Military Review

US Unmanned Defense Systems

14
An important advantage of unmanned systems of all classes is a sharp decrease in the load on the human operator. This allows the unmanned vehicle to continue to operate for a long time, which can be useful in various fields. Currently, the United States plans to use such opportunities to develop its anti-submarine defense. Autonomous unmanned vessels and vehicles should patrol and identify underwater targets. Consider the most interesting developments of this kind.



Boat Sea Hunter. US Navy Photos


"Submarine chaser"


The most famous and interesting representative of the UAV class for unmanned aerial vehicles is the Sea Hunter unmanned boat, also known as MDUSW (Medium Displacement Unmanned Surface Vehicle). It was created as a multi-purpose platform that can work without a crew and carry various weapon or equipment. First of all, such a boat is necessary for patrolling water areas.

Sea Hunter has a length of 40 m and a displacement of 145 t. The boat is built according to the trimaran scheme with two outriggers. There are two diesel engines that accelerate the ship to 27 units and provide the operation of generators. Cruising range declared at 10 thousand nautical miles. Autonomy - at least 30 days, depending on the task.

The project uses a modular architecture with the ability to install a variety of equipment. One of its options involves the installation of sonar stations to monitor the underwater environment. With such equipment, MDUSW can search for submarines or sea mines. High autonomy allows the boat to stay in a given area for a long time and wait for the appearance of a submarine. Next, the target data is transmitted to the operator, after which other components of the PLO are involved in the work.

According to open data, the Sea Hunter unmanned boat from 2016 is being tested. The operation of all systems is tested in different conditions. In particular, the prototype made several long journeys across the Pacific Ocean. Probably the target equipment is being tested, but the U.S. Navy and DARPA do not disclose such details.

It is expected that in the future a fleet of MDUSW boats or similar products will be built for the navy. They will be able to work independently and in groups, performing patrols of certain areas, including remote from naval bases. A group of Sea Hunter boats will allow you to monitor the situation and identify various targets without involving surface ships or patrol Aviation. With their help, it is proposed to simplify deployment in the right areas, reduce the cost of such operations, as well as increase the efficiency of the PLO and other components fleet.


The Wave Rider at sea. Photo Liquid Robotics / liquid-robotics.com


All these benefits can only be obtained in the distant future. As far as we know, the only built MDUSW / Sea Hunter is still being tested. The timing of the launch of serial construction and the achievement of initial operational readiness remains unknown.

"The rider on the wave"


In 2016, the US Navy commissioned Liquid Robotics to develop a military version of its Wave Glider drone. This product is a multi-purpose crewless platform for installing various equipment. Previously, scientific and research configurations were proposed, and under the 2016 contract, a military version was developed.

Wave Rider is a composite system of two components connected by a cable for towing, as well as the transfer of energy and data. A flat vessel with solar panels and communication equipment remains on the surface of the water. The second component is a tethered submarine with a set of side planes, carrying the necessary instruments and sensors. The surface element of the complex is only 3 m long, the underwater element is 2,2 m. They are connected by a cable up to 15 m long.

The drone has 7 cargo compartments with a total volume of 93 l for mounting the necessary equipment. Solar panels provide up to 20 watts of power. There is a battery to power systems in the absence of lighting. The autonomy of the device depends on the mission and conditions and can reach 1 of the year.

The Wave Rider product does not have its own propulsion system. The movement is due to the energy of the waves. The wave raises and lowers the surface element of the complex, which pulls the underwater. The underwater controls the position of its horizontal rudders and thereby is held on the desired trajectory. The course control is performed by standard rudders. Without a mover, the device develops speed up to the 1-1,3 node.

US Unmanned Defense Systems
Product Diagram Wave Rider. Figure Liquid Robotics / liquid-robotics.com


The US Navy's Wave Rider variant should carry sonar equipment to search for underwater objects. Such a device will be able to search for mines or submarines of the enemy. The highest autonomy and limited cost will allow the deployment of large flotillas of drones and organize long-term patrols of a given area.

To date, the military version of the Wave Rider has managed to enter the test. Earlier it was reported about the launch of experimental military operation of such equipment at several naval bases. In addition, the apparatus was involved several times in various exercises. In the foreseeable future, full-scale production and deployment is expected.

Imported "Seagull"


In the context of unmanned aerial vehicles, the US Navy and NATO fleets are also interested in foreign developments. So, last year, the Seagull multipurpose unmanned boat from the Israeli company Elbit Systems was attracted to the next exercises. This product successfully worked in conjunction with surface ships of the Navy of several countries.

Seagull is a 12-meter boat with a rigid hull, equipped with all the necessary instruments and capable of carrying a payload of up to 2,5 t. Remote control and autonomous controls are provided. The cruising range of the boat reaches 1900 nautical miles, and satellite communications provide work at any distance from the operator. Fuel autonomy - up to 4 days.

An Israeli boat is capable of carrying equipment for various purposes, up to combat modules with small arms or missile weapons. A few years ago, Elbit Systems introduced a specialized anti-submarine version of the boat. In this version, the ship carries several ASGs with different capabilities, and is also armed with a pair of torpedoes. The PLO boat is able to search for underwater targets, transmit data about them to different consumers, and also independently carry out an attack.


The Seagull boat in anti-submarine configuration performs torpedo fire. Photo Elbit Systems / elbitsystems.com


The Seagull boat in different versions has already passed the tests. The PLO variant has been demonstrated for several years, and last year even participated in NATO maneuvers. This model receives high marks and can be used by some countries of the North Atlantic Alliance, including USA.

General trends


Submarines of a potential enemy with strategic missiles on board pose a special danger, and it is necessary to combat it by organizing anti-submarine defense. New technologies can simplify the development and deployment of PLO by eliminating the most complex components and optimizing costs.

Unlike surface ships or hunter submarines, crewless systems can be produced in large quantities and within a reasonable time. Due to this, they can be quickly deployed in all dangerous directions in order to timely detect enemy SSBNs. Crewless systems can continue to operate for a long time and are minimally dependent on the person, which contributes to high performance.

The Pentagon understands all this and pays necessary attention to new projects. A number of promising systems based on unmanned platforms are being developed and tested, and some of them are approaching adoption. The question of finding submarines of a likely enemy in the oceans is becoming relevant again - and the US Navy is taking the necessary measures.
Author:
14 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Lexus
    Lexus 11 October 2019 18: 23
    -1
    Two parallel universes converged on VO. "Poseidon" and "Fur Seal".
    1. Alien From
      Alien From 11 October 2019 23: 38
      0
      I’ll say more, now all-crawlers and urapatriots will converge here)
  2. rocket757
    rocket757 11 October 2019 18: 57
    0
    Preparing to release the destroyers of something there, without a crew, in the vast expanse of the world ... okay bad idea! In its coastal zones, okay, and so Schaub generally everywhere !!!
    This is too much.
    1. illi
      illi 11 October 2019 19: 35
      0
      Right In their coastal areas you can attach an escort. And in the oceans, an ownerless boat will be handed over for scrap.
      1. CTABEP
        CTABEP 11 October 2019 19: 52
        0
        Quote: illi
        Right In their coastal areas you can attach an escort. And in the oceans, an ownerless boat will be handed over for scrap.

        Do not even hope for it, leather ub *** ki !!!
      2. Avior
        Avior 11 October 2019 21: 08
        +2
        especially if there are cameras on it, a decent explosive charge and a large inscription that it’s dangerous to approach it and why .....
        1. Lexus
          Lexus 11 October 2019 21: 20
          -4
          Especially if there is an AUG or KUG nearby, and these "ladybugs" will work at a range of confident operation of the ship's radar and aviation.
          1. Avior
            Avior 11 October 2019 21: 25
            +1
            especially. and make an inscription about it, that if something happens, a helicopter will fly in and explain that stealing someone else’s is not good .....
        2. illi
          illi 11 October 2019 21: 39
          0
          So you kill all the tourists. This is some sort of terrorism. You never know how many people want to see what kind of laughter ... it’s floating. Curiosity is not a vice.
          1. Avior
            Avior 11 October 2019 22: 12
            0
            Tourist on such an inscription will not climb, especially during hostilities.
            And if you climb, not a tourist.
            Yes, and close the zone for sure. What kind of tourist will they not understand, he is a tourist or a saboteur ....
  3. Ryaruav
    Ryaruav 11 October 2019 20: 31
    -1
    this is all amerskoy tuften, yes, the devices will be controlled from a base such as base defense, I agree, it’s real, but don’t talk about the open sea, let's see the accident rate of the UAV we will not find these data at any of our partners if you ever went to sea for the horizon to which it is only 20 miles and a little felt all that 4 points are and this is about 1000 tons of displacement with a full crew on a ship. In general, as a person I have experienced storms in the Barents and North more than once, I’ll say that creating such a multi-functional robot for sea trips s very difficult task
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 12 October 2019 11: 03
      +1
      There are no people on it. From seasickness or bruises, no one
      not hurt. And what special can a storm make a trimaran
      with a sturdy case and floats?
      Devices are placed in sealed shockproof cases.
    2. Cyrus
      Cyrus 12 October 2019 14: 26
      0
      Complex yes, but not impossible, I mean, "game" is already clear - Poseidon and others like him.
  4. dgonni
    dgonni 12 October 2019 09: 49
    +1
    Oh how! Two years ago, they laughed from the drones. Right now, other articles even began to understand. If it is simpler then the Americans said that drones in the form of a trimaran will have under 2000 displacement. And there will be plenty in abundance. And seaworthiness and iron both plo and air defense. And they will be able to rivet them all over and the borders will be built according to Wishlist.
    P.S. They have one vulnerability! Communication! In principle, in the presence of a satellite intelligence system, determining the level and position is not a problem. But given the complete seams in space, then everything is sad.

Военное обозрение

Беспилотные системы для противолодочной обороны США

14
Важным преимуществом беспилотных систем всех классов является резкое снижение нагрузки на человека-оператора. Это позволяет беспилотному аппарату продолжать работу в течение длительного времени, что может быть полезным в разных сферах. В настоящее время США планируют использовать такие возможности для развития своей противолодочной обороны. Автономные беспилотные суда и аппараты должны вести патрулирование и выявлять подводные цели. Рассмотрим наиболее интересные разработки такого рода.



Катер Sea Hunter. Фото US Navy


«Морской охотник»


Наиболее известным и интересным представителем класса беспилотных аппаратов для ПЛО является безэкипажный катер Sea Hunter, также известный как MDUSW (Medium Displacement Unmanned Surface Vehicle). Он создавался в качестве многоцелевой платформы, способной работать без экипажа и нести различное оружие или оснащение. В первую очередь, такой катер необходим для патрулирования акваторий.

Sea Hunter имеет длину 40 м и водоизмещение 145 т. Катер построен по схеме тримарана с двумя аутригерами. Имеются два дизельных двигателя, разгоняющих судно до 27 узлов и обеспечивающих работу генераторов. Дальность плавания заявлена на уровне 10 тыс. морских миль. Автономность – не менее 30 суток, в зависимости от задачи.

Проект использует модульную архитектуру с возможностью установки разнообразной аппаратуры. Один из его вариантов предусматривает монтаж гидроакустических станций для слежения за подводной обстановкой. С таким оборудованием MDUSW может искать подлодки или морские мины. Высокая автономность позволяет катеру оставаться в заданном районе в течение длительного времени и ждать появления подлодки. Далее данные о цели передаются оператору, после чего к работе привлекаются прочие компоненты ПЛО.

Согласно открытым данным, безэкипажный катер Sea Hunter с 2016 г. проходит испытания. Работа всех систем проверяется в разных условиях. В частности, опытный образец совершил несколько длительных переходов по Тихому океану. Вероятно, испытывается и целевое оборудование, однако ВМС США и DARPA не раскрывают подробности такого рода.

Ожидается, что в будущем для военно-морских сил построят целый флот катеров MDUSW или схожих изделий. Они смогут работать самостоятельно и в группах, выполняя патрулирование тех или иных районов, в т.ч. удаленных от баз ВМС. Группировка катеров Sea Hunter позволит следить за обстановкой и выявлять различные цели, не привлекая надводные корабли или патрульную авиацию. С их помощью предлагается упростить развертывание в нужных районах, сократить стоимость таких операций, а также повысить эффективность работы ПЛО и других компонентов флота.


Аппарат Wave Rider в море. Фото Liquid Robotics / liquid-robotics.com


Все эти преимущества могут быть получены только в отдаленном будущем. Насколько известно, единственный построенный MDUSW / Sea Hunter пока проходит испытания. Сроки запуска серийного строительства и достижения начальной оперативной готовности остаются неизвестными.

«Наездник на волне»


В 2016 г. ВМС США заказало компании Liquid Robotics разработку военной версии ее беспилотного аппарата Wave Glider. Это изделие представляет собой многоцелевую безэкипажную платформу для установки различного оснащения. Ранее предлагались научные и исследовательские конфигурации, а по контракту 2016 г. велась разработка военной версии.

Wave Rider представляет собой составную систему из двух компонентов, соединенных кабелем для буксировки, а также передачи энергии и данных. На поверхности воды остается плоское судно с солнечными батареями и аппаратурой связи. Второй компонент представляет собой привязную подлодку с набором боковых плоскостей, несущую необходимые приборы и сенсоры. Надводный элемент комплекса имеет длину всего 3 м, подводный – 2,2 м. Их связывает кабель длиной до 15 м.

Беспилотник имеет 7 грузовых отсеков общим объемом 93 л для монтажа необходимой аппаратуры. Солнечные батареи обеспечивают работу приборов мощностью до 20 Вт. Имеется аккумулятор для питания систем при отсутствии освещения. Автономность аппарата зависит от миссии и условий и может достигать 1 года.

Изделие Wave Rider не имеет собственной силовой установки. Передвижение осуществляется за счет энергии волн. Волна поднимает и опускает надводный элемент комплекса, который тянет за собой подводный. Подводный управляет положением своих горизонтальных рулей и тем самым удерживается на нужной траектории. Управление по курсу выполняется стандартными рулями. Не имея движителя, аппарат развивает скорость до 1-1,3 узла.

Беспилотные системы для противолодочной обороны США
Схема изделия Wave Rider. Рисунок Liquid Robotics / liquid-robotics.com


Вариант Wave Rider для ВМС США должен нести гидроакустическую аппаратуру для поиска подводных объектов. Такой аппарат сможет искать мины или подлодки противника. Высочайшая автономность и ограниченная стоимость позволят развертывать крупные флотилии беспилотников и организовывать длительное патрулирование заданного района.

К настоящему времени военный вариант Wave Rider успел выйти на испытания. Ранее сообщалось о запуске опытной войсковой эксплуатации такой техники на нескольких военно-морских базах. Кроме того, аппараты несколько раз привлекались к различным учениям. В обозримом будущем ожидается полномасштабное производство и развертывание.

Импортная «Чайка»


В контексте беспилотных средств ПЛО американские ВМС и флоты НАТО проявляют интерес и к зарубежным разработкам. Так, в прошлом году к очередным учениям привлекли многоцелевой безэкипажный катер Seagull от израильской компании Elbit Systems. Это изделие успешно работало в одном соединении с надводными кораблями ВМС нескольких стран.

Seagull представляет собой 12-метровый катер с жестким корпусом, оснащенный всеми необходимыми приборами и способный нести полезную нагрузку до 2,5 т. Предусмотрено дистанционное управление и автономные средства контроля. Дальность плавания катера достигает 1900 морских миль, а спутниковая связь обеспечивает работу на любом удалении от оператора. Автономность по топливу – до 4 суток.

Израильский катер способен нести аппаратуру различного назначения, вплоть до боевых модулей со стрелковым или ракетным вооружением. Несколько лет назад Elbit Systems представила специализированный противолодочный вариант катера. В этой версии судно несет несколько ГАС с разными возможностями, а также вооружается парой торпед. Катер ПЛО способен искать подводные цели, передавать данные о них разным потребителям, а также самостоятельно выполнять атаку.


Катер Seagull в противолодочной конфигурации выполняет торпедную стрельбу. Фото Elbit Systems / elbitsystems.com


Катер Seagull в разных версиях уже успел пройти испытания. Вариант ПЛО демонстрируется на протяжении нескольких лет, а в прошлом году даже поучаствовал в маневрах НАТО. Этот образец получает высокие оценки и может поступить на вооружение некоторых стран Североатлантического альянса, в т.ч. США.

Общие тенденции


Подлодки вероятного противника со стратегическими ракетами на борту представляют особую опасность, и с ней необходимо бороться путем организации противолодочной обороны. Новые технологии позволяют упростить развитие и развертывание ПЛО за счет исключения наиболее сложных компонентов и оптимизации расходов.

В отличие от надводных кораблей или подлодок-охотников, безэкипажные системы могут производиться в больших количествах и в разумные сроки. За счет этого их можно быстро развертывать на всех опасных направлениях с целью своевременного обнаружения вражеских ПЛАРБ. Безэкипажные системы способны продолжать работу в течение длительного времени и минимально зависят от человека, что способствует высоким эксплуатационным качествам.

В Пентагоне понимают все это и уделяют необходимое внимание новым проектам. Разрабатывается и испытывается целый ряд перспективных систем на основе беспилотных платформ, и некоторые из них приближаются к принятию на вооружение. Вопрос поиска подлодок вероятного противника в Мировом океане вновь становится актуальным – и ВМС США принимают необходимые меры.
Автор:
14 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Лексус
    Лексус 11 октября 2019 18:23
    -1
    На ВО сошлись две параллельные вселенные. "Посейдон" и "Морской котик".
    1. Alien From
      Alien From 11 октября 2019 23:38
      0
      Больше скажу, сейчас тут сойдутся всепропальщики и урапатриоты)
  2. rocket757
    rocket757 11 октября 2019 18:57
    0
    Готовится выпустить уничтожителей чего то там, без экипажа, на просторы мирового океяна ..... плохая идея! В своих прибрежных зонах, ладно, а так шоб вообще везде!!!
    Это черезчур.
    1. illi
      illi 11 октября 2019 19:35
      0
      Точно. В своих прибрежных зонах можно эскорт приставить. А в мировом океане, безхозный катер точно в металлолом сдадут.
      1. CTABEP
        CTABEP 11 октября 2019 19:52
        0
        Цитата: illi
        Точно. В своих прибрежных зонах можно эскорт приставить. А в мировом океане, безхозный катер точно в металлолом сдадут.

        Даже не надейтесь на это, кожаные уб***ки!!!
      2. Avior
        Avior 11 октября 2019 21:08
        +2
        особенно если на нем камеры будут стоять, приличный заряд взрывчатки и большая надпись о том, что приближаться к нему опасно и почему.....
        1. Лексус
          Лексус 11 октября 2019 21:20
          -4
          Особенно, если рядом будет АУГ или КУГ, а эти "божьи коровки" будут на дальности уверенной работы корабельных РЛС и авиации работать.
          1. Avior
            Avior 11 октября 2019 21:25
            +1
            тем более. и об этом надпись сделать, что если что, прилетит вертолет и объяснит, что воровать чужое нехорошо.....
        2. illi
          illi 11 октября 2019 21:39
          0
          Так вы всех туристов перебьете. Это уже терроризм какой то. Мало ли люди посмотреть хотят что это за смеху...на плавает. Любопытство не порок.
          1. Avior
            Avior 11 октября 2019 22:12
            0
            Турист на такую надпись не полезет, особенно во время боевых действий.
            А если полезет- не турист.
            Да и закроют зону наверняка. Какой там турист- разбираться не будут, он турист или диверсант....
  3. Ryaruav
    Ryaruav 11 октября 2019 20:31
    -1
    это все амерская туфтень, да аппараты будут управляться с базы типа защита баз согласен это реально ,но не надо говорить про открытое море давайте посмотрим аварийность бпла этих данных мы сейчас не найдем ни у нас ни у таких партнерах если вы хоть раз ходили в море за горизонт до которого всего то 20 миль и чуток ощутили всего что такое 4 балла и это на судне около 1000 т водоизмещения с полным экипажем в общем я как человек не раз испытавший шторма в баренцевом и северном скажу что создать такой многофункциональный робот для морских походов очень очень сложная задача
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 12 октября 2019 11:03
      +1
      Людей-то на нем нет. От морской болезни или ушибов никто
      не пострадает. А что особого может сделать шторм тримарану
      с прочным корпусом и поплавками?
      Приборы помещают в герметичные противоударные корпуса.
    2. Кир
      Кир 12 октября 2019 14:26
      0
      Сложная да, но не невозможна,я к тому "дичь" уже ясна -Посейдон и иже с ним.
  4. dgonni
    dgonni 12 октября 2019 09:49
    +1
    О как! Два годика назад смеялись с дронов. Щас начали понимать и даже статейки другие. Если проще то американцы заявили что дроны в виде тримарана будут иметь под 2000 водоизмещения. И там будет всего в достатке. И мореходности и железа как пло так и пво. И наклепать они их смогут овермного и рубежи пло будут строиться по хотелкам.
    П.С. У них есть одна уязвимрсть! Связь! В принципе при наличии спутниковой системы разведки определить эшелон и позицию не проблема. Но учитывая полный швах в космосе то все печально.