Military Review

Will have to make room for An-124?

0
The United States Air Force may order the Lockheed Martin to upgrade the American Ruslan, the C-5A Galaxy military transport aircraft. This previously voiced idea has again become relevant in the context of the start of serial works on the remotorization program of a more modern modification - C-5B. The result of all these plans and programs may be the emergence on the market of oversized cargo a couple dozen An-124 analogues from the United States.

On such plans in connection with the rollout of the first serial upgraded C-5M Super Galaxy reports Aviation Week. “It's a good idea, although we are in a very tight financial situation,” commented the head of the Aerospace Systems Command, General Tom Owen (Lt. Gen. Tom.).

"If the defense ministry has money, they will consider this possibility in the coming years," the general said at the ceremony of handing over the first serial C-5M air force to the Air Force, upgraded through the RERP program. The program includes more 70 changes, including the installation of more economical and powerful engines.

Lockheed Martin proposes to upgrade the entire fleet of Galaxy in this program. According to the company, modifications to A and B can be improved equally.

Thus, the Air Force will be able to benefit from a unified fleet of aircraft of the same type, whose life time the manufacturer promises to extend at least until 2040.

The company itself expects that if its proposal is accepted and the Air Force finds money for modernization, it will allow it to keep the conveyor’s load and avoid price revisions on the part of the suppliers.

The last option primarily concerns General Electric, whose CF6-80C engines are installed on upgraded transporters, increasing thrust by 22%, payload by 27%, and flight range by 20%.



According to the already concluded contract worth 6 billion dollars, the Air Force must modernize the 52 of the aircraft, including the 2 C-5C (a special cargo modification that exists in two copies) and one C-5A. If the Air Force decides to upgrade not only the C-5B fleet, then the C-5A, the number of which is 59 machines, will also be included in the program.

The most interesting thing is that from this number 22 of the aircraft is planned to be removed from the Air Force as superfluous as early as in 2011-2012. They can be transferred to the reserve or to foreign partners for use in coalition operations. More accurate information is expected to appear in the next six months or a year.

According to some reports, Lockheed is already in informal negotiations with American and foreign carriers regarding the prospects for using the C-5A retired.

If anyone is willing, Lockheed offers two options for upgrading the aircraft: replacing avionics (including glass cockpit equipment) with a cost of 4,5 million dollars or complete modernization, including, in addition to avionics, replacing wings with a reinforced version and redesigning, with 82 million dollars. .

The Lockheed plant in Maryatta is expected to be able to upgrade the 11 C-5B per year for the Air Force and another two aircraft for a third-party operator, if one exists.

All of these rather rapid evolutions are taking place against the background of Russia's plans to modernize its An-124 Ruslan, or even to restore their production. It is known that the United States has not yet allowed the use of Galaxy for commercial shipments, therefore the offers of Volga-Dnepr, Polet, Antonov Airlines, Libyan Air Cargo, Maximus Air Cargo companies were unrivaled in the oversized market. cargo transportation.

In the event that the United States throws the 22 Galaxy into this market in the coming years, we can expect a tough competition on it. Modernization and production of An-124 in Russia in this case will have an economic meaning only with a grandiose state order.

And this is a subject for consideration in the context of Russia's global geopolitical ambitions, priorities of its foreign and defense policy. Simply put, it will have to decide why she needs such a “long arm” and how much it will cost.
Author:
Originator:
http://periscope2.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://periscope2.ru
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Придется ли потесниться Ан-124?

Придется ли потесниться Ан-124?
ВВС США могут заказать Lockheed Martin модернизацию американского «Руслана» — военно-транспортного самолета C-5A Galaxy. Эта ранее уже озвученная идея вновь стала актуальной в контексте старта серийных работ по программе ремоторизации более современной модификации — C-5B. Итогом же всех этих планов и программ может стать появление на рынке негабаритных грузоперевозок пары десятков аналогов Ан-124 из США.

О таких планах в связи с выкаткой первого серийного модернизированного C-5M Super Galaxy сообщает Aviation Week. «Хорошая идея, хотя мы в очень стесненном финансовом положении» — откомментировал эти планы глава Командования аэрокосмических систем генерал Том Оуэн (Lt. Gen. Tom Owen).

«Если у минобороны будут деньги, они рассмотрят эту возможность в ближайшие годы» — заявил генерал на церемонии передачи ВВС первого серийного C-5M, модернизированного по программе RERP. Программа включает в себя более 70 изменений, в том числе и установку более экономичных и мощных двигателей.


Lockheed Martin предлагает модернизировать по этой программе весь парк Galaxy. Как утверждают в компании, усовершенствованы могут быть в равной степени модификации A и B.

Таким образом, ВВС смогут получить выгоду от унифицированного парка однотипных самолетов, чей срок эксплуатации производитель обещает продлить как минимум до 2040 г.

Сама компания рассчитывает, что если ее предложение будет принято и ВВС найдут деньги на модернизацию, это позволить ей сохранить загрузку конвейера и избежать пересмотра цен со стороны поставщиков.

Последняя опция касается в первую очередь General Electric, чьи двигатели CF6-80C устанавливаются на модернизированные транспортники, повышая тягу на 22%, полезную нагрузку на 27%, а дальность полета на 20%.

Придется ли потесниться Ан-124?


Согласно уже заключенному контракту стоимостью 6 млрд долл., ВВС должны модернизировать 52 самолета, в том числе 2 C-5C (особая грузовая модификация, существует в двух экземплярах) и один C-5A. Если ВВС решат модернизировать не только парк C-5B, то в программу попадут и C-5A, число которых составляет 59 машин.

Самое интересное, что из этого числа 22 самолета планируется вывести из состава ВВС за ненадобностью уже в 2011-2012 гг. Их могут передать в резерв или зарубежным партнерам для использования в коалиционных операциях. Более точная информация, как ожидается, появится в ближайшие полгода-год.

По некоторым данным, Lockheed уже ведет неформальные переговоры с американскими и иностранными перевозчиками относительно перспектив использования выведенных в резерв C-5A.

В случае, если желающие найдутся, Lockheed предлагает два варианта модернизации самолетов: замена авионики (включая оборудование «стеклянной» кабины) стоимостью 4,5 млн долл. или полная модернизация, включая, помимо авионики, замену крыльев на усиленный вариант и ремоторизацию, стоимостью 82 млн долл.

Завод Lockheed в Мэриэтте, как ожидается, способен модернизировать 11 C-5B в год для ВВС и еще по два самолета для стороннего оператора, если таковой найдется.

Все эти довольно стремительные эволюции происходят на фоне планов России модернизировать свои Ан-124 «Руслан» или даже восстановить их производство. Известно, что США до сих пор не разрешали использовать Galaxy для коммерческих перевозок, поэтому предложения компаний «Волга-Днепр», «Полет», «Авиалинии Антонова», «Libyan Air Cargo», «Maximus Air Cargo» были вне конкуренции на рынке негабаритных грузоперевозок.

В случае, если США выбросят в ближайшие годы на этот рынок 22 Galaxy, можно ожидать на нем жесточайшую конкурентную борьбу. Модернизация и производство Ан-124 в России в этом случае будут иметь экономический смысл только при грандиозном госзаказе.

А это уже предмет для рассмотрения в контексте глобальных геополитических амбиций России, приоритетов ее внешней и оборонной политики. Проще говоря, придется решать, для чего нужна ей такая «длинная рука» и сколько это будет стоить.
Автор: Руслан Алиев
Первоисточник: http://periscope2.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://periscope2.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня