Will there be humans fighting robots?

While in Russia they are discussing with enthusiasm all sorts of interesting products (Poseidons, Petrels and Nudoli), another wave of futuroshock is rolling in the West, associated with fears that combat robots developed in the bowels of American companies associated with DARPA and military industrial complex, as if in the future they can ... there are people.



This is an Energetically Autonomous Tactical Robot (EATR) project, launched in 2003 by Robotic Technologies, Inc. and Cyclone Power Technologies, Inc. for the needs of the American army. Although the project was stopped in the 2015 year, however, noise around it rolled a few years later. Director of Cyclone Power Technologies, Inc. Harry Schoel was even forced to make excuses that he shared the concern of the public, however, the creation of robots that can eat people is not the mission of his company.


Will there be humans fighting robots?

The overall look of the EATR


Even the president of Russia Vladimir Putin was dragged to this company. The British newspaper The Sun, 22 of September 2017, published a short article stating that Putin had asked the head of Yandex, Arkady Volozh, when these robots would "eat us." Volozh answered: "I hope never." It is not difficult, however, to verify that in reality, during Putin’s visit to Yandex, it was about artificial intelligence, and not robots eating humans at all. All the same, what a spreading cranberry the British newspaper treats its readers!

A bit about the EATR project


This is a robot, the power plant of which is an advanced version of the steam engine - the Cyclone Waste Heat Engine, a six-cylinder radial engine that, as its creators write, can convert 146,5 kW of thermal energy into 10 kW of electric energy. The design of the engine is similar to a radial aircraft engine. The necessary steam is generated not in the boiler, but in a metal tube rolled into a tight coil, which is placed inside the combustion chamber, in which any liquid fuel burns; but there is also a version for wood fuel - pellets. Steam is supplied to the ends of the cylinders, leaves the crankcase with a crankshaft, partially condensed there, and then the gas-vapor mixture is discharged through the outlet pipe. The rotation of the engine drives an electric power generator. The electricity stored in the batteries is used to set the robot in motion and power its equipment.


This is the engine assembly and during testing. In addition to the 6 cylinder version, the company is also working on an 12 cylinder engine



This is a steam generator installed above the fuel combustion chamber. This unit does not have a steam boiler. Developers also tested a solar heater to produce steam in such a steam generator.


Judging by the video published by the developers, the power plant turned out to be very compact. The engine is about 50 cm in diameter, the entire installation is about 1,2 meters high. But still not so compact as to install it on a small robot. However, on the prototype, the creators did not particularly strive for compactness.

To heat the steam generator, the development companies assumed a wide variety of fuels: gasoline, kerosene, vegetable oil, and even solar energy. Chicken fat also appeared in the list of fuels, but in general, the developers in their advertising talked about the use of biomass. Like, a robot can independently produce fuel for itself, like a living organism, which would be the equivalent of eating. Further, the developers became victims of their own advertising, because the public understood this all so that the project involves devouring the corpses of people. After all, this is a combat robot, autonomous, and here also chicken fat in the list of fuels. If a robot can use chicken fat, why can't it use, say, fat from the human body?

In my opinion, it’s not very clear where this hysteria came from. Judging by what the developers presented, it was a question of a robot self-procuring organic fuel, primarily wood. In principle, the robot can be equipped with a device for cutting and chopping small trees, branches, shrubs, and loading chopped wood pulp into the feed hopper. Such an automatic machine would be very useful for all kinds of autonomous devices operating in a wooded area, including for military purposes. It is unlikely that on the basis of this engine you can build a compact autonomous robot, as the creators swung. But it’s quite possible to make an energy center for robots, which will recharge their batteries: a kind of self-propelled harvester that works in cycles. Part of the time it stands still and produces electricity (as well as hot water; but the project provides for a closed cycle of water circulation), and the other part of the time travels around the neighborhood and produces fuel for itself, then returning to the starting point.

This is an interesting idea for the military economy of a large and protracted war in which there has been no oil for a long time, since oil fields and oil refineries have long been burned up by enemy attacks. Such a plant, powered by the most affordable and low-grade fuel, can provide electricity for a wide variety of needs. In times of world wars such a device would quickly find application.


Will it be so or not?


In my opinion, fighting robots will not eat people, and for purely technical reasons. Even if such a power plant is reduced and made denser in layout, having achieved a significant reduction in geometric dimensions and weight, nevertheless, it takes a lot of heat to bring it into action. It is relatively easy to obtain from burning fossil fuels. But the corpses of animals and people, as is well known, are not suitable as fuel, because for the most part they are composed of water, and the mass of dry, combustible material is relatively small. You can try to consider other methods, for example, the oxidation of fats, proteins and carbohydrates without burning. Theoretically, a gram of fat gives 4,1 kcal, and in order to boil a liter of water from room temperature, it takes only 8,7 grams of vegetable oil or other fat. However, as far as one can judge, methods for generating energy, or at least a significant thermal effect, from these substances without burning them have not yet appeared. This is probably possible, but not available right now.

But the main argument against this is that trees, shrubs, various herbs are almost everywhere, and in large quantities. Harvesting wood pulp is easier. In addition, other combustible substances can be used: household waste, plastic, rubber, and so on. The procurement of these fuels gives a reliable and highly predictable result. And people - go and catch it first.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

39 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Будут ли боевые роботы есть людей?

Пока в России с увлечением обсуждают всякие занятные изделия ("Посейдоны", "Буревестники" и "Нудоли"), на Западе прокатывается очередная волна футурошока, связанная с опасениями, что боевые роботы, разрабатываемые в недрах американских компаний, связанных с DARPA и военно-промышленного комплекса, будто бы в будущем смогут… есть людей.



Речь идет о проекте Energetically Autonomous Tactical Robot (EATR), начатом в 2003 году компаниями Robotic Technologies, Inc. и Cyclone Power Technologies, Inc. для нужд американской армии. Хотя проект был остановлен в 2015 году, тем не менее, шум вокруг него прокатывался еще несколько лет спустя. Директор Cyclone Power Technologies, Inc. Гарри Шоел вынужден был даже оправдываться, что он разделяет озабоченность публики, однако создание роботов, которые могут есть людей, не является миссией его компании.


Будут ли боевые роботы есть людей?

Общий облик EATR


К этой компании приплели даже президента России Владимира Путина. В британской газете «The Sun» 22 сентября 2017 года появилась короткая статья о том, что будто бы Путин спросил главу компании "Яндекс" Аркадия Воложа, когда эти роботы будут "есть нас". Волож ответил: "Я надеюсь, что никогда". Нетрудно, впрочем проверить, что в действительности во время визита Путина в "Яндекс" речь шла об искусственном интеллекте, а вовсе не роботах, поедающих людей. Все же какой развесистой клюквой потчует своих читателей британская газета!

Немного о проекте EATR


Это робот, силовая установка которого представляет собой продвинутую версию паровой машины — Cyclone Waste Heat Engine, шестицилиндровый радиальный двигатель, который, как пишут его создатели, может преобразовать 146,5 кВт тепловой энергии в 10 кВт электрической энергии. По своей конструкции двигатель похож на радиальный авиационный двигатель. Необходимый пар вырабатывается не в котле, а в свернутой в плотный моток металлической трубке, который помещен внутрь камеры сгорания, в которой горит какое-либо жидкое топливо; но есть также версия и под древесное топливо — пеллеты. Пар подается в концы цилиндров, выходит в картер с коленвалом, там отчасти конденсируется и потом парогазовая смесь отводится через выводную трубку. Вращение двигателя приводит в действие в генератор, производящий электроэнергию. Электроэнергия, запасаемая в аккумуляторах, используется для приведения робота в движение и питания его оборудования.


Это сам двигатель в сборе и в ходе испытаний. Помимо 6-цилиндровой версии, компания также работает над 12-цилиндровым двигателем



Это парообразователь, установленный над камерой сгорания топлива. Парового котла у этой установки нет. Разработчики также испытывали солнечный нагреватель для получения пара в таком парообразователе


Судя по видео, опубликованному разработчиками, силовая установка получилась весьма компактной. Двигатель в диаметре около 50 см, вся установка высотой около 1,2 метра. Но все же не настолько компактная, чтобы установить ее на небольшого робота. Впрочем, на опытном образце создатели не особенно и стремились к компактности.

Для нагрева парообразователя компании-разработчики предполагали самые разные виды топлива: бензин, керосин, растительное масло и даже солнечную энергию. В списке топлив фигурировал также куриный жир, а вообще разработчики в своей рекламе говорили об использовании биомассы. Мол, робот может самостоятельно, как живой организм, заготавливать себе топливо, что было бы эквивалентом поедания. Дальше разработчики стали жертвами своей же рекламы, поскольку публика поняла это все так, что проект предполагает пожирание трупов людей. Ведь это боевой робот, автономный, а тут еще и куриный жир в списке видов топлива. Если робот может использовать куриный жир, то почему не может использовать, скажем, жир из человеческого тела?

На мой взгляд, не очень понятно, откуда возникла вообще эта истерика. Судя по тому, что представили разработчики, речь шла о самозаготовке роботом себе органического топлива, в первую очередь древесины. В принципе, робота можно оснастить устройством для срезания и измельчения небольших деревьев, сучьев, кустарника, и загрузки измельченной древесной массы в питательный бункер. Такой автомат был бы очень полезен для всякого рода автономных устройств, действующих в лесистой местности, в том числе и для военных нужд. Вряд ли на основе этого двигателя можно построить компактного автономного робота, как замахнулись создатели. Но вполне можно сделать энергетический центр для роботов, который будет подзаряжать их аккумуляторы: эдакий самоходный харвестер, работающий циклично. Часть времени он стоит на месте и вырабатывает электроэнергию (а также и горячую воду; но проект предусматривает замкнутый цикл водооборота), а другую часть времени ездит по окрестностям и добывает себе топливо, возвращаясь потом к исходной точке.

Это интересная идея для военного хозяйства большой и затяжной войны, в которой нефти уже давно нет, поскольку нефтепромыслы и нефтеперерабатывающие заводы давно сгорели от вражеских ударов. Такая установка, питаемая самым доступным и низкосортным топливом, может давать электроэнергию для самых различных нужд. Во времена мировых войн такому устройству быстро нашли бы применение.


Так будут или нет?


На мой взгляд, боевые роботы есть людей не будут, причем по чисто техническим причинам. Даже если подобную энергетическую установку уменьшить и сделать более плотной в компоновке, добившись значительного уменьшения геометрических размеров и веса, тем не менее, для приведения ее в действие требуется много тепла. Его сравнительно легко получить от сжигания органического топлива. Но трупы животных и людей, как хорошо известно, не годятся в качестве топлива, потому что по большей части состоят из воды, и масса сухого, сгораемого вещества сравнительно невелика. Можно попробовать рассмотреть другие способы, например, окисление жиров, белков и углеводов без сжигания. Теоретически грамм жира дает 4,1 ккал, а для того, чтобы вскипятить литр воды от комнатной температуры, требуется всего лишь 8,7 граммов растительного масла или другого жира. Однако, насколько можно судить, пока еще не появилось методов получения энергии или, по крайней мере, значительного теплового эффекта, из этих веществ без их сжигания. Вероятно, это возможно, но сейчас в наличии нет.

Но самый главный аргумент против состоит в том, что деревья, кустарники, различные травы есть почти везде, и в больших количествах. Заготавливать древесную массу проще. Помимо этого, могут быть использованы другие горючие вещества: бытовой мусор, пластик, резина и так далее. Заготовка этих видов топлива дает надежный и весьма предсказуемый результат. А людей — поди сначала поймай.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

46 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти