The last "Hornet" US Navy made its farewell flight

The U.S. naval forces finally said goodbye to F / A-18C Hornet fighters, completely switching to using F / A-18F Super Hornet fighters. As reported "Warspot" referring to the portal navaltoday.com, the ceremony of withdrawal of the last fighter of this brand from the US Navy was held at the Oceana air base in Virginia.

The last "Hornet" US Navy made its farewell flight

Last F / A-18C Hornet US Navy with tail number 300



The last F / A-18C Hornet of the U.S. Navy, which has an 300 tail number, is finally written off. The aircraft was part of the 106 Fighter Squadron (106 Strike Fighter Squadron), based in Cecil Field in Florida, but the farewell ceremony took place at the Oceana Air Force Base in Virginia. The F / A-18C Hornet fighter took off the last lap over the air base, accompanied by three F / A-18F Super Hornets, after which it was decommissioned. According to the US Navy, this fighter made its first flight on October 14 1988 of the year. The last-flight pilot, Lieutenant Andrew Jalali, was also born in 1988. Thus, the F / A-18C Hornet fighter was no longer in the US Navy.

Despite the fact that the American fleet got rid of the obsolete Hornets, replacing them with a modernized version, they are not going to completely abandon the aircraft. These aircraft are removed only from the combat units of the US Navy, but remain in service with the reserve. In addition, the US Marine Corps, which is also armed with the F / A-18C Hornet, has no plans to replace them with another model, and even ordered their deep modernization, during which the aircraft will receive radar with AFAR.

The F / A-18C Hornet, an American carrier-based fighter-bomber and attack aircraft developed in the 1970's, was the main aircraft of the U.S. Navy until the end of the 90's of the last century, when the US Navy began to receive a deeply modernized version of the F / F A-18, better known as Super Hornet. The final decision to write off the Hornets from the US Navy was made earlier this year, and the fighter withdrawal ceremony began on February 1. However, several aircraft have continued to fly to date.
Photos used:
navaltoday.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

42 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Последний "Шершень" ВМС США совершил свой прощальный полёт

Военно-морские силы США окончательно распрощались с истребителями F/A-18C Hornet, полностью перейдя на использование истребителей F/A-18F Super Hornet. Как сообщает "Warspot" со ссылкой на портал navaltoday.com, церемония вывода последнего истребителя данной марки из состава ВМС США прошла на авиабазе Oceana в штате Вирджиния.

Последний "Шершень" ВМС США совершил свой прощальный полёт

Последний F/A-18C Hornet ВМС США с бортовым номером 300



Последний F/A-18C Hornet американского флота, имеющий бортовой номер 300, окончательно списан в запас. Самолет входил в состав 106-й истребительной эскадрильи (106 Strike Fighter Squadron), базирующейся в Сесил-Филд в штате Флорида, однако торжественная церемония прощания с самолетом прошла авиабазе Oceana в штате Вирджиния. Поднятый в воздух истребитель F/A-18C Hornet совершил последний круг над авиабазой в сопровождении трёх F/A-18F Super Hornets, после чего было объявлено о его списании. По данным ВМС США, первый свой полет этот истребитель совершил 14 октября 1988 года. Пилот последнего рейса, лейтенант Эндрю Джалали, также родился в 1988 году. Таким образом, в составе ВМС США больше не осталось истребителей F/A-18C Hornet.

Несмотря на то, что от устаревших "Шершней" избавился американский флот, заменив их модернизированной версией, от самолета окончательно отказываться не собираются. Данные самолеты убираются только из боевых подразделений ВМС США, но остаются на вооружении резервных. Кроме того, Корпус морской пехоты США, на вооружении которого также стоят F/A-18C Hornet, вообще не имеет планов их замены другой моделью, и даже заказал их глубокую модернизацию, в ходе которой самолеты получат РЛС с АФАР.

F/A-18C Hornet - американский палубный истребитель-бомбардировщик и штурмовик, разработанный в 1970-х годах, был основным самолетом Военно-морских сил США до конца 90-х годов прошлого века, когда американский флот начал получать глубоко модернизированную версию истребителя F/A-18, более известного как Super Hornet. Окончательное решение о списании "Шершней" из состава американских ВМС было принято в начале этого года, а церемония вывода истребителей пошла 1 февраля. Однако, несколько самолетов продолжали летать до настоящего времени.
Использованы фотографии:
navaltoday.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

42 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти