US armored personnel carriers will receive electronic defense devices

The U.S. Army reported that installation of advanced anti-jamming devices on light ground forces armored vehicles has begun. Devices are able to provide reliable GPS / GNSS navigation even in the conditions of jamming by electronic warfare. The threat of jamming GPS systems is a serious threat to the army, which is actively using high-precision weaponas well as navigation and guidance systems.




Currently, the threat of using electronic warfare equipment to jam GPS is one of the worst nightmares for the U.S. armed forces, as interference can knock troops out of their way, disrupt navigation or prevent the use of precision weapons on the battlefield.

Over the past month, the sixty-two first complexes were mounted on armored personnel carriers deployed in Germany. A few thousand more are planned to be installed on the vehicles of the European Command of the United States by 2028.

The system of guaranteed accuracy of navigation and data synchronization, known as MAPS, was developed to ensure reliable reception of satellite signals on devices mounted on platforms of lightly armored vehicles, such as BTR Stryker. This system is part of the Pentagon’s latest efforts to prepare the army for a meeting with a high-tech adversary such as Russia and China.

It is expected that the MAPS system will be installed on more than 300 Stryker BTR vehicles from the 2 Cavalry Regiment this year.

- said the representative of the military department Willy Nelson.

The army also plans to equip the system with armored brigades and deploy them on Bradley combat vehicles, M1 Abrams tanks and M109 Paladin self-propelled howitzers. After installing the technology on these “priority vehicles”, the ground forces will assess the need to install the device on the so-called second level vehicles.

One “really good system”


In the past, armored vehicles used on each piece of equipment several advanced dual-frequency GPS receivers, also known as DAGRs, with the hardware necessary to decode encrypted GPS signals with a P-code. MAPS replaces several DAGR devices with “one really good system.”

In the event of a signal interruption, MAPS includes an automatic single-point mode based on a change in the detection range of points from the base depending on the speed of movement.

Simply put, maps continue to work whenever the GPS signal is weakened or compromised.

said Colonel Nicholas Kiutas, a satellite technology project manager.

At this stage of prototyping, the latest version of the GPS receiver can send protected data to satellite data over a wired or wireless network. It is also expected that in the near future will be presented modified versions of next-generation devices.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. lucul 9 October 2019 18: 25 New
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    Currently, the threat of using electronic warfare equipment to jam GPS is one of the worst nightmares for the U.S. armed forces, as interference can knock troops out of their way, disrupt navigation or prevent the use of precision weapons on the battlefield.

    Slowly they begin to reach)))
    1. Chaldon48 10 October 2019 01: 13 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Is the US going to march across the tundra or taiga?
  2. Mountain shooter 9 October 2019 18: 51 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    I do not understand! They knock down GPS signals without drowning them, but by sending FALSE signals at the same frequencies, but stronger! The system does not recognize the signal as false, and the coordinates are not correct.
  3. Thrifty 9 October 2019 18: 52 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Nonsense, and this system, like jeepies, can be tricked or hacked.
  4. K-50 9 October 2019 18: 53 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    To protect yourself from electronic warfare, you need not have electronics in the APC. Then there will be nothing to influence. lol
    1. Chaldon48 10 October 2019 01: 16 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Then you need to transfer to the equipment, which at one time produced ChTZ.
  5. garri-lin 9 October 2019 20: 53 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    In principle, if you check the ZhPS with an inertial, then there are no problems. And not expensive. Difficult question. I think that providing positioning with an accuracy of tens of meters is not difficult. Milking ammunition is more critical. For technology, no.
    1. KCA
      KCA 9 October 2019 21: 17 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      For ammunition with continuous movement and a simple flight path, positioning with an accuracy of tens of meters is not difficult to achieve, but with the technique of whipping - turns, turns, stops, all this contributes to the accumulation of errors, satellite navigation is used for correction, and it is just replaced by false values
      1. garri-lin 9 October 2019 22: 36 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        I meant a little different. If an APC in the process of movement has accumulated an error of 200 meters, then this is not a problem. And if by these erroneous data they requested a blow to the identified target, then there will be no defeat. The ammunition will leave either in the actual coordinates or the identity will also accumulate an error. And in fact, the slower, in comparison with the ammunition, equipment will save an error, by inertial less.
    2. Chaldon48 10 October 2019 01: 19 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Drive cars through the stars, no electronics needed.
  6. Vitaly Tsymbal 9 October 2019 21: 41 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    I'm in shock))) How did we, who served on the BTR / BMP, do without GPS ??? And the route was drawn in pencil on a piece of paper. And if you jammed the connection - switched to flags, signal flares or (most often) to “voice” - the louder you scream, the further you hear))) Now everything - there is no GPS, no victory !!!!

БТР США получат устройства защиты от применения средств РЭБ

Армия США сообщила, что началась установка современных устройств защиты от помех на легкую бронетехнику сухопутных сил. Устройства способны обеспечить надежную навигацию GPS/GNSS даже в условиях постановки помех средствами радиоэлектронной борьбы. Угроза глушения систем GPS является серьезной угрозой для армии, которая активно использует высокоточное оружие, а также системы навигации и наведения.




В настоящее время угроза применения средств РЭБ для глушения GPS является одним из худших кошмаров для вооруженных сил США, поскольку помехи могут сбить войска с пути, нарушить навигацию или помешать применению высокоточного оружия на поле боя.

За последний месяц шестьдесят два первых комплекса были смонтированы на БТР, дислоцированных в Германии. Еще несколько тысяч планируется установить на машины Европейского командования США к 2028 году.

Система гарантированной точности навигации и синхронизации данных, известная как MAPS, была разработана для обеспечения надежного приема спутниковых сигналов на устройствах, смонтированных на платформах легкобронированных транспортных средств, таких, как БТР Stryker. Эта система является частью последних усилий Пентагона по подготовке армии к встрече с высокотехнологическим противником, таким как Россия и Китай.

Ожидается, что система MAPS будет установлена на более чем 300 машин БТР Stryker из 2-го кавалерийского полка уже в этом году.

- заявил представитель военного ведомства Вилли Нельсон.

Армия также планирует оснастить системой бронетанковые бригады и разместить их на боевых машинах Bradley, танках M1 Abrams и самоходных гаубицах M109 Paladin. После установки технологии на этих «приоритетных транспортных средствах» сухопутные силы проведут оценку необходимости установки устройства на т.н. транспортных средствах второго уровня.

Одна «действительно хорошая система»


В прошлом бронетехника использовала на каждой единице техники несколько передовых двухчастотных GPS-приемников, также известных как DAGR, имеющих аппаратное обеспечение, необходимое для декодирования зашифрованных сигналов GPS с P-кодом. MAPS заменяет несколько устройств DAGR «одной действительно хорошей системой».

В случае прерывания сигнала MAPS включает автоматический одноточечный режим, основанный на изменении дальности обнаружении точек из базы в зависимости от скорости движения.

Проще говоря, карты продолжают работать всякий раз, когда сигнал GPS ослаблен или скомпрометирован.

- сказал полковник Николас Киутас, менеджер проекта спутниковых технологий.

На данном этапе прототипирования, последняя версия GPS-приемника может отправлять защищенные данные спутниковые данные по проводной или беспроводной сети. Также ожидается, что в ближайшем будущем будут представлены модифицированные версии устройств следующего поколения.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. lucul 9 октября 2019 18:25 Новый
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    В настоящее время угроза применения средств РЭБ для глушения GPS является одним из худших кошмаров для вооруженных сил США, поскольку помехи могут сбить войска с пути, нарушить навигацию или помешать применению высокоточного оружия на поле боя.

    Потихоньку до них начинает доходить )))
    1. Chaldon48 10 октября 2019 01:13 Новый
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      США собираются совершить марш бросок по тундре или по тайге?
  2. Горный стрелок 9 октября 2019 18:51 Новый
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Не понимаю! Сбивают сигналы GPS не заглушая их, а подавая ЛОЖНЫЕ сигналы на тех же частотах, но сильнее! Система не распознает сигнал как ложный, а координаты - не верные.
  3. Бережливый 9 октября 2019 18:52 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Чепуха, и, эту систему, как и джипиэс можно обмануть или же взломать.
  4. К-50 9 октября 2019 18:53 Новый
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Чтобы защитится от РЭБ, нужно не иметь электроники в БТРе. Тогда и влиять не на что будет. lol
    1. Chaldon48 10 октября 2019 01:16 Новый
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Тогда нужно пересесть на технику, которую в своё время выпускал ЧТЗ.
  5. garri-lin 9 октября 2019 20:53 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    В принципе если перепроверять ЖПС инерциалкой то проблем нет. И не дорого. Сложный вопрос. Думаю что обеспечить позиционирование с точностью десятков метров не сложно. Доя боеприпасов критичней. Для техники нет.
    1. KCA
      KCA 9 октября 2019 21:17 Новый
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Для боеприпасов с непрерывным движением и несложной траекторией полёта обеспечить позиционирование с точностью десяток метров не сложно, а вот с техникой бяда - повороты, развороты, остановки, всё это способствует накапливанию ошибок, для коррекции используется спутниковая навигация, а она как раз подменена фальшивыми значениями
      1. garri-lin 9 октября 2019 22:36 Новый
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Я имел ввиду несколько иное. Если БТР в процесме движения накопил ошибку в 200 метров то это не проблема. А если по этим ошибочным данным запросили удар по выявленной цели то поражения небудет. Боеприпас уйдет либо по фактическим координатам либо тож будет копить ошибку. И по факту более тихоходная, по сравнению с боеприпасом , техника ошибку будет копить, по инерциалкн меньше.
    2. Chaldon48 10 октября 2019 01:19 Новый
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Вести машины по звездам, никакая электроника не нужна.
  6. Виталий Цымбал 9 октября 2019 21:41 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Я в шоке))) Как же мы раньше, кто служил на БТР/БМП обходились без GPS??? А маршрут движения рисовали карандашом на листке. А если глушили связь - переходили на на флажки, сигнальные ракеты или (чаще всего) на "голос" - чем громче орёшь, тем дальше слышно))) Теперь всё - нет GPS, нет победы!!!!