Take-off and tragedy of Novorossiysk missile launchers

The 20s and 30s of the last century were a tough time. The country was recovering from the civil war and intervention, but the young citizens of the young Soviet Union were already looking to the future. The idols of youth were aviators. Especially loudly pilots declared themselves after the rescue of the legendary Chelyuskinites. Of course, various circles and organizations gradually began to appear, uniting enthusiasts to conquer the sky. However, the skies of Soviet youth were clearly not enough, and even then the guys thought about rocket science. Naturally, on the shores of the Black Sea, young people did not lag behind advanced trends.



Gleb Tereshchenko. Space age prophet



Space dreams of Novorossiysk are inextricably linked with the name of Gleb Tereshchenko and his comrades. Gleb Antonovich was born in Petrograd in 1921, although his father Anton Savvich was a native Novorossiysk, whom the service threw into the dank northern capital. Little Gleb’s health was poor. Doctors recommended that the family return to the south. Anton Savvich achieved a transfer to Novorossiysk and began to settle down. Gleb’s father built a house at the beginning of Deribasovskaya Street (now Chelyuskintsev Street) from local materials, crack stone and cement.

Take-off and tragedy of Novorossiysk missile launchers

Gleb Tereshchenko in Circassian family


Gleb was already desperate for aviation. Father, an engineer by training, encouraged these impulses by subscribing to the magazine "Airplane" for his son. In his native high school, the number 3 (former Novorossiysk men's gymnasium) Gleb was an active enthusiast in the aircraft modeling club, becoming, in fact, the head of this modest organization. Tereshchenko also eagerly absorbed any scientific information on jet technology.


Sign of instructor for young aircraft builders


In the 30's, the enthusiasm of the young New Russians and their parents allowed the founding of a Novorossiysk flying club, located in the area of ​​the modern Cape of Love. And, of course, Gleb took a leading position in the flying club and soon in his 16 years he was approved for the position of instructor for young aircraft manufacturers, about which he had a corresponding sign from OSOAVIAHIM. Heading the flying club, Tereshchenko became one of the first Novorossiisk pilots, mastered parachuting and even joined the diving profession. He himself created the drawings of future aircraft models and developed projects for quite real aircraft, he designed parts for his brainchild and assembled models of aircraft.

First steps to the future


In the 1937 year, Gleb Tereshchenko begins the development of a jet model with a jet engine. The advanced idea was instantly picked up by other comrades in the flying club. The work was in full swing. Therefore, in the 1938 year, the director of the Palace of Pioneers, Olga Shandarova, invited Gleb and his team to head the experimental rocket aircraft modeling laboratory. In fact, it was a kind of design bureau organized by Tereshchenko, in which each led his own circle of work.

Vladimir Nogaitsev developed beam aircraft models and engines. Maria Rassadnikova led materials for lightweight models. Frida Gromova was engaged exclusively in jet engines. Pavel Fileshi was a full-time “chemist”, experimenting with various mixtures for solid fuel engines. Konstantin Mikhailov, already a student at the Moscow Aviation Institute, where he was accepted, taking into account the Novorossiysk experience, without exams, passed to fellow countrymen and colleagues all the most advanced materials on rocket science and aviation.


Gleb Tereshchenko


The "chief designer" of the laboratory was Gleb. Contemporaries familiar with the work of Novorossiisk enthusiasts stated that Tereshchenko thought at the level of the best design bureaus of the Second World War. In the 1939 year, laboratory research reached such a level that the Palace of Pioneers had to allocate additional premises to the Gleb team. The activities of the laboratory were no longer similar to youthful enthusiasm. Here is how one of the participants of the Tereshenko team, Pavel Fileshi, recalls those days:
“Near the dance floor (city park. - Approx. Aut.), On its southern side, a funnel was dug in 1940 in order to demonstrate its possible size from the explosion of a hundred-kilogram aviation bomb. "We used this funnel quite often to test the thrust of rockets ... it was necessary to test our next decision ... A lit rocket threw itself at the bottom of the funnel, in which it accelerated along the slopes and flew out."




Frida Gromova


Finally, Tereshchenko suggested embarking on the implementation of ideas, as they say, in metal. For these purposes, his team literally occupied Father Gleb’s barn. The guys spent days and nights there, erecting an experimental two-seater flea-type aircraft. Alas, it was not possible to find funds to create an engine before the war. As a result, the assembled car stood in the barn until the 1943 year, until the BM-13 missile hit the structure, i.e. Katyusha. Fate has an evil irony.

However, the construction of the "Flea" laboratory activities were by no means exhausted. After all, the guys were literally eager for "tomorrow." Just the plane did not suit them. They dreamed of a rocket plane, a future jet aircraft and a full-fledged rocket. Gleb and his team, having exhausted the possibilities of solid-fuel samples experimentally, seriously began the development of liquid-fuel engines.

The following memories were left by Tereshchenko himself in one of the press materials of those years:
“Let's build rocket planes!” My comrades and I were very interested in the rocket engine. A rocket engine aircraft can reach tremendous altitude and speed. We worked a lot on the rocket plane model. Our first models whistled into the air, but at 20 meters from the start, my model fell and crashed. This did not bother us. Worked again. Now we have already become designers of rocket aircraft models. ”



Palace of Pioneers of Novorossiysk


Decades later, one of Gleb’s comrades, Georgy Maystrenko, a veteran of the Great Patriotic War and a Hero of Socialist Labor, recalled:
“I studied with Gleb in an aircraft modeling circle. I remember how he made a rocket model, which is almost completely similar to modern two-keel Su-type fighter jets. That was his foresight. ”


All-Union Success


Having no access to foreign experience, by the 1940 year, the Novorossiysk team was able to independently develop and implement in metal one of the first flying jet aircraft models. It was an absolute innovation. In August of the 1940, the Novorossiysk went to the 14-th All-Union competition of flying aircraft models in Konstantinovka, where they made a splash, setting a number of records.

The rocket model of Vladimir Nogaitsev lasted in the air for 1 minutes 32 seconds. And the rocket fuselage model of Gleb Tereshchenko was able not only to exceed the speed of 40 m / s, but also to fly completely out of sight. By the way, in the end, after many hours of searching, she was never found.


One of the original reactive models of Tereshchenko


In those competitions, the Novorossiysk got the nickname "rocketeers." Their tent has become a kind of base for all enthusiasts of jet technology. They flocked to get background information, to exchange experiences and just out of curiosity. Colonel, a scientist in the design of aerospace systems, doctor of technical sciences, professor, and in the 30's, Oleg Aleksandrovich Chembrovsky, a member of the Moscow aircraft modeling club, recalled that in Moscow the name Tereshchenko began to sound loud after those competitions.

As a result, the organizing committee recommended that the Novorossiysk Laboratory prepare for publication a collection of articles on author's solutions to constructive issues in jet aircraft construction, but the collection, planned for the 1941 year, did not take place for well-known reasons. At the beginning of the fateful 1941, in one of the articles, Tereshchenko confidently wrote:
“Rockets are the engines of the future, and rocket flight is the problem of flying into world space.”


The dawn of the space age seemed on the verge. Having returned with success, the Novorossiysk laboratory began to create a full-fledged liquid fuel jet engine. The number of drawings and diagrams was expanding, experimental launches became commonplace, but the war broke everything.

The tragedy of the Novorossiysk missile


The Great Patriotic War will be a bloody ax on the fate of the Novorossiysk missile. Almost all of them will die in the crucible of that war. Konstantin Mikhailov, already enrolled in the Moscow Aviation Institute, will volunteer for the militia. He will die in the defense of the capital.

Frida Gromova, who designed the first jet engine models, will leave the city after the evacuated flying club. During the crossing in the region of Ust-Labinsk, she will fall under the Nazi bombing. A very young girl will die under the bombs.

In the 1941 year, Tereshchenko himself will volunteer for the front. Until the 1943 year, Gleb will fight in the vast Kuban. His life will end in February 43 when liberating the Krasnodar Territory. During the battles in the area of ​​the farms, the Greeks and the Grechanaya beam Gleb, after an unsuccessful attack by German positions, will be seriously injured and die from blood loss. He will be buried there, in a mass grave.


Notification of the death of Gleb (open data from the site "Memory of the People")


Nowadays, few people know about the daring jet take-off of the team of Novorossiysk missile launchers, before which the doors of the best institutes were opened. However, the war not only mowed down the ranks of the Tereshchenkov team, but almost buried their works and memory of them. After the complete liberation of Novorossiysk, the capital demanded of the surviving Novorossiysk returning home only one thing: the factories and the port must earn at all costs. Nobody wanted to think about any research of young scientists of the pre-war laboratory.

For the first time, enthusiasts of jet technology were remembered only in the 1977 year. In October of that year, the scientific and practical conference “40 Years of the Air Rocket Laboratory of the Novorossiysk Palace of Pioneers” was held in Novorossiysk, in which academicians of the USSR Academy of Sciences and the first rocket scientists took part. As it turned out, metropolitan scientists were familiar with the works of Tereshchenko quite well and regarded his research as serious scientific research. Moreover, venerable Soviet experts concluded that the drawings, photographs, and technical notes of the new Russian pre-war teenagers are still relevant today. Too many bold and original decisions were in the works of Tereshchenko and his team. For example, they noted the original design of a controlled stabilizer on one of the jet aircraft models.


Certificate of honor of Gleb Tereshchenko, posthumously


Later several times история Novorossiysk missile regained its life again. But alas, despite the recommendations to publish the works of children who are still of scientific interest, it did not go further, which, in my opinion, is unfair. After all, the contribution of the New Russians to the dawn of the space age was, although modest, but it was.
Author:
Eastern wind
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

43 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Взлёт и трагедия новороссийских ракетчиков

20-е и 30-е годы прошлого века были тяжёлым временем. Страна восстанавливалась после гражданской войны и интервенции, но юные граждане молодого Советского Союза уже смотрели в будущее. Кумирами молодёжи были авиаторы. Особенно громко лётчики заявили о себе после спасения легендарных челюскинцев. Конечно, постепенно начали появляться различные кружки и организации, объединяющие энтузиастов покорения неба. Однако небес советской молодёжи было явно мало, и уже тогда ребята задумывались о ракетостроении. Естественно, и на берегах Чёрного моря молодёжь не отставала от передовых тенденций.



Глеб Терещенко. Пророк космической эры



Космические грёзы Новороссийска неразрывно связаны с именем Глеба Терещенко и его товарищей. Глеб Антонович родился в Петрограде в 1921 году, хотя его отец Антон Саввич был коренным новороссийцем, которого служба забросила в промозглую северную столицу. Здоровье маленького Глеба было неважным. Врачи рекомендовали семье вернуться на юг. Антон Саввич добился перевода в Новороссийск и начал обживаться. Отец Глеба построил из местных материалов, камня трескуна и цемента, дом в начале Дерибасовской улицы (ныне улица Челюскинцев).

Взлёт и трагедия новороссийских ракетчиков

Глеб Терещенко в черкеске в кругу семьи


Глеб уже тогда отчаянно увлекался авиацией. Отец, инженер по образованию, поощрял эти порывы, оформив подписку на журнал «Самолёт» для сына. В родной средней школе номер 3 (бывшая Новороссийская мужская гимназия) Глеб был активным энтузиастом кружка авиамоделирования, став, по сути, главой этой скромной организации. Терещенко также жадно впитывал любую научную информацию по реактивной технике.


Знак инструктора юных авиастроителей


В 30-х годах энтузиазм юных новороссийцев и их родителей позволил основать новороссийский аэроклуб, размещавшийся в районе современного Мыса Любви. И, конечно, Глеб занял в аэроклубе лидирующие позиции и вскоре в свои 16 лет был утверждён на должность инструктора юных авиастроителей, о чём имел соответствующий знак от ОСОАВИАХИМа. Возглавив аэроклуб, Терещенко стал одним из первых новороссийских пилотов, освоил прыжки с парашютом и даже приобщился к водолазной профессии. Он сам создавал чертежи будущих авиамоделей и разрабатывал проекты вполне себе настоящих самолётов, сам конструировал для своих детищ детали и собирал модели авиатехники.

Первые шаги в будущее


В 1937-м году Глеб Терещенко начинает разработку авиамодели с реактивным двигателем. Передовую идею мигом подхватили и другие товарищи по аэроклубу. Работа кипела нешуточная. Поэтому в 1938-м году директор Дворца пионеров Ольга Шандарова пригласила Глеба и его команду возглавить экспериментальную ракетную авиамоделестроительную лабораторию. По сути, это было своеобразное КБ, организованное Терещенко, в котором каждый вёл собственный круг работ.

Владимир Ногайцев разрабатывал балочные авиационные модели и двигатели. Мария Рассадникова вела вопросы материалов для облегчения веса моделей. Фрида Громова занималась исключительно реактивными двигателями. Павел Филеши был штатным «химиком», экспериментируя с различными смесями для твердотопливных двигателей. Константин Михайлов, уже будучи студентом Московского авиационного института, куда был принят, учитывая новороссийский опыт, без экзаменов, передавал землякам и коллегам все самые передовые материалы по ракетостроению и авиации.


Глеб Терещенко


«Главным конструктором» лаборатории был Глеб. Современники, знакомые с работой новороссийских энтузиастов, констатировали, что Терещенко мыслил на уровне лучших КБ времён Второй мировой войны. В 1939-м году исследования лаборатории вышли на такой уровень, что Дворцу пионеров пришлось выделить команде Глеба дополнительные помещения. На юношеское увлечение деятельность лаборатории уже похожа не была. Вот как вспоминает те дни один из участников терещенской команды Павел Филеши:
«Рядом с танцплощадкой (городской парк. – Прим. авт.), с южной ее стороны, в 1940 году была вырыта воронка для демонстрации возможной ее величины от взрыва стокилограммовой авиационной бомбы. Эту воронку мы довольно часто использовали для испытания силы тяги ракет… это было необходимо для проверки нашего очередного решения… Зажженная ракета бросалась на дно воронки, в которой, разгоняясь по склонам, вылетала».




Фрида Громова


Наконец Терещенко предложил приступить к воплощению идей, как говорится, в металле. Для этих целей его команда буквально оккупировала сарай отца Глеба. Ребята дневали и ночевали там, возводя экспериментальный двухместный самолёт типа «Блоха». Увы, средств для создания двигателя до войны изыскать не удалось. В итоге собранная машина так и простояла в сарае до 1943-го года, пока в строение не угодил реактивный снаряд БМ-13, т.е. «Катюши». У судьбы злая ирония.

Однако строительством «Блохи» деятельность лаборатории отнюдь не исчерпывалась. Ведь ребята буквально рвались в «завтра». Просто самолёт их не устраивал. Они мечтали о ракетоплане, будущей реактивной авиации и полноценной ракете. Глеб и его команда, исчерпав возможности твердотопливных образцов экспериментальным путём, всерьёз начали разработку двигателей на жидком топливе.

Следующие воспоминания оставил сам Терещенко в одном из материалов прессы тех лет:
«Давайте строить ракетопланы! Я и мои товарищи очень заинтересовались ракетным двигателем. Самолет с ракетным двигателем может достигнуть огромной высоты и скорости. Мы много работали над моделью ракетоплана. Первые наши модели со свистом взлетали в воздух, но в 20 метрах от старта моя модель упала и разбилась. Это нас не смутило. Работали снова. Теперь мы уже стали конструкторами по постройке ракетных авиамоделей».



Дворец пионеров Новороссийска


Спустя десятилетия один из товарищей Глеба, Георгий Майстренко, ветеран Великой Отечественной и Герой Социалистического Труда, вспоминал:
«Я занимался у Глеба в авиамодельном кружке. Помню, как он смастерил ракетную модель, которая почти полностью похожа на современные двухкилевые реактивные истребители типа Су. Вот такое у него было предвидение».


Всесоюзный успех


Не имея доступа к зарубежному опыту, новороссийская команда к 1940-му году смогла самостоятельно разработать и воплотить в металле одну из первых летающих авиамоделей с реактивным двигателем. Это было абсолютное новаторство. В августе 1940-го новороссийцы отправились на 14-е Всесоюзные соревнования летающих авиамоделей в Константиновку, где произвели настоящий фурор, поставив ряд рекордов.

Ракетная балочная модель Владимира Ногайцева продержалась в воздухе 1 минуту 32 секунды. А ракетная фюзеляжная модель Глеба Терещенко смогла не только превысить скорость в 40 м/с, но и улететь вовсе за пределы видимости. Кстати, в итоге после многочасовых поисков её так и не нашли.


Одна из оригинальных реактивных моделей Терещенко


На тех соревнованиях за новороссийцами закрепилось прозвище «ракетчики». Их палатка превратилась в своеобразную базу всех энтузиастов реактивной техники. Туда стекались для получения справочной информации, для обмена опытом и просто из любопытства. Полковник, учёный в области проектирования воздушно-космических систем, доктор технических наук, профессор, а в 30-х годах участник московского авиамодельного кружка Олег Александрович Чембровский вспоминал, что в Москве имя Терещенко стало звучать громко после тех соревнований.

В итоге оргкомитет рекомендовал Новороссийской лаборатории подготовить для издания сборник статей по авторским решениям конструктивных вопросов реактивного авиастроения, но запланированный на 1941-й год выход сборника не состоялся по известным причинам. В начале рокового 1941-го в одной из статей Терещенко уверенно писал:
«Ракеты — это двигатели будущего, а ракетный полет — это проблема полета в мировое пространство».


Заря космической эры, казалось, уже на пороге. Новороссийская лаборатория, вернувшись с успехом, вплотную приступила к созданию полноценного реактивного двигателя на жидком топливе. Ширилось количество чертежей и схем, экспериментальные запуски стали обыденностью, но всё оборвала война.

Трагедия новороссийских ракетчиков


Великая Отечественная война пройдёт кровавым топором по судьбам новороссийских ракетчиков. Практически все из них погибнут в горниле той войны. Константин Михайлов, уже поступивший в Московский авиационный институт, уйдёт добровольцем в ополчение. Он погибнет при обороне столицы.

Фрида Громова, конструировавшая первые модели реактивных двигателей, покинет город вслед за эвакуируемым аэроклубом. Во время переправы в районе Усть-Лабинска она попадёт под нацистскую бомбардировку. Совсем молодая девушка погибнет под бомбами.

В 1941-м году сам Терещенко уйдёт добровольцем на фронт. Вплоть до 1943-го года Глеб будет воевать на просторах Кубани. Его жизнь оборвётся в феврале 43-го при освобождении Краснодарского края. Во время боёв в районе хуторов Греки и Гречаная балка Глеб после неудачной атаки немецких позиций будет тяжело ранен и умрёт от потери крови. Его похоронят там же, в братской могиле.


Извещение о гибели Глеба (открытые данные сайта "Память народа")


Ныне мало кто знает о дерзновенном реактивном взлёте команды новороссийских ракетчиков, перед которыми были распахнуты двери лучших институтов. Однако война не только выкосила ряды терещенковской команды, но и почти похоронила их труды и память о них. После полного освобождения Новороссийска столица требовала от оставшихся в живых новороссийцев, возвращавшихся домой, только одного: заводы и порт должны заработать любой ценой. О каких-то исследованиях юных учёных довоенной лаборатории никто и думать не хотел.

Впервые вспомнили об энтузиастах реактивной техники только в 1977-м году. В октябре того года в Новороссийске прошла научно-практическая конференция «40 лет авиаракетной лаборатории Новороссийского Дворца пионеров», в которой приняли участие академики АН СССР и первые ракетостроители. Как оказалось, столичные учёные с работами Терещенко были знакомы достаточно хорошо и расценивали его исследования как серьёзные научные изыскания. Более того, маститые советские специалисты сделали вывод, что чертежи, фотографии, технические записки новороссийских подростков довоенной поры и сегодня актуальны. Слишком уж много смелых и оригинальных решений были в работах Терещенко и его команды. К примеру, отметили оригинальную конструкцию управляемого стабилизатора на одной из реактивных авиамоделей.


Почётная грамота Глеба Терещенко, посмертно


Позже несколько раз история новороссийских ракетчиков снова обретала жизнь. Но увы, несмотря на рекомендации опубликовать работы ребят, которые имеют до сих пор научный интерес, далее дело не шло, что, на мой взгляд, несправедливо. Ведь вклад новороссийцев в зарю космической эры был хоть и скромным, но он был.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

43 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти