The beginning of the Second World War. Alternative Polish

Enemy at the doorstep


Summer 1939 of the year. Just recreated, as they say, with a pin, the German Wehrmacht has already focused on the borders of Poland. Hitler and his inner circle, who managed to get repeated carte blanche from the West both for the restoration of the armed forces and for territorial amendments to the Versailles Peace, have no doubt that nothing can stop the invasion of Polish territory.

The beginning of the Second World War. Alternative Polish
Jozef Beck had no illusions about Germany, but ...



Even the USSR, which repeatedly offered Poland to come to an agreement, was neutralized by the notorious Ribbentrop-Molotov pact. However, in Warsaw they do not want to believe not only intelligence information, but also their own eyes. The Polish ambassador to Germany, Jozef Lipsky, since spring, has regularly bombarded with letters of the then Polish Foreign Minister, Jozef Beck, about "a detailed clarification to the German side of the many benefits of the joint military action of Germany and Poland against the USSR."

Even at the end of July 1939, when the mass repressions of the Nazis against the Poles in East Prussia, West Silesia and the former Czechoslovak-Polish border area sharply intensified, almost no one expressed concern among the Polish leaders. The heirs of Pan Pilsudski reassured themselves with the hope that Berlin was about to announce the alliance of Germany with Poland against the USSR.

More precisely, it was a preliminary joint military plan "Wschodni pytanie" ("Eastern Question"), which the general staffs of Poland and Germany jointly developed, albeit in general terms, by the end of the 1938 year. As a resident of Soviet foreign intelligence in Belarus during the war recalled, subsequently the head of the Polish Communist Party in 1948-56, Boleslav Bierut (1891-56), the "Eastern Question" plan envisaged, for example, joint military attacks on Minsk, Gomel, Zhytomyr and Kiev.

Autonomous Polish Kiev


It is clear that for this the Polish army simply passed German troops ... to the Polish-Soviet border. However, Berlin and Warsaw could not agree so: who and in what part of Soviet Ukraine will host. Contradictions sometimes took an absurd form. So, the leaders of the new Commonwealth sought as much as a free port in Odessa or, at least, in the Belgorod-Dniester.

Further - more, from Warsaw immediately, even at the stage of developing joint military plans, they demanded some kind of joint autonomy for the puppet power in Kiev. Autonomy is either from Warsaw, or from Berlin, but for some reason the Nazis immediately refused the Polish partners. Attempts by the pilots to persuade the Nazis to give up, or rather to “return” Lithuania to them, also failed. However, why did Berlin agree to transfer to Warsaw only its Kaunas region, which, however, could be regarded as unprecedented generosity. After all, Kaunas, the former township of Kovno from 1920 to 1939, was considered the capital of independent Lithuania.

Lithuania itself, in those conditions, acted much more decently. When the 10 of September 1939, taking into account the inevitable military defeat of Poland, the German Foreign Ministry unequivocally invited Lithuania to annex the Vilnius Region (now it has become the capital region for Lithuania), the Lithuanian authorities refused the “present” on the same day. But from there already on the eve of the Polish troops completely left. They prudently headed towards the Modlin Citadel, which was blocked by the Wehrmacht, located north of Warsaw).



The Lithuanian Foreign Ministry immediately hurried up with a statement about "the invariability of the position of neutrality in the German-Polish war." Nevertheless, in just a month and a little - in October 1939, after the defeat of Poland, Lithuania still received the long-suffering Vilna Territory. Which in the 1920 year, in the wake of triumphant euphoria, after defeating the Soviets, the Polish legionnaires quickly captured the envy of envy.

Berlin is my friend?


However, every single joint project with Berlin eventually went to dust. And this despite the fact that Warsaw, on the eve of Nazi aggression, as is well known, invariably flatly refused Soviet military assistance. In the same way, even before the signing of the notorious pact, the USSR was refused entry of Soviet troops to the Polish-Slovak and Polish-German borders.



Poland’s military attache in Turkey, General Tadeusz Makhalski, on behalf of Warsaw, tried to influence the Nazi leadership through the German ambassador to Turkey, ex-chancellor von Papen. Throughout the first half of September 1939, when German tanks were already tearing toward Warsaw, Krakow and Danzig, Makhalsky convinced von Papen that German aggression must be stopped, and at the moment it is much more expedient to have a Polish-German joint invasion of the USSR.


However, in Berlin they had already bitten a bit, having decided to accurately fulfill their obligations under the Ribbentrop-Molotov Pact. But Makhalsky continued to unsuccessfully insist on the mediation of Turkey in the settlement of the Polish-German war. However, the Turkish authorities then preferred not to intervene at all. Moreover, as the then President of Turkey Ismet Inenu believed, the fate of Poland was predetermined by Germany long before the 1 of September 1939. And so it happened ...


During the Second World War, Ismet Inenu skillfully led Turkey through neutrality. In the photo - with F.D. Roosevelt and W. Churchill


However, on 26 on January 1939, German Foreign Minister Joachim von Ribbentrop, after meeting in Berlin with Polish Foreign Minister U. Beck, made the following entry for Hitler:
"Mr. Beck does not hide the fact that Poland still claims to Soviet Ukraine and access to the Black Sea. Believing that this can be achieved together with the Reich and even Romania, and the remaining issues can be decided on the basis of a compromise."


Such plans were fully reflected in the well-known conversation of Jozef Beck with Hitler in January 1938, which in many respects prompted the USSR to go on temporary cooperation with Hitler Germany.


Jozef Beck never persuaded Hitler to fight the USSR together


Incidentally, even in the official doctrine of the Polish General Staff, approved in November 1938, it was quite specifically said:
“The dismemberment of Russia lies at the heart of our policy in the East. Therefore, our possible position will be reduced to the following formula: who will specifically participate in the partition, and Poland should not remain passive at this wonderful historical moment. ... The challenge is to prepare well in advance physically and spiritually. The main goal is to weaken, defeat and divide Russia. ”


Moreover, Poland, counting on the implementation of the above plans, immediately recognized Germany’s rejection of the Memel region (Klaipeda region) from Germany at the end of March of the 1939, which completely deprived Kaunas of almost the entire Lithuanian part of the Baltic coast. Warsaw also did not slow to recognize the occupation in mid-March of Germany by 1939 “remaining” after the well-known, and with indirect Polish participation, Munich redistribution (1938) of Czechoslovakia.

Summing up, we note that Germany, with its traditional pedantry, surrounded Poland for a subsequent crushing blow to it. One should only be surprised that in Warsaw in the autumn of 1939, as they say, they were perplexed: for what? ..

The absurdity, or rather, suicide, of not only the mentioned, but also other large-scale Polish plans quite clearly manifested itself in September 1939. But even then, official Warsaw categorically refused to support the Polish anti-Nazi underground in the regions of Germany adjacent to Poland and in the "free city" of Danzig (Gdansk).
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

72 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Начало Второй мировой. Альтернатива по-польски

Враг у порога


Лето 1939 года. Только что воссозданный, что называется, с иголочки, германский Вермахт уже сосредоточился на границах Польши. Гитлер и его ближайшее окружение, которые успели получить от Запада неоднократный карт-бланш как на восстановление вооружённых сил, так и на территориальные поправки к Версальскому миру, не сомневаются в том, что вторжению на польскую территорию больше ничто не может помешать.

Начало Второй мировой. Альтернатива по-польски
Юзеф Бек не питал никаких иллюзий в отношении Германии, но…



Даже СССР, многократно предлагавший Польше договориться, нейтрализован небезызвестным пактом Риббентропа — Молотова. Однако в Варшаве не желают верить не только данным разведки, но и собственным глазам. Посол Польши в Германии Юзеф Липски, начиная уже с весны, регулярно бомбардировал письмами тогдашнего главу польского МИДа Юзефа Бека насчёт "подробного прояснения германской стороне многих выгод от совместного военного выступления Германии и Польши против СССР".

Даже в конце июля 1939 г., когда резко усилились массовые репрессии нацистов против поляков в Восточной Пруссии, Западной Силезии и в бывшем чехословацко-польском приграничье, среди польских руководителей практически никто не выражал тревоги. Наследники пана Пилсудского успокаивали сами себя надеждой, что Берлин вот-вот заявит о союзе Германии с Польшей против СССР.

Если точнее, речь шла о предварительном совместном военном плане "Wschodni pytanie" ("Восточный вопрос"), который генеральные штабы Польши и Германии совместно разработали, пусть в общих чертах, ещё к концу 1938 года. Как вспоминал резидент советской внешней разведки в Белоруссии в военные годы, впоследствии руководитель польской компартии в 1948-56 гг., Болеслав Берут (1891-56), "план "Восточный вопрос" предусматривал, например, совместные военные удары на Минск, Гомель, Житомир и Киев.

Автономный польский Киев


Понятно, что для этого польская армия просто пропускала германские войска… к польско-советской границе. Однако Берлин и Варшава так не смогли договориться: кто и в какой части советской Украины будет хозяйничать. Противоречия иной раз принимали абсурдную форму. Так, Лидеры новой Речи Посполитой добивались ни много ни мало, как свободного порта в Одессе или, как минимум, в Белгороде-Днестровском.

Дальше — больше, из Варшавы сразу, ещё на стадии разработки совместных военных планов, потребовали некой совместной автономии для марионеточной власти в Киеве. Автономии то ли от Варшавы, то ли от Берлина, но нацисты почему-то сразу отказали польским партнёрам. Точно так же потерпели фиаско и попытки пилсудчиков уговорить нацистов отдать, точнее – «вернуть» им Литву. Однако Берлин почему соглашался передать Варшаве лишь её Каунасский регион, что, впрочем, можно было расценить как невиданную щедрость. Ведь Каунас, бывшее местечковое Ковно с 1920 по 1939 год, числился столицей независимой Литвы.

Сама же Литва в тех условиях поступила куда порядочнее. Когда 10 сентября 1939 г., учитывая неизбежный военный разгром Польши, германский МИД недвусмысленно предложил Литве присоединить Виленский край (это теперь он стал для Литвы столичным регионом), власти Литвы в тот же день отказались от "подарка". А ведь оттуда уже накануне полностью ушли польские войска. Они благоразумно направились к блокируемой вермахтом цитадели Модлин, расположенной к северу от Варшавы).



МИД Литвы сразу поторопился с заявлением о "неизменности позиции нейтралитета в германо-польской войне". Тем не менее, всего через месяц с небольшим — в октябре 1939 г., уже после разгрома Польши, Литва всё же получила многострадальный Виленский край. Который в 1920 году, на волне победной эйфории, после победы над Советами, на зависть оперативно захватили польские легионеры.

Берлин мне друг?


Однако все до единого совместные с Берлином проекты в итоге пошли прахом. И это при том, что Варшава в канун нацистской агрессии, как хорошо известно, неизменно наотрез отказывалась от советской военной помощи. Точно так же, ещё до подписания пресловутого пакта, СССР было отказано в пропуске советских войск к польско-словацкой и польско-германской границам.



Военный атташе Польши в Турции генерал Тадеуш Махальский по поручению из Варшавы пытался воздействовать на нацистское руководство через германского посла в Турции, экс-канцлера фон Папена. Всю первую половину сентября 1939 г., когда немецкие танки уже рвались к Варшаве, Кракову и Данцигу, Махальский убеждал фон Папена том, что германскую агрессию необходимо прекратить, и на данный момент куда целесообразнее польско-германское совместное вторжение в СССР.


Однако в Берлине уже закусили удила, решив точно исполнять свои обязательства по пакту Риббентропа — Молотова. Но Махальский продолжал безуспешно настаивать на посредничестве Турции в урегулировании польско-германской войны. Однако турецкие власти предпочли тогда вообще не вмешиваться в ситуацию. Тем более что, как считал тогдашний президент Турции Исмет Иненю, судьба Польши была предрешена Германией задолго до 1 сентября 1939 года. Так оно и случилось…


В годы Второй мировой войны Исмет Иненю умело провёл Турцию путём нейтралитета. На фото — с Ф.Д. Рузвельтом и У. Черчиллем


Впрочем, еще 26 января 1939 г. министр иностранных дел Германии Йоахим фон Риббентроп, после встречи в Берлине с главой польского МИДа Ю. Беком, сделал такую запись для Гитлера:
"Господин Бек не скрывает, что Польша по-прежнему претендует на Советскую Украину и на выход к Чёрному морю. Полагая, что этого можно добиться совместно с Рейхом и даже с Румынией, а остальные вопросы решать на основе компромисса".


Такие планы в полной мере отражались и в известной беседе Юзефа Бека с Гитлером в январе 1938 г., которая во многом и подтолкнула СССР к тому, чтобы пойти на временное сотрудничество с гитлеровской Германией.


Юзеф Бек так и не уговорил Гитлера вместе бороться с СССР


Между прочим, даже в официальной доктрине польского генштаба, утверждённой в ноябре 1938 года, было вполне конкретно сказано:
«Расчленение России лежит в основе нашей политики на Востоке. Поэтому наша возможная позиция будет сводиться к следующей формуле: кто конкретно будет принимать участие в разделе, и Польша не должна оставаться пассивной в этот замечательный исторический момент. ...Задача состоит в том, чтобы заблаговременно хорошо подготовиться физически и духовно. Главная цель — ослабление, разгром и разделение России».


При этом Польша с расчётом на реализацию означенных планов сразу признала отторжение Германией у Литвы Мемельской области (Клайпедского региона) в конце марта 1939-го, что напрочь лишило Каунас почти всей литовской части балтийского побережья. Варшава также не замедлила признать и оккупацию в середине марта 1939 г. Германией "оставшейся" после известного, причём с косвенным польским участием, Мюнхенского передела (1938 г.) Чехословакии.

Подводя итоги, отметим, что Германия со своим традиционным педантизмом окружала Польшу для последующего сокрушительного удара по ней. Стоит только удивляться, что в Варшаве осенью 1939 года, что называется, недоумевали: за что?..

Абсурдность, точнее, самоубийственность, не только упомянутых, но и иных масштабных польских планов вполне отчётливо проявилась в сентябре 1939 года. Но даже и тогда официальная Варшава категорически отказалась от поддержки польского антинацистского подполья в сопредельных с Польшей районах Германии и в "вольном городе" Данциге (Гданьске).
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

72 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти