We Are The Mighty: 10 Fighters Changing the Air War

The eternal theme is the comparison of military equipment and the compilation of various ratings. The American online magazine We Are The Mighty also does not stand aside and offers a list of 10 fighters that changed the war in the air. It is proposed to consider the aircraft that made the greatest contribution to the conduct of battle in the sky (regardless of the nature of such a contribution).



Top Ten



The WATM list is accompanied by some reservations and comments. However, in general, the opinion of the publication looks like this:

10. Su-27 Flanker.
9. F-86 Saber.
8. Fokker Dr.1.
7. F-4 Phantom.
6. Supermarine Spitfire.
5. F-117 Nighthawk.
4. F / A-18 Hornet.
3. MQ-1 Predator.
2. F-15 Eagle.
1. F-22 Raptor.

For obvious and even obvious reasons, a dozen fighter jets include mainly American-made vehicles (with rare exceptions). It includes only three foreign samples, and the best of them did not even hit the top five.

The arguments in favor of various Top-10 participants look quite interesting and sometimes convincing. Consider some of the ranking items of greatest interest.

Trailing Su-27


The Soviet / Russian fighter Su-27 placed WATM in the last place. He was fully named the modern fighter of the USSR, created in response to the appearance of the American F-15. In addition, the Su-27 awarded the epithet "one of the most impressive fighters of the XX century."



In close maneuver combat, the Su-27 is a threat to foreign fighters due to the presence of the P-73 air-to-air missile and the helmet-mounted target designation system. In battle, the Su-27 may even have advantages over the American F-15. Whether the F-15 avionics will allow the Russian Su-27 to approach a dangerous distance - WATM suggests discussing separately.


Su-27 was created with the goal of gaining superiority in the air, but later showed greater flexibility. It can intercept air targets, as well as strike at ground targets. A similar multipurpose fighter-bomber remains in service to this day.

Subtle 7 spot


The F-7 Nighthawk stealth aircraft placed WATM on the 117 for its achievements in introducing advanced technologies and for influencing the further development of aviation. It is noted that the issue of stealth for radars has been studied almost since the Second World War, however, it was F-117 who first used such opportunities in battle.



This aircraft was developed in an atmosphere of secrecy and was supposed to be a means of delivering attacks with minimal risk of detection. In 1981, it was Nighthawk that became the first stealth aircraft in the world to enter service.

In 1999, in Yugoslavia, the United States lost one of its F-117, and with it military advantages. The details of the incident are still secret, but there is information according to which the crashed plane landed in a tolerable condition. This means that Russia and China could gain access to American technology.

For two decades, the F-117 Nighthawk has been able to take part in several operations. Its creation and operation paved the way for today's fifth generation fighters, also distinguished by stealth.

Unmanned "bronze"


The third place in the WATM ranking was not given to the fighter, but this machine really influenced the war in the air. "Bronze" in the ranking receives an unmanned aerial vehicle MQ-1 Predator. He was the first real combat UAV and became the "beginning of the end of air battles involving humans." In November 2002, Predator first carried out an air strike with an AGM-114 Hellfire missile and forever changed the war.



The MQ-1 was remotely controlled by one pilot and one or two target load operators. Multi-purpose UAVs with medium altitude and long flight duration were mainly used for reconnaissance and surveillance. However, if necessary, he could strike with outboard weapons.

March 9 2018 US Air Force officially removed the MQ-1 Predator from service. The replacement for it was the more advanced drone MQ-9 Reaper. To attack ground targets, this machine carries Hellfire missiles, as well as JDAM and GBU-12 bombs.

"Eagle" second place


At the second step of the ranking placed the F-15 Eagle fighter. This aircraft, created back in the seventies, is still able to show high combat qualities in a battle with other equipment.



High flight characteristics, stunning maneuverability and a developed range of weapons contribute to such results. High thrust-to-weight ratio combined with low wing load allow maneuvering without loss of speed and accelerate to speeds M = 2,5. All this made the F-15 the first US fighter capable of vertical acceleration.

F-15 carries advanced avionics and advanced weapons, including AIM-120D AMRAAM missiles. Avionics, weapons and flight characteristics make it a unique fighter. Not a single enemy aircraft has yet been able to shoot down the US Air Force F-15.

Xnumx place xnumx generation


The first American fighter of the last fifth generation - F-22 Raptor with the honorary title of "the most powerful fighter for gaining superiority in the air, and even in the whole universe" was placed in first place. The reasons for this WATM solution are simple. The F-22 was the first 5 generation fighter in the US Air Force and has unprecedented capabilities in the fields of air combat, radio electronics, situational awareness, stealth, etc. All this allows the aircraft to protect not only itself, but also others.



When working on air targets, the Raptor can carry six AIM-120 AMRAAM missiles and two AIM-9 Sidewinder missiles. On air-to-ground missions, he takes on board two GBU-32 JDAM bombs. At the same time, the aircraft retains a pair of AMRAAM and Sidewinder missiles - but only to fight off the enemy.

A powerful engine and a sleek glider allow the F-22 to perform a supersonic flight without using afterburner. The controls, including the special nozzle, give the aircraft unique maneuverability. This aircraft has no equal - in the whole world stories.

Assessment problem


On the whole, the rating of “10 fighters that influenced the war in the air” from We Are The Mighty is quite interesting, and the arguments presented look reasonable and logical. However, some features of this rating leave questions, including uncomfortable. Its authors can be suspected of being biased towards a particular technique and, as a result, of a lack of objectivity.

Indeed, the predominance of American aviation equipment - 7 aircraft from the 10 presented - looks very strange, although understandable. It is especially unpleasant that out of the whole variety of Soviet and Russian combat vehicles - which in one way or another influenced the development of combat aircraft and air combat - only one got into the Top-10. However, one can imagine that we are talking not only about the basic Su-27, but also about the entire family of equipment based on it.

The heading of the list speaks of fighters, but in the rating itself there are two samples for a different purpose. So, the F-117 had very limited capabilities for aerial combat and was actually a strike aircraft. UAV MQ-1 also could not carry the developed weapon to hit air targets. However, one cannot but admit the correctness of WATM - these machines really had an impact on the development of combat aircraft.

The first place for the fifth-generation American fighter F-22 Raptor is understandable and even expected. For all its problems, this aircraft is one of the reasons for the pride of aircraft manufacturers and the US Air Force. Despite its considerable age, limited number and lack of a large history of combat use, the F-22 is considered the basis of air power. It is unlikely that another plane could count on first place in such a rating.

However, the authors of WATM are well aware of the specific nature of the lists and ratings of military equipment and reserve the right to ambiguous and controversial assessments. Therefore, readers who have comments or reasons for criticism were invited to go to the comments section and leave their opinions there.

Top 10 fighters that changed aerial warfare forever rating: wearethemighty.com/gear-tech/best-fighter-planes-aviation.
Author:
Ryabov Kirill
Photos used:
Wearethemighty.com, US Air Force
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

49 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

We Are The Mighty: 10 истребителей, изменивших войну в воздухе

Вечной темой является сравнение военной техники и составление различных рейтингов. Американский интернет-журнал We Are The Mighty тоже не остается в стороне и предлагает список из 10 истребителей, изменивших войну в воздухе. Предлагается рассмотреть самолеты, внесшие наибольший вклад в ведение боя в небе (вне зависимости от характера такого вклада).



Десятка лучших



Список от WATM сопровождают некоторые оговорки и комментарии. Однако в целом мнение издания выглядит так:

10. Су-27 Flanker.
9. F-86 Sabre.
8. Fokker Dr.1.
7. F-4 Phantom.
6. Supermarine Spitfire.
5. F-117 Nighthawk.
4. F/A-18 Hornet.
3. MQ-1 Predator.
2. F-15 Eagle.
1. F-22 Raptor.

По понятным и даже очевидным причинам десятка истребителей включает в основном технику американской разработки (за редким исключением). В нее входит всего три иностранных образца, причем самый лучший из них не попал даже в пятерку лидеров.

Аргументы в пользу тех или иных участников «Топ-10» выглядят достаточно интересными и порой убедительными. Рассмотрим некоторые позиции рейтинга, представляющие наибольший интерес.

Замыкающий Су-27


На последнее место рейтинга WATM поставил советский / российский истребитель Су-27. Его назвали в полной мере современным истребителем разработки СССР, созданным в ответ на появление американского F-15. Кроме того, Су-27 удостоили эпитета «один из самых впечатляющих истребителей XX века».



В ближнем маневренном бою Су-27 является угрозой для зарубежных истребителей благодаря наличию ракеты «воздух-воздух» Р-73 и нашлемной системы целеуказания. В сражении Су-27 может даже иметь преимущества перед американским F-15. Позволит ли БРЭО F-15 российскому Су-27 приблизиться на опасное расстояние – WATM предлагает обсудить отдельно.


Су-27 создавался с целью завоевания превосходства в воздухе, но в дальнейшем показал большую гибкость. Он может выполнять перехват воздушных целей, а также наносить удары по наземным целям. Подобный многоцелевой истребитель-бомбардировщик остается в строю по сей день.

Малозаметное 7 место


На 7 место WATM поместил стелс-самолет F-117 Nighthawk – за его заслуги в деле внедрения перспективных технологий и влияние на дальнейшее развитие авиации. Отмечается, что вопрос малозаметности для радиолокаторов изучался едва ли не со времен Второй мировой войны, однако именно F-117 впервые использовал такие возможности в бою.



Этот самолет разрабатывался в обстановке секретности и должен был стать средством нанесения ударов с минимальным риском обнаружения. В 1981 г. именно Nighthawk стал первым в мире стелс-самолетом, поступившим на вооружение.

В 1999 г. в Югославии США потеряли один из своих F-117, а вместе с ним и боевые преимущества. Подробности того инцидента до сих пор секретны, но есть информация, согласно которой подбитый самолет приземлился в сносном состоянии. Это означает, что Россия и Китай могли получить доступ к американским технологиям.

В течение двух десятилетий F-117 Nighthawk смог принять участие в нескольких операциях. Его создание и эксплуатация проложили путь для сегодняшних истребителей пятого поколения, тоже отличающихся малозаметностью.

Беспилотная «бронза»


Третье место в рейтинге WATM досталось не истребителю, но эта машина действительно повлияла на войну в воздухе. «Бронзу» в рейтинге получает беспилотный летательный аппарат MQ-1 Predator. Он был первым настоящим боевым БПЛА и стал «началом конца воздушных боев с участием человека». В ноябре 2002 г. Predator впервые выполнил авиационный удар при помощи ракеты AGM-114 Hellfire и навсегда изменил войну.



MQ-1 управлялся дистанционно одним пилотом и одним или двумя операторами целевой нагрузки. Многоцелевой БПЛА со средней высотой и большой продолжительностью полета в основном использовался для разведки и наблюдения. Однако при необходимости он мог наносить удары при помощи подвесного вооружения.

9 марта 2018 г. ВВС США официально сняли MQ-1 Predator с вооружения. Заменой для него стал более совершенный беспилотник MQ-9 Reaper. Для атаки наземных целей эта машина несет ракеты Hellfire, а также бомбы JDAM и GBU-12.

«Орел» второго места


На второй ступеньке рейтинга разместили истребитель F-15 Eagle. Этот самолет, созданный еще в семидесятых годах, до сих пор способен показывать высокие боевые качества в сражении с другой техникой.



Таким результатам способствуют высокие летные характеристики, потрясающая маневренность и развитый комплекс вооружений. Высокая тяговооруженность в сочетании с низкой нагрузкой на крыло позволяют маневрировать без потерь скорости и разгоняться до скоростей М=2,5. Все это сделало F-15 первым истребителем США, способным совершать вертикальный подъем с ускорением.

F-15 несет развитое бортовое радиоэлектронное оборудование и современное вооружение, в т.ч. ракеты AIM-120D AMRAAM. БРЭО, вооружение и летные характеристики делают его уникальным истребителем. Ни один вражеский самолет пока не смог сбить F-15 ВВС США.

1 место 5 поколения


На первое место поместили первый американский истребитель последнего пятого поколения – F-22 Raptor с почетным титулом «самый мощный истребитель завоевания превосходства в воздухе, а то и во всей вселенной». Причины такого решения WATM просты. F-22 стал первым истребителем 5 поколения в ВВС США и обладает беспрецедентными возможностями в сферах воздушного боя, радиоэлектроники, ситуационной осведомленности, скрытности и т.д. Все это позволяет самолету защищать не только себя, но и других.



При работе по воздушным целям Raptor может нести шесть ракет AIM-120 AMRAAM и две AIM-9 Sidewinder. В миссиях «воздух-земля» он берет на борт две бомбы GBU-32 JDAM. Одновременно самолет сохраняет по паре ракет AMRAAM и Sidewinder – но только чтобы отбиться от врага.

Мощный двигатель и изящный планер позволяют F-22 совершать сверхзвуковой полет без использования форсажа. Органы управления, включая специальное сопло, дают самолету уникальную маневренность. Этому самолету нет равных – во всей мировой истории.

Проблема оценки


В целом рейтинг «10 истребителей, повлиявший на войну в воздухе» от We Are The Mighty достаточно интересен, а приводимые аргументы выглядят разумно и логично. Однако некоторые особенности этого рейтинга оставляют вопросы, в т.ч. неудобные. Его авторов можно заподозрить в предвзятом отношении к той или иной технике и, как следствие, в недостатке объективности.

Действительно, весьма странным, хотя и объяснимым выглядит преобладание американской авиационной техники – 7 самолетов из 10 представленных. Особенно неприятно, что из всего многообразия советских и российских боевых машин – тем или иным образом влиявших на развитие боевой авиации и воздушного боя – в «Топ-10» попала только одна. Впрочем, можно представить, что речь идет не только о базовом Су-27, но и обо всем семействе техники на его основе.

Заголовок списка говорит об истребителях, но в самом рейтинге присутствуют два образца иного назначения. Так, F-117 имел весьма ограниченные возможности для воздушного боя и фактически был ударным самолетом. БПЛА MQ-1 тоже не мог нести развитое оружие для поражения воздушных целей. Однако нельзя не признать правоту WATM – эти машины действительно оказали влияние на развитие боевой авиации.

Первое место для американского истребителя пятого поколения F-22 Raptor вполне понятно и даже ожидаемо. При всех своих проблемах, этот самолет является одним из поводов для гордости авиастроителей и военно-воздушных сил США. Несмотря на солидный возраст, ограниченное количество и отсутствие большой истории боевого применения, F-22 считают основой военно-воздушной мощи. Вряд ли другой самолет мог бы рассчитывать на первое место в подобном рейтинге.

Впрочем, авторы WATM прекрасно понимают специфический характер списков и рейтингов военной техники и оставляют за собой право неоднозначных и спорных оценок. Поэтому читателям, имеющим замечания или поводы для критики, предлагалось пройти в секцию комментариев и оставить там свое мнение.

Рейтинг «Top 10 fighters that changed aerial warfare forever»: wearethemighty.com/gear-tech/best-fighter-planes-aviation.
Автор:
Рябов Кирилл
Использованы фотографии:
Wearethemighty.com, US Air Force
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

49 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти