Military Review

Modernization of the Patriot air defense system under the PDB8 project

8
Almost 25 years ago, the Patriot PAC-3 launched anti-aircraft missile systems in the US Army. From the previous family samples, this SAM was distinguished by a number of new components and corresponding capabilities. In the recent past, an MSE upgrade program has been implemented. Now work is underway on the PBD8 (Post-Deployment Build 8) update project, and nearly two-thirds of the air defense systems have already been upgraded.




Big upgrade


The latest of the major Patriot upgrades so far has been the PAC-3 project, which included the introduction of a new rocket and a number of other components. Subsequent projects were smaller and meant replacing only individual units and assemblies. As part of the PBD8, it is planned to upgrade the equipment again, which will improve the operational and combat qualities of the air defense systems.

The current upgrade of the PAC-3 + / PDB8 is quite complex. To update the new project, the equipment has to be sent to the manufacturer. Raytheon and its subcontractors are overhauling the equipment and replacing the required components.

As part of the various means of the Patriot air defense system, units that are built on the basis of technology from the seventies and eighties are still preserved. PDB8 provides for the replacement of this equipment with modern digital systems. It is noted that such an update allows not only to improve the characteristics of individual funds, but also to reveal the full potential of the previous upgrade of MIM-104 missiles under the MSE project.

Alteration of equipment within the framework of PDB8 started in 2017. Over the past time, all 9 anti-aircraft missile battalions from the existing 15 passed the necessary procedures. For modernization, air defense missiles were deployed, deployed both in the United States and abroad. Moreover, the removal of equipment from duty, allegedly, did not have a negative impact on air defense in general.

Update Features


The main innovation of the PDB8 project is the improved multifunctional radar AN / MPQ-65A. It is an updated version of the standard AN / MPQ-65 from the Patriot air defense system and differs both technologically and in its characteristics.



Through the use of modern element base, it was possible to increase the speed of the radar in solving the same problems. In addition, the maximum detection range has been increased by 30% - now this parameter reaches 230-240 km. Increased resistance to electronic warfare. In operation, the product AN / MPQ-65A is simpler and cheaper than its predecessor. In this case, the layout is saved. The radar is still located on a towed trailer with the installation of the antenna on a lifting device.

The workplaces of Patriot air defense system operators have so far been equipped with cathode ray tube screens. As part of the PDB8, they are being replaced with LCD monitors. Also under replacement is the operator’s fire control computer. Communication facilities are being modernized using modern products. It is noted that the current update of operator positions will not be the last. In the future, it is planned to introduce new computing systems and even monitors with the 3D function.

The command point of the battery receives new functions that increase the combat effectiveness of the air defense system. It is planned to introduce the Advanced Electronic Countermeasures (AECM) system of the PDB8 version, which provides for the selection of various false targets. AECM will be able to detect such objects and their routes, reducing the load on the fire control computer. The existing state recognition system receives the function of Non-Cooperative Target Recognition (NCTR). Thanks to this, she can request data about the target not only from herself, but also from other air defense components.

Communication between the components of the Patriot, with the command or other complexes is now carried out using the Patriot Data Information Link system, which has undergone some updates. Modernization Combined Crypto Modernization Phase 1 allows the calculation to simultaneously work with open and encrypted channels, receiving all available data.



The current upgrade of PAC-3 + / PDB8 does not provide for major changes in the architecture of the complex, the replacement of key components or the introduction of a new weapons. At the same time, the tactical and technical characteristics and combat qualities are growing due to improved units and systems.

New developments


A few days ago, plans were announced to develop Patriot air defense systems after the completion of the PDB8 project. The new stage of improving the complexes will again be associated with the replacement of communication and control equipment, as well as with the introduction of a new multifunctional radar. The development of fundamentally new missiles has not yet been planned.

An advanced Integrated Air and Missile Defense Battle Command System (IBCS) tactical command and control system is currently under development, and this project is considered one of the main ones in the context of the development of air defense. While design work and various checks are ongoing. In the spring of next year, the first IBCS tests in the landfill will be held. By the mid-twenties, all Patriots will receive new IBCS systems, which will simplify their operation as part of a common multi-component air defense system.

The existing radar will be replaced in the future by the multipurpose locator Lower Tier Air and Missile Defense Sensor (LTAMDS). This radar will be distinguished by enhanced technical and operational characteristics. It is made taking into account joint operation with existing and promising air defense systems of all types. A combination of LTAMDS and IBCS will allow Patriot air defense systems to fully operate as part of layered air defense, interacting with other samples.

The deployment of the first LTAMDS radars is planned for 2022. Prior to 2031, it is planned to equip all 15 anti-aircraft missile divisions with Patriot PAC-3 + with such stations.

Plans for the future


SAM Patriot occupies a special place in the current plans of the Pentagon. This complex is considered quite successful in terms of characteristics and potential for development, because of which they do not plan to replace it. The Patriots will remain in service for at least the next two decades. Replacement of such air defense systems can take place only at the end of the forties.



The command understands that over the specified period, existing threats may change or give way to new ones. In this regard, the modernization of cash air defense systems is already underway with the parallel development of new models of equipment for various purposes.

Now the main task of Raytheon and its subcontractors is to complete the modernization of the air defense system for the PDB8 project. In about two years, the technology of nine divisions was updated. The machines of the remaining six will soon go for repair and modernization, after which they will return to operation.

The result of the current program will be an increase in the basic technical characteristics of the Patriot PAC-3 air defense system while maintaining all combat capabilities. The air defense system will still be able to solve the tasks of air defense and missile defense, but the effectiveness of such work will increase. In addition, the operation of machinery is simplified and cheapened.

Thus, the United States continues to develop its medium and long-range air defense and missile defense by improving existing systems. The Patriot air defense system confirms its modernization potential, and now we are talking about the most complex and largest update since the PAC-3 project. In the first half of the twenties, the introduction of new components and systems that will again provide an increase in performance will take place. It is expected that the current program and new projects will protect against air attacks both now and in the distant future.
Author:
Photos used:
US Army / army.mil
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. rocket757
    rocket757 27 August 2019 07: 00
    -9
    Anyway, they will attack FIRST !!! And they will try to level everything, everything, before the otvetka can go in the opposite direction!
    Those. They DO NOT CRUMP at a serious opponent! Because the real answer will not stand!
  2. A1845
    A1845 27 August 2019 09: 31
    +2
    Through the use of modern elemental base

    there is no story sadder in the world .. (than our elemental base)
    1. rocket757
      rocket757 27 August 2019 13: 28
      0
      Quote: A1845
      there is no story sadder in the world .. (than our elemental base)

      This is just the CONSEQUENCES!
      "A sad story" has to be about something completely different ..... in the necessary expressions will not give, write solid pi - pi, also not comme il faut! It looks like nothing.
  3. Romario_Argo
    Romario_Argo 28 August 2019 10: 46
    0
    even the updated AN / MPQ-53 radar system still loses to our 50Н6 radar from C-350
    they still have 6 CH channels against our 36 CH
    apparently the bet is only on missiles and PR with ARGSN
    see in 2022 their new LTAMDS radars
    1. Luvad
      Luvad 15 November 2019 11: 30
      0
      Something about 2500 valves from you have not heard anything for a long time?
      1. Luvad
        Luvad 15 November 2019 11: 32
        0
        And what about Kuznetsov and the su57 regiments in 2020?
  4. Narak-zempo
    Narak-zempo 28 August 2019 18: 27
    0
    It is noted that such an update allows not only to improve the characteristics of individual funds, but also to unleash the full potential of the previous upgrade of MIM-104 missiles under the MSE project.

    They famously saw.
    It's a classic. First I drank on the modernization of missiles, and then these missiles "cannot fully reveal their potential" on the old launcher.
  5. Narak-zempo
    Narak-zempo 28 August 2019 18: 32
    0
    The workplaces of Patriot air defense system operators have so far been equipped with cathode ray tube screens. As part of the PDB8, they are being replaced by LCD monitors.

    Apparently, the operators after the FullHD-monitor, behind which the gamma was at home, had shock and mental disorder.

Модернизация ЗРК Patriot по проекту PDB8

Почти 25 лет назад в армии США началось внедрение зенитных ракетных комплексов Patriot PAC-3. От предыдущих образцов семейства этот ЗРК отличался рядом новых компонентов и соответствующими возможностями. В недавнем прошлом была выполнена программа модернизации MSE. Теперь ведутся работы по проекту обновления PBD8 (Post-Deployment Build 8), и модернизацию уже прошло почти две трети строевых ЗРК.




Большая модернизация


Самой последней из крупных модернизаций «Пэтриота» пока был проект PAC-3, предусматривавший внедрение новой ракеты и ряда других компонентов. Последующие проекты имели меньший масштаб и подразумевали замену только отдельных узлов и агрегатов. В рамках PBD8 планируется опять обновить аппаратуру, что позволит повысить эксплуатационные и боевые качества ЗРК.

Текущая модернизация PAC-3+ / PDB8 отличается достаточной сложностью. Для обновления по новому проекту технику приходится отправлять на предприятие-изготовитель. Силами компании Raytheon и ее субподрядчиков осуществляется капитальный ремонт техники и замена требуемых компонентов.

В составе разных средств ЗРК «Пэтриот» до сих пор сохраняются узлы, построенные на основе технологий семидесятых-восьмидесятых годов. PDB8 предусматривает замену этого оснащения современными цифровыми системами. Отмечается, что такое обновление позволяет не только повысить характеристики отдельных средств, но и раскрыть весь потенциал предыдущей модернизации ракет MIM-104 по проекту MSE.

Переделка техники в рамках PDB8 стартовала в 2017 г. За прошедшее время необходимые процедуры прошли все машины 9 зенитно-ракетных дивизионов из 15 существующих. На модернизацию отправляли ЗРК, дислоцированные как на территории США, так и за ее пределами. При этом снятие техники с дежурства, как утверждается, не оказывало негативного влияния на ПВО в целом.

Особенности обновления


Главным нововведением проекта PDB8 является улучшенная многофункциональная радиолокационная станция AN/MPQ-65A. Она представляет собой обновленный вариант штатной AN/MPQ-65 из состава ЗРК Patriot и отличается как технологически, так и по своим характеристикам.



За счет применения современной элементной базы удалось повысить быстродействие РЛС при решении тех же задач. Кроме того, на 30% увеличена максимальная дальность обнаружения – теперь этот параметр достигает 230-240 км. Повышена устойчивость к средствам радиоэлектронной борьбы. В эксплуатации изделие AN/MPQ-65A проще и дешевле предшественника. При этом сохранена компоновка. РЛС по-прежнему размещается на буксируемом прицепе с установкой антенны на подъемном устройстве.

Рабочие места операторов ЗРК Patriot до сих пор были оснащены экранами на основе электронно-лучевых трубок. В рамках PDB8 их заменяют жидкокристаллическими мониторами. Также под замену идет операторский компьютер управления стрельбой. Проводится модернизация средств связи с применением современных изделий. Отмечается, что текущее обновление операторских мест не будет последним. В будущем планируется внедрить новые вычислительные системы и даже мониторы с функцией 3D.

Командный пункт батареи получает новые функции, повышающие боеспособность ЗРК. Предусматривается внедрение системы Advanced Electronic Countermeasures (AECM) версии PDB8, обеспечивающей селекцию различных ложных целей. AECM сможет выявлять подобные объекты и их трассы, снижая нагрузку на компьютер управления стрельбой. Имеющаяся система государственного опознавания получает функцию Non-Cooperative Target Recognition (NCTR). Благодаря этому она может запрашивать данные о цели не только у нее самой, но и у других компонентов ПВО.

Связь между компонентами «Пэтриота», с командованием или другими комплексами теперь осуществляется при помощи системы Patriot Data Information Link, прошедшей некоторые обновления. Модернизация Combined Crypto Modernization Phase 1 позволяет расчету одновременно работать с открытыми и шифрованными каналами, получая все доступные данные.




Текущая модернизация PAC-3+ / PDB8 не предусматривает серьезные изменения архитектуры комплекса, замену ключевых компонентов или внедрение нового оружия. В то же время, тактико-технические характеристики и боевые качества растут за счет улучшенных узлов и систем.

Новые разработки


Несколько дней назад были объявлены планы по развитию ЗРК Patriot после завершения проекта PDB8. Новый этап совершенствования комплексов вновь будет связан с заменой средств связи и управления, а также с внедрением новой многофункциональной РЛС. Разработка принципиально новых ракет пока не планируется.

Сейчас ведется разработка перспективной системы управления тактического звена Integrated Air and Missile Defense Battle Command System (IBCS), и этот проект считается одним из основных в контексте развития ПВО. Пока ведутся проектные работы и различные проверки. Весной следующего года пройдут первые испытания IBCS в условиях полигона. К середине двадцатых годов все «Пэтриоты» получат новые системы IBCS, что упростит их эксплуатацию в составе общей многокомпонентной системы ПВО.

На смену существующим РЛС в будущем придет многоцелевой локатор Lower Tier Air and Missile Defense Sensor (LTAMDS). Эта РЛС будет отличаться повышенными техническими и эксплуатационными характеристиками. Ее делают с учетом совместной эксплуатации с существующими и перспективными ЗРК всех типов. Связка LTAMDS и IBCS позволит ЗРК Patriot полноценно работать в составе эшелонированной ПВО, взаимодействуя с другими образцами.

Развертывание первых РЛС LTAMDS запланировано на 2022 г. До 2031 г. планируется оснастить такими станциями все 15 зенитно-ракетных дивизионов с Patriot PAC-3+.

Планы на будущее


ЗРК Patriot занимает особое место в актуальных планах Пентагона. Этот комплекс считают достаточно удачным с точки зрения характеристик и потенциала для развития, из-за чего не планируют заменять. «Пэтриоты» будут оставаться в строю, как минимум, в течение двух следующих десятилетий. Замена таких ЗРК может состояться лишь в конце сороковых годов.



Командование понимает, что за указанный период существующие угрозы могут измениться или уступить место новым. В связи с этим уже сейчас ведется модернизация наличных ЗРК с параллельной проработкой новых образцов техники разного назначения.

Сейчас главной задачей компании Raytheon и ее субподрядчиков является завершение модернизации ЗРК по проекту PDB8. Примерно за два года обновление прошла техника девяти дивизионов. Машины оставшихся шести в ближайшее время отправятся на ремонт и модернизацию, после чего вернутся в строй.

Результатом текущей программы станет повышение основных технических характеристик ЗРК Patriot PAC-3 при сохранении всех боевых возможностей. ЗРК по-прежнему сможет решать задачи противовоздушной и противоракетной обороны, но эффективность такой работы повысится. Кроме того, упрощается и удешевляется эксплуатация техники.

Таким образом, США продолжают развивать свою ПВО и ПРО средней и большой дальности за счет совершенствования существующих систем. ЗРК «Пэтриот» подтверждает свой модернизационный потенциал, причем теперь речь идет о самом сложном и крупном обновлении со времен проекта PAC-3. В первой половине двадцатых годов состоится внедрение новых компонентов и систем, которые вновь обеспечат прирост характеристик. Ожидается, что нынешняя программа и новые проекты позволят защищаться от воздушного нападения и сейчас, и в отдаленном будущем.
Автор:
Рябов Кирилл
Использованы фотографии:
US Army / army.mil
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти