President of Estonia: we did not imagine the future of Russia


President Kersti Kalyulayd gave an interview to the German edition of Frankfurter Allgemeine. It talked about how Estonia in the 90s, when Yeltsin occupied the post of head of the Russian Federation, represented the future of our country. Boris Yeltsin was the first president of Russia, being in this position from 1991 to 1999.

The Estonian president said that after the collapse of the Soviet Union and Russia's recognition of Estonia’s independence, there was hope that Russia would become a “free and democratic state." According to Kirsty Kaljulayd, this did not happen, and she regrets it. But she did not blame the Russian people for this:



But we do not believe that the people of Russia are responsible for this.

The head of the Baltic state believes that Russia does not take seriously the international treaties it has signed and acts unpredictably. She believes that although it is necessary to maintain contacts with Russia, it should not violate the “general principles” of the European Union.

Shortly before this, Kersti Kaljulayd did not accept Crimean wine as a gift from the Russian Embassy because of its origin, but she did not refuse the flowers and chocolate presented to her. The same Kalyulayd became the first for a long time the head of the Baltic republic, who visited Moscow.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

312 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Президент Эстонии: мы не так представляли себе будущее России


Президент Керсти Кальюлайд дала интервью немецкому изданию Frankfurter Allgemeine. В нем шла речь о том, как Эстонии в 90-е годы, когда пост главы Российской Федерации занимал Ельцин, представляли будущее нашей страны. Борис Ельцин был первым президентом России, находясь в этой должности с 1991 по 1999 годы.

Эстонский президент рассказала, что после распада Советского Союза и признания Россией независимости Эстонии, там появилась надежда, что Россия станет «свободным и демократическим государством». По мнению Керсти Кальюлайд, этого так и не случилось, и она об этом сожалеет. Но вину за это на российский народ она возлагать не стала:



Но мы не верим, что за это ответственен народ России.

Глава прибалтийского государства считает, что Россия не воспринимает всерьёз подписанные ею международные договоры и действует непредсказуемо. Она полагает, что, хотя поддерживать контакты с Россией необходимо, но не следует при этом нарушать «общих принципов» Европейского Союза.

Незадолго до этого Керсти Кальюлайд не приняла в подарок от посольства Российской Федерации крымское вино из-за его происхождения, но от преподнесенных ей цветов и шоколада не отказалась. Та же Кальюлайд стала первым за долгое время главой прибалтийской республики, посетившим Москву.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

312 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти