Military Review

Alexander Petrovich Tormasov. He defeated the enemy and restored Moscow

4
The end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century for Russia is the time to strengthen geopolitical power in Europe and the world. And the role of talented commanders in this process is difficult to overestimate.

Alexander Petrovich Tormasov is one of those thanks to whom the Russian Empire gained unprecedented political weight.

Alexander Petrovich was born in 1752 year and at the age of 10 years was given a page to the court of Peter III, but in the same 1762 year as a result of a palace coup, Catherine the Great came to power.

In March, 1772, Alexander, with the rank of lieutenant, was assigned to the Vyatka musket regiment. This is the first appointment in Tormasov's 30-year-old military career. In May of the same year, with the rank of captain, he became adjutant under the command of General Bruce, and two years later he received the rank of prime minister. In 1777, Tormasov received the rank of colonel, and in 1782, at the insistence of Prince Potemkin, he was sent to pacify a revolt of the Crimean Tatars. There he gains first combat experience as a commander of equestrian units. In June, 1783 was appointed commander of the Dalmatian hussars. In September, the 1784 unit received a new name - the Alexandria Light Regiment, and the next rank of Tormasov was the Colonel.

Portrait of Alexander Petrovich Tormasov
workshop by George Doe. Military Gallery of the Winter Palace, State Hermitage Museum (St. Petersburg)


In 1787, the second Russian-Turkish war began, but he only participated in the fighting at the final stage, in 1791, as commander of the horse brigade in the army of Prince Repnin. June of the same year found Tormasov in the fortress of Izmail, whose commandant was Kutuzov. Here, Alexander Petrovich performs a successful reconnaissance, which resulted in losses in the Turkish vanguard and the slowdown of the entire Turkish army.

At the end of the month, June 28, Tormasov led an attack of cavalry on the left flank, which largely determined the outcome of the Machinsky battle.

In the 1794 year, the Poles already got from the cavalry of Tormasov: first under Mobar, and on September 28 under Matseevits, where he commanded the left flank of the main forces. And during the assault on the suburbs of Warsaw led one of the attacking columns.

In 1798, Alexander Petrovich receives the rank of major general and already in the next - the general from the cavalry.

In 1799, he was expelled from the service with the phrase “for defiant recall and disobedience to the one to whom he was subordinate.” But a year later he was completely restored to the ranks and titles, and on December 6 was appointed the chief of the Life-Cuirassier His Imperial Majesty's regiment. In 1801, he received the rank of lieutenant general, and a new appointment as inspector of the Dniester Inspectorate for Cavalry and for the leave of Alexander Württemberg - Livonia Inspection. Before 1803, Tormasov was on leave for health reasons, then he was appointed Governor-General of the Kiev Province, in 1807 - in Riga, in 1808, as Commander-in-Chief of Georgia and the Caucasus Line.

In this post Tormasov is before World War 1812 of the year. Upon arrival, Alexander Petrovich faced serious geopolitical and military challenges. Caucasian peoples on the verge of uprising: Abkhazia had already proclaimed independence from the Russian Empire by that time, Dagestan was waiting for the support of Persia. In addition, the latter tried to coordinate with the Ottoman Empire. Napoleon, who on the eve of the war with Russia incited the Turks to act more actively, added fuel to the fire. True, on this front, the emperor of France outsmarted himself. Neither Turkey nor Persia held out before the start of his war with Russia.

Tormasov and his subordinates, among whom such talented commanders like Simanovich, Lisanevich, Kotlyarevsky, in a short time inflicted such crushing defeats on the Turks and Persians, that the sultans of both states thought much about the justification of conflicts with Russia in principle.

Brilliant victories in the Caucasian theater allowed our country to avoid a destructive war on two fronts. It is difficult to overestimate the role of Tormasov in the success achieved.

The Patriotic War of 1812 of the year found Tormasov the commander of the 3 observational army, covering the southern direction from a possible attack by the Austrians. Under an agreement with Napoleon, Austria was obliged to set up an 30-thousandth corps against Russia. At the same time, the Austrian commander Schwarzenberg received "recommendations" from his government not to persist strongly and not to move away from the borders. But contrary to expectations, Napoleon did not send the Austrians to the southern part of the country, but demanded support from the Schwarzenberg corps in the main line. Thus, the southern flank of the Great Army was covered only by the Saxon corps, led by Rainier, scattered along the Slonim-Brest-Corbin-Pinsk line.

Assessing the situation, Tormasov, having detached a detachment as part of the dragoon brigade and 2's Cossack regiments to guard the borders, moved the main forces to Corbin. The city defended the 5-thousandth corps under the command of General Kengel. 27-July Tormasov with a sudden throw surrounded the city and forced the Saxons to surrender with powerful artillery fire, all attempts to break through from the environment were stopped. The wooden city was extremely vulnerable to fire; by the end of the battle, 200 was hardly intact from more than 70 buildings.

2300 privates and 66 officers were taken prisoner. 8 guns were also captured. The losses of the Russians turned out to be ridiculously small - 77 killed and 182 injured.

Three days earlier, on July 24, Brest was taken, and after Corbin, the third army occupied the town of Pruzhany.

Rainier, who had come to the aid of the Kengel garrison, was confused. The question of where to send the main attack, sharply stood in front of the Saxon corps. Thinking, Rainier decided not to risk it and wait for Schwarzenberg, who had received Napoleon’s permission to cover the right flank of the advancing army by that moment. Thus, besides the important psychological effect, the victory at Corbin was also of great strategic importance, pulling back the considerable forces of the Great Army to the south.

35-thousand corps Schwarzenberg and Rainier attacked Tormasov at Gorodechno. Obvious success was not achieved by either side, but, given the numerical superiority of the enemy, Aleksandr Petrovich decided to retreat to Lutsk to join the 30-thousandth Danube army led by Chichagov. Near Lutsk, the total number of Russian troops was 60 thousands of soldiers and officers. Schwarzenberg, not eager to die for the ambitions of the French emperor, leaves the borders of Russia.

Almost immediately after the half-voluntary expulsion of Austrians, Tormasov received an order to appear at headquarters at Kutuzov’s disposal. There he is engaged in the internal organization of the army - the supply and replenishment of the army.

October 11 stands for Maloyaroslavets, where one of the most important battles of World War II took place, forcing Napoleon to retreat along the ravaged Smolensk road.

Tormasov perfectly proved himself in the battles of Maloyaroslavets, Vyazma and Red. In the battles near the village of Krasnoe, Alexander Petrovich commanded the cavalry corps, which was to block the road to Orsha near the village of Dobroe. As a result, the French managed to retreat to Orsha, some sources claim that the Old Guards managed to break through the Russian barriers, others that Tormasov caught only the rearguard under Davout’s command, breaking up the covering units and seizing 6 guns.

In December, 1812 Tormasov, commanding one of the columns into which the Russian army was divided, crosses the border of the empire. The foreign campaign of the Russian army began.

After Kutuzov fell ill in Bunzlau, Tormasov temporarily assumed supreme command over the army. After the battle of Lutsen Tormasov asks for dismissal due to poor health. This ends the brilliant military career of the famous general.

Then Tormasov became a member of the State Council, and then, in 1816, he occupied the position of Commander-in-Chief of Moscow. After the Napoleonic invasion and fires, the city was in a very unsatisfactory condition, but Tormasov didn’t scare the dreadful state of affairs. With his inherent consistency and accuracy, he began recovery work. And in August, 1816, Alexander I, visiting the city, elevated Tormasov to the count's dignity.

Alexander Petrovich's health continued to deteriorate, and 13 September 1819 year on, 67 year of life, he died.

В stories Russia's Alexander Petrovich Tormasov forever remained a brilliant commander and talented statesman. His talent has brought glory to Russian more than once arms. The covenant of Suvorov "to fight not by number, but by skill" by Tarasov was carried out flawlessly.

Alexander Petrovich did not have the bright military talent of Napoleon or the insight of Kutuzov, but at the same time he very accurately evaluated the capabilities of his opponents and his own, leaving no chance for the latter to win over himself. According to contemporaries, he had a magnificent appearance, which he retained until his old age; was always flawless in clothes: at the ball or in battle. The reward was stingy, considered good service a direct duty and the natural order of things, although for his ministry he won numerous awards, among others: the Order of St. George 2 class, the Order of St. Vladimir 1 class decorated with diamonds of the Order of Alexander Nevsky, the Order of St. Andrew Pervozvannogo and Polish White Eagle and St. Stanislav, for their participation in the suppression of the uprising in Poland received a golden sword decorated with diamonds with the signature "For Bravery".
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. time112
    time112 20 July 2012 09: 50
    +2
    Live and learn. To be honest . I have never heard of him, but nevertheless, I am proud of such people, whom on earth OUR HOW MUCH was there and, GOD, will be.
  2. I627z
    I627z 20 July 2012 10: 02
    +1
    Real Russian officer.
    "Yes, there were people in our time ......"
  3. Alexander Petrovich
    Alexander Petrovich 20 July 2012 19: 13
    0
    oh my namesake, very happy, I wish that, now in Russia there were more of these, GLORY OF RUSSIA !!
  4. Vlaleks48
    Vlaleks48 20 July 2012 19: 25
    0
    Many thanks to the author for the article!
    Another personality of the Russian army! And there are no such people in Russian land. And how much more is in obscurity!
    Glory to the Russian army!

Александр Петрович Тормасов. Он побеждал неприятеля и восстанавливал Москву

Конец XVIII начало XIX века для России – время укрепления геополитического могущества в Европе и мире. И роль талантливых полководцев в этом процессе трудно переоценить.

Александр Петрович Тормасов – один из тех, благодаря кому Российская Империя обрела невиданный ранее политический вес.

Александр Петрович родился в 1752 году и в возрасте 10 лет был отдан пажом ко двору Петра III, но в том же 1762 году в результате дворцового переворота к власти пришла Екатерина Великая.


В марте 1772 года Александр в чине поручика определен в Вятский мушкетный полк. Это первое назначение в 30-летней военной карьере Тормасова. В мае того же года в чине капитана он переходит адъютантом под командование генерала Брюса и через два года получает чин премьер-майора. В 1777 году Тормасов получает чин полковника, а в 1782 году по настоянию князя Потемкина отправляется усмирять бунт крымских татар. Там он приобретает первый боевой опыт в качестве командира конных подразделений. В июне 1783 года назначен командиром Далматского гусарского полка. В сентябре 1784-го подразделение получает новое название – Александрийский легкоконный полк, а Тормасов очередной чин – полковника.

Александр Петрович Тормасов. Он побеждал неприятеля и восстанавливал Москву
Портрет Александра Петровича Тормасова
мастерской Джорджа Доу. Военная галерея Зимнего Дворца, Государственный Эрмитаж (Санкт-Петербург)


В 1787 году началась вторая Русско-турецкая война, однако в боевых действиях он участвовал лишь на завершающем их этапе, в 1791 году, в качестве командира конной бригады в армии князя Репнина. Июнь этого же года застал Тормасова в крепости Измаил, комендантом которой был Кутузов. Здесь, Александр Петрович совершает удачную разведку, результатом которой стали потери в турецком авангарде и замедление всей турецкой армии.

В конце месяца, 28 июня, Тормасов возглавляет атаку кавалерии на левом фланге, во многом, определившей исход Мачинского сражения.

В 1794 году от конницы Тормасова досталось уже полякам: сначала под Мобаром, а 28 сентября при Мацеёвицах, где он командовал левым флангом главных сил. А при штурме пригородов Варшавы вел одну из атакующих колонн.

В 1798 Александр Петрович получает чин генерал-майора и уже в следующем – генерала от кавалерии.

В 1799 году исключен со службы с формулировкой «за дерзкий отзыв и неповиновение тому, кому подчинен был». Но уже через год был полностью восстановлен в чинах и званиях и 6 декабря назначен шефом Лейб-Кирасирского Его Императорского Величества полка. В 1801 году получает чин генерал-лейтенанта, и новое назначение на должность инспектора Днестровкой инспекции по кавалерии и на время отпуска Александра Вюртембергского – Лифляндской инспекции. До 1803 года Тормасов в отпуске по состоянию здоровья, затем он назначен генерал-губернатором Киевской губернии, в 1807 – рижским, в 1808 году главнокомандующим Грузии и Кавказской линии.

На этом посту Тормасов находится до Отечественной войны 1812 года. Прибыв на место, Александр Петрович столкнулся с серьезными геополитическими и военными вызовами. Кавказские народы на грани восстания: Абхазия к тому моменту уже провозгласила независимость от Российской Империи, Дагестан ждал поддержки Персии. Кроме того, последняя пыталась скоординировать действия с Османской империей. Масла в огонь подливал и Наполеон, который в преддверии войны с Россией подстрекал турок действовать активней. Правда, на этом фронте император Франции перехитрил сам себя. Ни Турция, ни Персия не протянули до начала его войны с Россией.

Тормасов и его подчиненные, среди которых такие талантливые полководцы как Симанович, Лисаневич, Котляревский, в короткие сроки нанесли туркам и персам настолько сокрушительные поражения, что султаны обоих государств сильно задумались над оправданностью конфликтов с Россией в принципе.

Блестящие победы на кавказском театре позволили нашей стране избежать губительной войны на два фронта. Трудно переоценить роль Тормасова в достигнутом успехе.

Отечественная война 1812 года застала Тормасова командующим 3-обсервационной армией, прикрывавшей южное направление от возможного нападения австрийцев. По договору с Наполеоном, Австрия обязана была выставить против России 30-тысячный корпус. При этом командир австрийцев Шварценберг получил «рекомендации» от своего правительства сильно не упорствовать и от границ не удаляться. Но вопреки ожиданиям, Наполеон не отправил австрийцев в южную часть страны, а потребовал поддержки от корпуса Шварценберга на главном направлении. Таким образом, южный фланг Великой армии прикрывал только саксонский корпус во главе с Ренье, разбросанный по линии Слоним – Брест – Корбин – Пинск.

Оценив обстановку, Тормасов, отрядив для охраны границ отряд в составе драгунской бригады и 2-х казацких полков, двинул главные силы на Корбин. Город оборонял 5-тысячный корпус под командованием генерала Кенгеля. 27-июля Тормасов внезапным броском окружил город и мощным артиллерийским огнем вынудил саксонцев сдаться, все попытки прорыва из окружения были пресечены. Деревянный город был крайне уязвим для огня, к концу сражения от более чем 200 строений осталось целыми едва ли 70.

В плен попало 2300 рядовых и 66 офицеров. Так же было захвачено 8 орудий. Потери русских оказались до смешного малыми – 77 убитыми и 182 раненными.

Тремя днями ранее, 24 июля, был взят Брест, а после Корбина, войска третьей армии заняли городок Пружаны.

Ренье, шедший на помощь гарнизону Кенгеля, оказался в замешательстве. Вопрос, о том куда направить главный удар, остро встал перед саксонским корпусом. Подумав, Ренье решил не рисковать и дождаться Шварценберга, получившего к тому моменту разрешение Наполеона прикрыть правый фланг наступающей армии. Таким образом, кроме важного психологического эффекта победа под Корбином имела и важное стратегическое значение, оттянув значительные силы Великой Армии на юг.

35-тысячный корпус Шварценберга и Ренье атаковали Тормасова при Городечено. Явного успеха ни одна из сторон не добилась, но, учитывая численное превосходство противника, Александр Петрович принимает решение отступать к Луцку для соединения с 30-тысячной Дунайской армией под руководством Чичагова. Под Луцком общая численность русских войск составила 60 тысяч солдат и офицеров. Шварценберг не горя желанием гибнуть за амбиции французского императора покидает границы России.

Почти сразу после полудобровольного выдворения австрийцев Тормасов получает приказ явиться в штаб в распоряжение Кутузова. Там он занимается внутренней организацией армией – снабжением и пополнением армии.

11 октября выступает к Малоярославцу, где состоялось одно из важнейших сражений Отечественной войны, вынудившее Наполеона отступать по разоренной смоленской дороге.

Тормасов прекрасно проявил себя в сражениях под Малоярославцем, Вязьмой и Красном. В боях под селом Красное Александр Петрович командовал кавалерийским корпусом, который должен был перекрыть дорогу на Оршу близ села Доброе. В итоге, французам удалось отступить к Орше, одни источники утверждают, что Старой гвардии удалось прорвать заслоны русских, другие, что Тормасов застал только арьергард под командованием Даву, разбив отряды прикрытия и захватив 6 орудий.

В декабре 1812 Тормасов, командуя одной из колонн, на которые была разделена русская армия, переходит границу империи. Начинался Заграничный поход русской армии.

После того как заболевший Кутузов остался в Бунцлау, Тормасов временно принимает верховное командование над армией. После Люценского сражения Тормасов просит увольнения со службы в связи плохим с состоянием здоровья. На этом заканчивается блестящая военная карьера прославленного генерала.

Далее Тормасов становится членом Государственного совета, а затем, в 1816 году, занимает должность Главнокомандующего Москвы. После наполеоновского нашествия и пожаров город находился в крайне неудовлетворительном состоянии, однако Тормасова кошмарное положение дел не испугало. С присущей ему последовательностью и точностью он приступил к восстановительным работам. И в августе 1816 года Александр I посетив город, возвел Тормасова в графское достоинство.

Здоровье Александра Петровича продолжало ухудшаться и 13 сентября 1819 года на, 67 году жизни, он умер.

В истории России Александр Петрович Тормасов навсегда остался блестящим полководцем и талантливым государственным деятелем. Его талант не раз приносил славу русскому оружию. Завет Суворова «воевать не числом, а умением» Тарасовым выполнялся безупречно.

Александр Петрович не обладал ярким военным талантом Наполеона или проницательностью Кутузова, но при этом очень точно оценивал возможности свои и своих противников, не оставляя последним никаких шансов одержать над собой победу. По признанию современников, он обладал величественной внешностью, которую сохранил до преклонных лет; всегда был безупречен в одежде: на балу или в сражении. На награды был скуп, считал хорошую службу прямой обязанностью и естественным порядком вещей, хотя за свое служение удостоился множества наград, среди прочих: ордена Св. Георгия 2 класса, ордена Св. Владимира 1 класса, украшенного алмазами ордена Александра Невского, ордена Св. Андрея Первозванного и польских Белого Орла и Св. Станислава, за участие в подавлении восстания в Польше получил украшенную алмазами золотую шпагу с подписью «За храбрость».
Автор: Станислав Пошелюжный


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. time112 20 июля 2012 09:50
    Век живи - век учись. Если честно . ни разу не слышал о нем, но тем не менее, горд такими людьми, коих на земле нашей ОЙ КАК МНОГО было есть и , дай БОГ, будет.
  2. I627z 20 июля 2012 10:02
    Настоящий Русский офицер.
    "Да были люди в наше время ......"
    I627z
  3. Александр Петрович 20 июля 2012 19:13
    оо мой тезка, очень рад, желаю что бы, ныне в России по больше таких было, СЛАВА РОССИИ!!
  4. Vlaleks48 20 июля 2012 19:25
    Большое спасибо автору за статью!
    Ещё одна личность воинства Российского! И таких людей на земле Русской нет числа. И сколько ещё в безызвестности!
    Слава Русскому воинству!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня