NI: Russian flurry torpedo "Flurry" is unique today

One of the most innovative underwater weapons developed by the Soviet Union was the VA-111 “Flurry” super-cavitating torpedo. In the 21st century, the general principle she demonstrated remains relevant for the Navy of the whole world.




Traditionally for underwater weapons there is a speed limit set by the environment itself. Flurry solved this problem by turning the water in front of itself into steam. Moving virtually through a gaseous medium, a torpedo collides with much less resistance, which allows it to move at speeds up to 200 nodes. This process is known as supercavitation.

Like any weapon, it has flaws. They decided to reflect on them on the pages of NI (National Interest). Firstly, the gas bubble and engine are very noisy. Any submarine that launches a super-cavitating torpedo immediately gives out its approximate location. Another disadvantage of such a torpedo is the inability to use traditional guidance systems. The gas bubble and rocket engine produce enough noise to stun the active and passive sonar system integrated into the torpedo.



Still relevant?


Meanwhile, Russian submarines are still the only ones on the planet equipped with super-cavitating torpedoes, modernized versions of the Flurry with a conventional, non-nuclear, warhead. The Russian industry also offers an export version of Flurry E.

Iran claims to have its own super-cavitating torpedo, which it calls Hoot, and which is supposed to be the same Flurry. In the 2004 year, German defense contractor Diehl-BGT announced the creation of Barracuda, a torpedo technology demonstrator designed to move high-speed ceilings to 194 nodes. However, the project was not able to demonstrate anything sane.

The Flurry, a noisy but effective weapon, breaks the old paradigm of submarine warfare, the newspaper notes. A torpedo with 200 speed knots is an attractive opportunity, as naval rivalry escalates in both the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. It is relevant even decades after the end of the Cold War.

Apparently, the article concludes, we will be able to see even more navies that are adopting super-cavitating technologies and adjusting their underwater tactics accordingly. The submarine war will become much louder and deadlier.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

119 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

NI: Российская суперкавитирующая торпеда «Шквал» уникальна и сегодня

Одним из самых инновационных подводных вооружений, разработанных Советским Союзом, была суперкавитирующая торпеда ВА-111 «Шквал». В XXI веке продемонстрированный ею общий принцип по-прежнему остаётся актуальным для ВМС всего мира.




Традиционно для подводного оружия действует ограничение скорости, которое задаёт сама среда. «Шквал» решал эту проблему, превращая воду перед собой в пар. Двигаясь фактически по газовой среде, торпеда сталкивается с гораздо меньшим сопротивлением, что позволяет ей перемещаться со скоростью до 200 узлов. Этот процесс известен под названием суперкавитация.

Как и у любого оружия у него есть недостатки. О них решили поразмышлять на страницах NI (National Interest). Во-первых, газовый пузырь и двигатель очень шумные. Любая подводная лодка, которая запускает суперкавитирующую торпеду, немедленно выдаёт свое примерное местоположение. Другим недостатком такой торпеды является невозможность использования традиционных систем наведения. Газовый пузырь и ракетный двигатель производят достаточно шума, чтобы оглушить встроенную в торпеду систему активного и пассивного гидролокатора.



Актуальны до сих пор?


Между тем российские подводные лодки по-прежнему являются единственными на планете, оснащенными суперкавитирующими торпедами, модернизированными версиями «Шквала» с обычной, неядерной, боеголовкой. Промышленность РФ также предлагает экспортную версию «Шквал Э».

Иран утверждает, что имеет собственную суперкавитирующую торпеду, которую он называет Hoot, и которая, как предполагается, представляет собой всё тот же «Шквал». В 2004 году немецкий оборонный подрядчик Diehl-BGT объявил о создании Barracuda, торпедного демонстратора технологий, предназначенного для перемещения со скоростным потолком до 194 узлов. Однако проект так и не смог продемонстрировать ничего вменяемого.

«Шквал», шумное, но эффективное оружие, разбивает прежнюю парадигму подводной войны, отмечает издание. Торпеда с 200 узлами скорости – привлекательная возможность, поскольку военно-морское соперничество обостряется, как в Атлантическом, так и на Тихом океанах. Она актуальна и спустя десятилетия после окончания Холодной войны.

Видимо, - подытоживает статья, - мы сможем увидеть еще больше военно-морских флотов, принимающих на вооружение суперкавитирующие технологии и соответствующим образом корректирующих свою подводную тактику. Подводная война станет намного громче и смертоноснее.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

119 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти