Military Review

Sumy-well done. From the history of 1 hussars

10
The 1 th Hussar Sumy General Seslavin Regiment is one of the oldest in the Russian army. He had the seniority of 27. 06. 1651 - when Sumy Sloboda Cherkasy Cossack Regiment was formed (Schenk. Cavalry. Reference book of the Imperial main apartment. St. Petersburg, 1914. C. 169).


And 03. 05. 1765, he becomes the actual Sumy Hussars - having been reformed by the governor of the Ukrainian-Sloboda province Shcherbinin.

The regiment was waiting for a series of reorganizations and reorganizations. So, 26. 06. 1783, he is called the Sumy Hussar Ukrainian cavalry, and 26. 02. 1784 becomes Sumy easy-horse. By this time, the regiment included squadrons and a horse ranger squad in 6.


1 th hussars. The officers of the regiment led by Colonel I. D. Nilov (center). The latter was a regiment commander in 1906 - 1912, and later in the rank of major general, commanded the 2 th brigade of the 1 th cavalry division.

Finally, the March 29 1801 regiment becomes Sumy hussars. The regiment "gave" life to a number of parts of the Russian cavalry: 21 September 1789, highlighting the horse ranger team to form the Elisavetgrad horse ranger regiment, 16 May 1783, singling out the 2 squadron to form the Odessa Hussar Regiment, 13, on June 19, 19, 19, 19-12 the formation of the Grodno Hussar Regiment, October 1806 12, highlighting people to form the Novgorod Kirasirsky Regiment, and September 1811 16, highlighting a squadron to form the 1896 Dragoon Regiment of Nezhin.

The structure of the regiment changed (the number of squadrons was reduced and increased, teams and personnel appeared), in the period of 1882 - 1907. the regiment managed to visit the dragoons until finally 26 of August of 1912. It became the 1 of the Hussar Sumy general Seslavin regiment.

The Sumy Hussars had 3 chiefs: Adjutant General Count von der Palen (from 19 April 1853 to 25 April 1864) - the regiment during this period was called Sumsky Hussar Lieutenant General von der Palen and Sumy Hussar Adjutant General Count von der Palen ), King Frederick VIII of Denmark (from 22 in May 1865, when Frederick was still the crown prince, in May on 11 in 1912) and Major General Seslavin (eternal Chef of the Regiment from 26 in August 1912).


Volunteer 1 hussar regiment. Dressed in a chic leather jacket - these were worn by motorists and pilots. On the chest is a regimental badge.

The honored regiment had a whole series of insignia:

1) St. George's standard with the inscriptions "1651 - 1851" and "In reward excellent feats rendered to the successfully completed 1814 campaign of the year" with the Alexander jubilee ribbon. 27 was granted on June 1851 of the year instead of the St. George standard with a similar inscription granted to 30 in August 1814. Highest letters from 23. 05. 1826 and 27. 06. 1851

2) 18 St. George pipes with the inscription "Sumy regiment, for the difference with the defeat and expulsion of the enemy from the limits of Russia in 1812 year." 13 of April of 1813 was granted. Highest reading and writing from 04. 06. 1826

3) Signs on the caps with the words "For the difference." 30 of May 1814 was granted for feats in the fighting with the French in 1812 - 1814, especially in the battle of Leipzig.

4) Buttonhole "For the difference" on the uniforms of the officers. Awarded in 1882. Replaced hussar units Guards, established 11. 04. 1879 g. Highest reading and writing from 24. 04. 1879


And this officer of the 1 hussar regiment “traded” the horse for the Indian motorcycle. Carpathian Front, 1916

The regiment is a participant in the assault on the fortress Novosergievskaya (11 on April 1711), the Russian-Turkish wars 1768 - 1774. and 1787 - 1791, the Italian and Swiss campaigns of 1799, the Napoleonic wars (starting with the battle of Golimine 14, December of 1806), the Polish campaign of 1831.

Sumy-well done. From the history of 1 hussars

Forms of ranks of the regiment. Schenk. 1910. Black horses are the blacks: 1 squadron - large crows without marks, 2 squadron - black with legs in stockings and with patches and stars in the forehead, 5 squadron - carak, 6 th squadron - large blacks; the trumpeters are gray.

The regiment left for the Great War as part of the 2 Brigade of the 1 Cavalry Division, Lieutenant General V.I. Gurko, joining the 1 Army of the North-Western Front. The commander of the regiment was Colonel P. P. Groten.


P.P. Groten

In October, the regiment receives a new commander in October 1915 — they became Colonel V. A. Leontyev, who was replaced in September by 1916 by Colonel V. N. Zhukov.


V.N. Zhukov

Finally, in June, the 1917 regiment received its last commander, Colonel N. N. Neelova.

In the period October 1916 - February 1917 the division was part of the 1-th Horse Corps (V. Karpeev. The Cavalry: divisions, brigades, corps. Russian army formations. 1810 - 1917. M., 2012. C. 99.).


Regimental badge. 13 approved. 12. 1908

The 1 Cavalry Division distinguished itself during the East Prussian operation - during the battle of Markgrabov on July 31 and during the attempt to establish contact with the right wing of 2 Army 10 - 18 August 1914.

During the battle near Markgrabov, the unit conducted competent reconnaissance by force, capturing the city and obtaining important intelligence information. Cavalrymen had to fight on horseback and on foot. In Markgrabovo, the commander of the 4 squadron of Sumy captain, Captain Lazarev, was killed, and Khoruzhinsky was mortally wounded. Officers were buried in Suwalki.


Shoulder strap, staff captain of the 1 hussar regiment. 1912 - 1917

Hussars distinguished themselves during the raid to establish contact with the 2 th army. It was the Sumy Hussars who captured the Korschen station, and during the retreat, while being in the rear guard, they withstood the enemy’s artillery and rifle fire - but covered the main forces of the division. Moreover, having waited for the approach of the German infantry, they departed as if on a parade - beautifully leaving the German rear [Littuer V. Russian Hussars. Memoirs of an officer of the imperial cavalry. M., 2006. C. 159-160].

In the course of the First Battle of the Masurian Lakes, the 1 Cavalry covered an inter-grain catwalk - solving the most important operational task. Discontinued hussars and dragoons joined the ranks of the infantry - with fire repelling the Germans offensive [Littuer V. Decree. cit. C. 164-165]. Captain Prince Menshikov ordered the hussars not to open fire without an order - and, having let the enemy in at 500-600 steps, the Sumy opened a deadly fire [Sumy Hussars. 1651 - 1951. Buenos Aires, 1954. C. 191].


The regimental doctor of the 1 hussar regiment Roop with his family. World War I.

At the dawn of the First August Operation, intelligence under the command of Cornet Ivanov was of paramount operational importance. Cornet discovered a large column of German troops moving towards the front. He hid his hussars with horses in the forest more often, and then crawled to the road - and watched and listened to what the Germans were talking about. The officer conducted reconnaissance for several hours, sending subordinates with reports. Moreover, 2 hussars, moving with information to the divisional headquarters, found the 2 th column. These were the first data on the beginning offensive of the enemy [Littuer V. Decree. cit. C. 169].

In late January - early February, the 1915 regiment left East Prussia - during the unsuccessful Second August operation. During this period, he lost 3 officers killed and dead from injuries and 7 officers wounded - 25% of the total. Sumy fought on horseback and on foot. They learned and that such a trench.

In early March, the hussars returned to the Avgustovskiy forest area - moving in the vanguard of the advancing Russian troops.


Volunteer 1 hussars of the regiment - as can be seen from the tricolor cord on the shoulders and the saber, usually relied on the officers.

In April, only a third of the regiment remained - so, in the squadron of V. Littweer, there were 30 people instead of 150 laid by the state (Littuer V. Decree. Works. C. 183.). In others, also for 30-40 checkers. (Sumy Hussars. C. 219.). The regiment acted actively and selflessly - which affected personal and equine compositions.

The ending should ...
Author:
10 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Adjutant
    Adjutant April 23 2019 18: 18
    +7
    The first hussar rules!
    The regiment is an old-timer, the sums are really well done)
  2. vladcub
    vladcub April 23 2019 18: 38
    +2
    Was it really necessary to use only sums for the formation of the above regiments?
    Freely determined 1 Sumy regiment and in a leather jacket, but I thought that there was a strictly established form? How to explain such a retreat?
    1. Adjutant
      Adjutant April 23 2019 18: 53
      +5
      Well, why ONLY sums.
      Different regiments gave frames for the formation of others. Normal practice
      1. Hunghuz
        Hunghuz April 23 2019 19: 26
        +4
        Yes, many priority shelves
        Honorary Mission)
        1. Reptiloid
          Reptiloid April 25 2019 11: 00
          +1
          I liked the article very much. As always, wonderful photos and images. We are waiting for the end.
          I’m just today, unfortunately I read the article from 09.04/XNUMX VERSAILLS SENTENCE! What a cool article and comments.! More than once it will be necessary to re-read everything there.
  3. Hunghuz
    Hunghuz April 23 2019 19: 28
    +4
    During the war, answering the Vladclub question
    different were unregulated liberties, in clothes and equipment
  4. Lieutenant Teterin
    Lieutenant Teterin April 23 2019 22: 10
    +3
    Great article! Sumy hussars are one of the most famous and famous cavalry regiments of the Russian Imperial Army. And the selection of photographs is simply amazing — you immediately feel the spirit of Old Russia, you can see cute, dear faces.
    The author — my sincere gratitude for the work done!
    1. fighter angel
      fighter angel April 26 2019 10: 17
      +1
      Lieutenant Teterin.

      Oh dear, you’ve got the wrong era ...
      I'm sorry.
      You should have "saber and horse, and on the line of fire."
      Each hussar regiment in the RIA was somehow glorified.
      What is worse, for example, Akhtyrtsy or "immortal Alexandrians", Pavlohradtsy or Leib-Hussars? And what about Izium or Mariupol?
      Therefore, to single out any one seems to me unfair.
      1. Adjutant
        Adjutant April 26 2019 21: 40
        +7
        Each hussar regiment in the RIA was somehow glorified.

        Right.
        And not only the hussar, but also any personnel regiment.
        What is worse, for example, Akhtyrtsy or "immortal Alexandrians", Pavlohradtsy or Leib-Hussars? And what about Izium or Mariupol?

        Nothing worse. Each has its own "physiognomy".
        Therefore, to single out any one seems to me unfair.

        Why highlight? As I understand it - they are considered, in turn.
  5. Kuzma Prutkov
    Kuzma Prutkov 21 October 2019 16: 01
    0
    Waiting for ... For a photo of a separate merci.
  6. The comment was deleted.

Сумцы-молодцы. Из истории 1-го гусарского

10
1-й гусарский Сумский генерала Сеславина полк – один из старейших в русской армии. Он имел старшинство 27. 06. 1651 г. – когда был сформирован Сумский слободской черкасский казачий полк (Шенк. Кавалерия. Справочная книжка Императорской главной квартиры. Спб, 1914. С. 169).

А 03. 05. 1765 г. он становится собственно Сумским гусарским – будучи переформирован губернатором Украинско-Слободской губернии Щербининым.



Полк ждала серия переформирований и реорганизаций. Так, 26. 06. 1783 г. он именуется Сумский гусарский Украинской конницы, а 26. 02. 1784 г. становится Сумским легко-конным. К этому времени полк включал в состав 6 эскадронов и конно-егерскую команду.


1-й гусарский полк. Офицеры полка во главе с полковником И. Д. Ниловым (в центре). Последний был командиром полка в 1906 – 1912 гг., а позднее в чине генерал-майора командовал 2-й бригадой 1-й кавалерийской дивизии.

Наконец, 29 марта 1801 г. полк становится Сумским гусарским. Полк "подарил" жизнь ряду частей русской кавалерии: 21 сентября 1789 г. выделив конно-егерскую команду на сформирование Елисаветградского конно-егерского полка, 16 мая 1783 г. выделив 2 эскадрона на сформирование Одесского гусарского полка, 13 июня 1806 г. выделив эскадрон на сформирование Гродненского гусарского полка, 12 октября 1811 г. выделив людей на сформирование Новгородского кирасирского полка, а 16 сентября 1896 г. выделив эскадрон на сформирование 52-го драгунского Нежинского полка.

Изменялась структура полка (сокращалось и увеличивалось количество эскадронов, появлялись команды и кадры), в период 1882 – 1907 гг. полк успел побывать драгунским, пока, наконец, 26 августа 1912 г. он не стал 1-м гусарским Сумским генерала Сеславина полком.

Сумские гусары имели 3 шефов: генерал-адьютанта графа фон дер Палена (с 19 апреля 1853 г. по 25 апреля 1864 г. – полк в этот период именовался Сумским гусарским генерал-лейтенанта фон дер Палена и Сумским гусарским генерал-адьютанта графа фон дер Палена), короля Датского Фредерика VIII (с 22 мая 1865 г., когда Фредерик еще был наследным принцем, по 11 мая 1912 г.) и генерал-майора Сеславина (вечный Шеф полка с 26 августа 1912 г.).


Вольноопределяющийся 1-го гусарского полка. Одет в шикарную кожаную куртку – такие носили автомобилисты и летчики. На груди – полковой знак.

Заслуженный полк имел целую серию знаков отличия:

1) Георгиевский штандарт с надписями «1651 – 1851» и «В воздаяние отличных подвигов, оказанных в благополучно оконченную кампанию 1814 года» с Александровской юбилейной лентой. Был пожалован 27 июня 1851 года взамен Георгиевского штандарта с аналогичной надписью, пожалованного 30 августа 1814 г. Высочайшие грамоты от 23. 05. 1826 и 27. 06. 1851 гг.

2) 18 Георгиевских труб с надписью «Сумскому полку, за отличие при поражении и изгнании неприятеля из пределов России в 1812 году». Были пожалованы 13 апреля 1813 г. Высочайшая грамота от 04. 06. 1826 г.

3) Знаки на шапки с надписью «За отличие». Были пожалованы 30 мая 1814 г. за подвиги в боевых действиях с французами в 1812 – 1814 гг., особенно – в сражении под Лейпцигом.

4) Петлицы «За отличие» на мундирах офицеров. Присвоены в 1882 г. Заменили гусарские узлы гвардейского образца, учрежденные 11. 04. 1879 г. Высочайшая грамота от 24. 04. 1879 г.


А этот офицер 1-го гусарского полка «променял» лошадь на мотоцикл «Индиан». Карпатский фронт, 1916 г.

Полк – участник штурма крепости Новосергиевская (11 апреля 1711 г.), Русско-турецких войн 1768 – 1774 гг. и 1787 – 1791 гг., Итальянского и Швейцарского походов 1799 г., Наполеоновских войн (начиная со сражения при Голимине 14 декабря 1806 г.), Польского похода 1831 г.

Сумцы-молодцы. Из истории 1-го гусарского

Формы чинов полка. Шенк. 1910. Масть коней – вороные: 1-й эскадрон – крупные вороные без отметин, 2-й эскадрон – вороные с ногами в чулках и с проточинами и звездами во лбу, 5-й эскадрон – караковые, 6-й эскадрон – крупные вороные; трубачи – серые.

На Великую войну полк ушел в составе 2-й бригады 1-й кавалерийской дивизии генерал-лейтенанта В. И. Гурко – войдя в состав 1-й армии Северо-Западного фронта. Командиром полка являлся полковник П. П. Гротен.


П. П. Гротен

В октябре 1915 г. полк получает нового командира – им стал полковник В. А. Леонтьев, которого в сентябре 1916 г. сменил полковник В. Н. Жуков.


В. Н. Жуков

Наконец в июне 1917 г. полк получает своего последнего командира – полковника Н. Н. Неелова.

В период октябрь 1916 г. – февраль 1917 г. дивизия входила в состав 1-го Конного корпуса (Карпеев В. И. Конница: дивизии, бригады, корпуса. Соединения русской армии. 1810 – 1917. М., 2012. С. 99.).


Полковой нагрудный знак. Утвержден 13. 12. 1908 г.

1-я кавалерийская дивизия отличилась в ходе Восточно-Прусской операции – во время боя у Маркграбова 31-го июля и в ходе попытки установления контакта с правым флангом 2-й армии 10 – 18 августа 1914 г.

В ходе боя у Маркграбова соединение провело грамотную разведку боем, захватив город и раздобыв важные разведданные. Кавалеристам приходилось сражаться в конном и пешем строю. В Маркграбове погиб командир 4-го эскадрона сумцев ротмистр Лазарев, был смертельно ранен корнет Хоружинский. Офицеров похоронили в Сувалках.


Погон штабс-ротмистра 1-го гусарского полка. 1912 – 1917 гг.

Отличились гусары и в ходе рейда для установления контакта со 2-й армией. Именно сумские гусары овладели станцией Коршен, а во время отхода, находясь в арьергарде, выдержали артиллерийско-стрелковый огонь противника – но прикрыли отход главных сил дивизии. Причем, выждав подхода германской пехоты, отошли как на параде – красиво уходя из германского тыла [Литтауэр В. Русские гусары. Мемуары офицера императорской кавалерии. М., 2006. С. 159-160].

В ходе Первого сражения у Мазурских озер 1-я кавалерийская прикрыла межозерное дефиле – решив важнейшую оперативную задачу. Спешенные гусары и драгуны влились в ряды пехотинцев – огнем отразив наступление германцев [Литтауэр В. Указ. соч. С. 164-165]. Ротмистр князь Меншиков приказал гусарам огня без приказа не открывать – и, подпустив противника на 500-600 шагов, сумцы открыли убийственный огонь [Сумские гусары. 1651 – 1951. Буэнос-Айрес, 1954. С. 191].


Полковой врач 1-го гусарского полка Рооп с семьей. Первая мировая война.

На заре Первой Августовской операции важнейшее оперативное значение имела разведка под командованием корнета Иванова. Корнет обнаружил двигавшуюся к фронту большую колонну германских войск. Он спрятал своих гусар вместе с лошадьми в лесной чаще, а затем подполз к дороге – и наблюдал и слушал о чем говорят германцы. Офицер вел разведку несколько часов, отправляя подчиненных с донесениями. Причем 2 гусар, двигавшиеся с информацией в дивизионный штаб, обнаружили и 2-ю колонну. Это были первые данные о начинающемся наступлении противника [Литтауэр В. Указ. соч. С. 169].

В конце января – начале февраля 1915 г. полк оставлял Восточную Пруссию – в ходе неудачной Второй Августовской операции. В этот период он потерял 3 офицеров убитыми и умершими от ран и 7 офицеров ранеными – 25% общей численности. Сумцы сражались в конном и пешем строю. Узнали они и что такое траншеи.

В начале марта гусары вернулись в район Августовских лесов – двигаясь в авангарде наступающих русских войск.


Вольноопределяющийся 1-го гусарского полка – что видно по трехцветному шнуру на плечах и сабле, обычно полагавшейся офицерам.

В апреле от полка осталась лишь треть – так, в эскадроне В. Литтауэра имелось 30 человек вместо 150 положенных по штату (Литтауэр В. Указ. Соч. С. 183.). В других – также по 30-40 шашек (Сумские гусары. С. 219.). Полк действовал активно и самоотверженно – что сказалось на личном и конском составах.

Окончание следует…
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +7
    23 апреля 2019
    Первый гусарский рулит!
    Полк-старожил, сумцы - реально молодцы)
  2. +2
    23 апреля 2019
    Неужели для формирования выше перечисленных полков надо было использовать лишь сумцев?
    Вольнопределившийся 1 Сумского полка и в кожанке, а я думал что существовала строго установленная форма? Чем объяснить такое отступление?
    1. +5
      23 апреля 2019
      Ну почему ЛИШЬ сумцев.
      Разные полки давали кадры для формирования других. Нормальная практика
      1. +4
        23 апреля 2019
        Да, многие первоочередные полки
        Почетная миссия)
        1. +1
          25 апреля 2019
          Статья очень понравилась. Как всегда, замечательные фото и изображения. Ждём окончания.
          Я вот только сегодня, к сожалению прочитал статью от 09.04 ВЕРСАЛЬСКИЙ ПРИГОВОР! Какая классная статья и комменты.!Ещё не один раз надо будет перечитывать всё там.
  3. +4
    23 апреля 2019
    Во время войны, отвечая на вопрос владклуб
    разные были неуставные вольности, в одежде и снаряжении
  4. +3
    23 апреля 2019
    Прекрасная статья! Сумские гусары—один из самых прославленных и известных кавалерийских полков Русской Императорской армии. А подборка фотографий просто изумительна—сразу чувствуется дух Старой России, видны милые, родные лица.
    Автору—моя искренняя благодарность за проделанный труд!
    1. +1
      26 апреля 2019
      ПоручикТетеринъ.

      Эх, милейший, не та эпоха вам досталась...
      Сочувствую.
      Вам бы "шашку да коня, и на линию огня".
      Каждый гусарский полк в РИА так или иначе был прославленным.
      Чем хуже, например, Ахтырцы или "бессмертные Александрийцы", Павлоградцы или Лейб-Гусары? А Изюмцы или Мариупольцы?
      Поэтому выделять какой-либо один, мне кажется несправедливым.
      1. +7
        26 апреля 2019
        Каждый гусарский полк в РИА так или иначе был прославленным.

        Верно.
        И не только гусарский, но и любой кадровый полк.
        Чем хуже, например, Ахтырцы или "бессмертные Александрийцы", Павлоградцы или Лейб-Гусары? А Изюмцы или Мариупольцы?

        Ничем не хуже. У каждого своя "физиономия".
        Поэтому выделять какой-либо один, мне кажется несправедливым.

        Почему выделять? Насколько я понял - их рассматривают, поочередно.
  5. 0
    21 октября 2019
    Ждемс... За фотографии отдельное мерси.
  6. Комментарий был удален.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»