US threatens Egypt with sanctions over Russian Su-35 purchases


The United States warned Egypt of the imposition of sanctions against it in the case of the purchase of Russian Su-35 fighters. According to the newspaper Wall Street Journal, this threat was contained in a joint letter from the Pentagon and the US State Department sent to the Egyptian authorities.

The publication claims that in a letter signed by the head of the US State Department, Mike Pompeo and US Secretary of Defense Mark Esper, "convincing" arguments are given for refusing a deal with Russia to purchase Su-35 fighters from it. Pompeo and Esper directly threatened the Minister of Defense of Egypt with the introduction of sanctions and denial of US military assistance.


A new major deal with Russia will at least complicate the future exchange of military information with the United States and US military assistance to Egypt

- the newspaper cites an excerpt from the text of the letter at its disposal.

The Pentagon personally warned the commander of the Egyptian Air Force about the undesirable consequences of the deal, the publication claims. Moreover, the receipt of the letter coincided with a visit to Cairo by Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu.

Earlier in April this year, information appeared about the conclusion of a deal between Russia and Egypt to supply the latter with Su-35 fighters, although there was no official announcement about this. As the newspaper Kommersant wrote with reference to its sources, the agreement on the supply of “over two dozen vehicles” and about $ 2 billion worth of aviation weapons to them came into force at the end of 2018, and deliveries themselves can begin as early as 2020 –2021 years.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

50 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

США угрожают Египту санкциями из-за закупки российских Су-35


Соединенные Штаты предупредили Египет о введении против него санкций в случае закупки российских истребителей Су-35. По утверждению газеты Wall Street Journal, данная угроза содержалась в совместном письме Пентагона и Госдепа США, направленном египетским властям.

Издание утверждает, что в письме, подписанном главой американского Госдепа Майком Помпео и министром обороны США Марком Эспером, приводятся "убедительные" доводы для отказа от сделки с Россией по закупке у нее истребителей Су-35. Помпео и Эспер прямо грозили министру обороны Египта введением санкций и отказом в военной помощи США.


Новая крупная сделка с Россией как минимум осложнит в будущем обмен военной информацией с США и американскую военную помощь Египту

- приводит газета выдержку из текста письма, имеющегося в ее распоряжении.

В Пентагоне лично предупредили командующего египетских ВВС о нежелательных последствиях сделки, утверждает издание. При этом получение письма совпало с визитом в Каир министра обороны РФ Сергея Шойгу.

Ранее в апреле этого года появилась информация о заключении сделки между Россией и Египтом на поставку последнему истребителей Су-35, хотя официального объявления об этом не было. Как писала газета "Коммерсант" со ссылкой на свои источники, соглашение на поставку "свыше двух десятков машин" и средств авиационного поражения к ним на сумму около двух миллиардов долларов, вступило в силу в конце 2018 года, а сами поставки могут начаться уже в 2020–2021 годах.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

50 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти