Gone in 67 hours. Operation Mount Hope III


Unloading the C-5 transporter in N'Djamena

Foreign weapons and military equipment are best studied in real terms. They can be obtained in various ways - to take as a trophy, to buy from a third country or to pick up abandoned property corny. It was the third method that formed the basis of the American operation Mount Hope III. She was held in 1987-88 gg. To get the Mi-25 combat helicopter, previously owned by the Libyan Air Force.

Gone and left



At the very beginning of 1987, the prolonged conflict between Libya and Chad entered a new stage. The famous Toyot War began, during which the Chadian army was able to force the enemy out of the disputed area. In April, the advance of the Chadian army reached the Wadi Dum air base, and the Libyans had to leave it in a hurry. A lot of different assets were thrown at the base - and even a Mi-25 combat helicopter (export version of the Soviet Mi-24).

Information about the abandoned helicopter quickly got to Washington and interested the American command. In 1985, American specialists were able to study two Mi-24D helicopters hijacked by Afghan pilots to Pakistan. An export modification combat vehicle was also of great interest for study.


MH-47 helicopter in the cargo compartment C-5

Quite quickly, a proposal came up to organize an operation to remove the “ownerless” helicopter for research. This began one of the most interesting special operations of recent decades.

Organizational matters


The military and political leadership of the United States approved the proposal, after which preparations began. The desired helicopter was located in a foreign country, and near the zones of activity of the probable enemy. All this imposed certain limitations and required the adoption of appropriate measures.

The helicopter removal operation was codenamed Mount Hope III. It was necessary to involve various units of the Air Force, intelligence, and even diplomats in its preparation and implementation.

The US Department of State was the first to do its job. This agency held talks with the Chadian leadership and agreed to conduct the operation. The African state agreed to provide airfields and air corridors, but refused direct military assistance. All US work had to be done independently or with the participation of third countries.


Flight map

Direct on-site work was assigned to the 160 Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne) or 160th SOAR, also known as Night Stalkers. This part was formed to solve special transport problems and perfectly corresponded to the future mission.

Also managed to negotiate with France. It was represented by a small land contingent and several Air Force fighter-bombers. The French military was supposed to help American colleagues on the ground and in the air.

Preparing for an operation


At that time, everyone remembered the failure of the Eagle Claw operation to remove the hostages from Tehran, and no one wanted a repeat of such events. For this reason, Mount Hope III was approached with the utmost responsibility. At the same time, the situation made it possible to dispense with haste and carefully work out all the plans.


In the last months of 1987, the command of the 160 Air Regiment formed a plan for a future operation and began training. The exercises were held at the White Sands training ground using all the necessary equipment and involving many military personnel.


C-130 transport carrier with fuel at Faya-Largio airfield

All elements of the operation were worked out at the training ground. Pilots of military transport planes and helicopters honed their flight skills at night, trained to carry large loads (soft water tanks) on an external sling, etc. Operated with intermediate landings for refueling. Ground units and specialists were preparing to work with a captured helicopter. During the preparation of the operation, it was possible to identify the shortcomings of the existing plans and correct them in a timely manner.

According to the Mount Hope III operation plan, several C-25 Galaxy and C-5 Hercules military transport aircraft were to be used in the evacuation of the Mi-130. The main tasks were assigned to two MH-47 Chinook helicopters. Several French Mirage F.1 were to cover from the air, and the ground group included several dozen fighters.

Preparation for the operation was completed in the spring of 1988. People and equipment were ready to be sent to Chad and were waiting for the corresponding order.

Take away in Xnumx hours


The operation began on June 10 1988. Three American aircraft arrived at the international airport of the Chadian capital N'Djamena. The heavy transporter C-5 brought two MH-47 helicopters and personnel. Two C-130 aircraft carried refueling equipment and fuel supplies. The Hercules soon went to the aerodromes of Mussoro and Faya-Largeau to ensure further work.


American helicopter raises trophy

For several hours, the Americans unloaded the helicopters and prepared them for departure. At night, two Chinook with additional tanks and fighters on board went to the location of the desired Mi-25. The flight lasted several hours, and during this time the helicopters covered almost 500 miles over the desert terrain. By morning, they were at Wadi Doom base.

The helicopters landed and unloaded the landing, after which one of them took off and began to observe the terrain. In the area of ​​the operation, Libyan troops were active, and the pilots should have noticed the danger in time. Also in the area were on duty French aircraft. In the meantime, the crew of the second helicopter and the equipment attached to it began preparing the trophy for export.

Mi-25 removed the rotor blades and fixed individual units. Then a helicopter of 7,5 t mass was draped around with cables and taken onto the external suspension. The MH-47, with a special load, took off and headed towards Faye Largio. After that, the second Chinook took the ground detachment and flew after it.


On the way to the target, the helicopters managed to generate most of the fuel, including additional tanks. In addition, they carried a considerable load, affecting fuel consumption. Because of this, helicopters had to make two intermediate landings at Chadian airfields, where C-130 with fuel was waiting for them. During the return to N'Djamena a sandstorm arose on the route, but it was possible to overcome it even with a special load on the suspension.

At N'Djamena Airport, the MH-47 gently lowered its load and landed. After that, the captured Mi-25 was again partially disassembled, loaded into a C-5 transport aircraft and sent to the United States. Soon, other 160th SOAR planes and helicopters and personnel went home.

Mount Hope III was particularly difficult and risky. Despite this, everything went almost perfectly. The pilots dealt with a uniquely difficult flight and bad weather. The Libyan army was indeed located in the area of ​​the Wadi Dum base, but did not notice the activity of a third country. It took only 67 hours to carry out the entire operation - from landing in N'Djamena to the removal of the trophy.

Operation results


Operation Mount Hope III was a complete success. The United States got the desired foreign helicopter and did not suffer any losses. Long and thorough preparation fully paid off. Soon after the operation was completed, the results were summed up.

Gone in 67 hours. Operation Mount Hope III
Loading Mi-25 in a transport plane

Participants in the operation received awards, commendations and other incentives. For the 160 Special Forces Regiment, the success of Mount Hope III was of particular importance, as this was the first operation of its kind in its stories. In addition, she looked like the successful rehabilitation of the US Air Force after the failure of the Eagle Claw.

The Pentagon and the US aviation industry received a great gift in the form of a real Mi-25. The US military has already managed to study the Mi-24 modification “D”, and now they have managed to get an export version of such a helicopter. The study of the resulting machine allowed us to draw new conclusions and adjust our plans for the development of weapons and equipment.

Subsequently, under certain circumstances, the US Army was able to get several other Mi-24 helicopters of various modifications. However, it was in the case of the Libyan Mi-25 that a whole operation was needed with the participation of a special aviation regiment and foreign allies. Other samples got much easier.
Author:
Photos used:
US Army, Sobchak.wordpress.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

65 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Угнать за 67 часов. Операция Mount Hope III


Разгрузка транспортника C-5 в Нджамене

Зарубежные вооружения и военную технику лучше всего изучать по реальным образцам. Добыть их можно разными способами – взять в качестве трофея, выкупить у третьей страны или банально забрать брошенное имущество. Именно третий способ лег в основу американской операции Mount Hope III. Ее провели в 1987-88 гг., чтобы заполучить боевой вертолет Ми-25, ранее принадлежавший ВВС Ливии.

Ушли и бросили



В самом начале 1987 г. продолжительный конфликт между Ливией и Чадом перешел на новую стадию. Началась знаменитая Война «тойот», в ходе которой армия Чада смогла вытеснить противника из спорного района. В апреле наступление чадской армии дошло до авиабазы Уади-Дум, и ливийцам пришлось в спешке покидать ее. На базе бросили массу различного имущества – и даже боевой вертолет Ми-25 (экспортная версия советского Ми-24).

Информация о брошенном вертолете быстро попала в Вашингтон и заинтересовала американское командование. В 1985 г. американские специалисты смогли изучить два вертолета Ми-24Д, угнанных афганскими летчиками в Пакистан. Боевая машина экспортной модификации тоже представляла большой интерес для изучения.


Вертолет MH-47 в грузовом отсеке C-5

Достаточно быстро появилось предложение об организации операции по вывозу «бесхозного» вертолета для исследования. С этого началась одна из самых интересных спецопераций последних десятилетий.

Организационные вопросы


Военное и политическое руководство США одобрило предложение, после чего началась подготовка. Желаемый вертолет находился на территории чужой страны, причем вблизи зон активности вероятного противника. Все это накладывало известные ограничения и требовало принимать соответствующие меры.

Операция по вывозу вертолета получила кодовое название Mount Hope III. К ее подготовке и реализации пришлось привлечь разные подразделения ВВС, разведку и даже дипломатов.

Первым со своей работой справился Государственный департамент США. Это ведомство провело переговоры с чадским руководством и договорилось о проведении операции. Африканское государство согласилось предоставить аэродромы и воздушные коридоры, но отказало в прямой военной помощи. Все работы США должны были выполнить самостоятельно или с участием третьих стран.


Карта полета

Непосредственную работу на месте поручили 160-му авиационному полку специального назначения (160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne) или 160th SOAR), также известному как Night Stalkers. Эта часть была сформирована для решения особых транспортных задач и прекрасно соответствовала будущей миссии.

Также удалось договориться с Францией. Ее представляли небольшой сухопутный контингент и несколько истребителей-бомбардировщиков ВВС. Французские военные должны были помочь американским коллегам на земле и в воздухе.

Подготовка к операции


В то время все помнили провал операции Eagle Claw по вывозу заложников из Тегерана, и никто не хотел повторения подобных событий. По этой причине к подготовке операции Mount Hope III подошли со всей возможной ответственностью. При этом обстановка позволяла обойтись без спешки и тщательно отработать все планы.


В последних месяцах 1987 г. командование 160-го авиаполка сформировало план будущей операции и приступило к тренировкам. Учения проводились на полигоне White Sands с применением всей необходимой техники и с привлечением множества военнослужащих.


Транспортник C-130 с горючим на аэродроме Файя-Ларжо

На полигоне отрабатывались все элементы операции. Пилоты военно-транспортных самолетов и вертолетов оттачивали навыки полета в ночных условиях, тренировались перевозить крупный груз (мягкие баки с водой) на внешней подвеске и т.д. Отрабатывались полеты с промежуточными посадками для заправки. Сухопутные подразделения и специалисты готовились к работе с трофейным вертолетом. В ходе подготовки операции удалось выявить недостатки имеющихся планов и своевременно их исправить.

Согласно готовому плану операции Mount Hope III, в эвакуации Ми-25 следовало использовать несколько военно-транспортных самолетов C-5 Galaxy и C-130 Hercules. Выполнение основных задач возлагалось на два вертолета MH-47 Chinook. Прикрытие с воздуха должны были осуществлять несколько французских Mirage F.1, а наземная группировка включала несколько десятков бойцов.

Подготовка к операции завершилась весной 1988 г. Люди и техника были готовы к отправке в Чад и ждали соответствующего приказа.

Увезти за 67 часов


Операция началась 10 июня 1988 г. В международный аэропорт чадской столицы Нджамена прибыли три американских самолета. Тяжелый транспортник C-5 привез два вертолета MH-47 и личный состав. Два самолета C-130 несли оборудование для заправки и запас горючего. «Геркулесы» вскоре отправились на аэродромы Муссоро и Файя-Ларжо для обеспечения дальнейшей работы.


Американский вертолет поднимает трофей

За несколько часов американцы выгрузили вертолеты и подготовили их к вылету. Ночью два «Чинука» с дополнительными баками и бойцами на борту отправились к месту нахождения желаемого Ми-25. Полет продолжался несколько часов, и за это время вертолеты преодолели почти 500 миль над пустынной местностью. К утру они были на базе Уади-Дум.

Вертолеты выполнили посадку и выгрузили десант, после чего один из них поднялся в воздух и начал наблюдение за местностью. В районе операции наблюдалась активность ливийских войск, и летчики должны были вовремя заметить опасность. Также в районе дежурили французские самолеты. Тем временем, экипаж второго вертолета и приданные ему техники начали подготовку трофея к вывозу.

С Ми-25 сняли лопасти несущего винта и зафиксировали отдельные агрегаты. Затем вертолет массой 7,5 т обвили тросами и взяли на внешнюю подвеску. MH-47 с особым грузом поднялся в воздух и направился в сторону Файя-Ларжо. После этого второй Chinook забрал сухопутный отряд и полетел следом.


На пути к цели вертолеты успели выработать большую часть топлива, включая дополнительные баки. Кроме того, они несли немалую нагрузку, сказывавшуюся на расходе топлива. Из-за этого вертолетам пришлось выполнить две промежуточные посадки на чадских аэродромах, где их ждали C-130 с горючим. Во время возвращения в Нджамену на маршруте поднялась песчаная буря, но ее удалось преодолеть даже с особым грузом на подвеске.

В аэропорту Нджамены MH-47 аккуратно опустил свой груз и выполнил посадку. После этого трофейный Ми-25 вновь частично разобрали, загрузили в транспортный самолет C-5 и отправили в США. Вскоре домой отправились прочие самолеты и вертолеты 160th SOAR и личный состав.

Операция Mount Hope III отличалась особой сложностью и известными рисками. Несмотря на это, все прошло почти идеально. Летчики справились с уникально сложным полетом и с плохой погодой. Ливийская армия действительно находилась в районе базы Уади-Дум, но не заметила активности третьей страны. На проведение всей операции – от посадки в Нджамене и до вывоза трофея – ушло всего 67 часов.

Результаты операции


Операция Mount Hope III завершилась полным успехом. США заполучили желаемый иностранный вертолет и не понесли никаких потерь. Длительная и тщательная подготовка полностью себя оправдала. Вскоре после завершения операции были подведены итоги.

Угнать за 67 часов. Операция Mount Hope III
Загрузка Ми-25 в транспортный самолет

Участники операции получили награды, благодарности и другие поощрения. Для 160-го авиаполка специального назначения успех Mount Hope III имел особое значение, поскольку это была первая операция такого рода в его истории. Кроме того, она выглядела как успешная реабилитация ВВС США после провала «Орлиного когтя».

Пентагон и авиационная промышленность США получили отличный подарок в виде реального Ми-25. Американские военные уже успели изучить Ми-24 модификации «Д», а теперь им удалось заполучить экспортный вариант такого вертолета. Изучение полученной машины позволило сделать новые выводы и скорректировать свои планы по развитию вооружений и техники.

Впоследствии, при тех или иных обстоятельствах, армия США смогла заполучить несколько других вертолетов Ми-24 разных модификаций. Однако именно в случае с ливийским Ми-25 понадобилась целая операция с участием специального авиаполка и зарубежных союзников. Прочие образцы доставались куда проще.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
US Army, Sobchak.wordpress.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

65 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти