Military Review

Laser strike

1
Laser strike
Obviously, twenty or thirty years later, a Boeing-747-400F Freighter ("Air Truck") equipped with an experienced laser aviation system ALTB (Airborne Laser Testbed), will be perceived in the same way as today we see the Wright brothers plane - archaic and somewhere even ridiculous. But now it's super-weapon future.

11 February this year 20 44 minutes minutes PST (February 07.44 12 Moscow time) ALTB Boeing-747-400F with the ALTB system, took off from the Point Mugu airfield at the US Navy's Arms and Arms Research Center in California, struck powerful a laser beam on a liquid-fuel ballistic missile and destroyed it. The rocket target was launched from a certain “mobile floating platform” off the west coast of the United States. With the help of infrared sensors installed on the aircraft, the launch of the rocket was detected, and a low-energy laser beam tracked the target's flight at the upper stage. With the help of a second low-power laser pulse, the state of the atmosphere on the “path” of firing was determined. The on-board computer of the Air Truck instantly calculated the trajectory parameters of the attacked object, took into account the data of atmospheric disturbances, made the appropriate adjustments to the aiming device and gave the command “fire”. The high-energy laser beam hit and instantly warmed up the target missile to a high temperature, as a result of which it collapsed. The whole operation took less than two minutes.

11 February this year 20 44 minutes minutes PST (February 07.44 12 Moscow time) ALTB Boeing-747-400F with the ALTB system, took off from the Point Mugu airfield at the US Navy's Arms and Arms Research Center in California, struck powerful a laser beam on a liquid-fuel ballistic missile and destroyed it. The rocket target was launched from a certain “mobile floating platform” off the west coast of the United States. With the help of infrared sensors installed on the aircraft, the launch of the rocket was detected, and a low-energy laser beam tracked the target's flight at the upper stage. With the help of a second low-power laser pulse, the state of the atmosphere on the “path” of firing was determined. The on-board computer of the Air Truck instantly calculated the trajectory parameters of the attacked object, took into account the data of atmospheric disturbances, made the appropriate adjustments to the aiming device and gave the command “fire”. The high-energy laser beam hit and instantly warmed up the target missile to a high temperature, as a result of which it collapsed. The whole operation took less than two minutes.


The process of destroying a target missile

Guidance and "start-up" of the laser beam was carried out with a turret mount in the nose of the Boeing-747-400F. And the high-energy oxygen-oxygen chemical laser (Chemical Oxygen Iodine Laser - COIL) of megawatt power and its ingredients occupy most of the fuselage of the huge “Air Truck”. Upstairs, just behind the cockpit, is a laser system for aiming and scouting the atmosphere. Inside the car, right behind the cockpit, is the combat control compartment where the operators work is the “calculation” of the laser “gun”.

Nose turret installation.

At the request of the Pentagon, the combat laser aviation system was developed by a consortium that included the three largest American military-industrial corporations: Boeing, Northrop Grumman and Lockheed Martin. The general contractor, Boeing, installed “Air Truck” and acted as an integrator for the entire program. Northrop Grumman Corporation has developed and produced low-energy and high-energy chemical lasers. Lockheed Martin manufactured the beam control system and the turret system. In addition to the "three whales", more than 30 US companies and organizations took part in the creation of ALTB.

An hour after the first “shot” of the ALTB, a second, equally successful one was made. Now a solid-propellant ballistic missile launched from the island of San Nicolas off the coast of California was struck by a laser. The United States Missile Defense Agency (MDA) praised the test results. “The revolutionary use of directed energy is very attractive for missile defense, because it gives the opportunity to attack at the speed of light many objects at a distance of hundreds of kilometers,” the agency said in a statement.

Indeed, the tests confirmed the readiness of the laser aviation system (Airborne Laser - ABL) to intercept ballistic missiles in the active part of the trajectory. Moreover, they generally became a landmark in the development of means of warfare. This qualitative leap is in line with the appearance of guns and rifles equipped with gunpowder, rifled guns, submarines, combat aircraft and rockets. Now, artillery and missiles in many areas will gradually be superseded by laser and other types of weapons of directed energy. Already by 2015, the US Department of Defense intends to form a squadron of seven aircraft with ABL. It is assumed that they will be able to hit liquid-fuel missiles at a distance of up to 600 km, and on solid ones - up to 300 km. Each such "Air Truck" with a laser "gun" is able to patrol airspace for 16 hours. In addition to performing the functions of missile defense, they will successfully deal with aircraft and cruise missiles, including those made according to the requirements of stealth technology. The cost of one such laser "flying fortress" will be approximately $ 1,5 billion.


The layout of the laser "flying fortress".

Laser technology has been used for military purposes for several decades. Widely used laser rangefinders and guidance systems. But with the "hyperboloid of engineer Garin" - combat ray systems - things were moving ahead difficult. True, to date, several experimental combat systems of aviation, land and sea-based. Northrop Grumman Corporation has developed a Skyguard complex (“Sky Guard”) to repel attacks from multiple-launch rocket projectiles. But he is still far from perfect. Improvements are required and the Centurion system on solid-state lasers from Raytheon Corporation. It is intended to be replaced on ships and in army units of the multi-barreled 20-mm anti-aircraft artillery defense systems of the Phalanx near-line. However, on tests, the system showed good results and, apparently, work on it will continue. Last year, Boeing and Raytheon received a multimillion-dollar contract for the development of another ship defense system - using free-electron lasers with a power of 100 kW.

Setting up an aircraft-based laser.

In November last year, Boeing Corporation conducted successful tests of the MATRIX laser complex at the US Navy China Lake provocation site in California. It is a mobile platform equipped with a laser and radar. MATRIX found and shot down five unmanned aerial vehicles. In September, the ATL (Airborne Tactical Laser), mounted on board the C-2009H, was able to hit a moving ground target with a laser ATL (gun).

The implementation of the ABL air laser program, described above, began in 1994. However, success did not come immediately. The first aircraft of the corporation Boeing handed over to the tests in 2002. Hundreds of flights were performed to test and debug elements of the complex. And only in 2008, the developers installed a high-energy chemical laser on board the Air Truck. In August last year it was held "rehearsal" shooting exercises. Then the rocket also launched from the island of San Nicolas. At Boeing-747-400F, it was spotted, lasers were aimed, and a low-power ABL beam was directed at the target. The sensors on the rocket recorded a “hit”. This experiment and limited. And 11 of February of this year, everything worked properly.

But there is a problem that worries the military and the creators of new weapons. Chemical lasers, although powerful, but bulky and complex in design units. Because of this, they are expensive and capricious. That is why in the coming years, priority will be given to the improvement of solid-state lasers. The Northrop Grumman corporation has especially advanced in this direction. As part of the JHPSSL (Joint High-Powered Solid State Laser) program, she was able to develop a solid-state laser with a power over 100 kW. It is powered not by generating energy from the reaction of chemicals that take up a lot of space and which require special storage conditions, but due to the selection of electricity produced by the engines of airplanes, combat vehicles and ships. According to Brian Strickland, director of the US Army’s laser weapons program, the power of a beam generated by electricity is enough to destroy targets on the battlefield.

Unmanned aerial vehicle struck by the beam of the MATRIX laser complex.

The Northrop Grumman laser consists of a circuit, each element of which emits a beam of energy with a power greater than 15 kW. The entire system consists of eight laser circuits with four amplification modules each. Thus, the total power JHPSSL reaches 105 kW.

The advantages of this arrangement are quite compact dimensions and the ability to generate a powerful focused beam for a long time without degrading its quality. The laser is planned to be used to protect stationary objects, mobile military units, ships, airplanes and helicopters, as well as for delivering high-precision strikes at the enemy from various types of land, air and sea platforms.

The US Navy has shown particularly keen interest in the Northrop Grumman brainchild. They signed a $ 98 million-dollar contract with the corporation to build a prototype Maritime Laser Demonstration sea-based MLD laser. In the case of its successful testing, which few doubt, it is planned to equip aircraft carriers, destroyers, littoral and amphibious ships with similar installations.

Boeing Corporation also successfully experiments with solid-state combat lasers. She signed a $ 36 $ 1 million contract with the US Department of Defense to develop a demonstration model of the HEL TD (High Energy Laser Technology Demonstrator) mobile laser machine. This laser is supposed to be mounted on the basis of a four-axle all-terrain truck HEMTT. Its main purpose will be the destruction of missiles, artillery shells and mortar ammunition of the enemy on the battlefield.


And so Skyguard should work.

Unfortunately, in our country, work on combat lasers and other types of directed energy weapons is not a priority. But in 70-80-s. the last century, the Soviet Union, according to foreign experts, was significantly ahead in this area and the United States and other Western countries. Created powerful lasers land, air and sea-based. According to the adviser of the Academy of Engineering Sciences of the Russian Federation, Yuri Zaitsev, already in 1972, the “mobile“ laser gun ”quite successfully hit aerial targets.” In 1977, the OKB. Beriev started to create on the basis of the IL-76MD flying laboratory A-60 to study the propagation of laser beams in the upper atmosphere. For the first time, this aircraft took to the air in August 1981. A combat laser was tested on the A-60. He was the forerunner of the American ABL. After the collapse of the USSR, work on this program was discontinued.

At the Sary-Shagan test site in the Betpak-Dala desert in Kazakhstan, high-power lasers were being developed for the strategic missile defense of the country as part of the Terra and Omega programs. Experimental installations used various systems of lasers and different pumping systems of working fluids. October 10 1984, one of the Sary-Shagan’s lasers, struck the American spacecraft Challenger with its beam, causing disruption in its onboard systems and the crew’s complaints about discomfort. In this regard, Washington even sent a protest to Moscow. But all this is in the distant past. Although Sary-Shagan formally submits to the 4 State Central Interspecific Range of the Strategic Missile Forces, they have not experienced anything for a long time. And its objects turned into a landfill of construction waste, where local “stalkers”, for a modest fee, lead lovers of extreme tourism on excursions. Last summer in Sary-Shagan, the last and by then only checkpoint closed at the entrance to the landfill site.


Chain of solid-state lasers by Northrop Grumman Corporation.


Experimental installation of high-energy solid-state laser.


According to Western experts, the Soviet anti-aircraft laser system should look like this.


Powerful laser missile defense system in Sary-Shagan. The version of the compilers of the Pentagon brochure Soviet Military Power.


Now the ruins of laser facilities in Sary-Shagan is a favorite place for extreme tourism lovers.
Author:
Originator:
http://oborona.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://oborona.ru
1 comment
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Honory
    Honory 16 July 2012 14: 51
    0
    Yes, here the Americans are ahead of the rest. To catch them with a lag of 30 years and the current financing is probably extremely difficult at best.

Лазерный удар

Лазерный удар
Очевидно лет через двадцать-тридцать Boeing-747-400F Freighter («Воздушный грузовик»), оснащенный опытной лазерной авиационной системой ALTB (Airborne Laser Testbed), будет восприниматься так же, как сегодня нам видится самолет братьев Райт – архаичным и где-то даже нелепым. Но сейчас это – супер-оружие будущего.

11 февраля с.г. в 20 часов 44 минуты по стандартному тихоокеанскому времени (в 07.44 12 февраля – по московскому времени) Boeing-747-400F с системой ALTB, взлетевший с аэродрома Пойнт-Мугу в Центре изучения боевых действий и оружия авиации ВМС США в Калифорнии, нанес удар мощным лазерным лучом по жидкотопливной баллистической ракете и уничтожил ее. Ракета-цель стартовала с некой «мобильной плавающей платформы» у западного побережья США. С помощью инфракрасных датчиков, установленных на самолете, был обнаружен старт ракеты, а низкоэнергетический лазерный луч отследил полет цели на разгонном участке. С помощью второго лазерного импульса малой мощности было определено состояние атмосферы на «трассе» стрельбы. Бортовая ЭВМ «Воздушного грузовика» моментально рассчитала параметры траектории атакуемого объекта, учла данные атмосферных возмущений, внесла соответствующие коррективы в прибор прицеливания и дала команду «огонь». Высокоэнергетический лазерный луч попал и моментально разогрел до высокой температуры ракету-цель, в результате чего она разрушилась. Вся эта операция заняла менее двух минут.

11 февраля с.г. в 20 часов 44 минуты по стандартному тихоокеанскому времени (в 07.44 12 февраля – по московскому времени) Boeing-747-400F с системой ALTB, взлетевший с аэродрома Пойнт-Мугу в Центре изучения боевых действий и оружия авиации ВМС США в Калифорнии, нанес удар мощным лазерным лучом по жидкотопливной баллистической ракете и уничтожил ее. Ракета-цель стартовала с некой «мобильной плавающей платформы» у западного побережья США. С помощью инфракрасных датчиков, установленных на самолете, был обнаружен старт ракеты, а низкоэнергетический лазерный луч отследил полет цели на разгонном участке. С помощью второго лазерного импульса малой мощности было определено состояние атмосферы на «трассе» стрельбы. Бортовая ЭВМ «Воздушного грузовика» моментально рассчитала параметры траектории атакуемого объекта, учла данные атмосферных возмущений, внесла соответствующие коррективы в прибор прицеливания и дала команду «огонь». Высокоэнергетический лазерный луч попал и моментально разогрел до высокой температуры ракету-цель, в результате чего она разрушилась. Вся эта операция заняла менее двух минут.


Лазерный удар

Процесс уничтожения ракеты-цели

Наведение и «пуск» лазерного луча производился турельной установкой в носовой части Boeing-747-400F. А сам высокоэнергетический йодно-кислородный химический лазер (Chemical Oxygen Iodine Laser – COIL) мегаваттной мощности и его ингредиенты занимают большую часть фюзеляжа огромного «Воздушного грузовика». Наверху, чуть сзади кабины пилотов, размещается лазерная система прицеливания и разведки атмосферы. Внутри машины, сразу за кабиной пилотов, – отсек боевого управления, где работают операторы – «расчет» лазерной «пушки».

Лазерный ударНосовая турельная установка.

По заказу Пентагона боевую лазерную авиационную систему разработал консорциум, в который вошли три крупнейшие американские военно-промышленные корпорации: Boeing, Northrop Grumman и Lockheed Martin. Генподрядчик Boeing поставил «Воздушный грузовик» и выступил в качестве интегратора всей программы. Корпорация Northrop Grumman разработала и произвела низкоэнергетический и высокоэнергетический химические лазеры. Lockheed Martin изготовила систему управления лучом и турельную установку. Кроме «трех китов» в создании ALTB приняли участие более 30 американских компаний и организаций.

Через час после первого «выстрела» ALTB был сделан второй, не менее успешный. Теперь лазером была поражена твердотопливная баллистическая ракета, стартовавшая с острова Сан-Николас у побережья Калифорнии. Агентство противоракетной обороны США (Missile Defense Agency – MDA) высоко оценило результаты испытаний. «Революционное использование направленной энергии очень привлекательно для противоракетной обороны, поскольку дает возможность атаковать со скоростью света множество объектов на расстоянии сотен километров», – подчеркивается в официальном заявлении агентства.

Действительно, испытания подтвердили готовность лазерной авиационной системы (Airborne Laser – ABL) к перехвату баллистических ракет на активном участке траектории. Более того, они вообще стали этапным моментом в развитии средств вооруженной борьбы. Этот качественный скачок – в одном ряду с появлением снаряжаемых порохом ружей и пушек, нарезных орудий, подводных лодок, боевых самолетов и ракет. Теперь артиллерия и ракеты во многих сферах постепенно будут вытесняться лазерным и другими видами оружия направленной энергии. Уже к 2015 г. Министерство обороны США намерено сформировать эскадрилью из семи самолетов с ABL. Предполагается, что они смогут поражать ракеты на жидком топливе на дальности до 600 км, а на твердом – до 300 км. Каждый такой «Воздушный грузовик» с лазерной «пушкой» способен патрулировать воздушное пространство в течение 16 часов. Кроме выполнения функций противоракетной обороны они будут успешно бороться с самолетами и крылатыми ракетами, в том числе выполненными по требованиям stealth-технологий. Стоимость одной такой лазерной «летающей крепости» составит приблизительно $1,5 млрд.

Лазерный удар

Компоновка лазерной «летающей крепости».

Лазерная техника уже несколько десятилетий используется в военных целях. Широкое применение нашли лазерные дальномеры и системы наведения. А вот с «гиперболоидом инженера Гарина» – боевыми лучевыми системами – дело продвигалось трудно. Правда, к настоящему времени создано несколько экспериментальных боевых систем авиационного, наземного и морского базирования. Корпорация Northrop Grumman разработала комплекс Skyguard («Небесный страж») для отражения атак снарядов реактивных систем залпового огня. Но он пока далек от совершенства. Требует улучшения и система Centurion на твердотельных лазерах корпорации Raytheon. Она предназначена для замены на кораблях и в армейских частях многоствольных 20-мм зенитных артиллерийских систем обороны ближнего рубежа Phalanx. Впрочем, на испытаниях система показала неплохие результаты и, судя по всему, работы по ней будут продолжены. В прошлом году Boeing и Raytheon получили многомиллионный контракт на развитие еще одной корабельной оборонительной системы – с использованием лазеров на свободных электронах мощностью 100 кВт.

Лазерный ударНастройка лазера авиационного базирования.

В ноябре прошлого года корпорация Boeing провела на полигоне ВМС США Чайна Лэйк в Калифорнии успешные испытания лазерного комплекса MATRIX. Он представляет собой мобильную платформу, оборудованную лазером и радаром. MATRIX обнаружил и сбил пять беспилотных летательных аппаратов. В сентябре 2009 г. лазерной «пушкой» ATL (Airborne Tactical Laser), установленной на борту самолета C-130H, удалось поразить движущуюся наземную цель.

Реализация программы воздушного лазера ABL, о которой рассказывалось выше, началась в 1994 г. Однако успех пришел не сразу. Первый самолет корпорация Boeing передала на испытания в 2002 г. Были выполнены сотни полетов по отработке и отладке элементов комплекса. И лишь в 2008 г. разработчики осуществили монтаж высокоэнергетического химического лазера на борту «Воздушного грузовика». В августе прошлого года на нем была проведена «репетиция» стрельбовых учений. Тогда ракета также стартовала с острова Сан-Николас. На Boeing-747-400F ее засекли, навели лазеры и направили маломощный луч ABL на цель. Датчики на ракете зафиксировали «попадание». Этим эксперимент и ограничился. А 11 февраля этого года все сработало штатно.

Но есть проблема, которая очень беспокоит военных и создателей нового оружия. Химические лазеры, хотя и мощные, но громоздкие и сложные по конструкции агрегаты. Из-за этого они дороги и капризны. Вот почему в ближайшие годы приоритетное внимание будет уделено совершенствованию твердотельных лазеров. Особенно продвинулась в этом направлении корпорация Northrop Grumman. Ей в рамках программы JHPSSL (Joint High-Powered Solid State Laser – «Перспективный высокоэнергетический твердотельный лазер») удалось разработать твердотельный лазер мощностью более 100 кВт. Он питается не за счет получения энергии от реакции химических веществ, которые занимают много места и которым требуются особые условия для хранения, а благодаря отбору электроэнергии, вырабатываемой двигателями самолетов, боевых машин и кораблей. По мнению директора программы лазерного вооружения армии США Брайана Стрикленда, мощности луча, создаваемого с помощью электричества, достаточно для уничтожения целей на поле боя.

Лазерный ударБеспилотный летательный аппарат, пораженный лучом лазерного комплекса MATRIX.

Лазер Northrop Grumman состоит из цепей, каждый элемент которой излучает пучок энергии мощностью более 15 кВт. Вся система состоит из восьми лазерных цепей с четырьмя модулями усиления в каждой. Таким образом, суммарная мощность JHPSSL достигает 105 кВт.

Преимущества такой компоновки – достаточно компактные размеры и возможность генерировать мощный сфокусированный луч в течение длительного времени без ухудшения его качества. Лазер планируется использовать для защиты стационарных объектов, мобильных воинских частей, кораблей, самолетов и вертолетов, а также для нанесения высокоточных ударов по противнику с различных типов наземных, воздушных и морских платформ.

ВМС США проявили к детищу Northrop Grumman особенно пристальный интерес. Они заключили $98-миллионный контракт с корпорацией на создание опытного образца лазера морского базирования MLD (Maritime Laser Demonstration). В случае его успешного испытания, в чем мало кто сомневается, подобными установками планируется оснастить авианосцы, эскадренные миноносцы, литоральные и десантные корабли.

С твердотельными боевыми лазерами также успешно экспериментирует корпорация Boeing. Она заключила с Министерством обороны США $36-миллионный контракт на разработку демонстрационной модели мобильной лазерной установки HEL TD (High Energy Laser Technology Demonstrator). Этот лазер предполагается монтировать на базе четырехосного грузового автомобиля повышенной проходимости HEMTT. Его главным предназначением станет уничтожение ракет, артиллерийских снарядов и минометных боеприпасов противника на поле боя.

Лазерный удар

А так Skyguard должен работать.

К сожалению, в нашей стране работы по боевым лазерам и другим видам оружия направленной энергии не носят приоритетного характера. А ведь в 70-80-х гг. прошлого века Советский Союз, по утверждению зарубежных экспертов, значительно опережал в этой области и Соединенные Штаты, и другие западные страны. Создавались мощные лазеры наземного, воздушного и морского базирования. По словам советника Академии инженерных наук РФ Юрия Зайцева, уже в 1972 г. «мобильная «лазерная пушка» вполне успешно поражала воздушные цели». В 1977 г. ОКБ им. Бериева приступило к созданию на базе Ил-76МД летающей лаборатории А-60 по изучению распространения лазерных лучей в верхних слоях атмосферы. Впервые этот самолет поднялся в воздух в августе 1981 г. На А-60 был испытан боевой лазер. Он был предтечей американского ABL. После распада СССР работы по этой программе были прекращены.

На полигоне Сары-Шаган, что в пустыне Бетпак-Дала в Казахстане, в рамках программ «Терра» и «Омега» для стратегической противоракетной обороны страны отрабатывались лазеры большой мощности. Экспериментальные установки использовали различные системы лазеров и разные системы накачки рабочих тел. 10 октября 1984 г. один из лазеров Сары-Шагана задел своим лучом американский космический корабль Challenger, что вызвало сбои в деятельности его бортовых систем и жалобы экипажа на неприятные ощущения. В этой связи Вашингтон даже направил Москве протест. Но все это в далеком прошлом. Хотя Сары-Шаган формально подчиняется 4-му Государственному центральному межвидовому полигону РВСН, на нем давно ничего не испытывают. А его объекты превратились в свалку строительного мусора, где местные «сталкеры» за умеренную плату водят на экскурсии любителей экстремального туризма. Летом прошлого года в Сары-Шагане закрылся последний и к тому времени единственный КПП при въезде непосредственно на территорию полигона.

Лазерный удар

Цепь твердотельных лазеров корпорации Northrop Grumman.

Лазерный удар

Опытная установка высокоэнергетического твердотельного лазера.

Лазерный удар

По мнению западных экспертов, так должна была выглядеть советская зенитная лазерная установка.

Лазерный удар

Мощный лазер ПРО в Сары-Шагане. Версия составителей брошюры Пентагона Soviet Military Power.

Лазерный удар

Теперь развалины лазерных установок в Сары-Шагане – излюбленное место любителей экстремального туризма.
Автор: Александр МОЗГОВОЙ
Первоисточник: http://oborona.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://oborona.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. Gonoriy 16 июля 2012 14:51
    Да тут американцы впереди планеты всей.Догнать их с отставанием в 30 лет и нынешним финансированием наверное в лучшем случае чрезвычайно трудно.А жаль такой задел забросили.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня