Germany in regional pants. Where is Berlin's place in global politics?


German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas recently visited Ukraine on a two-day visit. Before the trip, Maas announced his intention to visit the zone of demarcation of the fighting forces in the Donbass. Then he changed his plans. Referring to adverse weather conditions, the German minister limited his field of activity to the offices of the Kiev authorities.

In the context of the "Norman format"


Heiko Maas explained his visit by preparing for the summit in the "Norman format." In fact, the agenda of the meeting went far beyond the Norman context. As it became clear after the joint press conference of the German minister and his Ukrainian counterpart, a rather wide range of topics was discussed in Kiev.


It included the construction of the Nord Stream-2 gas pipeline, the transit of Russian gas through Ukraine, financial assistance to Kiev from Berlin, and, of course, the establishment of peace in the Donbas. It is noteworthy that, speaking of the financial support of the Kiev authorities by Germany, Maas praised it as “which still needs to be looked for,” and did not say a word about the scandalous claims of Ukrainian President Vladimir Zelensky to German Chancellor Angela Merkel.

The world learned about these claims after the September 25 publication of the transcripts of Zelensky’s telephone conversation in July with US President Donald Trump. A certain awkwardness arose, putting the head of Ukraine in a somewhat ambiguous position. However, Zelensky was soon found, and already during the many hours of the October press conference, he actually confirmed the claims against Angela Merkel and Emanuel Macron. "No offense was meant. I said what I think. I always do that, ”the Ukrainian president insisted.

Now the German minister was trying to prove to Ukrainians and the world that Germany is the main pillar of Ukraine in solving all its problems, including ensuring territorial integrity and sovereignty. Maas publicly praised Zelensky for “the shifts that have been achieved in resolving the conflict in the Donbass” and also publicly blamed Russia that for establishing a complete ceasefire “it’s now her turn.

Germany in regional pants. Where is Berlin's place in global politics?

The German minister did not deny himself the pleasure of once again demonstrating some verbal significance of Berlin in world politics. According to him, German Chancellor Angela Merkel made a promise from Russian President Vladimir Putin that the transit of Russian gas through the Ukrainian gas transportation system will continue after the 2019 year.

Five European “Needed”


This statement by Heiko Maas is at odds with the practice of negotiations on further gas transit through Ukraine (Germany does not even take part in them). Probably, the Berlin guest wanted to make a strong impression on the politicians in Kiev, and he sinned against the truth. Germany has little to do with it. The gas policy of the European Union is being formed in Brussels, as well as the very nature of relations between the EU countries and Russia.

Three years ago, their main postulates were formulated by the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs Federica Mogherini and agreed at a special meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Commonwealth countries. Mogherini put five conditions on the basis of EU policy in the Russian direction: implementation of the Minsk-2 agreement on Ukraine, strengthening relations with the countries of the Eastern Partnership and Central Asia, reducing dependence on Russia in the energy sector, restoring cooperation with Russia in some selected areas (for example, in Iran or North Korea), support for the development of civil society in Russia and "support for contacts between people and exchange."

Around this five conditions, all the rhetoric of the participants in the foreign policy activities of European countries is now being built. It can be seen from all that Maas in Kiev did not go beyond what was permitted to him and even emphasized that "Ukraine has European support." After such statements by the German minister, Russian political scientists started talking about a possible postponement of the "Norman format" summit date from December 9 to a later time.

Berlin demonstrates political helplessness


Whether it is this or not, they will decide in the Kremlin. Obviously something else. Heiko Maas arrived in Kiev not so much to prepare the declared summit as to show the foreign policy activity and significance of Germany. Berlin has long been trying to present itself to the world as a global, and not a regional, power. It turns out not very.

Take at least the Ukrainian direction. Acting as a guarantor in resolving the intra-Ukrainian crisis, Germany soon slipped into the unconditional support of the Kiev authorities and, in fact, became their accomplice in the protracted conflict. Berlin forgave President Poroshenko all his political tricks. I tried not to notice the victims among the civilian population, the activation of neo-Nazi forces in Ukraine and their lack of control over the authorities, war crimes, etc.

Now Maas in Kiev timidly says that “it is necessary to achieve adoption by the Ukrainian parliament of a law on the special status of Donbass with the preparation of local elections, as well as to solve crimes committed during the conflict.” Meanwhile, all these are yesterday’s tasks set forth in the Minsk agreements more than four years ago. It can be confidently stated: they were not executed by Kiev with the tacit consent of Berlin.


It turns out that Germany did not fulfill the function of an influential power capable of resolving regional conflicts. And I want more. I want to rule the world. Recently, a debate took place in the Bundestag on the role of Germany in the Middle East conflict. They were provoked by the proposal of the Minister of Defense of Germany, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, to create a security zone in northern Syria under the control of NATO.

The idea of ​​the German minister was not very carried away by the Europeans, but the Berlin politic fell into exaltation, hoping to strengthen the influence of the Germans in this troubled but important region for the world. This is not the first attempt by Berlin to fully engage in the Middle East processes and convert its economic power into political power.

In the winter of 2007, when the so-called “Middle East Quartet” to resolve the conflict between Israel and the Palestinians (consisting of representatives of the United Nations, the European Union, the USA and Russia) took a long pause, Germany initiated a ministerial meeting in Berlin. They invited UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon, US Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and EU Commissioner for Foreign Policy Javier Solana.

At a meeting in Berlin, Merkel formulated some initiatives urging the parties to renounce the use of violence, recognize the right to exist of the state of Israel and fulfill the previous agreements. However, high-ranking guests did not see anything new in the proposals of the German Chancellor, as they did not see in it the power of a reputable international mediator. The meeting in Berlin did not become a breakthrough and could not even prepare the summit of the Middle East Quartet.

Merkel tried to compensate for her diplomatic failure by a trip to the countries of the Middle East. She took the Minister of Economics and representatives of the German business elite with her to the company. Although the main declared purpose of the voyage was "the settlement of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict." Then the agenda was adjusted to expand "economic cooperation between the EU and Arab countries, including in the energy sector." However, in this matter, special progress was not possible. In the Middle Eastern capitals, the Germans politely listened, but their initiatives were not accepted.

It is curious that the proposal of Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer during the debate was supported by all factions of the Bundestag, including the left and the Alternative for Germany. It turns out that a consensus has matured in German politics on the role of Berlin in resolving world affairs. One problem: Europe did not support the united impulse of the Germans, and they alone cannot overcome this.

However, Berlin really wants to get out of regional pants and become on a par with global powers. There are many examples of this. For example, in parallel with the visit of Heiko Maas to Kiev, former German Foreign Minister Sigmar Gabriel visited Moscow. The German-Russian Forum and the Russian-German Chamber of Commerce invited him to a conference at the Baltschug Hotel in Moscow.

They mainly discussed foreign trade relations between the two countries, but the ex-minister could not resist evaluations of global politics. Gabriel said in Moscow that the role of Germany in international affairs should be more active. “Especially now, when Russia and Iran begin to master the arena of global politics, with which the Americans are gradually leaving,” the ex-minister emphasized and added: “It’s good that Germany is showing restraint, but we can’t constantly say that someone is for us will do something. When cannibals dominate the world, we cannot remain vegans. ”

Let us leave without comment the crude ambiguity (the Soviet people remembered the “vegans” from Germany for a long time) that Sigmar Gabriel allowed himself in Moscow. We note the main thing: the Germans' desire to influence the global political agenda does not fit with their regional helplessness. Whatever one may say, the crisis in Ukraine has dragged on, including due to the position of Berlin. Last week in Kiev, Minister Maas confirmed it again ...
Author:
Photos used:
Ajale, wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

37 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Германия в региональных штанишках. Где место Берлина в глобальной политике?


Министр иностранных дел ФРГ Хайко Маас недавно посетил Украину с двухдневным визитом. Перед поездкой Маас заявил о намерении побывать в зоне разграничения воюющих сил на Донбассе. Потом планы поменял. Сославшись на неблагоприятные метеоусловия, германский министр поле своей деятельности ограничил кабинетами киевской власти.

В контексте «нормандского формата»


Свой визит Хайко Маас объяснил подготовкой к саммиту в «нормандском формате». На деле повестка встречи вышла далеко за рамки нормандского контекста. Как стало ясно после совместной пресс-конференции германского министра и его украинского коллеги, в Киеве обсуждался довольно широкий круг тем.


В него вошли строительство газопровода «Северной поток-2», транзит российского газа через территорию Украины, финансовая помощь Киеву со стороны Берлина и, конечно, установление мира на Донбассе. Примечательно, что, говоря о финансовой подпитке киевских властей Германией, Маас оценил её как «равную которой еще нужно поискать» и ни словом не обмолвился о скандальных претензиях президента Украины Владимира Зеленского к канцлеру Германии Ангеле Меркель.

Об этих претензиях мир узнал после публикации 25 сентября стенограммы состоявшегося в июле телефонного разговора Зеленского с президентом США Дональдом Трампом. Возникла определённая неловкость, поставившая главу Украины в несколько двусмысленное положение. Однако Зеленский вскоре нашёлся и уже в ходе многочасовой октябрьской пресс-конференции фактически подтвердил претензии к Ангеле Меркель и Эммануэлю Макрону. «Я не хотел никого обидеть. Я сказал то, что я думаю. Я всегда так делаю», – настоял на своём президент Украины.

Теперь германский министр старался доказать украинцам и миру, что ФРГ – главная опора Украины в решении всех её проблем, в том числе в обеспечении территориальной целостности и суверенитета. Маас публично хвалил Зеленского за «сдвиги, которых удалось добиться в урегулировании конфликта в Донбассе» и также публично пенял России, что для установления полного режима прекращения огня «теперь очередь и за ней».

Германия в региональных штанишках. Где место Берлина в глобальной политике?

Германский министр не отказал себе в удовольствии в очередной раз продемонстрировать некую вербальную значимость Берлина в мировой политике. По его словам, канцлер ФРГ Ангела Меркель добилась от президента России Владимира Путина обещания, что транзит российского газа через украинскую газотранспортную систему будет продолжен и после 2019 года.

Пять европейских «надо»


Это заявление Хайко Мааса расходится с практикой переговоров о дальнейшем транзите газа через Украину (в них Германия даже не принимает участия). Наверное, берлинскому гостю хотелось произвести сильное впечатление на политиков в Киеве, и он погрешил против истины. К ней Германия имеет мало отношения. Газовая политика Евросоюза формируется в Брюсселе, как и сам характер отношений стран ЕС к России.

Их основные постулаты ещё три года назад сформулировала верховный представитель по иностранным делам ЕС Федерика Могерини и согласовала на специальной встрече министров МИД стран содружества. В основу политики Евросоюза на российском направлении Могерини поставила пять условий: выполнение соглашения «Минск-2» по Украине, укрепление отношений со странами «Восточного партнерства» и Центральной Азии, снижение зависимости от России в энергетической сфере, восстановление сотрудничества с Россией по некоторым избранным направлениям (например, по Ирану или КНДР), поддержка развития гражданского общества в России и «поддержка контактов между людьми и обмен».

Вокруг этой пятёрки условий теперь строится вся риторика участников внешнеполитической деятельности европейских стран. По всему видно, что Маас в Киеве не вышел за пределы дозволенного ему и даже подчеркнул, что «у Украины есть европейская поддержка». После таких заявлений германского министра российские политологи заговорили о возможном переносе даты саммита «нормандского формата» с 9 декабря на более позднее время.

Берлин демонстрирует политическую беспомощность


Так это или нет, решать будут всё-таки в Кремле. Очевидно другое. В Киев Хайко Маас приехал не столько готовить заявленный саммит, сколько показать внешнеполитическую активность и значимость Германии. В Берлине уже давно пытаются предъявить себя миру, как глобальную, а не региональную державу. Получается не очень.

Взять хотя бы украинское направление. Выступив гарантом в разрешении внутриукраинского кризиса, Германия скоро скатилась к безоговорочной поддержке киевских властей и по сути стала их пособником в затянувшемся конфликте. Берлин прощал президенту Порошенко все его политические выкрутасы. Старался не замечать жертв среди гражданского населения, активизации неонацистских сил на Украине и их бесконтрольность перед властями, военных преступлений и пр.

Сейчас Маас в Киеве робко говорит о том, что «необходимо добиться принятия украинским парламентом закона об особом статусе Донбасса с подготовкой местных выборов, а также раскрыть преступления, совершенные во время конфликта». Меж тем, всё это задачи вчерашнего дня, изложенные в минских соглашениях ещё более четырёх лет назад. Можно уверенно утверждать: они не выполнены Киевом с молчаливого согласия Берлина.


Получается, Германия не выполнила функцию влиятельной державы, способной разрешать региональные конфликты. А хочется большего. Хочется управлять миром. Недавно в бундестаге прошли дебаты о роли Германии в ближневосточном конфликте. Их спровоцировало предложение министра обороны ФРГ Аннегрет Крамп-Карренбауэр создать на севере Сирии зону безопасности под контролем НАТО.

Европейцев идея германского министра не очень увлекла, зато берлинский политикум впал в экзальтацию, рассчитывая усилить влияние немцев в этом беспокойном, но важном для мира регионе. Это не первая попытка Берлина полноценно включиться в ближневосточные процессы и конвертировать свою экономическую силу в силу политическую.

Ещё зимой 2007 года, когда так называемый «ближневосточный квартет» по урегулированию конфликта между Израилем и палестинцами (состоящий из представителей ООН, Евросоюза, США и России) взял долгую паузу, Германия инициировала министерскую встречу в Берлине. На неё пригласили генерального секретаря ООН Пан Ги Муна, госсекретаря США Кондолизу Райс, министра иностранных дел России Сергея Лаврова и уполномоченного Евросоюза по внешней политике Хавьера Солану.

На встрече в Берлине Меркель сформулировала некие инициативы, призывающие стороны отказаться от применения насилия, признать права на существование государства Израиль и исполнить ранее достигнутые договоренности. Однако высокопоставленные гости не увидели в предложениях германского канцлера ничего нового, как не увидели в ней силу авторитетного международного посредника. Встреча в Берлине не стала прорывной и даже не смогла подготовить саммит «ближневосточного квартета».

Свой дипломатический провал Меркель попыталась компенсировать поездкой по странам Ближнего Востока. В компанию с собой она взяла министра экономики, представителей немецкой бизнес-элиты. Хотя главной заявленной целью вояжа было «урегулирование израильско-палестинского конфликта». Потом повестку скорректировали под расширение «экономического сотрудничества между ЕС и арабскими странами, в том числе в сфере энергетики». Впрочем, и в этом вопросе особо продвинуться не удалось. В ближневосточных столицах немцев вежливо выслушали, но инициативы их не приняли.

Любопытно, что предложение Аннегрет Крамп-Карренбауэр в ходе дебатов поддержали все фракции бундестага, включая левых и «Альтернативу для Германии». Получается, в немецком политикуме вызрел консенсус по роли Берлина в решении мировых дел. Одна проблема: единый порыв немцев Европа не поддержала, а в одиночку им это не осилить.

Однако Берлину очень хочется выбраться из региональных штанишек и стать вровень с глобальными державами. Примеров тому много. Например, параллельно с визитом Хайко Мааса в Киев, в Москве гостил бывший министр иностранных дел Германии Зигмар Габриэль. На конференцию в московскую гостиницу «Балчуг» его пригласили Германо-российский форум и Российско-германская внешнеторговая палата.

Обсуждали главным образом внешнеторговые связи двух стран, но экс-министр не удержался от оценок глобальной политики. Габриэль заявил в Москве, что в международных делах роль Германии должна быть более активной. «Особенно сейчас, когда арену глобальной политики, с которой постепенно уходят американцы, начинают осваивать Россия и Иран, – подчеркнул экс-министр и добавил: – Хорошо, что Германия демонстрирует сдержанность, но мы не можем постоянно говорить, что за нас кто-то что-то сделает. Когда в мире господствуют людоеды, мы не можем оставаться веганами».

Оставим без комментариев грубую двусмысленность («веганов» из Германии советские люди запомнили надолго), которую позволил себе в Москве Зигмар Габриэль. Отметим главное: желание немцев влиять на глобальную политическую повестку не стыкуется с их региональной беспомощностью. Как ни крути, кризис на Украине затянулся, в том числе и из-за позиции Берлина. На прошлой неделе в Киеве министр Маас её подтвердил ещё раз…
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Ajale, wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

37 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти