Polish predator. Why Moscow saw a threat in Warsaw on the eve of World War II

Poland was considered by the Soviet military as one of the main threats to the USSR before World War II, unique declassified archival materials published by the Russian Defense Ministry report this.

Polish predator. Why Moscow saw a threat in Warsaw on the eve of World War II

A column of Polish artillerymen with 105-mm Schneider cannons of the 1913 model of the year makes a march along a country road. 1939



Ministry of Defense on its website has opened The new multimedia portal “Fragile Peace on the Threshold of War”, which is dedicated to the situation on the threshold and the initial period of the Second World War. Among the documents made public is a memo from the chief of the General Staff of the Red Army Boris Shaposhnikov to the People’s Commissar of Defense of the USSR, Kliment Voroshilov, dated March 24 1938. The document notes the threat of the possibility of war on the Western Front against Germany and Poland, as well as Italy, with the possible accession of the Limitrophs (Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Romania). In the East, there was a threat from Japan.

Shaposhnikov report


The chief of the General Staff of the Red Army, Shaposhnikov, noted that the emerging political situation in Europe and the Far East "as the most likely opponents of the USSR puts forward the fascist bloc - Germany, Italy, supported by Japan and Poland." These countries set their political goal of bringing relations with the Soviet Union to an armed clash.

However, at this time, Germany and Italy have not yet secured a quiet rear in Europe, and Japan is bound by the war in China. “Poland is in the orbit of the fascist bloc, trying to maintain the apparent independence of its foreign policy,” writes Shaposhnikov. The hesitant position of England and France allows the fascist bloc to come to terms with Western democracies in the event of its war with the USSR and direct most of the forces against the Union. The same policies of England and France determine the position of Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Romania, as well as Turkey and Bulgaria. It is possible that these states will remain neutral by waiting for the result of the first battles, which does not exclude the possibility of their direct participation in the war on the side of the fascist bloc. Lithuania will be occupied by Germans and Poles in the very first days of the war. Turkey and Bulgaria, even maintaining neutrality, will allow the fleets of Germany and Italy to operate in the Black Sea. Turkey may oppose the USSR in the Caucasus.

In the Far East, Japan, on the one hand, is weakened by the use of human and material resources in the war with China and the use of part of the divisions to control the occupied territories. On the other hand, the Japanese empire has already mobilized an army, which it calmly, without interference, transferred to the mainland. At the same time, the Japanese continue to arm themselves intensely. Therefore, in the event of a war in Europe (Nazi bloc attacks on the USSR), Japan may attack the USSR, as this will be the most favorable moment for Tokyo. In the future, such a favorable situation in the Far East will no longer be.

Thus, the chief of the General Staff of the USSR Shaposhnikov made a completely correct alignment of the future world war. The Soviet Union had to prepare for war on two fronts - in Europe and the Far East. In Europe, the main threat came from Germany and Poland, partly Italy and the state-limitrophs, in the Far East - from the Japanese Empire.

According to the Soviet General Staff, Germany could exhibit 106 infantry, cavalry and motorized divisions, Poland - 65 infantry divisions, 16 cavalry brigades. Together - 161 infantry division, 13 cavalry and 5 motorized divisions. Germany left part of the forces on the borders with France and Czechoslovakia, and Poland on the border with Czechoslovakia. However, the main forces and assets were directed to the war with the USSR: 110-120 infantry and 12 cavalry divisions, 5400 tanks and wedges, 3700 aircraft. Finland, Estonia and Latvia - 20 infantry divisions, 80 tanks and over 400 aircraft, Romania - up to 35 infantry divisions, 200 tanks and over 600 aircraft - could also oppose the USSR. In the Far East, Japan, while continuing to wage war in China, could put up its main forces against the USSR (leaving 10-15 divisions to wage war in China and occupy occupied territories), that is, from 27 to 33 infantry divisions, 4 brigades, 1400 tanks and 1000 aircraft (without naval aviation).

The General Staff gave an analysis of the possible deployment of the enemy. On the Western Front, Germany and Poland could concentrate their main forces north or south of Polesie. This question was related to the situation in Europe and whether the Germans and Poles can agree on the Ukrainian issue (as a result, they did not agree, and Germany “ate” Poland). Germans and Poles occupied Lithuania. The Germans used Latvia, Estonia and Finland to attack the northern strategic direction. German troops in the north, and armies of the Baltic states were used for a concentric attack on Leningrad and cutting off the Leningrad region from the rest of the USSR. In the North Sea, cruising operations of the German fleet and blockade with the help of the submarine fleet of Murmansk and Arkhangelsk are possible. In the Baltic, the Germans will try to establish their dominance, as in the Black Sea, with the help of the Italian fleet.

In the Far East, judging by the construction of railways, one should expect the main blow of the Japanese army in the Primorsky and Iman directions, as well as in Blagoveshchensk. Part of the Japanese forces will attack in Mongolia. In addition, under the dominance of a strong Japanese fleet at sea, private landing operations are possible both on the mainland and Kamchatka and the development of an operation to capture all of Sakhalin.

Polish predator


Now a myth is created about an innocent Polish victim who suffered from the aggression of the Third Reich and the USSR. However, in reality, the situation was the opposite. The Second Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (Polish Republic in 1918-1939) was itself a predator. The USSR is perceived as a great power, the victor of Hitler. But in the 1920-1930 years the situation was different. Poland defeated Soviet Russia in the 1919-1921 war. Captured the West Russian region. Warsaw also made money at the expense of the deceased Second Reich. Thus, according to the results of the First World War, the Russian and German empires collapsed, sharply weakened militarily and economically. Germany was forced to limit its military potential to a minimum. Poland became the most powerful military power in Eastern Europe.

The Soviet Union, weakened to the limit by the Civil War and intervention, economic disruption, all this time was forced to reckon with the Polish threat on its western borders. After all, Warsaw cherished plans for creating “Greater Poland” from sea to sea - from the Baltic to the Black Sea, the restoration of the Commonwealth within the borders of the year 1772, with the capture of Lithuania and the Soviet Ukrainian Republic.

At the same time, from the 1920's, Polish politicians began to create the image of Poland in the West as a barrier to Bolshevism. So, in 1921, an alliance agreement was signed with France. At that time, Warsaw hoped that the West would again go on a “crusade” against “red” Russia, and Poland would take advantage of this to capture Ukraine. Only later, when the Nazis seized power in Germany in 1933, did the Polish nationalists see an ally in Hitler. The Polish lords now hoped that Hitler would attack Russia, and Poland would use this war to realize its aggressive plans in the east. Under these plans there were real reasons - the Poles managed to profit at the expense of Czechoslovakia, when Hitler was able to convince England and France to give him the opportunity to dismember the Czechoslovak Republic.


Thus, the Polish elite could not give the country any economic, social reform or prosperity in the 20-30 years. At the same time, the Poles pursued a policy of colonization on the lands of occupied Western Belarus, Galicia and Volyn. The most effective way to colonize social discontent was the image of the enemy - the Russians, the Bolsheviks. And the old slogan “From mozh to mozh” (“from sea to sea”) remained the most effective. In addition, the Poles had territorial claims against other neighbors. Warsaw wanted to capture Danzig, which was inhabited by the Germans and belonged to Prussia for several centuries, but by the will of the Entente became a “free city”. The Poles repeatedly organized military and economic provocations in order to provoke a solution to the Danzig issue. Polish politicians openly demanded further expansion at the expense of Germany - annexation of East Prussia and Silesia to Poland. Warsaw considered Lithuania to be part of its state, had territorial claims against Czechoslovakia.

This explains Poland’s entire foreign policy during these years and its oddities, when Warsaw itself went to suicide, rejecting all Moscow’s attempts to find a common language, to create a collective security system in Eastern Europe. In 1932, Poland concluded a nonaggression pact with the USSR, in 1934, with Germany. But in the documents there was not a word about the borders of Poland. Warsaw wanted a new big war in Europe. The First World War returned to Poland statehood, ethnic Polish lands and part of the West Russian territory (Western Belarus and Ukraine). Now the Polish elite was hoping that a new big war would give Poland the new territories it claimed. Therefore, Poland in the 1930-ies tried with all its might to foment a great war, was a predator who wanted to profit at someone else's expense, and not an innocent sheep. In September 1939, Warsaw reaped the fruits of its aggressive policy.

Due to its military-economic potential, Poland could not become the main aggressor in Europe, but Jozef Pilsudski (the head of Poland in the 1926-1935, actually a dictator) was no worse and no better than the same Mussolini or Mannerheim in Italy and Finland. Mussolini dreamed of restoring the Roman Empire, making the Mediterranean Sea Italian, Mannerheim - of "Great Finland" with Russian Karelia, the Kola Peninsula, the Leningrad, Vologda and Arkhangelsk regions. Pilsudski and his heirs are about “Great Poland”, mainly due to Russian lands. The only question is that the Japanese, Italians and Germans at first managed to create their empires, and the Poles were stopped at the very beginning. Therefore, the Polish lords decided to sign up as victims of the aggressors.

In the USSR, in the 20-30 years, they were well aware of the Polish threat. The memory of this was gradually erased only after the victory of 1945, when the Poles from the enemies became allies, and Poland became part of the socialist camp. Then behind the scenes decided not to stir up the bloody past. In the first years after the Riga peace of 1921, the Polish border was military: there were constantly clashes, skirmishes thundered. On the territory of Poland, various White Guard and Petliura gangs were quietly located, which, with the complicity of the Polish military, periodically invaded Soviet Belarus and Ukraine. This situation is perfectly shown in the Soviet feature film "State Border" 1980 - 1988. (second film) - “Peaceful Summer of the 21 Year”. Here, the Soviet border town is attacked by bandits dressed in a Red Army uniform, behind whom are Polish intelligence and white emigrants.

This forced Moscow to hold large military forces on the border with Poland, not counting the NKVD troops and border guards. It is clear that therefore, in the 20 and 30 years, Poland was considered a probable adversary in Moscow. This is confirmed by the report of Shaposhnikov from March 24 1938


Units of the Polish 10-th horse-rifle regiment of the 10-th mechanized brigade are preparing for the solemn parade in front of the regiment commander over the end of Operation Zaluzhie (occupation of Czechoslovak territories). Source: http://waralbum.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

32 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Польский хищник. Почему Москва видела в Варшаве угрозу накануне мировой войны

Польша рассматривалась советскими военными в качестве одной из основных угроз СССР перед Второй мировой войной, об этом сообщают уникальные рассекреченные архивные материалы, опубликованные Министерством обороны РФ.

Польский хищник. Почему Москва видела в Варшаве угрозу накануне мировой войны

Колонна польских артиллеристов с 105-мм пушками Шнейдера образца 1913 года совершает марш по проселочной дороге. 1939 г.



Минобороны на своем сайте открыло новый мультимедийный портал «Хрупкий мир на пороге войны», который посвящен ситуации преддверия и начального периода Второй мировой войны. В числе обнародованных документов — служебная записка начальника Генерального штаба РККА Бориса Шапошникова народному комиссару обороны СССР Клименту Ворошилову от 24 марта 1938 года. В документе отмечается угроза возможности войны на Западном фронте против Германии и Польши, а также Италии, с возможным присоединением лимитрофов (Финляндии, Эстонии, Латвии и Румынии). На Востоке отмечалась угроза со стороны Японии.

Доклад Шапошникова


Начальник Генштаба Красной Армии Шапошников отмечал, что складывающаяся политическая обстановка в Европе и на Дальнем Востоке «как наиболее вероятных противников СССР выдвигает фашистский блок — Германию, Италию, поддерживаемых Японией и Польшей». Эти страны ставят своей политической целью доведение отношений с Советским Союзом до вооруженного столкновения.

Однако в данное время Германия и Италия ещё не обеспечили себе спокойный тыл в Европе, а Япония связана войной в Китае. «Польша находится в орбите фашистского блока, пытаясь сохранить видимую самостоятельность своей внешней политики», — пишет Шапошников. Колеблющаяся позиция Англии и Франции позволяет фашистскому блоку договориться с западными демократиями в случае его войны с СССР и направить против Союза большую часть сил. Эта же политика Англии и Франции определяет позицию Финляндии, Эстонии, Латвии, Румынии, а также Турции и Болгарии. Возможно, что эти государства сохранят нейтралитет, выжидая результата первых сражений, что не исключает возможности их прямого участия в войне на стороне фашистского блока. Литва же будет оккупирована немцами и поляками в первые же дни войны. Турция и Болгария, даже сохраняя нейтралитет, позволят флотам Германии и Италии действовать в Чёрном море. Турция, возможно, выступит против СССР на Кавказе.

На Дальнем Востоке Япония, с одной стороны, ослаблена использованием людских и материальных ресурсов в войне с Китаем и использованием части дивизий для контроля оккупированных территорий. С другой стороны, Японская империя имеет отмобилизованную уже армию, которую она спокойно, без помех перебросила на материк. При этом японцы продолжают усиленно вооружаться. Поэтому в случае войны в Европе (нападения фашистского блока на СССР) Япония может напасть на СССР, так как это будет самый благоприятный момент для Токио. В дальнейшем такой благоприятной ситуации на Дальнем Востоке уже не будет.

Таким образом, начальник Генштаба СССР Шапошников сделал вполне верный расклад будущей мировой войны. Советскому Союзу надо было готовиться к войне на два фронта – в Европе и на Дальнем Востоке. В Европе главная угроза исходила от Германии и Польши, частично Италии и государств-лимитрофов, на Дальнем Востоке – со стороны Японской империи.

По данным советского Генштаба, Германия могла выставить 106 пехотных, кавалерийских и моторизованных дивизий, Польша – 65 пехотных дивизий, 16 кавалерийских бригад. Вместе – 161 пехотную дивизию, 13 кавалерийских и 5 моторизованных дивизий. Часть сил Германия оставляла на границах с Францией и Чехословакией, и Польша на границе с Чехословакией. Однако основные силы и средства направлялись на войну с СССР: 110-120 пехотных и 12 кавалерийских дивизий, 5400 танков и танкеток, 3700 самолетов. Также против СССР могли выступить Финляндия, Эстония и Латвия – 20 пехотных дивизий, 80 танков и свыше 400 самолетов, Румыния – до 35 пехотных дивизий, 200 танков и свыше 600 самолетов. На Дальнем Востоке Япония, продолжая вести войну в Китае, могла выставить против СССР свои главные силы (оставив для ведения войны в Китае и для оккупации занятых территорий 10-15 дивизий), то есть от 27 до 33 пехотных дивизий, 4 бригады, 1400 танков и 1000 самолетов (без морской авиации).

Генштаб дал анализ возможного развертывания противника. На Западном фронте Германия и Польша могли сосредоточить свои главные силы к северу или югу от Полесья. Этот вопрос был связан с положением в Европе и смогут ли немцы и поляки договориться в украинском вопросе (в итоге не договорились, и Германия «съела» Польшу). Литву немцы и поляки оккупировали. Латвию, Эстонию и Финляндию немцы использовали для наступления на северном стратегическом на правлении. Германские войска на севере, и армии прибалтийских государств использовались для концентрического удара на Ленинград и отрезание Ленинградской области от остальной территории СССР. В Северном море возможны крейсерские действия германского флота и блокада с помощью подводного флота Мурманска и Архангельска. На Балтике немцы постараются установить своё господство, как и на Чёрном море, при помощи итальянского флота.

На Дальнем Востоке, судя по строительству железных дорог, следует ожидать главного удара японской армии на Приморском и Иманском направлениях, а также на Благовещенск. Часть сил японцев будет наступать в Монголии. Коме того, при господстве сильного японского флота на море возможны частные операции по высадке десанта как на материк, так и на Камчатку и развитие операции по захвату всего Сахалина.

Польский хищник


Ныне создан миф о невинной польской жертве, пострадавшей от агрессии Третьего рейха и СССР. Однако в реальности ситуация была обратной. Вторая Речь Посполитая (Польская Республика в 1918-1939 гг.) сама была хищником. СССР воспринимают как великую державу, победителя Гитлера. Но в 1920-1930-е годы ситуация была иной. Польша победила Советскую Россию в войне 1919-1921 гг. Захватила западнорусские области. Также Варшава поживилась за счёт погибшего Второго рейха. Таким образом, по итогам Первой мировой войны Российская и Германская империя рухнули, резко ослабели в военном и экономическом отношении. Германию заставили ограничить свой военный потенциал до минимума. Польша стала самой сильной военной державой Восточной Европы.

Советский Союз, до предела ослабленный Гражданской войной и интервенцией, хозяйственной разрухой, всё это время вынужден был считаться с польской угрозой на своих западных рубежах. Ведь Варшава лелеяла планы создания «Великой Польши» от моря до моря – от Балтики до Чёрного моря, восстановления Речи Посполитой в границах до 1772 года, с захватом Литвы и советской Украинской республики.

При этом с 1920-х годов польские политики стали создавать на Западе имидж Польши как барьера на пути большевизма. Так, в 1921 г. был подписан договор о союзе с Францией. В это время в Варшаве надеялись, что Запад снова пойдёт «крестовым походом» против «красной» России, и Польша этим воспользуется, чтобы захватить Украину. Только позднее, когда в 1933 г. в Германии власть захватили нацисты, польские националисты увидели союзника уже в Гитлере. Польские паны теперь надеялись, что Гитлер нападет на Россию, а Польша воспользуется этой войной для реализации своих захватнических замыслов на востоке. Под этими планами были реальные основания – удалось же полякам поживиться за счёт Чехословакии, когда Гитлер смог убедить Англию и Францию дать ему возможность расчленить Чехословацкую республику.


Таким образом, польская верхушка не смогла дать в 20-30-е годы стране ни экономических, ни социальных реформ, ни процветания. При этом поляки проводили политику колонизации на землях оккупированной Западной Белоруссии, Галиции и Волыни. Самым действенным способом колонизации социального недовольства оставался образ врага – русских, большевиков. И самым действенным оставался старый лозунг: «От можа до можа» («от моря до моря»). Кроме того, у поляков были территориальные претензии и к другим соседям. Варшава желала захватить Данциг, который был населен немцами и несколько столетий принадлежал Пруссии, но волей Антанты стал «вольным городом». Поляки неоднократно устраивали военные и экономические провокации, чтобы спровоцировать решение данцигского вопроса. Польские политики открыто требовали дальнейшего расширения за счёт Германии – присоединение к Польше Восточной Пруссии и Силезии. Варшава считала Литву частью своей державы, имела территориальные претензии к Чехословакии.

Этим и объясняются вся внешняя политика Польши в эти годы и её странности, когда Варшава сама шла к самоубийству, отвергая все попытки Москвы найти общий язык, создать систему коллективной безопасности в Восточной Европе. В 1932 г. Польша заключила пакт о ненападении с СССР, в 1934 г. – с Германией. Но в документах не было ни слова о границах Польши. Варшава желала новой большой войны в Европе. Первая мировая война вернула Польше государственность, этнические польские земли и часть западнорусской территории (Западная Белоруссия и Украина). Теперь польская элита надеялась, что новая большая война подарит Польше новые территории, на которые она претендовала. Поэтому Польша в 1930-е годы всеми силами пыталась разжечь большую войну, была хищником желающим поживиться за чужой счёт, а не невинной овечкой. В сентябре 1939 г. Варшава пожала плоды своей агрессивной политики.

В силу своего военно-экономического потенциала Польша не могла стать главным агрессором в Европе, но Юзеф Пилсудский (глава Польши в 1926-1935 гг., фактически диктатор) был не хуже и не лучше, чем тот же Муссолини или Маннергейм в Италии и Финляндии. Муссолини мечтал о восстановлении Римской империи, сделать Средиземное море Итальянским, Маннергейм – о «Великой Финляндии» с русской Карелией, Кольским полуостровом, Ленинградской, Вологодской и Архангельской областями. Пилсудский и его наследники – о «Великой Польше», в основном за счёт русских земель. Вопрос только в том, что японцам, итальянцам и немцам поначалу удалось создать свои империи, а поляков остановили в самом начале. Поэтому польские паны решили из агрессоров записаться в жертвы.

В СССР же в 20-30-е годы хорошо знали о польской угрозе. Память об этом постепенно стерли только после победы 1945 года, когда поляки из врагов стали союзниками, а Польша стала частью социалистического лагеря. Тогда негласно решили не ворошить кровавое прошлое. Первые годы после Рижского мира 1921 г. польская граница была военной: там постоянно происходили стычки, гремели перестрелки. На территории Польши спокойно располагались различные белогвардейские и петлюровские бандформирования, которые при пособничестве польских военных периодически вторгались в советскую Белоруссию и Украину. Великолепно эта ситуация показана в советском художественном фильме «Государственная граница» 1980 – 1988 гг. (фильм второй) – «Мирное лето 21-го года». Здесь советский приграничный город атакуют переодетые в красноармейскую форму бандиты, за которыми стоит польская разведка и белоэмигранты.

Это заставляло Москву держать крупные военные силы на границе с Польшей, не считая войск НКВД и пограничников. Понятно, что поэтому в 20- и 30-е годы Польша и считалась в Москве вероятным противником. Это подтверждает и доклад Шапошникова от 24 марта 1938 г.


Части польского 10-го конно-стрелкового полка 10-й механизированной бригады готовятся к торжественному параду перед командиром полка по поводу окончания операции «Залужье» (оккупация чехословацких территорий). Источник: http://waralbum.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

32 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти