence of the matter, asking Yakov Vladimirovich to help us, begging for us. I even began to prove to him that we would not let him down - he knows our crew - that we are capable of more difficult things, and so on and so forth. Apparently, champagne has done its job. But having looked at the pensive and silent Smushkevich, I realized that I hadn't said anything too much?

For a while we both sat in silence. Turning around, I saw my wife shaking her head in disapproval. The light hops immediately evaporated, everything fell into place, and I was about to apologize for being indiscreet, get up and leave, as Yakov Vladimirovich raised his head, looked into my eyes and said:

- Have you ever thought about our aviation, its combat capability during the battles on Khalkhin-Gol and in the Finnish campaign?

It seemed to me that Smushkevich did not listen and did not hear my hot speech just delivered: his question was from a completely different area.

Thank God, I thought. “A man, even now, on New Year's Eve, is busy with affairs, and I climbed to him, albeit with an important question for us, but not at the right time.”

Without being prepared to answer such an unexpected and very serious question, I was silent.

- Did you, Comrade Golovanov, knowing all the subtleties of flight, never thought about it?

“It’s good that he didn’t hear anything!” I rejoiced.

- You are dreaming about long-distance flights, about flying around the globe ... I have no doubt you can do it. But it seems to me that in the interests of the business you should take up another, more important issue. I myself thought to talk to you about it. But since you started talking about flights, let's discuss it now. Fortunately everyone is dancing and busy with themselves.

I looked where my wife was sitting. She was not there.

- Do not you mind? - asked Smushkevich.

- What do you! - I replied, and all turned to the ear.

Yakov Vladimirovich began to talk about Spain, about what excellent combat pilots we have, how bravely they fought aerial battles, how bombers flew to bombing almost without any cover. I knew this from the participants of the battles themselves.

“However,” continued Smushkevich, “everything was fine while the weather was good. Meteorological conditions deteriorated - and everything looked different. Blind flights, flights out of sight of the earth are our stumbling block, and although we still from there, from Spain, raised these issues, the war with the White Finns again confirmed the poor fitness of the flight crews to fly in bad weather, their inability to use radio navigation equipment. Practically, as you know, ”concluded Smushkevich,“ our bomber aircraft did not take any serious part in this war.

Yakov Vladimirovich was silent. The silence lasted for quite a while. All thoughts flashed through my head, but no matter how hard I tried to understand why he started talking about this to me, I didn’t think of anything.

- Yakov Vladimirovich, and what, actually, should I do? What do I have to do with all this? I am a civilian pilot, Aeroflot chief-pilot, and nothing more.

- You, Comrade Golovanov, must write a letter to Comrade Stalin.

I was amazed. At first I even thought that I had misheard.

- Comrade Stalin ?!

“Yes, to him,” answered Smushkevich calmly.

Finally, I clearly understood that a serious, important conversation was being conducted with me, which had been thought out beforehand, and not just originated here, under the influence of champagne or a good mood.

- What should I write to Comrade Stalin? - I asked.

- You are obliged to write that for two years you are in contact with the flight work of the Air Force and understand that the issues of blind flights and the use of radionavigation means do not give proper importance, that the comrades at the head of this case are weak in these matters. As a confirmation, cite as an example the poor use of bombers in the Finnish campaign. Next write that you can take up this matter and put it to the proper height. That's all.

Simply put, I was dumbfounded. Write such notes, and even Stalin! Who knows me there? That way you can pass for blessing and insolent.

In general, the questions about which Yakov Vladimirovich spoke, really matured and had important state significance, but I considered them, at least, indecent, to put them, as he suggested, straight in the forehead.

All this I expressed immediately Smushkevichu. In conclusion, asked why he himself, the inspector general of the Air Force, would not take up this business? He is twice a Hero of the Soviet Union, a deputy of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR, he is of great authority among the pilots, behind his shoulders Spain and Khalkhin Gol!

After a short silence, Yakov Vladimirovich replied that he does not have such an opportunity now, and it is unlikely that serious attention will now be paid to his report.

His answer surprised me and puzzled me ...

“As for you,” Smushkevich continued his thought, “you should not think that no one knows you.” Your amazing flights (he put it this way) during the Finnish events were more than once described to Comrade Stalin and Kulik, and Mehlis, as direct participants and witnesses of these flights. Your note will attract attention ...
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. realist
    realist 26 October 2013 15: 02
    0
    I wonder when the Red Army retreated from Kuibyshev?
  2. 1969s9691g.
    1969s9691g. 2 December 2013 18: 56
    0
    about Smushkevich is well written in the book "Heroes of the Soviet Union executed by firing squad" series "military secrets of the 20th century."

Генерал Дуглас. Небо Мадрида

Генерал Дуглас. Небо Мадрида

Сопроводительная записка, написанная заместителем начальника ВВС РККА комкором Смушкевичем, адресованная наркому обороны СССР маршалу Ворошилову К.Е., от 8 октября 1939 года.

«Направляю вам материал, в свое время составленный тов.Серовым о создании особой истребительной группы в распоряжении командования. Опыт нашей дальнейшей боевой работы целиком подтвердил необходимость иметь в распоряжении главного командования крепкую истребительную маневренную группу, которая бы своим появлением на решающем участке фронта делала перелом в воздушной обстановке и вместе с остальной авиацией данного фронта завоевывала господство в воздухе, в мирное же время такая группа служила бы отработкой и распространением истребительной культуры среди всех частей ВВС.»



И далее следует прикрепленное подробное письмо Серова, где он предлагает идею, которая будет реализована во время второй мировой – сначала немцами в лице знаменитых «веселых ребят», а затем и нашими. В частности, один из таких элитных полков как раз соберет под своим крылом Василий Сталин (кажется, я уже говорила, что он любил заниматься тим-билдингом?). Но больше, чем сама передовая идея, меня порадовали фамилии, ее окружающие. Серов (о котором я еще обязательно расскажу когда-нибудь), конечно, светел и прекрасен, но в данном случае его авторство вызывает серьезные сомнения. Нет, написано это, разумеется, его рукой, но вот кому принадлежала идея, - на самом деле большой вопрос. Ибо Смушкевич… Впрочем, обо всем по порядку.

Впервые о нем заговорили после гражданской войны в Испании, в которой он участвовал добровольцем. Под псевдонимом «генерал Дуглас» он не только руководил советской и республиканской авиацией, но и лично участвовал в воздушных боях. Под его руководством наши истребители успешно отбивали воздушные атаки на Мадрид, впервые провели ночной бой. Герман Геринг назначил тому немецкому летчику, который собьет генерала Дугласа, приз в 1 000 000 марок. За успешную организацию борьбы с авиацией противника, личное мужество и героизм в боях Якову Владимировичу Смушкевичу 21 июня 1937 года было присвоено звание Героя Советского Союза. Затем был Халхин-Гол, где Смушкевич фактически руководит советской авиацией и за который получает вторую звезду героя. В перерыве – тяжелая авария, травма ног, операции, от которых Яков Владимирович так и не оправился. Работать продолжал и в больницах, потому что был назначен помощником начальника генерального штаба РККА по авиации.

А в 41 году за несколько дней до начала войны за ним пришли. Суда он так и не дождался: войска отступали от Куйбышева и вывозить политзаключенных было не с руки. По некоторым версиям, к его аресту приложил руку Жуков, убиравший слишком опасных конкурентов, деливших с ним славу Халхин-Гола, по другим – это дело рук Берии, против которого Смушкевич имел неосторожность выступить, защищая репрессированного товарища.
Не буду сильно углубляться в биографию этого замечательного человека, ибо я хотела рассказать о другом. Я говорила о том письме Серова. Сама ничего говорить не буду, приведу один эпизод из книги Голованова, заметив в скобках, что то письмо, о котором пойдет речь, послужило толчком к созданию АДД, во главе которой поставили как раз Голованова и которая стала одним из самых успешных подразделений в советской военной авиации. Кандидатура командующего, надо признать, подобрана была просто идеально...

Шумно и празднично было 31 декабря 1940 года в Доме летчиков (теперь здесь гостиница «Советская»). Пилоты со своими женами, товарищами, родственникам и милыми сердцу девушками встречали новый, 1941 год.

За плечами многих — Халхин-Гол, освобождение Западной Белоруссии и Западной Украины, война с белофиннами. Было о чем поговорить: большинство друг друга давно не видели.

С нами за столиком сидели нарком авиационной промышленности Алексей Иванович Шахурин с женой, генеральный инспектор ВВС Яков Владимирович Смушкевич, отвоевавший в Испании и на Халхин-Голе в ранге фактического командующего нашими Военно-Воздушными Силами и пользовавшийся большим авторитетом и любовью в среде летного состава; а также Михаил Федорович Картушев, новый заместитель начальника Гражданского воздушного флота, тоже со своей женой.

Здесь надо сказать, что наш экипаж, с которым мне довелось принимать участие в двух военных кампаниях, вынашивал мечту совершить дальний, в любую погоду, беспосадочный перелет или полет вокруг земного шара в минимально короткий срок. Мы уже тренировались, совершив, в частности, перелет из Монголии в Москву менее чем за сутки, включая сюда и время всех посадок и заправок. В ту пору это кое-что значило. В Монголии же нам не раз доводилось бывать в воздухе по восемнадцать часов в сутки.

Неожиданное знакомство с наркомом авиационной промышленности взбудоражило меня. Я ведь не переставал думать о том заветном, чем жил наш экипаж. Но как сейчас подступиться к этому, с какой стороны подойти? Подумав, решил, что поскольку дипломат я плохой, значит, тонко подойти не сумею, а сразу ставить «шкурный» вопрос перед человеком, с которым только что познакомился, счел неприличным. Решил отложить это дело, посоветоваться с экипажем и в ближайшее же время попросить Алексея Ивановича принять нас. Вот какие мысли бродили в ту ночь в моей голове, и от них настроение становилось еще лучше.

С Михаилом Федоровичем Картушевым мы иногда встречались прежде по различным делам, непосредственно касавшимся нашего экипажа. Во время финской кампании он как-то даже летал с нами и интересовался, как это мы на невооруженном самолете — ведь мы были летчиками Гражданского воздушного флота — днем, прикрываясь облачностью, выполняем задания над территорией Финляндии. Но на этом, собственно, наши взаимоотношения и заканчивались. Больше других за нашим столом был мне знаком Я. В. Смушкевич. Своей простотой он как-то удивительно быстро располагал к себе людей. С ним можно было заводить разговор на любые темы, не боясь, что будешь неправильно понят.

Извинившись перед женой, я сел рядом с Я. В. Смушкевичем и, набравшись храбрости, безо всяких обиняков начал излагать суть дела, прося, чтобы Яков Владимирович оказал нам содействие, похлопотал за нас. Я даже принялся доказывать ему, что мы его не подведем, — он наш экипаж знает, — что мы способны и на более трудные дела и так далее, и тому подобное. Видимо, шампанское свое дело сделало. Но поглядев на задумчивого и молчаливого Смушкевича, я спохватился: уж не наговорил ли чего лишнего?

Некоторое время оба мы сидели молча. Обернувшись, я увидел жену, неодобрительно качавшую головой. Легкий хмель сразу испарился, все стало на свои места, и я уже собрался было извиниться за проявленную нескромность, встать и уйти, как Яков Владимирович поднял голову, посмотрел мне в глаза и сказал:

— А вы думали когда-нибудь о нашей авиации, о ее боеспособности во время боев на Халхин-Голе и в финскую кампанию?

Мне показалось, что Смушкевич не слушал и не слышал моей, только что произнесенной жаркой речи: его вопрос был совсем из другой области.

«Слава Богу, — подумал я. — Человек даже сейчас, под Новый год, занят делами, а я полез к нему хотя и с важным для нас вопросом, но совсем не вовремя».

Не будучи подготовленным к ответу на столь неожиданный и очень серьезный вопрос, я молчал.

— Неужели вы, товарищ Голованов, зная все тонкости летного дела, никогда над этим не задумывались?

«Как хорошо, что он ничего не слышал!» — обрадовался я.

— Вы мечтаете о дальних полетах, о том, чтобы облететь вокруг земного шара... Не сомневаюсь, вы сможете это сделать. Но, мне кажется, в интересах дела вы должны заняться другим, более важным вопросом. Я сам думал поговорить с вами об этом. Но коль скоро вы затеяли разговор о полетах, давайте обсудим это сейчас. Благо все танцуют и заняты собой.

Я взглянул туда, где сидела моя жена. Ее на месте не было.

— Не возражаете? — спросил Смушкевич.

— Что вы! — ответил я и весь обратился в слух.

Яков Владимирович стал говорить об Испании, о том, какие у нас отличные боевые летчики, как они храбро вели воздушные бои, как бомбардировщики почти без всякого прикрытия летали на бомбежку. Это знал и я от самих участников боев.

— Однако, — продолжал Смушкевич, — все шло отлично, пока стояла хорошая погода. Портились метеорологические условия — и все выглядело по-иному. Слепые полеты, полеты вне видимости земли — это наш камень преткновения, и хотя мы еще оттуда, из Испании, поднимали эти вопросы, война с белофиннами снова подтвердила слабую подготовленность массы летного состава к полетам в плохую погоду, их неумение пользоваться средствами радионавигации. Практически, как вы знаете, — сказал в заключение Смушкевич, — наша бомбардировочная авиация не принимала сколь-либо серьезного участия в этой войне.

Яков Владимирович умолк. Молчание длилось довольно долго. Всякие мысли мелькали у меня в голове, но сколько я ни силился понять, почему он заговорил об этом именно со мной, так ни до чего и не додумался.

— Яков Владимирович, а что, собственно, я должен делать? Какое я имею отношение ко всему этому? Я гражданский летчик, шеф-пилот Аэрофлота, и только.

— Вы, товарищ Голованов, должны написать письмо товарищу Сталину.

Я был поражен. Сначала даже подумал, что ослышался.

— Товарищу Сталину?!

— Да, ему, — спокойно ответил Смушкевич.

Наконец, я отчетливо понял, что со мной ведется серьезный, важный разговор, который был заранее обдуман, а не просто возник здесь, под влиянием шампанского или хорошего настроения.

— Что же я должен написать товарищу Сталину? — спросил я.

— Вы обязаны написать, что в течение двух лет соприкасаетесь с летной работой ВВС и поняли, что вопросам слепых полетов и использования средств радионавигации надлежащего значения не придают, что товарищи, стоящие во главе этого дела, сами слабы в этих вопросах. Как подтверждение приведите для примера плохое использование бомбардировщиков в финскую кампанию. Далее напишите, что вы можете взяться за это дело и поставить его на должную высоту. Вот и все.

Попросту говоря, я был ошарашен. Писать такие записки, да еще Сталину! Кто меня там знает? Этак можно сойти за бахвала и наглеца.

В общем, вопросы, о которых говорил Яков Владимирович, действительно назрели и имели важное государственное значение, но ставить их, как предлагал он, прямо в лоб я считал для себя, по меньшей мере, неприличным.

Все это я и высказал тут же Смушкевичу. В заключение спросил, почему он сам, генеральный инспектор ВВС, не возьмется за это дело? Он дважды Герой Советского Союза, депутат Верховного Совета СССР, он большой авторитет у летчиков, за его плечами Испания и Халхин-Гол!

Немного помолчав, Яков Владимирович ответил, что он не имеет сейчас такой возможности, и вряд ли на его докладную обратят в настоящее время серьезное внимание.

Ответ его меня и удивил, и озадачил...

— Что касается вас, — продолжил свою мысль Смушкевич, — то вы напрасно думаете, что вас никто не знает. Ваши удивительные полеты (он выразился именно так) во время финских событий не раз описывались товарищу Сталину и Куликом, и Мехлисом, как непосредственными участниками и свидетелями этих полетов. Ваша записка привлечет к себе внимание...


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. реалист 26 октября 2013 15:02
    Интересно, когда Красная Армия отступала от Куйбышева?
    реалист
  2. 1969с9691г. 2 декабря 2013 18:56
    про смушкевича хорошо написано в книге "расстреляные Герои Советского Союза".серия "военные тайны 20-го века".
    1969с9691г.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня