Military Review

In the US, a student helped create a fifth generation target aircraft

21
The technical project of one of the American students allowed the US Department of Defense to save hundreds of millions of dollars when creating air targets that simulate fifth-generation airplanes. According to "Warspot" With reference to the press service of Sierra Technical Services, the US military has signed a contract to assemble the second prototype 5GAT (5th Generation Aerial Target) aerial target.


In the US, a student helped create a fifth generation target aircraft


Target aircraft for training the pilots of the US Air Force were created by refitting manned vehicles. For example, an unmanned target plane QF-4 was created based on the F-4, and the remote-controlled QF-16 was made from the F-16. With the advent of fifth-generation aircraft, the need arose for targets that mimic "stealth planes." However, due to the fact that the cost of creating a target aircraft is comparable to the price of a manned vehicle, it was decided to abandon this technique and postpone the issue for a while.

Then the project became interested in the US Air Force Academy. In 2008, the cadets presented their work on this topic and one of the projects interested the Pentagon. Three years later, in 2011, the work of the same student received funding from the Ministry of Defense.

First, work on the projects were carried out at the US Air Force Academy. The target aircraft was called 5GAT. The drone has a simple triangular wing shape and weighs only 545 kg. The full-size model was tested in a wind tunnel and showed excellent results. At the final stage of development, engineers who had previously participated in the creation of the F-5 connected to the creation of 22GAT.

The air target 5GAT is designed in the form of a twin-engine aircraft with jet propulsion systems. The aircraft will receive a diamond-shaped wing in plan and two keels deflected to the sides. The target airframe will be 95 percent made of composite materials.

In 2017, the US Department of Defense transferred the groundwork for the 5GAT project to Sierra Technical Services and ordered the assembly of the first prototype. The second order for the assembly of the air target 5GAT company received 21 March of this year. The cost of the target does not exceed 16 million.

It is assumed that the target aircraft will be used by the military for training fighter pilots and air defense calculations.
Photos used:
Sierra Technical Services
21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. poquello
    poquello 22 March 2019 14: 27
    +1
    here a similar article was about our young crazy hands, so there at least it was said about some new solution
    1. Nord2015
      Nord2015 22 March 2019 14: 32
      10
      And I remember the report, as a young talent created an invulnerable miracle tank. The venerable designers carefully studied the layout of the tank made of cardboard. I will not name the country of invention.
      1. poquello
        poquello 22 March 2019 14: 34
        +1
        Quote: Nord2015
        And I remember the report, as a young talent created an invulnerable miracle tank. The venerable designers carefully studied the layout of the tank made of cardboard. I will not name the country of invention.

        in vain Ukrainians did not take it into development and did not connect stronghold designers to the project, and they want to copy the Americans
        1. The comment was deleted.
      2. The comment was deleted.
      3. Kuroneko
        Kuroneko 22 March 2019 15: 07
        +4
        Quote: Nord2015
        And I remember the report, as a young talent created an invulnerable miracle tank. The venerable designers carefully studied the layout of the tank made of cardboard.

        The talent at the same time, with paternal severity, taught all this stupid old man of design engineers, chewing the poor basics of tank building.
        1. figwam
          figwam 22 March 2019 15: 48
          +2
          Then the project became interested in the US Air Force Academy.

          Thousands of engineers in the American defense industry could not make the aircraft a target? Well, this is another nonsense.
  2. andrewkor
    andrewkor 22 March 2019 14: 43
    +7
    I remember exactly that the first contract for drones, about 30 years ago, was received by one famous American aircraft modeller! So there is nothing surprising.
  3. 2329 Carpenter
    2329 Carpenter 22 March 2019 14: 51
    +7
    In the 30s, a student from Göttingen generally came up with a turbojet engine. He quickly got to Heinkel, and as a result, the jet began to fly in the 38th.
    1. Kuroneko
      Kuroneko 22 March 2019 15: 14
      +7
      And another eccentric student (in a different letter) even launched social networks, and this infection is worse than a zombie creature since then continues to triumphantly march across the planet.
      1. 2329 Carpenter
        2329 Carpenter 22 March 2019 15: 22
        +5
        Wow, these damn social networks! am
        As I climb into VO - he did what at home!
        Yes, and the middle of affairs - hardly
        Last Friday, lads!
        good drinks
  4. NEXUS
    NEXUS 22 March 2019 14: 55
    +1
    Visually, it looks like the SU-57 in forms ... but such a target aircraft will not be able to give out everything that the SU-57 is capable of, both in speed and in over-maneuverability.
    I think that the distant similarity with SU-57 will only be visual. But is the point in such a target, even if it is not approximately capable of behaving, like a real enemy fighter?
    1. evgen1221
      evgen1221 22 March 2019 15: 02
      +2
      Well, take an interest in aircraft modeling - impellers plus a glider design allow models to cruise with the tail to fly forward, and real ones cannot.
      1. NEXUS
        NEXUS 22 March 2019 15: 05
        0
        Quote: evgen1221
        Well, take an interest in aircraft modeling - impellers plus a glider design allow models to cruise with the tail to fly forward, and real ones cannot.

        This is not an air model, but a full-size aircraft in fact. And as a target aircraft, he is obliged to issue parameters as close as possible to the original in flight and in aerial combat. I doubt very much that this prototype is capable of this.
    2. KVU-NSVD
      KVU-NSVD 22 March 2019 15: 07
      +4
      Quote: NEXUS
      But is the point in such a target, even if it is not approximately capable of behaving, like a real enemy fighter?

      The drone has the main thing for imitation - stealth (radio-transparent composites) and speed (jet engines) It is capable of programmable maneuvers without extreme - in general, it is enough for training pilots to detect a stealthy enemy and electronic missile launches. And training in the "dump for dogs" in this case is not supposed.
  5. san4es
    san4es 22 March 2019 14: 58
    +1
    Target aircraft for training pilots of the American Air Force were created by the re-equipment of manned vehicles. For example, on the basis of the F-4, an unmanned target aircraft QF-4 was created ...
    .... and from the F-16 they made a remotely controlled QF-16 .... hi
  6. rocket757
    rocket757 22 March 2019 15: 31
    0
    I blinded you out of that sho!
    In principle, it’s possible .... And the wards outdid, there the schoolchildren are super super sculpting projects, and the students have stripes!
  7. sir_obs
    sir_obs 22 March 2019 18: 49
    -1
    Then the project became interested in the US Air Force Academy. In 2008, the cadets presented their work on this topic and one of the projects interested the Pentagon. Three years later, in 2011, the work of the same student received funding from the Ministry of Defense.


    That is, some student invented something there, it is unclear in which year, but certainly until 2008. And already in 2019, the Ministry of Defense transferred the best practices based on this very talent to work

    In 2017, the US Department of Defense transferred the groundwork for the 5GAT project to Sierra Technical Services and ordered the assembly of the first prototype. The second order for the assembly of the air target 5GAT company received 21 March of this year. The cost of the target does not exceed 16 million.


    Or the student even invented such an intricate complex that they had been trying for several years to understand how it was and why. Or so simple that it again had to be worked out for so many years. and then pass on even smarter to manufacture. And again, it is not known how long it will take and what will happen.

    I wonder what he proposed so new from the very beginning.
  8. bone1
    bone1 22 March 2019 22: 07
    0
    Target aircraft were created by remaking manned vehicles? laughing - finally, what kind of student guessed to use the model - couldn’t he guess without him? laughing
  9. rtutaloe
    rtutaloe 22 March 2019 22: 37
    +1
    People from the system are locked in their box of thinking. A free man gives a new thought.

    Given the tactics of using American long-range air missiles from the layout, it is not necessary to completely copy the enemy’s aircraft. Enough to comply with the general basic principles. Important in this project price and features. Yes, before they used their retreating planes as targets. Now they are trying to extend the service life of aircraft, so the creation of targets is quite relevant.
  10. aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo 24 March 2019 01: 28
    0
    Quote: Nord2015
    And I remember the report, as a young talent created an invulnerable miracle tank. The venerable designers carefully studied the layout of the tank made of cardboard. I will not name the country of invention.


    I support your desire not to reveal the country. For the project is so secret that Putin’s spies can steal not only cardboard from which the designed tank destroyed the terrorists, but also the inventor himself. They will be shackled to the battery in their sharashka on Novaya Zemlya and forced to forge weapons against their native Nenko.
  11. aleksandrmakedo
    aleksandrmakedo 24 March 2019 01: 32
    0
    So what? At the age of 12, I also made airplanes flying on the strength of rubber from a slingshot. Why didn’t they take me into the developers of military equipment? Apparently, because I was then under the guise of an all-powerful KGB.
  12. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 24 March 2019 23: 21
    0
    they are great, but why are they looking for a target developer - the SU57 simulator?
    https://riafan.ru/1162361-voennyi-ekspert-obyasnil-pochemu-ssha-ne-smogut-sozdat-imitator-rossiiskogo-su-57

В США студент помог создать самолет-мишень пятого поколения

21
Технический проект одного из американских студентов позволил Министерству обороны США сэкономить сотни миллионов долларов при создании воздушных мишеней, имитирующих самолеты пятого поколения. Как сообщает "Warspot" со ссылкой на пресс-службу компании Sierra Technical Services, американское военное ведомство подписало контракт на сборку второго прототипа воздушной мишени 5GAT (5th Generation Aerial Target).

В США студент помог создать самолет-мишень пятого поколения




Самолеты-мишени для обучения летчиков американских ВВС создавались путем переоборудования пилотируемых машин. Например, на базе F-4 был создан беспилотный самолёт-мишень QF-4, а из F-16 делали дистанционно управляемый QF-16. С появлением самолетов пятого поколения возникла потребность в мишенях, имитирующих "самолеты-невидимки". Однако из-за того, что стоимость создания самолета-мишени сопоставима с ценой пилотируемой машины, от данной методики было решено отказаться и отложить вопрос на время.

Затем проектом заинтересовались в Академии ВВС США. В 2008 году кадеты представили свои работы на эту тему и один из проектов заинтересовал Пентагон. Через три года, в 2011 году работа этого же студента получила финансирование от Минобороны.

Сначала работы по проекты велись в Академии ВВС США. Самолет-мишень назвали 5GAT. Беспилотник отличается простой треугольной формой крыла и весит всего 545 кг. Полноразмерная модель была испытана в аэродинамической трубе и показала отличные результаты. На финальном этапе разработки к созданию 5GAT подключились инженеры, ранее участвовавшие в создании F-22.

Воздушная мишень 5GAT проектируется в форме двухдвигательного самолета с реактивными силовыми установками. Летательный аппарат получит ромбовидное в плане крыло и отклоненные в стороны два киля. Планер мишени будет на 95 процентов выполнен из композиционных материалов.

В 2017 году Минобороны США передало наработки по проекту 5GAT компании Sierra Technical Services и заказало сборку первого прототипа. Второй заказ на сборку воздушной мишени 5GAT компания получила 21 марта этого года. Стоимость мишени не превышает 16 млн. долларов.

Предполагается, что самолеты-мишени будут использоваться военными для тренировок пилотов истребителей и расчетов ПВО.
  • Sierra Technical Services
Наши новостные каналы
Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.
21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +1
    22 марта 2019 14:27
    тут подобная статья была про наши юные очумелые ручки, так там хоть было сказано про какое-то новое решение
    1. +10
      22 марта 2019 14:32
      А я помню репортаж, как юное дарование создало неуязвимый чудо танк. Маститые конструкторы внимательно изучали макет танка из картона. Страну изобретения называть не буду.
      1. +1
        22 марта 2019 14:34
        Цитата: Nord2015
        А я помню репортаж, как юное дарование создало неуязвимый чудо танк. Маститые конструкторы внимательно изучали макет танка из картона. Страну изобретения называть не буду.

        зря хохлы не приняли его в разработку и не подключили к проекту конструкторов оплота, а так хотят американцев копировать
        1. Комментарий был удален.
      2. Комментарий был удален.
      3. +4
        22 марта 2019 15:07
        Цитата: Nord2015
        А я помню репортаж, как юное дарование создало неуязвимый чудо танк. Маститые конструкторы внимательно изучали макет танка из картона.

        Дарование при этом ещё с отеческой суровостью поучало всё это тупое старичьё инженеров-конструкторов, разжёвывая убогим азы танкостроения.
        1. +2
          22 марта 2019 15:48
          Затем проектом заинтересовались в Академии ВВС США.

          Тысячи инженеров в американском ВПК не смогли сделать самолёт мишень? Ну это же очередной бред.
  2. +7
    22 марта 2019 14:43
    Я точно помню,что первый контракт на беспилотники ,ещё лет 30 назад,получил один известный американский авиамоделист!Так что ничего удивительного.
  3. +7
    22 марта 2019 14:51
    В 30-е годы один студентик из Геттингена вообще придумал турбореактивный движок. Быстренько попал к Хейнкелю, и в итоге реактивные уже в 38-м начали летать.
    1. +7
      22 марта 2019 15:14
      А ещё один студент-чудак (на другую букву) вообще запустил социальные сети, и эта зараза похуже зомбоящика в тех пор так и продолжает победно шествовать по всей планете.
      1. +5
        22 марта 2019 15:22
        Ух уж эти блин соцсети! am
        Как залезу на ВО - дома сделал хэ чего!
        Да и седня дел - едва
        Седня пятница, братва!
        good drinks
  4. +1
    22 марта 2019 14:55
    Визуально, похож на СУ-57 формами...но такая самолет-мишень не сможет выдавать все то,на что способен СУ-57,как по скоростям,так и по сверхманевренности.
    Думаю,что сходство отдаленное с СУ-57 так и будет лишь визуальным. Но смысл в такой мишени,если она даже приблизительно не способна себя вести,как реальный истребитель противника?
    1. +2
      22 марта 2019 15:02
      Ну поинтересуйтесь авиамоделизмом-импелеры плюс конструкция планера позволяют модели на крейсерской хвостом вперед летать-так и реальные не могут.
      1. 0
        22 марта 2019 15:05
        Цитата: evgen1221
        Ну поинтересуйтесь авиамоделизмом-импелеры плюс конструкция планера позволяют модели на крейсерской хвостом вперед летать-так и реальные не могут.

        Это не авиа-моделька,а полноразмерный самолет по сути. И как самолет-мишень он обязан выдавать максимально приближено к оригиналу параметры в полете и в воздушном бою. Я очень сомневаюсь,что этот прототип на это способен.
    2. +4
      22 марта 2019 15:07
      Цитата: НЕКСУС
      Но смысл в такой мишени,если она даже приблизительно не способна себя вести,как реальный истребитель противника?

      Беспилотник имеет главное для имитации - малозаметность ( радиопрозрачные композиты ) и скорость ( реактивные движки ) Способен на программируемые манёвры без экстрима - в общем то достаточно для тренировок пилотов по обнаружению малозаметного противника и электронным пускам ракет . А тренировки по "собачьей свалке" в данном случае и не предполагаются .
  5. +1
    22 марта 2019 14:58
    Самолеты-мишени для обучения летчиков американских ВВС создавались путем переоборудования пилотируемых машин. Например, на базе F-4 был создан беспилотный самолёт-мишень QF-4...
    .... а из F-16 делали дистанционно управляемый QF-16.... hi
  6. 0
    22 марта 2019 15:31
    Я тебя слепила из того шо было!
    В принципе и так можно .... А подопечные перещеголяли, там школьники проекты супер супер лепят, а у полосатых совсем студент!
  7. -1
    22 марта 2019 18:49
    Затем проектом заинтересовались в Академии ВВС США. В 2008 году кадеты представили свои работы на эту тему и один из проектов заинтересовал Пентагон. Через три года, в 2011 году работа этого же студента получила финансирование от Минобороны.


    То есть некий студен что-то там придумал, непонятно в каком году, но точно до 2008. И вот уже в 2019 минобороны передало наработки на основе этого самого дарования в работу

    В 2017 году Минобороны США передало наработки по проекту 5GAT компании Sierra Technical Services и заказало сборку первого прототипа. Второй заказ на сборку воздушной мишени 5GAT компания получила 21 марта этого года. Стоимость мишени не превышает 16 млн. долларов.


    Или студент чет эдакое замысловато-сложное изобрел, что они несколько лет пытались понять, как оно вообще и зачем. Или настолько простое, что его пришлось опять же столько лет дорабатывать. а потом передать еще более умным на изготовление. И опять же неизвестно сколько это времени займет и чего получится.

    Интересно, что же он такого нового предложил изначально?
  8. 0
    22 марта 2019 22:07
    Самолеты-мишени создавались переделкой пилотируемых машин?-во тупые laughing -наконец какой то студент догадался модели использовать-без него никак догадаться не могли? laughing
  9. +1
    22 марта 2019 22:37
    Люди из системы замкнуты в своей коробке мышления. Свободный человек даёт новую мысль.

    Учитывая тактику применения американских авиаракет большой дальности от макета не требуется полностью копировать самолёт противника. Достаточно,соблюсти общие базовые принципы. Важна в этом проекте цена и возможности. Да, раньше в качестве мишеней использовали отходившие своё самолёты. Сейчас срок службы самолётов стремятся продлить, поэтому создание мишеней достаточно актуально.
  10. 0
    24 марта 2019 01:28
    Цитата: Nord2015
    А я помню репортаж, как юное дарование создало неуязвимый чудо танк. Маститые конструкторы внимательно изучали макет танка из картона. Страну изобретения называть не буду.


    Поддерживаю ваше стремление не раскрывать страну. Ибо проект настолько секретный, что путинские шпионы могут выкрасть не только картон, из которого спроектированный танк уничтожил террористов, но и самого изобретателя. Которого прикуют к батарее в своей шарашке на Новой Земле и заставят ковать оружие против родной неньки.
  11. 0
    24 марта 2019 01:32
    Ну, и что? Я тоже, в свои 12 лет делал самолёты, летающие на силе резины от рогатки. Почему меня не взяли в разработчики военной техники? Видимо, потому, что я тогда был под прикрытием всесильного КГБ.
  12. 0
    24 марта 2019 23:21
    они молодцы, только зачем они ищут разработчика мишени - имитатора СУ57?
    https://riafan.ru/1162361-voennyi-ekspert-obyasnil-pochemu-ssha-ne-smogut-sozdat-imitator-rossiiskogo-su-57
«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено), Кирилл Буданов (внесён в перечень террористов и экстремистов Росфинмониторинга)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»