Soviet bomber Sotka: about the T-4 project


One of the brainchild of the Soviet aircraft industry is a “titanium” aircraft. We are talking about the development of Naum Chernyakova - missile-carrying bomber, known as the "weaving". He is the T-4. You can see this aircraft, almost completely made of titanium and steel, in Monino near Moscow. In Western literature, the definition "Soviet Valkyrie" is often used for T-4.

The “Sotka” was planned to be used to destroy enemy aircraft carrier strike groups, as well as for reconnaissance. At the same time, the cruising speed of the T-4 was almost three times faster than the speed of sound.



For the first time, this Soviet car took off in 1972. The first test phase consisted of 8 test flights. During these flights, the Sukhoi Design Bureau bomber prototype rose to a height of 12100 m and developed a maximum speed of Mach 1,3.

But this aircraft was not destined to be in service with the USSR Air Force. Already in January 1974, tests of a supersonic missile-carrying bomber were curtailed. One of the reasons for curtailing the program could be funding. The fact is that, if implemented, the program took enormous budget funds, not even tens, but hundreds of millions of Soviet rubles — at least according to open source estimates.

The Soviet “Hundreds” project is described in the video clip of the “Air View” channel:

Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Советский бомбардировщик «Сотка»: о проекте Т-4


Одно из детищ советского авиастроения – «титановый» самолёт. Речь идёт о разработке Наума Чернякова – бомбардировщике-ракетоносце, известном как «сотка». Он же – Т-4. Увидеть этот самолёт, практически полностью выполненный из титана и стали можно в подмосковном Монино. В западной литературе для Т-4 зачастую используется определение «Советская Валькирия».

«Сотка» планировалась к использованию для уничтожения авианосных ударных групп противника, а также для ведения разведки. При этом крейсерская скорость Т-4 почти втрое превосходила скорость звука.



Впервые эта советская машина поднялась в воздух в 1972 году. Первый испытательный этап состоял из 8 тестовых полётов. В ходе этих полётов опытный образец бомбардировщика КБ «Сухого» поднимался на высоту 12100 м и развил максимальную скорость 1,3 Маха.

Но оказаться на вооружении ВВС СССР этому самолёту не было суждено. Уже в январе 1974 года испытания сверхзвукового бомбардировщика-ракетоносца были свёрнуты. Одной из причин сворачивания программы могло стать финансирование. Дело в том, что программа в случае её реализации отнимала колоссальные бюджетные средства, исчисляемые даже не десятками, а сотнями миллионов советских рублей – по крайней мере, по оценкам из открытых источников.

О проекте советской "Сотки" рассказывается в ролике канала "Авиасмотр":

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти