Tanks in the battles of the Great War

19
We want to talk about the most interesting aspects of the application. tanks in the first world war. The cycle is based on materials from the Soviet military periodical devoted to armored forces, as well as special works by military specialists.





Combat debut


So, the debut of the British tanks on the margins of the First World War took place on September 15 1916 on the Somme - at Fleury, south of Bapoma. Of the total number of 49 machines assigned to the first in stories tank attack, 17 did not arrive at the starting line due to faults.


Tank of Company D on Fleury Street, 15 September 1916


The use of armored vehicles was conceived as follows: tanks, being moved in groups of 2 - 3 units against the strongest enemy strongholds, were to reach the German lines in 5 minutes before the approach of their infantry. Of the 32-x operating tanks 14 left on the battlefield. Despite the achieved technical surprise (the effect caused by the technical novelty of the appearance of a new weapons), success was local. And this is despite the fact that technical surprise was accompanied by tactical surprise - the arrival of tanks in the theater remained shrouded in an impenetrable cover of secrecy.


Mk-1 female after Fleury fight


In 1917 campaigns - 1918's. tanks were actively used by the British and French - accompanying almost all more or less serious military operations.

Arras and Flanders


Thus, at the beginning of the spring battle of Arras, 9 on April 1917, a heavy blow struck the German 6 Army after a brief but very strong artillery preparation - on both sides of Scarpa. A tank strike knocked out several German divisions - and the British penetrated deep into the defense right up to artillery positions and won about 6 km in depth on the 12-15 km front. But the operational breakthrough could not be achieved.

In Flanders, with the help of tanks, the British also managed to bend the German positional front - in a number of points. Cavalry divisions were to follow the tanks. A more modest result was influenced by the transformation of the plan - in the direction of reducing the scale of development of the intended operation. But in this case, besides the loss of space depth of 2 - 4 km, the German 4 army suffered heavy losses by prisoners and military property.

Tanks in the battles of the Great War

Mk-4 in the mud of Flanders, September 1917


Tanks in the Nivelle Battle and at Chemin de Dame


The French Schneider tanks of the system first appeared on the battlefield of 16 on April 1917 of the year on p. En - after the 10-day artillery preparation during the Kraon Battle. Since the German trenches were too wide for this type of tank, it was decided to move the infantry first (which took possession of the first two enemy lines), and then with the help of working teams tanks were introduced. In this case, the task of tanks is to support the infantry when attacking the 3 line.


Schneider CA-1


In total, an 82 tank, built in columns, moved east of Craon Juventureur. The armored vehicles had to go 3-4-km distance in broad daylight, in full view of the enemy artillery and in open areas. The infantry didn’t be able to break through the 2 line alone - and began to wait for the tanks. Tank columns managed to reach the 3 line, and several tanks fought throughout the day - being on 2 - 2,5 km ahead of their weary infantry.


Schneider destroyed by 16 on April 1917 during the "Nivelle Carnage"


Then 50 tanks were introduced, and the total number of vehicles involved reached 132 units. Of the 132 machines, 76 remained on the battlefield (including 57 units were shot by artillery fire; 25% of crews were out of action killed or wounded).

23 October 1917 type tanks Schneider and Saint-Chamond took part in the battle of Malmaison (Chemin de Dame) - and after bad weather and six-day artillery preparation made the terrain difficult for them. Of the 63-x tanks moved into battle, only 21 actually entered into business, facilitating the advancement of infantry. At this time, the tank batteries were directly subordinated to the infantry battalions (and already after the latter, to assist the tanks in overcoming difficult-to-reach areas, there were working teams).


Saint-Chamond, named "Fantômas" and its crew


Historical Battle of Cambrai


And only then the “tank” battle of Cambrai was fought. Under cover of the dark and extensive forests of Avrankur, the British pulled together for several nights powerful tank forces and a large number of cavalry — on November 20, 1917 fell upon the German position, which was poorly equipped in artillery.

Due to the convenient terrain and complete surprise for the Germans, the tanks had a great success. We wrote in detail about this operation, focusing on the fact that a significant number of auxiliary (including communications tanks) and tractors helped the battle tanks, and the artillery tracking of the operation was distinguished by its size gauges.


Attack of British tankers at Cambrai


The tank attack, with the loss of 107 machines, yielded space gains in 8 km in depth, 8000 prisoners and 100 guns. The battle of Cambrai proved the possibility of transforming a tank breakthrough from tactical to operational (all the necessary prerequisites for this were formed), the vital importance of active interaction of tanks with cavalry and infantry and the fact that with the help of tanks it is possible to break through the fortified position of the enemy without traditional long artillery preparation.


British troopers with trophies


22 - 23 November 1917, the Germans stopped a tank attack - and by means of a counterattack, which was successful without tanks, they neutralize the result of the British operation. During the counterattack many tanks fell into the hands of the Germans. In the battles of Burlon and in the Burlon Forest, there were instances of the loss of tanks by infantry - with the help of hand grenades and other means. Even the steel-core machine-gun bullets coped with tank armor. But the main enemy of armor was artillery fire.

But nerves, discipline and courage of people turned out to be the best weapons against tanks. They helped many brave warriors to climb enemy tanks or shoot them point-blank.

Missed time


Accordingly, the opinion of the German High Command on the tanks at first was calm. The initial “tank fear” also subsided in the troops. The tanks were dangerous, but still were put out of action, and the German attacks succeeded without tanks.

The decline of discipline and the weakening of the fighting power of the German army in 1918 led to the fact that the allied tanks, used by large masses under the cover of smoke screens, played a very important role in subsequent military events.

The Germans tried to answer the call - but time was lost. And when in the spring of 1918 the German troops advancing in the direction of Amiens repeatedly used their heavy tanks, the small number of the latter nullified the entire effect of such an application, excluding the possibility of any decisive action.


The bout of British and German tanks, 24 April 1918


At the end of May 1918, during the German offensive at Soissons-Reims, the German troops showed their superiority over the French and the British — even numerous tanks did not help the latter.

Beat at Mondidier


11 June, 1918 of the year, southeast of Mondidier, launched a counter-attack of S. Mangin - trying to delay O. von Gutier’s advance on Compiens. The counterstrike was made with the support of 144 tanks operating at the front width of 12 km (and some tanks had to go 10 - 14 km to the starting point of attack). The infantry was supposed to attack first, but with the support of the tanks. The last to catch up with the infantry was to strike the main blow. Since after that the infantry fell behind, the tanks continued to fight alone, being on average 1,5-km distance in front of the infantry - under the fire of the German field guns. The latter shot tanks with 2 - 3-kilometer distance and less (small calibers - even with 1,8 thousand m).

Artillery support for the tanks was poorly placed, and the losses of the tanks were significant: almost half of the vehicles remained on the battlefield. But the result of introducing them into battle was that the German offensive in this sector was stopped.

To be continued ...
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +9
    27 July 2019 05: 35
    As a tank commander in my, still Soviet, military specialty, it is always very interesting for me to learn something new about the origins and nuances of the formation of tank troops, tactics and examples of their combat use (starting from the very first known to every tanker, September 15, 1916 on the Somme).
    After all, knowledge, like trenches, does not happen much — live a century, learn a century! wink
    1. +9
      27 July 2019 12: 04
      Why is tanker's day not celebrated on September 15, in honor of Fleury on the Somme?)
      Do foreigners have it at all?
      1. +1
        27 July 2019 17: 26
        Quote: XII legion
        Why is tanker's day not celebrated on September 15, in honor of Fleury on the Somme?)
        Do foreigners have it at all?

        I think that this is due to the fact that the former RI- "Soviet Russia" -USSR for a long time fell out of the pan-European "information space" and everything connected with our pre-revolutionary, imperial, army and navy, after all, was also hushed up ...?!
        But I. Stalin was a rather erudite person and, I think, had a grateful memory in his head about the month of the first in the history of the combat use of tanks, when in 1946 he set a date for celebrating Tanker’s Day also in September, although it was 11th in honor of the significant date of the Carpathian operation of victory in 1945 , in which our tank and mechanized troops also excelled ?!
        Well, now, our festive "second Sunday of September" certainly cannot be September 15, alas. winked
        I don’t know anything about the up-and-coming Tanker Days nationwide, except in the post-Soviet republics. Probably in other countries, it is celebrated on a garrison scale, like a regimental holiday ?!
        Somehow I didn’t even think about it and it would be interesting to read about it on VO.
        Now I thought that maybe tank competitions, crews and tanks from NATO countries, "for the prize of the Canadian army" are somehow connected with the Canadian "Day of the Tankman"?
  2. +3
    27 July 2019 08: 16
    In principle, very good books Fedoseyev tanks of the First World War. Fit and ellustrated.
    1. +9
      27 July 2019 11: 10
      Yes, there are so many. And okromya Fedoseeva
      But what is especially valuable (for me) in this article - I saw not the techno, but the nuances of tactics and RAM. With an informative squeeze, often little known
      1. +5
        27 July 2019 11: 48
        In detail often all the salt!
  3. +7
    27 July 2019 11: 02
    Thank you for starting the cycle devoted to the use, namely the use (which is valuable and very important) of tanks in the battles of the First World War.
    Interesting details and nuances!
  4. +4
    27 July 2019 11: 47
    September 16, the British, April 17, the French.
    But dispersed well. And all the cult operations have their own.
    Even with amers near Saint-Miel
    1. +6
      27 July 2019 12: 01
      The era of the formation of tank troops, the release of not yet always boxing boxes into the operational space.
      We look forward to continuing
  5. +1
    27 July 2019 13: 12
    It seems that the author is "rooting" for the Germans. smile
    But in articles about the Eastern Front, his sympathies change diametrically.
    And he is patriotic, of course, against the Germans.
    1. +6
      27 July 2019 13: 49
      the author is "rooting" for the Germans.

      why not for Israel? lol
      enlighten on the basis of such a thoughtful conclusion
      And he is patriotic, of course, against the Germans.
      and of course you are, too, understandable)
      1. +1
        27 July 2019 13: 53
        The article mentions German heroism several times.
        soldiers fighting tanks. But never said
        about the heroism of the British tankers. And many such cases are described.
        in the history of the Great War.
        ----
        "and of course you are in favor, also understandable)"
        ----
        Pretty cheap trick ... negative
        A monarchist does not have to be anti-Semite.
        You can just be a normal monarchist. smile
        1. +8
          27 July 2019 14: 05
          As far as I understand, this is a tactical nuance in relation to the answer to the question: why the Germans were late with tank construction. Indeed, one of the reasons is that their infantry successfully fought against the Allied tanks at that time, moreover, they threw off these tanks with counterattacks and even seized them (for example, dozens of Cambrai).
          Further (in my opinion) heroism among infantrymen who, without special anti-tank weapons, and even in conditions of technical surprise, repelled an attack of armored monsters (you must admit that the situation when an unprotected man with a grenade confronts a group of people armed with guns and machine guns and covered in armor is still unequal!) nevertheless, more than tankers needed it.
          And many such cases are described.
          in the history of the Great War.

          on both sides naturally
          1. +5
            27 July 2019 14: 12
            A monarchist does not have to be anti-Semite.
            You can be just a normal monarchist

            And this is a warrior for what ?? Again personal attacks?
            Why did they take that monarchist and why did anti-Semitism drag in?
            Because of the phrase
            why not for Israel?
            The question was asked solely because you were supposedly an Israeli before the cancellation of national flags. At least you had an Israeli flag.
            Ps
            how cleverly you delete comments without a trace is very revealing wink
      2. +2
        27 July 2019 17: 31
        Svyatoslav, sorry you can’t put more plus. cheered up :)
  6. +1
    27 July 2019 13: 25
    "The attack of British tankers at Cambrai" makes an impression, and at the time when the era of tanks was just beginning, I can imagine what those who were attacked by this armada felt.
    "On November 22 - 23, 1917, the Germans stopped a tank attack - and by means of a counterattack, which was successful even without tanks, they neutralize the result of the British operation. During the counterattack, many tanks fell into the hands of the Germans."
    "The best weapon against tanks was the nerves, discipline and courage of the people. They helped many brave soldiers climb onto enemy tanks or shoot them point-blank."
    Let's omit in this case what they fought including against us and what they did. But one must admit courage and training.

    "Duel between British and German tanks, April 24, 1918" and from this drawing goosebumps run down the wall. Two huge iron monsters full of strength and energy entered the battle.

    By the way, you can see how the chassis of the French tanks is more modern in concept. Although not the fact that in those days it was a plus.
    1. +3
      27 July 2019 15: 57
      Quote: Red_Baron
      By the way, you can see how the chassis of the French tanks is more modern in concept. Although not the fact that in those days it was a plus.

      Yes, in terms of their driving performance, the French were far behind the British, but everything changed when the FT-17 joined the ranks of the French.
  7. +2
    27 July 2019 18: 06
    I wanted to note something else, not quite according to the article. Personally, I really love the first tanks. Such clumsy at first glance, conceptual rhombuses and other geometric excesses. But they show engineering solutions for various tasks. In modern technology, everything is much more complicated, more technologically advanced, miniature and many moments are available only to specialists. And on these ancestors everything is in sight. And it’s interesting to look at some details.
    Look at the first photo a whole greenhouse from above :)
  8. +2
    27 July 2019 20: 46
    Good review. Tube such. Pictures are successful :) Thanks to the author!
  9. The comment was deleted.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Танки в боях Великой войны

Мы хотим поговорить о наиболее интересных аспектах применения танков в Первой мировой войне. В основе цикла – материалы советской военной периодики, посвященной автобронетанковым войскам, а также специальные труды военных специалистов.




Боевой дебют


Итак, дебют английских танков на полях Первой мировой войны состоялся 15 сентября 1916 года на Сомме — у Флери, южнее Бапома. Из общего количества 49-ти машин, назначенных для первой в истории танковой атаки, 17 не прибыли на исходный рубеж вследствие неисправностей.


Танк роты D на улице Флери, 15 сентября 1916 г.


Применение бронированных машин мыслилось следующим образом: танки, будучи двинуты группами по 2 — 3 единицы против наиболее сильных опорных пунктов противника, должны были достигнуть германских линий за 5 минут до подхода своей пехоты. Из 32-х действовавших танков 14 осталось на поле боя. Несмотря на достигнутую техническую внезапность (эффект, вызванный технической новизной от появления нового оружия), успех носил локальный характер. И это несмотря на то, что технической внезапности сопутствовала и тактическая внезапность – прибытие танков на ТВД осталось окутано непроницаемым покровом тайны.


Mk-1 самка после боя у Флери


В кампаниях 1917 — 1918 гг. танки активно применялись англичанами и французами — сопровождая почти все более-менее серьезные боевые операции.

Аррас и Фландрия


Так, в начале весенней битвы под Аррасом, 9 апреля 1917 г. на германскую 6-ю армию после краткой, но очень сильной артиллерийской подготовки обрушился тяжелый удар — по обе стороны Скарпа. Танковый удар вывел из строя несколько германских дивизий — и англичане проникли вглубь обороны вплоть до артиллерийских позиций и выиграли около 6 км в глубину на 12-15 км фронте. Но оперативного прорыва достичь не удалось.

Во Фландрии при помощи танков англичанам также удалось вогнуть германский позиционный фронт — в ряде пунктов. За танками должны были следовать кавалерийские дивизии. На более скромный результат повлияла трансформация плана — в сторону снижения масштабности развития предполагаемой операции. Но и в этом случае, кроме потери пространства глубиной 2 – 4 км, германская 4-я армия понесла большие потери пленными и военным имуществом.

Танки в боях Великой войны

Мк-4 в грязи Фландрии, сентябрь 1917 г.


Танки в Бойне Нивеля и у Шмен-де-Дам


Французские танки системы Шнейдера впервые появились на поле боя 16 апреля 1917 года на р. Эн — после 10-дневной артподготовки во время Краонской битвы. Так как германские окопы были слишком широки для этого типа танков, было решено двинуть вперед сначала пехоту (которая овладевает первыми двумя вражескими линиями), а затем с помощью рабочих команд вводились танки. В данном случае задача танков – поддержать пехоту при наступлении на 3-ю линию.


Шнейдер СА-1


В общей сложности, на находящийся восточнее Краона Жювенкур, двинулось 82 танка, построенных в колонны. Бронированным машинам пришлось пройти 3-4-км расстояние средь белого дня, на виду неприятельской артиллерии и по открытой местности. Пехота дальше 2-й линии самостоятельно прорваться не смогла – и стала ждать танки. Танковым колоннам удалось достигнуть 3-й линии, а несколько танков сражались в течение всего дня – находясь на 2 — 2,5 км впереди своей утомленной пехоты.


Шнейдер, уничтоженный 16 апреля 1917 г. в ходе "Бойни Нивеля"


Затем было введено еще 50 танков – и общее количество задействованных машин достигло 132 единиц. Из 132 машин 76 осталось на поле битвы (в т. ч. 57 единиц было расстреляно артиллерийским огнем; 25% экипажей выбыли из строя убитыми или ранеными).

23 октября 1917 года танки типов Шнейдер и Сен-Шамон приняли участие в сражении у Мальмезона (Шмен-де-Дам) – причем после того, как скверная погода и шестидневная артиллерийская подготовка сделали местность для них труднопроходимой. Из двинутых в бой 63-х танков лишь 21 действительно вступил в дело, облегчая продвижение пехоты. На этот раз танковые батареи были непосредственно подчинены пехотным батальонам (а уже за последними для помощи танкам при преодолении труднодоступных участков шли рабочие команды).


Сен-Шамон, носящий имя собственное "Фантомас" и его экипаж


Историческая битва у Камбрэ


И уже затем разыгралась названная «танковой» битва у Камбрэ. Под прикрытием темноты и обширных лесов Аврэнкура британцы стянули в течение нескольких ночей мощные танковые силы и большое количество кавалерии – 20-го ноября 1917 года обрушившись на германскую позицию, слабо оборудованную в артиллерийском отношении.

Вследствие удобной местности и полной неожиданности для германцев, танки имели крупный успех. Мы подробно писали об этой операции, акцентируем внимание на том, что боевым танкам помогало значительное количество вспомогательных (в т. ч. танков связи), и трактора, а артиллерийское сопровождение операции отличалось крупностью калибров.


Атака британских танкистов у Камбрэ


Танковая атака, при потере 107 машин, дала выигрыш пространства в 8 км в глубину, 8000 пленных и 100 орудий. Битва при Камбрэ доказала возможность преобразования танкового прорыва из тактического в оперативный (были сформированы все необходимые предпосылки для этого), жизненную важность активного взаимодействия танков с конницей и пехотой и то, что при помощи танков возможно прорвать укрепленную позицию противника и без традиционной длительной артиллерийской подготовки.


Британские танкисты с трофеями


22 — 23 ноября 1917 года германцы останавливают танковую атаку — и посредством контратаки, удавшейся и без танков, они нивелируют результат операции британцев. Во время контратаки много танков попало в руки германцев. В боях под Бурлоном и в Бурлонском лесу, имели место случаи вывода из строя танков пехотой – с помощью ручных гранат и др. средств. Даже пулеметные пули со стальным сердечником справлялись с танковой броней. Но основным врагом брони стал артиллерийский огонь.

Лучшим же оружием против танков оказались нервы, дисциплина и отвага людей. Они помогли многим храбрым воинам забираться на неприятельские танки или расстреливать их в упор.

Упущенное время


Соответственно и мнение германского Верховного командования о танках вначале было спокойным. В войсках также улеглась первоначальная «танкобоязнь». Танки были опасны, но все же выводились из строя, а германские атаки удавались и без танков.

Упадок дисциплины и ослабление боевой мощи германской армии в 1918 г. привели к тому, что танки союзников, примененные крупными массами под прикрытием дымовых завес, сыграли очень важную роль в ходе последующих военных событий.

Немцы попытались ответить на вызов – но время было упущено. И когда весной 1918 г. германские войска, наступающие в направлении на Амьен, неоднократно применяли свои тяжелые танки, малочисленность последних обнуляла весь эффект от такого применения, исключая возможность какого-либо решающего действия.


Поединок британского и германского танков, 24 апреля 1918 г.


В конце мая 1918 г. в ходе германского наступления у Суассона – Реймса германские войска показали свое превосходство над французами и англичанами – причем последним не помогли даже многочисленные танки.

Удар у Мондидье


11-го июня 1918 года юго-восточнее Мондидье перешел в контратаку Ш. Манжен — пытаясь задержать продвижение О. фон Гутьера на Компьен. Встречный удар был произведен при поддержке 144 танков, действующих на фронте шириной в 12 км (причем некоторым танкам пришлось пройти 10 — 14 км до исходного пункта атаки). Пехота должна была атаковать первой, но при поддержке танков. Последним следовало, догнав пехоту, нанести главный удар. Так как после этого пехота отстала, то танки продолжали бой в одиночестве, находясь в среднем на 1,5-км расстоянии перед пехотой — под огнем германских полевых орудий. Последние расстреливали танки с 2 – 3-километровой дистанции и менее (мелкие калибры — даже с 1,8 тыс. м).

Артиллерийская поддержка танков была поставлена плохо, и потери танков были значительны: почти половина машин осталась на поле сражения. Но результатом введения их в бой стало то, что германское наступление в этом участке было остановлено.

Продолжение следует…
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. пищак 27 июля 2019 05:35 Новый
    • 10
    • 1
    +9
    Как командиру-танкисту по своей, ещё советской, военной специальности, мне всегда очень интересно узнавать что-то новое об истоках и нюансах становления танковых войск, тактике и примерах их боевого применения( начиная с самых первых, известных каждому танкисту,-15 сентября 1916 на Сомме).
    Ведь знаний, как и окопов, много не бывает-век живи, век учись! wink
    1. XII легион 27 июля 2019 12:04 Новый
      • 9
      • 0
      +9
      Почему день танкиста не отмечается 15 сентября, в честь Флери на Сомме?)
      А у иностранцев есть ли он вообще?
      1. пищак 27 июля 2019 17:26 Новый
        • 2
        • 1
        +1
        Цитата: XII легион
        Почему день танкиста не отмечается 15 сентября, в честь Флери на Сомме?)
        А у иностранцев есть ли он вообще?

        Думаю, что это из-за того, что бывшая РИ-"Советская Россия"-СССР надолго выпала из общеевропейского "информпространства" и всё, связанное с нашими дореволюционными, императорскими, армией и флотом, ведь тоже замалчивалось...?!
        Но И.Сталин был достаточно эрудированным человеком и, думаю, имел в голове благодарную память о месяце первого в истории боевого применения танков, когда в 1946 назначал дату празднования Дня танкиста тоже в сентябре, хотя и 11-в честь знаменательной даты Карпатской операции победного 1945, в которой тоже отличились наши танковые и механизированные войска?!
        Ну а так, сейчас, наше праздничное "второе воскресенье сентября" уж никак не может быть 15 сентября, увы. winked
        Про закордонные Дни танкиста в масштабах всей страны, кроме постсоветских республик, ничего не знаю. Наверное, в других странах, он отмечается в масштабах гарнизона, как полковой праздник?!
        Как-то даже не задумывался над этим и было бы интересно прочесть об этом на ВО.
        Вот сейчас подумалось, что может танковые соревнования, экипажей и танков из стран блока НАТО, "на приз канадской армии" как-то связаны с канадским "Днём танкиста"?
  2. Kars 27 июля 2019 08:16 Новый
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    В принципе очень хорашая книги федосеева танки первой мировой войны. Бодробная и элюстрированная.
    1. Адьютант 27 июля 2019 11:10 Новый
      • 9
      • 0
      +9
      Да так то много что есть. И окромя Федосеева
      Но что особо ценно (для меня) в сей статье - увидел не техно, а именно нюансы тактики и оперативки. С информативной выжимкой, зачастую малоизвестной
      1. Брутан 27 июля 2019 11:48 Новый
        • 6
        • 1
        +5
        В подробностях часто вся соль!
  3. Адьютант 27 июля 2019 11:02 Новый
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    Спасибо за начало цикла, посвященного применению, именно применению (что ценно и очень важно), танков в битвах Первой мировой.
    Интересные подробности и нюансы!
  4. Брутан 27 июля 2019 11:47 Новый
    • 5
    • 1
    +4
    Сентябрь 16 года англичане, апрель 17 года французы.
    Но разогнались хорошо. И культовые операции у всех свои.
    Даже у амеров под Сен-Миелем
    1. XII легион 27 июля 2019 12:01 Новый
      • 6
      • 0
      +6
      Эпоха становления танковых войск, выхода пока не всегда уклюжих коробочек на оперативный простор.
      С интересом ждём продолжения
  5. voyaka uh 27 июля 2019 13:12 Новый
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Такое впечатление, что автор "болеет" за немцев. smile
    Но в статьях про Восточный фронт его симпатии диаметрально меняются.
    И он патриотически, конечно, против немцев.
    1. Адьютант 27 июля 2019 13:49 Новый
      • 7
      • 1
      +6
      автор "болеет" за немцев.

      почему не за Израиль? lol
      просветите об основании столь глубокомысленного заключения
      И он патриотически, конечно, против немцев.
      а вы конечно за, тоже понятно)
      1. voyaka uh 27 июля 2019 13:53 Новый
        • 3
        • 2
        +1
        В статье несколько раз упомянут героизм немецких
        солдат, боровшихся с танками. Но ни разу не сказано
        о героизме английских танкистов. А таких случаев описано много
        в истории Великой войны.
        ----
        "а вы конечно за, тоже понятно)"
        ----
        Довольно дешевый прием... negative
        Монархист вовсе не обязан быть антисемитом.
        Можно быть просто нормальным монархистом. smile
        1. Адьютант 27 июля 2019 14:05 Новый
          • 8
          • 0
          +8
          Насколько я понимаю, это тактический нюанс применительно к ответу на вопрос: почему немцы запоздали с танкостроением. Действительно, одна из причин - то что их пехота успешно боролась на тот момент с союзными танками, более того, контратаками отбрасывая эти танки и даже захватывая (у Камбрэ например несколько десятков).
          Далее (на мой взгляд) героизма у пехотинцев, которые без специального противотанкового оружия, да еще в условиях технической внезапности отбивали атаку бронечудовищ (согласитесь что ситуация когда незащищенный человек с гранатой противостоит группе людей вооруженных пушками и пулеметами и укрытых броней - все же неравная!) требовалось все же более чем танкистам.
          А таких случаев описано много
          в истории Великой войны.

          с обеих сторон, естественно
          1. Адьютант 27 июля 2019 14:12 Новый
            • 6
            • 1
            +5
            Монархист вовсе не обязан быть антисемитом.
            Можно быть просто нормальным монархистом

            А это вояка к чему?? Опять личные выпады?
            С чего взяли что монархист и с чего приплели антисемитизм?
            Из-за фразы
            почему не за Израиль?
            вопрос задан исключительно потому что вы до отмены национальных флажков были якобы израильтянином. По крайней мере флажок у вас был израильский.
            P.s.
            то как ловко вы удаляете комменты без остатка весьма показательно wink
      2. Andy 27 июля 2019 17:31 Новый
        • 2
        • 0
        +2
        Святослав,жаль больше плюса нельзя вам поставить. подняли настроение :)
  6. Red_Baron 27 июля 2019 13:25 Новый
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    "Атака британских танкистов у Камбрэ" производит впечатление а во времена когда эпоха танков только начиналась я представляю что ощущали те, на кого эта армада шла.
    "22 — 23 ноября 1917 года германцы останавливают танковую атаку — и посредством контратаки, удавшейся и без танков, они нивелируют результат операции британцев. Во время контратаки много танков попало в руки германцев."
    "Лучшим же оружием против танков оказались нервы, дисциплина и отвага людей. Они помогли многим храбрым воинам забираться на неприятельские танки или расстреливать их в упор."
    Давайте в данном случае опустим что они воевали в том числе против нас и что творили. Но нельзя не признать мужество и выучку .

    "Поединок британского и германского танков, 24 апреля 1918 г." а от этого рисунка мурашки бегут по стене. Два огромных железных монстра полных силы и энергии вступили в схватку.

    Кстати видно насколько ходовая у французских танков более современная по концепции. Хотя не факт что в те времена это было плюсом.
    1. svp67 27 июля 2019 15:57 Новый
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Цитата: Red_Baron
      Кстати видно насколько ходовая у французских танков более современная по концепции. Хотя не факт что в те времена это было плюсом.

      Да, по своим ходовым качествам "французы" оказались далеко позади "англичан", но все поменялось когда в ряды "французов" влились FT-17
  7. Red_Baron 27 июля 2019 18:06 Новый
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Хотел что еще заметить, не совсем по статье. Я, лично, очень люблю первые танки. Такие неуклюжие на первый взгляд, концептуальные ромбы и прочие геометрические излишества. Но на них видны инженерные решения для тех или иных задач. В современной технике все гораздо сложнее, технологичнее, миниатюрнее и многие моменты доступны только специалистам. А на этих предках все на виду. И интересно смотреть на какие то детали.
    Вон на первой фото целая оранжерея сверху :)
  8. Saxahorse 27 июля 2019 20:46 Новый
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Хороший обзор. Ламповый такой. Картинки удачные :) Автору спасибо!
  9. Комментарий был удален.