Military Review

US Air Force to allocate 2 billion to upgrade F-16

12

The US Air Force is ready to allocate nearly two billion dollars to upgrade the first 300 of the more than a thousand F-16 Fighting Falcon fighter jets to upgrade the on-board electronics. According to Lenta.ru with reference to Jane's, Raytheon and Northrop Grumman are claiming to be the supplier of the active phased-array antenna radar (AFAR).

Upgraded aircraft in the Air Force expect to get in 2018 year. Thus, the Pentagon hopes to simultaneously extend the service life of the aging F-16 and compensate for the shortage of new generation F-35 Lightning II fighters. F-35 shipments, in turn, should begin in the 2016-2018 year and be completed within 15 years.

The timing of a possible conclusion of a tender for the modernization of the F-16 is not specified. In addition to the radar with AFAR F-16, in the course of the modernization, new ALQ-213 central information displays and electronic warfare systems will be received.

Radars with AFAR allow aircraft to detect targets at a much greater distance than conventional radars. In addition, radars with AFAR operate in a wide range of frequencies and make the aircraft not so noticeable for enemy radar stations.

Currently, AF-FAR radars are equipped with F-15 Eagle and F-22 Raptor fighters of the US Air Force, as well as F / A-18E / F Super Hornet US Navy.

In May it became known about the beginning of a large-scale modernization of the US Navy F / A-18E / F Super Hornet fighter jets. In particular, the aircraft will receive a system of distributed aiming (Distributed Targeting System, DTS) and other sensors.
Originator:
http://www.aex.ru
12 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ivansaxonov
    ivansaxonov 2 July 2012 10: 45
    +4
    And they have the same problems ... The equipment is becoming obsolete, there isn’t enough new yet ... I hope we can make a qualitative leap and catch up with the lost ... I really hope :)
    1. Dmitriy69
      Dmitriy69 2 July 2012 11: 03
      +4
      The problems are the same, the scale of the solution is alas different. There is really no way without a quality jerk
    2. Vashestambid
      Vashestambid 2 July 2012 12: 17
      +3
      Quote: ivansaxonov
      And they have the same problems ...


      Russians would have their problems ... laughing

      Attention! You do not have permission to view hidden text.
  2. Kaa
    Kaa 2 July 2012 10: 48
    +4
    Recently, quite a few copies were broken when discussing the topic that the Russian Air Force needs - the modernization of old bombers or the construction of new ones. As the unforgettable O. Bender used to say - "Learn, Kitty!" The Americans do not interfere with one another, the modernization of the F-16 and the construction of the F-35. An analogy for Russia suggests itself, both for the Su, MIG and Tu families, and for the creation of PAKFA and PAKDA.
  3. ivansaxonov
    ivansaxonov 2 July 2012 10: 57
    +2
    KaaI support! Participated in these disputes with the same position :)
  4. Tirpitz
    Tirpitz 2 July 2012 10: 59
    +1
    most likely this was caused by the results of training battles with the su-30. in a maneuverable battle, the Amers do not shine, so they decided to modernize the electronics to strike from far away without entering the air carousels. this is my opinion as not a specialist in the air force.
    1. Tjumenec72
      Tjumenec72 2 July 2012 11: 10
      +2
      All the same, you can’t put a normal radar on fu-16, the plane is painfully small)
      IMHO - PLANNED MODERNIZATION nothing sensational
  5. kotdavin4i
    kotdavin4i 2 July 2012 11: 06
    +1
    Until the F-35 issue is resolved, the Americans simply have no other choice but to modernize what they have, and so they have a shortage of combat aircraft.
    1. Tjumenec72
      Tjumenec72 2 July 2012 11: 14
      +1
      And this is the solution to the issue, Fututynut-35 will not be bought in bulk and will not - the navel will be untied from such a price and in Obama.
  6. Alexred
    Alexred 2 July 2012 11: 48
    0
    In the Kaliningrad region shot down a NATO fighter - violator of the state border of the Russian Federation
    http://www.ru-news.ru/art_desc.php?aid=8196
    Interesting, right?
    1. Lord of the Sith
      Lord of the Sith 2 July 2012 13: 02
      0
      In the Kaliningrad region shot down a NATO fighter - violator of the state border of the Russian Federation

      On June 27, training flights of the NATO air forces took place in the Baltic countries, in which an aircraft with an early warning and control system (AWACS) Boeing E-3, as well as aircraft of the US Army C-130 "Hercules "and F-15C" Eagle ". This is the seventh such training session at the Lithuanian Air Force Base in Siauliai, which is being conducted by the NATO Allied Air Force Command in Ramstein (Germany).

      It is known that at least one of the aircraft participating in the exercises, the fourth-generation American all-weather tactical fighter McDonnell-Douglas F-15C “Eagle”, grossly violated the air borders of the Russian Federation. A couple of front-line MiG-29 fighters, which were raised in the air by combat alert from the military airfield of the Baltic Fleet Chkalovsk near Kaliningrad, tried to force the intruder to land. The NATO pilot, not obeying the command given to go down, “having fun flapping his wings and turning on the afterburner,” tried to leave Russia and fly into international airspace.

      And only then did the Russian pilots pay tribute to the merry American and hit to defeat. From the fighter (it is symbolic that the vehicle’s tail number is 39) under the control of Colonel Kondratov, an air-to-air guided missile RVV-AE was launched by an intruder trying to escape. The wreckage of a downed NATO plane fell into the Baltic Sea near the city of Baltiysk, Kaliningrad Region. The pilot who piloted the fighter managed to eject and he was picked up by the sailors of the Baltic Fleet patrol ship Yaroslav the Wise. Currently, nothing threatens his life, investigators from the military prosecutors and the investigative department of the FSB of Russia work with him, FogNews reports.

      At the same time, the Lithuanian side, at the suggestion of the Americans, insists that the plane was in international airspace. On Friday, June 29, NATO, at the request of Lithuania, is holding a special meeting on what happened.

      NATO senior management also responded to the incident, the Lithuanian Courier reports with reference to the Ministry of Defense. “Russia's actions are unacceptable. NATO strongly condemns them, said Anders Fogh Rasmussen, Secretary General of the North Atlantic Alliance, “NATO is in solidarity with the leadership of the Republic of Lithuania. “We continue to monitor the situation with the downed aircraft carefully and with great alarm,” Rasmussen added. “Our thoughts are with the pilot, his family and loved ones.”

      Foxnews did not find such news
      1. Sergh
        Sergh 2 July 2012 22: 26
        0
        Quote: Sith Lord
        Foxnews did not find such news

        Yes, she’s actually
        http://fognews.ru/nad-baltijskom-sbit-istrebitel-nato-f-15c-eagle.html

        Yes, but I just didn’t understand the other news from May 15, the PAK FA crashed with an airborne 54. I heard it for the first time, although I didn’t find it anywhere else.
        http://fognews.ru/aviakatastrofa-pak-fa-v-komsomolske-na-amure.html
    2. PLO
      PLO 2 July 2012 18: 26
      0
      duck with apples and horseradish
      1. Sergh
        Sergh 2 July 2012 23: 17
        0
        Bullshit is complete, and FogNyusya is a sloppy newspaper.
  7. _arbit
    _arbit 2 July 2012 11: 58
    0
    looks like a duck ... it's not easy to hush it, youtube is omnipotent, for anyone who would see a thread with a camera.

ВВС США выделят 2 млрд долларов на модернизацию F-16

ВВС США выделят 2 млрд долларов на модернизацию F-16

ВВС США готовы выделить почти два миллиарда долларов на модернизацию бортовой электроники первых 300 из более чем тысячи стоящих на вооружении истребителей F-16 Fighting Falcon. Как сообщает Lenta.ru со ссылкой на Jane's, на роль поставщика радаров с активной фазированной антенной решеткой (АФАР) претендуют компании Raytheon и Northrop Grumman.

Модернизированные самолеты в ВВС рассчитывают получить в 2018 году. Тем самым в Пентагоне рассчитывают одновременно продлить срок службы устаревающих F-16 и компенсировать нехватку истребителей нового поколения F-35 Lightning II. Поставки F-35, в свою очередь, должны начаться в 2016-2018 году и завершиться в течение 15 лет.

Сроки возможного заключения тендера на модернизацию F-16 не уточняются. Помимо радаров с АФАР F-16 в ходе модернизации получат новые центральные информационные дисплеи и системы радиоэлектронной борьбы ALQ-213.


Радары с АФАР позволяют самолетам обнаруживать цели на значительно большем расстоянии, чем обычные радары. Кроме того, радары с АФАР работают в широком спектре частот и делают самолет не таким заметным для радиолокационных станций противника.

В настоящее время радарами с АФАР оснащаются истребители F-15 Eagle и F-22 Raptor ВВС США, а также F/A-18E/F Super Hornet ВМС США.

В мае стало известно о начале масштабной модернизации истребителей F/A-18E/F Super Hornet ВМС США. В частности, самолеты получат системы распределенного прицеливания (Distributed Targeting System, DTS) и другие датчики.
Первоисточник: http://www.aex.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. ivansaxonov 2 июля 2012 10:45
    И у них те же проблемы... Техника устаревает, новой пока в достаточном количестве нет... Надеюсь мы сможем сделать качественный рывок и нагнать упущенное... очень надеюсь:)
    ivansaxonov
    1. Dmitriy69 2 июля 2012 11:03
      Проблемы те же, масштабы решения увы другие. Тут без качественного рывка действительно никак
    2. VashEstambid 2 июля 2012 12:17
      Цитата: ivansaxonov
      И у них те же проблемы...


      Русским бы ихние проблемы... laughing

      Внимание! У Вас нет прав для просмотра скрытого текста.
      VashEstambid
  2. Каа 2 июля 2012 10:48
    Недавно немало копий было сломано при обсуждении темы, что нужно Российским ВВС - модернизация старых бомбардировщиков или строительство новых. Как говорил незабвенный О. Бендер -"Учитесь, Киса!" Одно другому у американцев не мешает, модернизация F-16 и строительство F-35. Аналогия для России напрашивается сама собой, и по семействам Су, МИГ и Ту, и по созданию ПАКФА и ПАКДА.
  3. ivansaxonov 2 июля 2012 10:57
    Каа, поддерживаю! Участвовал в этих спорах с той же позицией:)
    ivansaxonov
  4. Tirpitz 2 июля 2012 10:59
    скорее всего это было вызвано результатами учебных боев с су-30. в маневренном бою амерам ничего не светит, вот и решили модернизировать электронику для нанесения ударов из далека не вступая ввоздушые карусели. это мое мнение как не специалиста в ввс.
    Tirpitz
    1. Tjumenec72 2 июля 2012 11:10
      На фу-16 всё равно нормальный радар не поставить, самолётик больно маленький)
      ИМХО - ПЛАНОВАЯ МОДЕРНИЗАЦИЯ ничего сенсационного
      Tjumenec72
  5. kotdavin4i 2 июля 2012 11:06
    Пока не решен вопрос с F-35 у Американцев просто нет другого выхода как модернизировать то что есть, и так у же у них недостаток в боевой авиации.
    1. Tjumenec72 2 июля 2012 11:14
      А это и есть решение вопроса, Футынуты-35 никто массово закупать и не будет - от такой цены и у обамычей пупок развяжется.
      Tjumenec72
  6. AlexRed 2 июля 2012 11:48
    В Калининградской области сбит истребитель НАТО - нарушитель государственной границы Российской Федерации
    http://www.ru-news.ru/art_desc.php?aid=8196
    Интересно, правда?
    AlexRed
    1. Владыка Ситх 2 июля 2012 13:02
      В Калининградской области сбит истребитель НАТО - нарушитель государственной границы Российской Федерации

      27-го июня в Балтийских странах состоялись тренировочные полеты военно-воздушных сил НАТО, в которых принимали участие самолёт с системой дальнего радиолокационного обнаружения и управления (ДРЛОиУ, англ. AWACS) Boeing E-3, а также самолеты армии США C-130 "Hercules" и F-15C "Eagle". Это уже седьмая подобная тренировка на базе ВВС Литвы в Шяуляй, которую проводит командование союзническими ВВС стран НАТО в Рамштайне (Германия).

      Известно, что по меньшей мере один из принимавших участие в учениях самолётов, американский всепогодный тактический истребитель четвёртого поколения Макдоннел-Дуглас F-15C «Eagle», грубо нарушил воздушные границы Российской Федерации. Поднятые в воздух по боевой тревоге с военного аэродрома Балтийского флота «Чкаловск» под Калининградом пара фронтовых истребителей МиГ-29 пытались вынудить нарушителя к посадке. Натовский пилот, не подчинившись отданной команде снижаться, «весело помахав крыльями и включив форсаж» попытался покинуть территорию России и вылететь в международное воздушное пространство.

      И только тогда русские лётчики отдали должное весёлому американцу и ударили на поражение. С истребителя (символично, что бортовой номер машины 39) под управлением полковника Кондратова по пытающемуся скрыться нарушителю был произведён пуск управляемой ракеты РВВ-АЕ класса «воздух-воздух». Обломки сбитого натовского самолёта упали в Балтийское море неподалёку от города Балтийска, Калининградской области. Пилотировавшему истребитель пилоту удалось катапультироваться и он был подобран моряками сторожевого корабля Балтийского флота «Ярослав Мудрый». В настоящее время его жизни ничего не угрожает, с ним работают следователи военной прокураторы и следственного управления ФСБ России, - сообщает FogNews.

      При этом литовская сторона, с подачи американцев, настаивает на том, что самолёт находился в международном воздушном пространстве. В пятницу, 29 июня, НАТО по просьбе Литвы проводит специальное заседание по поводу случившегося.

      Высшее руководство НАТО также отреагировало на инцидент, об этом со ссылкой на Министерство обороны сообщает «Литовский курьер». «Действия России неприемлемы. НАТО осуждает их решительным образом, — заявил генеральный секретарь североатлантического альянса Андерс Фог Расмуссен, — НАТО солидарно с руководством Литовской Республики. Мы продолжаем следить за ситуацией со сбитым самолётом внимательно и с большой тревогой, — добавил Расмуссен. — Наши мысли вместе с пилотом, его семьёй и близкими».

      На Фоксньюс не нашел такой новости
      1. Sergh 2 июля 2012 22:26
        Цитата: Владыка Ситх
        На Фоксньюс не нашел такой новости

        Да вот она вообще-то
        http://fognews.ru/nad-baltijskom-sbit-istrebitel-nato-f-15c-eagle.html

        Да вот только я не понял там-же другой новости от 15 мая, разбился ПАК ФА с бортовым 54. Первый раз слышу, хотя странная подача, больше нигде не нашёл.
        http://fognews.ru/aviakatastrofa-pak-fa-v-komsomolske-na-amure.html
        Sergh
    2. olp 2 июля 2012 18:26
      утка с яблоками и хреном
      olp
      1. Sergh 2 июля 2012 23:17
        Фуфло полное, и ФогНюся отстойная газетка.
        Sergh
  7. _arbit 2 июля 2012 11:58
    на утку смахивает... такое не просто замять, ютюб всесилен, по любому кто нить увидел бы с камерой.
    _arbit

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня