New rules. Than the USA will bring down the Russian "Daggers" and "Vanguards"

More sound


About the development of hypersonic weapons lately did not speak only very lazy. It is worth saying that hypersonic speed itself, that is, speed with Mach 5 number and higher, has long ceased to be something out of the ordinary, however paradoxical it may seem at first glance. USA back in 1959 for the first time in stories tested a manned hypersonic North American X-15 aircraft, which proved the ability to fly at speeds above 6000 kilometers per hour. The hypersonic speed is also developed by the combat equipment of intercontinental ballistic missiles, as well as ballistic missiles of submarines.




What then is the meaning of innovations like the American Hypersonic Weapons Systempresented not so long ago? In short, a weapon claiming to be “hypersonic” must not only be able to achieve tremendous speeds, but also be able to carry out a controlled flight using aerodynamic forces. Roughly speaking, maneuver if necessary, up to the moment the target is hit.

There are many problems along the way. Due to the high-speed flow in the frontal point of the apparatus, gas is heated to extremely high temperatures - up to several thousand degrees. The second difficulty is the neutralization of the shielding effect of a cloud of red-hot plasma surrounding the rocket, which prevents the passage of commands, thereby reducing the ability of the product to effectively aim at the target.

Moreover, these problems represent only the tip of the iceberg. It is unclear, for example, how much hypersonic weapons will cost and who exactly should act as carriers of such systems. However, none of these challenges bother the creators of hypersonic missiles: neither Russians, nor Americans, nor Europeans, nor Chinese. Moreover, every year more and more hypersonic missile projects appear. Every year, both the West and the East demonstrate an increasing willingness to invest in such weapons systems.

The reason is clear: for all the difficulties of developing hypersonic weapons, it will be much more difficult to intercept them than a supersonic aircraft. All this forces countries to seek an “antidote.” The United States can get it first.

Three giants


In September, the bmpd Strategy and Technology Analysis Center blog reported on 30 on August 2019 that the United States Missile Defense Agency issued three US corporations — Lockheed Martin, Boeing, and Raytheon — for conceptual development of anti-sonic weapons. This is all called the Hypersonic Defense Weapon Systems Concept.

A Lockheed Martin unit called Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control was awarded a $ 4,4 million contract to develop the Valkyrie Interceptor Terminal Hypersonic Defense. Boeing received a contract worth 4,3 million dollars: he will work on what is called the Hypervelocity Interceptor Concept for Hypersonic Weapons.

Finally, Raytheon issued a contract worth 4,4 million dollars for the SM3-HAW concept, which, experts say, could be based on the RIM-161 Standard Missile 3 missile family. By the way, has already proven its effectiveness. As early as 2008, the SM-3 launched from the Lake Erie cruiser hit the USA-247 emergency reconnaissance satellite located at an altitude of 193 kilometers, which traveled at a speed of 27 thousand kilometers per hour. The warhead is kinetic. When pointing, a high-resolution matrix infrared homing head is used.



Work in all three areas should be completed before May 2 2020 year. These contracts are only part of the tremendous effort that the United States will invest in creating interceptors that can effectively counter hypersonic threats. Earlier, Deputy Minister of Defense Michael Griffin said that protecting against hypersonic weapons would require investing in several main directions at once, in particular, putting new radar stations into operation, putting new spacecraft into orbit, and finally creating new interceptors, which we wrote about above.

How real are the fears of the Americans? Domestic experts see Russia as an almost unconditional leader in this direction.

“Hypersonic weapons are truly a domestic development. We went a long way to it, because Americans, in principle, learned how to launch hypersound in the 1950s, when they were developing ballistic missiles. But we managed to control hypersonic flight at such speeds. The Americans failed. ”

- said not so long ago a famous Russian military specialist Alexei Leonkov.




In fairness, we note: the expert is not quite right. If only by virtue of a veil of secrecy, which takes place in the case of hypersonic missiles. However, something is known even to mere mortals. For example, that the X-47M2 "Dagger" can be attributed to a hypersonic missile with a stretch, since, in fact, we have an aeroballistic complex: an analogue of the Soviet X-15 or AS-16 "Kickback" according to NATO classification. Which, at a certain flight site, could also reach Mach 5 speed, however, could not maintain it throughout the flight path. As for the Zircon, there has not been much news about it recently, and the timing of its adoption and characteristics are still unknown. This is not counting the loud, but sometimes conflicting statements of officials, where the range, weight and types of media are changing.



Missile defense should be economical


The United States is also not going smoothly. Not all of the promising missile defense areas are satisfied with the Pentagon. So, in early September it became known that the military decided to suspend the program for developing beam weapons on neutral particles, which they wanted to use to intercept Russian and Chinese missiles.

“We will focus our efforts on other areas of creating weapons of directed energy, on which we are also working now, in particular, on lasers. We need hundreds of kilowatt lasers, and we give priority to this area, ”

- said the Deputy Minister of Defense.

Griffin also noted that another promising area is a high-power microwave weapon.

This is a completely normal process: some projects survive and get a ticket to life, while others fall under reductions. However, the desire of Americans to get reliable protection against various hypersonic threats is quite obvious. As well as the fact that interest in the interceptors of hypersonic missiles will grow along with interest directly in the missiles themselves.
Author:
Ilya Legat
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

75 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Новые правила. Чем США будут сбивать российские «Кинжалы» и «Авангарды»

Больше звука


О разработке гиперзвукового оружия в последнее время не говорил только очень ленивый. Стоит сказать, что сама по себе гиперзвуковая скорость, то есть скорость с числом 5 Маха и выше, давно перестала быть чем-то из ряда вон выходящим, как это ни парадоксально выглядит на первый взгляд. США еще в 1959-м впервые в истории испытали пилотируемый гиперзвуковой самолет North American X-15, который доказал способность летать со скоростью выше 6000 километров в час. Гиперзвуковую скорость развивает и боевое оснащение межконтинентальных баллистических ракет, а также баллистических ракет подводных лодок.




В чем же тогда смысл новшеств наподобие американского Hypersonic Weapons System, который презентовали не так давно? Если кратко, то оружие, претендующее на статус «гиперзвукового», должно не только уметь достигать огромных скоростей, но и уметь осуществлять управляемый полет с использованием аэродинамических сил. Грубо говоря, маневрировать при необходимости, вплоть до момента поражения цели.

Проблем на этом пути много. Из-за высокоскоростного потока в лобовой точке аппарата имеет место нагревание газа до чрезвычайно высоких температур — до нескольких тысяч градусов. Второй трудностью называют нейтрализацию экранирующего воздействия окружающего ракету облака раскаленной плазмы, которое препятствует прохождению команд, тем самым уменьшая способность изделия эффективно наводиться на цель.

Причем эти проблемы представляют собой лишь вершину айсберга. Непонятно, например, сколько будет стоить гиперзвуковое оружие и кто именно должен выступать в качестве носителей таких систем. Однако ни один из этих вызовов не беспокоит создателей гиперзвуковых ракет: ни русских, ни американцев, ни европейцев, ни китайцев. Более того, с каждым годом появляется все больше проектов гиперзвуковых ракет. Ежегодно и Запад, и Восток демонстрируют все большую готовность вкладывать деньги в такие комплексы вооружений.

Причина понятна: при всех сложностях разработки гиперзвукового оружия перехватить его будет намного сложней, чем сверхзвуковой летательный аппарат. Все это вынуждает страны искать «противоядие». Первым его могут получить США.

Три гиганта


В сентябре блог Центра анализа стратегий и технологий bmpd сообщил, что 30 августа 2019 года Агентство США по противоракетной обороне (Missile Defense Agency) выдало трем американским корпорациям — Lockheed Martin, Boeing и Raytheon — контракты на концептуальную разработку средств борьбы с гиперзвуковым оружием. Все это называется Hypersonic Defense Weapon Systems Concept.

Подразделению Lockheed Martin под названием Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control выдали контракт на сумму 4,4 миллиона долларов на разработку Valkyrie Interceptor Terminal Hypersonic Defense. Boeing получил контракт на сумму 4,3 миллиона долларов: он будет работать над тем, что называется Hypervelocity Interceptor Concept for Hypersonic Weapons.

Наконец, Raytheon выдали контракт на сумму 4,4 миллиона долларов на концепцию SM3-HAW, в основе которой, как считают эксперты, может лежать противоракета семейства RIM-161 Standard Missile 3. К слову, уже доказавшая свою эффективность. Еще 2008 году выпущенная с крейсера «Lake Erie» SM-3 поразила находящийся на высоте 247 километров аварийный разведывательный спутник USA-193, который двигался со скоростью 27 тысяч километров в час. Боевая часть — кинетическая. При наведении используется матричная инфракрасная головка самонаведения с высоким разрешением.



Работы по всем трем направлениям должны быть выполнены до 2 мая 2020 года. Данные контракты — лишь часть огромных усилий, которые США будут вкладывать в создание перехватчиков, способных эффективно противостоять гиперзвуковым угрозам. Ранее замминистра обороны Майкл Гриффин заявил, что защита от гиперзвукового оружия потребует вложения усилий сразу в несколько основных направлений, в частности — введение в строй новых радиолокационных станций, выведение на орбиту новых космических аппаратов и, наконец, создание новых перехватчиков, о которых мы и писали выше.

Насколько реальны опасения американцев? Отечественные эксперты видят Россию почти безоговорочным лидером в этом направлении.

«Гиперзвуковое оружие — действительно отечественная разработка. Мы шли к ней достаточно долгим путем, потому что запускать со скоростью гиперзвука американцы, в принципе, научились еще в 1950-х годах, когда разрабатывали баллистические ракеты. Но вот управлять гиперзвуковым полетом на таких скоростях удалось нам. Американцам не удалось»,

— заявил не так давно известный российский военный специалист Алексей Леонков.




Справедливости ради отметим: эксперт не совсем прав. Хотя бы лишь в силу завесы секретности, которая имеет место в случае с гиперзвуковыми ракетами. Однако что-то известно даже простым смертным. Например, что Х-47М2 «Кинжал» можно отнести к гиперзвуковой ракете с большой натяжкой, так как, по сути, перед нами аэробаллистический комплекс: аналог советского Х-15 или AS-16 «Kickback» по классификации НАТО. Который на определенном участке полета также мог развивать скорость 5 Маха, однако, не мог поддерживать ее на протяжении всей траектории полета. Что же касается «Циркона», то новостей про него в последнее время не много, а сроки принятия на вооружение и характеристики до сих пор неизвестны. Это если не считать громких, но порой противоречащих друг другу заявлений официальных лиц, где меняется дальность, масса и типы носителей.



ПРО должна быть экономной


У США тоже не все гладко. Далеко не все из перспективных направлений противоракетной обороны устраивает Пентагон. Так, в начале сентября стало известно, что военные решили приостановить программу разработки пучкового оружия на нейтральных частицах, которое хотели использовать для перехвата российских и китайских ракет.

«Мы сосредоточим свои усилия на других направлениях создания оружия направленной энергии, над которыми мы сейчас тоже работаем, в частности, на лазерах. Нам нужны лазеры мощностью сотни киловатт, и мы уделяем приоритетное внимание данному направлению»,

— заявил замминистра обороны.

Гриффин также отметил, что еще одно перспективное направление — это высокомощное микроволновое оружие.

Это совершенно нормальный процесс: одни проекты выживают и получают путевку в жизнь, в то время как другие попадают под сокращения. Однако стремление американцев получить надежную защиту от различных гиперзвуковых угроз совершенно очевидно. Как и то, что интерес к перехватчикам гиперзвуковых ракет будет расти вместе с интересом непосредственно к самим ракетам.
Автор:
Илья Легат
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

73 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти