Unsuccessful convoy Rp. 120.Ki


Even before the outbreak of World War II, Germany was greatly interested in the Russian North. When German troops invaded the territory of the Soviet Union, the Arctic became of special strategic interest to the Wehrmacht. Fights for the Arctic continued until April 1945.

Of great importance to the German command were sea communications in the Far North. Throughout the war, German convoys with soldiers (and the wounded too), ammunition, fuel, and food regularly went towards Kirkenes and back. For the German garrisons, this connection with the outside world was often the only one.



The Soviet forces of the Northern Fleet needed to block the enemy’s transport artery at all costs. Among the group attacks of Soviet aviation on German convoys, the battles of the Northern Fleet aviation on May 25-26, 1944 were the most fierce for our troops. It was these battles with the ships of the German convoy Rp.120.Ki that completed the series of frankly unsuccessful actions of the Northern Fleet Air Force against German communications.

The guest of the “Archival Revolution” with Mikhail Timin, historian Andrei Latkin, will tell about how events developed with the Rp.110.Ki convoy.

Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Неудачный конвой Rp.120.Ki


Ещё до начала Второй мировой войны Германию сильно интересовал Русский Север. Когда же немецкие войска вторглись на территорию Советского Союза, Арктика стала для вермахта представлять особый стратегический интерес. Бои за Арктику продолжались до апреля 1945 года.

Огромное значение для немецкого командования имели морские коммуникации на Крайнем Севере. На протяжении всей войны в сторону Киркенеса и обратно регулярно ходили немецкие конвои с солдатами (и ранеными тоже), боеприпасами, топливом, продуктами. Для немецких гарнизонов такая связь с внешним миром зачастую оставалась единственной.



Советским войскам Северного флота необходимо было любой ценой перекрыть транспортную артерию противника. Среди групповых ударов советской авиации на немецкие конвои самыми ожесточёнными для наших войск оказались бои авиации Северного флота 25-26 мая 1944 года. Именно эти сражения с кораблями немецкого конвоя Rp.120.Ki завершили череду откровенно неудачных действий ВВС Северного флота против немецких коммуникаций.

О том, как развивались события с конвоем Rp.110.Ki, расскажет гость «Архивной революции» с Михаилом Тиминым, историк Андрей Латкин.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти