Military Review

From the history of chemical weapons

13
From the history of chemical weapons

On the night of 12 on 13 July 1917, the German army for the first time used World War I poison gas mustard gas (a liquid blister agent). The Germans used mines, which contained oily liquid, as a carrier of a poisonous substance. This event took place under the Belgian city of Ypres. The German command was planning this attack to disrupt the offensive of the Anglo-French troops. When first applying mustard gas, lesions of varying severity were obtained by 2490 servicemen, of whom 87 died. British scientists quickly deciphered the formula for this agent. However, the production of a new toxic substance was launched only in 1918 year. As a result, the Entente managed to use mustard for military purposes only in September of 1918 (for 2 a month before the armistice).

Mustard has a clearly pronounced local effect: the organic agent affects the organs of vision and respiration, the skin and the gastrointestinal tract. The substance, being absorbed into the blood, poisons the entire body. Mustard affects the skin of a person when exposed, both in the drip and in the vapor state. The usual summer and winter uniforms of the soldier did not protect from the effects of mustard, as well as almost all types of civilian clothes.

Ordinary summer and winter army uniforms do not protect the skin from drops and mustard vapor, like almost any type of civilian clothing. There was no complete protection of soldiers against mustard gas in those years, so its use on the battlefield was effective until the very end of the war. The First World War was even called the “Chemists' War”, since neither before nor after this war, agents were used in such quantities as in 1915-1918. During this war, the fighting armies used 12 thousand tons of mustard gas, they were hit up to 400 thousand people. Over the years of the First World War, more than 150 thousand tons of toxic substances (irritant and tear gases, blister skin agents) were produced. The leader in the application of chemical agents was the German Empire, which has a first-class chemical industry. Total in Germany produced more than 69 thousand tons of toxic substances. Germany was followed by France (37,3 thousand tons), Great Britain (25,4 thousand tons), USA (5,7 thousand tons), Austria-Hungary (5,5 thousand), Italy (4,2 thousand tons) and Russia (3,7 thousand tons ).

"Attack of the Dead". The Russian army suffered the largest losses among all participants in the war from exposure to agents. The German army was the first to use poison gases like weapon mass destruction on a large scale during the First World War against Russia. 6 August 1915, the German command used agents to destroy the garrison of the Osovets fortress. The Germans deployed 30 gas batteries, several thousand cylinders and 6 in August at 4 in the morning a dark-green fog of chlorine-bromine mixture flowed to the Russian fortifications, reaching the positions in 5-10 minutes. The gas wave 12-15 m in height and width up to 8 km penetrated to a depth of 20 km. There were no defenses for the defenders of the Russian fortress. All living things were poisoned.

Following the gas wave and the fire shaft (German artillery opened massive fire), the Landwehr battalions of 14 (about 7 thousand infantrymen) advanced on the offensive. After the gas attack and the artillery strike, no more than a company of half-dead soldiers poisoned by agents of war remained on the advanced Russian positions. It seemed that Osovets was already in German hands. However, the Russian warriors showed another miracle. When the German chains approached the trenches, they were attacked by Russian infantry. It was a real "attack of the dead", the spectacle was terrible: the Russian soldiers went to the bayonet with their faces wrapped in rags, shaking from a terrible cough, literally spitting out pieces of the lungs on the bloody outfit. It was only a few dozen fighters - the remnants of the 13 th company of the 226 th Infantry Regiment of Zemlyansky. The German infantry fell into such horror that it could not withstand the blow and ran. The fleeing enemy opened fire on Russian batteries, which, it seemed, had already died. It should be noted that the defense of the Osovets Fortress is one of the brightest, heroic pages of the First World War. The fortress, despite the brutal shelling of heavy guns and storming the German infantry, was held from September 1914 of the year to 22 of August 1915 of the year.

In the prewar period, the Russian Empire was the leader in the field of various “peace initiatives”. Therefore, she did not have in her arsenals the weapons, the means of countering such types of weapons, did not conduct serious research in this direction. In 1915, the Chemical Committee was urgently established and the emergency question raised was about the development of technologies and large-scale production of toxic substances. In February, the 1916 of the year at Tomsk University by the efforts of local scientists organized the production of hydrocyanic acid. By the end of 1916, production was organized in the European part of the empire, and the problem was generally resolved. By April 1917, the industry had produced hundreds of tons of toxic substances. However, they remained unclaimed in warehouses.

The first cases of the use of chemical weapons in the First World War

1-th Hague Conference 1899 of the year, which was convened at the initiative of Russia, adopted a declaration on the non-use of projectiles that distribute choking or harmful gases. However, during the First World War, this document did not prevent the great powers from using chemical weapons, including in large numbers.

In August, the French were the first to use tear irritant 1914 (they did not cause death). The carriers were grenades filled with tear gas (ethyl bromoacetate). Soon his reserves ran out, and the French army began to use chloroacetone. In October, 1914 was used by German troops to use artillery shells, partially filled with chemical irritants, against the British positions on Neu-Chapelle. However, the concentration of agents was so small that the result was barely noticeable.

22 April 1915, the German army used agents against the French, spraying 168 tons of chlorine near the r. Ypres. Entente powers immediately declared that Berlin had violated the principles of international law, but the German government dismissed this accusation. The Germans said that the Hague Convention prohibits only the use of shells with agents, but not gases. After that, chlorine attacks were used regularly. In 1915, French chemists synthesized phosgene (colorless gas). It has become a more effective chemical agent, with greater toxicity than chlorine. Phosgene was used in pure form and mixed with chlorine to increase gas mobility.
Author:
13 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. itr
    itr 12 July 2012 08: 14
    +4
    What kind of natural disasters and meteorites can we talk about, a person will outlive himself
  2. Dmitry.V
    Dmitry.V 12 July 2012 09: 37
    +1
    Almost any discovery in science is ultimately used for military purposes.
  3. Drovosekas
    Drovosekas 12 July 2012 09: 45
    +1
    This is not news, everything that a person invents is used to destroy his own kind.
  4. Dobrokhod Sergey
    Dobrokhod Sergey 12 July 2012 10: 43
    +2
    Even from a slingshot, shooting at sparrows you can get into a person.
    In the end, in search of a better life, a person will destroy himself.
  5. skullcap
    skullcap 12 July 2012 11: 05
    +6
    The Russian Empire in the pre-war period was a leader in various "peace initiatives." Therefore ...
    -------------------------------------------------- ---
    turned out to be the least prepared for the war, for which she paid with the "great retreat" of 1915, a drop in morale, a revolution, and further down the list ...


    The 1 Hague Conference of the 1899 of the year, which was convened at the initiative of Russia, adopted a declaration on the non-use of shells that spread choking or harmful gases. However, during the First World War, this document did not prevent the Great Powers from using OM, including on a massive scale.
    -------------------------------------------------- -----------
    And here the real price is read to all guarantees for missile defense and other things of our geopolitical opponents
  6. leon-iv
    leon-iv 12 July 2012 11: 54
    0
    People remember chemical weapons are often much worse than nuclear weapons, especially NPG ala VX which is degassed with dichloroethane, which in itself is either a toxic alkaloid or poisonous, depending on the type. And in case of skin contact, death after 10-15 minutes. Emnip lethal dose of 0,1-0,15 mg / kg depends on the person and the weather.
    1. Alex
      Alex 19 February 2014 19: 30
      +3
      Quote: leon-iv
      dichloroethane which in itself is either a toxic alkaloid or a poisonous toxic substance depending on the type.
      Dear, what did ace have in chemistry at school? Dichloroethane C2H2Cl2 refers to dihalo-substituted alkanes and not alkaloids. It is a carcinogenic hazard substance, slightly superior to chloroform, of which it is an analogue. The half-life in air is about 60 days (it does not accumulate in soil and water due to its high volatility).

      To neutralize V-gases (in particular, VX), amino alcohol alcohols or chlorine-based oxidants (for example, chlorine lime) in an alkaline medium are used. Where did you find all this nonsense? ..
  7. Vyalik
    Vyalik 12 July 2012 13: 02
    +1
    There is an expression, I don't know who it belongs to: "How many people do not teach and do not heal, he still strives to the cemetery." Well, or something like this: a person does not create anything that cannot be used to kill his own kind.
    1. Alex
      Alex 19 February 2014 19: 40
      +2
      Quote: Wyalik
      There is an expression, I don't know who it belongs to: "How many people do not teach and do not heal, he still strives to the cemetery."
      Zhvanetsky. And in the original it sounds a little different: "What do not do to a person, he stubbornly crawls into the cemetery."
  8. loc.bejenari
    loc.bejenari 12 July 2012 15: 20
    -1
    By the way, according to the Second World War, our troops were ready to use chemical weapons as a response measure and were constantly at the ready
    5 years nazal under Kiev in a circle raised chemical shells at the former positions to 152 mm guns
    and in Sevastopol, during the German bombing at 42, a whole transport sank with chemical weapons that our troops carried to the besieged city
    thank god = what didn’t come to its application
    1. Alex
      Alex 19 February 2014 19: 43
      +1
      Quote: loc.bejenari
      in Sevastopol during the German bombardment in 42, a whole transport sank with chemical weapons that our troops carried to the besieged city
      This nonsense has already been discussed. There was no war near Sevastopol. And the Germans Pego against the Red Army did not scold, neither in the Crimea, nor anywhere else. But against the partisans in the quarries - yes, they used, although to a limited extent. It would be possible to present the present Germany, but Ukraine has a thin gut with Europe in the counter.
  9. Maryna Nyvedava
    Maryna Nyvedava 14 July 2012 00: 07
    +1
    One can only hope that, in which case, the Russian people will not lose their fighting spirit as under Osovets, as in World War II. Although the hope is weak ...
  10. Alex
    Alex 19 February 2014 19: 44
    +1
    There is an excellent video about Osovets on TopVara, and it is called "Attack of the Dead". Who has not watched - I advise.

    And the article is so-so, it’s difficult to pull even on a school essay.

Из истории химического оружия

Из истории химического оружия

В ночь с 12 на 13 июля 1917 года германская армия в ходе Первой мировой войны впервые применила отравляющий газ иприт (жидкое отравляющее вещество кожно-нарывного действия). Немцы в качестве носителя отравляющего вещества использовали мины, которые содержали маслянистую жидкость. Это событие произошло под бельгийским городом Ипр. Немецкое командование планировала этой атакой сорвать наступление англо-французских войск. При первом применении иприта поражения различной степени тяжести получили 2490 военнослужащих, из которых 87 умерло. Ученые Великобритании довольно быстро расшифровали формулу этого ОВ. Однако запустить производство нового отравляющего вещества удалось только в 1918 году. В результате использовать иприт в военных целях Антанте удалось лишь в сентябре 1918 г. (за 2 месяца до перемирия).

Иприт имеет чётко выраженное местное воздействие: ОВ поражает органы зрения и дыхания, кожные покровы и желудочно-кишечный тракт. Вещество, всасываясь в кровь, отравляет весь организм. Иприт поражает кожные покровы человека при воздействии, как в капельном, так и в парообразном состоянии. От воздействия иприта обычное летнее и зимнее обмундирование солдата не защищало, как и практически все виды гражданской одежды.

От капель и паров иприта обычное летнее и зимнее армейское обмундирование не защищает кожные покровы, как и практически любые виды гражданской одежды. Полноценной защиты солдат от иприта в те годы не существовало, поэтому его применение на поле боя было эффективным до самого завершения войны. Первую мировую войну даже называли «войной химиков», т. к. ни до, ни после этой войны, ОВ не использовались в таких количествах как в 1915-1918 гг. В течение этой войны сражающиеся армии применили 12 тыс. тонн иприта, им было поражено до 400 тыс. человек. Всего за годы Первой мировой войны было произведено более 150 тыс. тонн отравляющих веществ (раздражающего и слезоточивого газов, кожно-нарывных ОВ). Лидером в применении ОВ была Германская империя, имеющая первоклассную химическую промышленность. Всего в Германии произвели более 69 тыс. тонн отравляющих веществ. За Германия следовали Франция (37,3 тыс. тонн), Великобритания (25,4 тыс. тонн), США (5,7 тыс. тонн), Австро-Венгрия (5,5 тыс.), Италия (4,2 тыс. тонн) и Россия (3,7 тыс. тонн).


«Атака мертвецов». Русская армия понесла самые крупные среди всех участников войны потери от воздействия ОВ. Германская армия первой применила отравляющие газы как оружие массового поражения в крупных масштабах в период Первой мировой войны против России. 6 августа 1915 года немецкое командование применили ОВ для уничтожения гарнизона крепости Осовец. Немцы развернули 30 газовых батарей, несколько тысяч баллонов и 6 августа в 4 утра на русские укрепления потек темно-зеленый туман смеси хлора с бромом, достигший позиций за 5-10 минут. Газовая волна 12-15 м в высоту и шириной до 8 км проникла на глубину до 20 км. Никаких средств защиты у защитников русской крепости не было. Всё живое было отравлено.

Вслед за газовой волной и огневым валом (германская артиллерия открыла массированный огонь) в наступление двинулись 14 батальонов ландвера (около 7 тыс. пехотинцев). На передовых русских позициях после газовой атаки и артиллерийского удара осталось не более роты полуживых солдат, отравленных ОВ. Казалось, что Осовец уже в немецких руках. Однако русские воины явили ещё одно чудо. Когда немецкие цепи приблизились к траншеям, их атаковала русская пехота. Это была настоящая «атака мертвецов», зрелище было ужасным: русские солдаты шли в штыковую с лицами, обмотанными тряпками, сотрясаясь от страшного кашля, буквально выплевывая куски легких на окровавленное обмундирование. Это было всего несколько десятков бойцов - остатки 13-й роты 226-го пехотного Землянского полка. Немецкая пехота впала в такой ужас, что не выдержала удара и побежала. По бегущему неприятелю открыли огонь русские батареи, которые, как казалось, уже погибли. Надо отметить, что оборона крепости Осовец – это одна из ярчайших, героических страниц Первой мировой войны. Крепость, несмотря на жестокий обстрел из тяжёлых орудий и штурмы немецкой пехоты, держалась с сентября 1914 года по 22 августа 1915 года.

Российская империя в довоенный период была лидером в области различных «мирных инициатив». Поэтому не имела в своих арсеналах ОВ, средств противодействия подобным видам оружия, не вела серьёзных исследовательских работ в этом направлении. В 1915 году пришлось срочно учредить Химический комитет и в чрезвычайном порядке поставить вопрос о разработке технологий и масштабном производстве отравляющих веществ. В феврале 1916 года в Томском университете силами местных учёных было организовано производство синильной кислоты. К концу 1916 года было организовано производство и в европейской части империи, и проблема была в целом решена. К апрелю 1917 года промышленность произвела сотни тонн отравляющих веществ. Однако они так и остались невостребованными на складах.

Первые случаи применения химического оружия в Первую мировую войну

1-я Гаагская конференция 1899 года, которая была созвана по инициативе России, приняла декларацию о неупотреблении снарядов, которые распространяют удушающие или вредоносные газы. Однако во время Первой мировой войны этот документ не помешал великим державам применить ОВ, в том числе массовом порядке.

В августе 1914 года французы первыми применили препараты слезоточивого раздражающего воздействия (они не вызывали смерть). В качестве носителей выступили гранаты наполненные слезоточивым газом (этилбромацетат). Вскоре его запасы закончились, и французская армия стала применять хлорацетон. В октябре 1914 г. немецкие войска использовали артиллерийские снаряды частично наполненными химическим раздражителем, против английских позиций на Нев-Шапель. Однако концентрация ОВ была настолько мала, что результат был едва заметен.

22 апреля 1915 года германская армия использовала ОВ против французов, распылив 168 тонн хлора возле р. Ипр. Державы Антанты сразу заявили о том, что Берлин нарушил принципы международного права, но германское правительство парировало это обвинение. Немцы заявили, что Гаагская конвенция запрещает только применения снарядов с ОВ, но не газов. После этого атаки с применением хлора стали использоваться регулярно. В 1915 году французские химики синтезировали фосген (бесцветный газ). Он стал более эффективным ОВ, имея большую токсичность, чем хлор. Фосген использовали в чистом виде и в смеси с хлором — для увеличения мобильности газа.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. itr 12 июля 2012 08:14
    О каких природных катаклизмах и метеоритах можно говорить человек изживет себя сам
    itr
  2. Дмитрий.В 12 июля 2012 09:37
    Почти любое открытие в науке в итоге используют в военных целях.
    Дмитрий.В
  3. Drovosekas 12 июля 2012 09:45
    Это и не новость, все, что изобретает человек используется для уничтожения себе подобных.
    Drovosekas
  4. Доброход Сергей 12 июля 2012 10:43
    Даже из рогатки стреляя по воробьям можно попасть в человека.
    В конце концов в поисках лучшей жизни человек уничтожит себя сам.
  5. косопуз 12 июля 2012 11:05
    Российская империя в довоенный период была лидером в области различных «мирных инициатив». Поэтому ...
    -----------------------------------------------------
    оказалась наименее подготовлена к войне, за что поплатилась "великим отступлением" 1915 года, падением морального духа, революцией и далее по списку...


    1-я Гаагская конференция 1899 года, которая была созвана по инициативе России, приняла декларацию о неупотреблении снарядов, которые распространяют удушающие или вредоносные газы. Однако во время Первой мировой войны этот документ не помешал великим державам применить ОВ, в том числе массовом порядке
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    А вот здесь читается реальная цена всем гарантиям по ПРО и прочему наших геополитических противников
  6. leon-iv 12 июля 2012 11:54
    Народ запомните химическое оружие зачастую гораздо хуже ядерного особенно НПГ аля VX который дегазируется дихлорэтаном который сам по себе либо токсичный алкалоид илбо ядовитое в-во в зависимости от типа. И при попадании на кожу смерть через 10-15 минут. Емнип смертельная доза 0,1-0,15 мг/кг зависит от человека и погоды.
    1. Алекс 19 февраля 2014 19:30
      Цитата: leon-iv
      дихлорэтаном который сам по себе либо токсичный алкалоид илбо ядовитое в-во в зависимости от типа.
      Уважаемый, что у ас было по химии в школе? Дихлорэтан C2H2Cl2 относится к дигалоидзамещенным алканам, а не алкалоидам. Является веществом канцерогенной опасности, несколько превосходящем хлороформ, аналогом которого является. Период полураспада в воздухе составляет порядка 60 дней (в почве и воде почти не накапливается ввиду высокой летучести).

      Для обезвреживания V-газов (в частности,VX) используются алкоголяты аминоспиртов или окислители на основе хлора (например, хлоргая известь) в щелочной среде. Где Вы весь этот бред выискали?..
  7. Вялик 12 июля 2012 13:02
    Есть выражение,не знаю кому принадлежит :"Сколько человека не учи и не лечи он всё равно стремится на кладбище." Ну или примерно так.Человек не создаёт ничего такого,чего бы нельзя было использовать для того,что бы убивать себе подобных.
    1. Алекс 19 февраля 2014 19:40
      Цитата: Вялик
      Есть выражение,не знаю кому принадлежит :"Сколько человека не учи и не лечи он всё равно стремится на кладбище."
      Жванецкому. И в оргинале звучит несколько иначе: "Что с человеком не делай, он упорно ползет на кладбище".
  8. loc.bejenari 12 июля 2012 15:20
    кстати -по ВОВ -наши войска готовы были применить химоружие как ответную меру и постоянно были наготове
    лет 5 назал под киевом в круглике подняли на бывших позициях хим снаряды к 152 мм орудиям
    а в Севастополе при немецкой бомбежке в 42 затонул целый транспорт с хим оружием которое наши везли в осажденный город
    слава богу =что до его применения не дошло
    loc.bejenari
    1. Алекс 19 февраля 2014 19:43
      Цитата: loc.bejenari
      в Севастополе при немецкой бомбежке в 42 затонул целый транспорт с хим оружием которое наши везли в осажденный город
      Этот бред уже обсуждался. Не было под Севастополем ОВ. И немцы пего против РККА не праняли, ни в Крыму, ни где ещё. А вот против партизан в каменоломнях - да, применяли, хотя и ограниченно. Можно было бы нынешнему ФРГ предъявить, да у Украины кишка тонка с Европой в контры лезть.
  9. Марына Няведава 14 июля 2012 00:07
    Остается только надеяться, что в случае чего, русские люди не потеряют боевого духа как при Осовце, как и во Второй Мировой. Хотя надежда слабая...
    Марына Няведава
  10. Алекс 19 февраля 2014 19:44
    Про Осовец на ТопВаре есть видеоролик отличный, так и называется "Атака мертвецов". Кто не смотрел - советую.

    А статья так себе, даже на школьный реферат с трудом тянет.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня