Arab countries in NATO: why Trump's idea is doomed to failure

Arab countries in NATO: why Trump's idea is doomed to failure

Events in the Middle East forced Donald Trump to talk about the inclusion of some Middle Eastern states in the NATO bloc. But it is unlikely that the European members of the alliance will agree with similar plans by the American president.


Currently, NATO has only one with a territorial unit in Asia. This is Turkey. Even a longtime US ally, Israel is not a member of the North Atlantic Alliance, not to mention other US regional allies like Saudi Arabia.

Nevertheless, the changing situation in the Middle East, Russia's active participation in Middle East politics and the deterioration of US relations with Turkey make the American leadership think about either the inclusion of some Arab states in NATO or the creation of an alternative military-political alliance in the region.

Europe will not want to see the Saudis in the NATO bloc


Ever since the Cold War, allies of the United States in the Middle East, in addition to Turkey, are at least six Arab monarchies located on the Arabian Peninsula. These are Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, Oman.

The preservation of forms of government and social order in these countries was the result of a deliberate policy of the United States and Great Britain, who were panicky afraid of the spread of leftist ideas on the Arabian Peninsula and the fall of oil-bearing states under Soviet influence.

But it is precisely the features of the government and social structure of these states and, above all, Saudi Arabia, that can become one of the main obstacles to their entry into NATO. If in the USA they are guided, first of all, by their pragmatic interests, then in the European Union they pay more attention to the ideological component. European countries have claims even to Turkey, which is relatively secular by eastern standards, especially after Recep Erdogan came to power, what can we say about Saudi Arabia or Qatar.

The situation of women, ethnic and religious minorities, reprisals against the opposition, the general level of democratic freedoms and human rights will become a stumbling block on the way to the entry of Arab monarchies into the North Atlantic Alliance. After all, it is clear that these countries will never share Euro-Atlantic values, which are the ideological foundation of the bloc. Moreover, after the assassination of General Kassem Suleimani, the degree of confidence in the United States in European countries has declined.

Accordingly, the inclusion of Arab monarchies into NATO is hardly possible, but the formation of a regional military-political bloc under the auspices of the United States, which would include Arab monarchies, seems quite real.

Lack of power is a major flaw in the United States' Arab allies


The downside of this bloc will be that almost all of its members are dwarf states with very small armies. The exception is Saudi Arabia, but its armed forces are not as combat-ready as the conflict in Yemen showed. But in addition to the monarchies of the peninsula, there is essentially no one to involve the United States in the bloc. Iraq is under Iranian influence, and too torn apart by internal conflicts.

States can try to include Jordan - another Arab monarchy, but the Hashemite kingdom also has neither human resources nor great military and economic power. Theoretically, the alliance could strengthen Egypt, but the question is that Cairo, maneuvering between the US and Russia, is unlikely to want to openly side with one side, and even bind itself with allied military obligations.

Finally, there is another side to the issue. Even the Arab monarchies themselves, especially Saudi Arabia, which claims to be the leader of the Islamic world, at least its Sunni part, can refuse Trump’s proposal.

After all, participation in a military-political alliance with the United States, especially if it comes to joining NATO, can very seriously hit the reputation of the kingdom, and of other monarchies in the region, in the eyes of hundreds of millions of Muslims on the planet. American imperialism is still perceived by most residents of Asia and Africa as an absolute evil, and American and European values ​​are sinful, extremely alien, and if the Arab monarchies are officially allies of the United States and European countries of NATO, hostility towards them will increase significantly.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Same lech 15 January 2020 15: 26 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    The East is a delicate matter ... a recent ally there can quickly become an enemy and, without remorse, stick a dagger in the back ... a vivid example of Anvar Sadat, President of Egypt, brainwashed the internationalists.
    So the United States will be in exactly the same position as the USSR in its time.
    1. Sergey39 15 January 2020 16: 14 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Yes, let them expand. At least to the East, even to Africa. Fall apart faster.
  2. Sergei 777 15 January 2020 15: 32 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    A military alliance of this kind was already in the Middle East. Organization of the Central Treaty. It included the United States, England, Iran and Pakistan. But the result is deplorable. In 1979, the organization self-destructed
  3. knn54 15 January 2020 15: 52 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Looks like besides trump. NO ONE needs this.
    1. g1v2 15 January 2020 16: 01 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      There is the main chip in another. If these countries join NATO, they will be obliged to buy only NATO weapons. No s400, shell, bmp3, t90 and so on. These are very serious arms markets and Trump wants to stake them out.
  4. NF68 15 January 2020 15: 53 New
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    Still these women with their quirks in NATO did not have enough.
    1. dzvero 15 January 2020 16: 06 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      After someone had to go through educational program on gynecology, studying surahs, the order of prayer and how to salute in a turban is unlikely to impress smile
      And the main thing in the article is that Trump opened the window of Overton.
  5. Nasrat 15 January 2020 15: 54 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The idea itself did not arise by chance ... Does the US have no confidence in Europe? and above all, no self-confidence (USA) ???
    Uncle Sam needed cannon fodder ... bully
  6. parusnik 15 January 2020 15: 58 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    And the Arabs themselves need this ... NATO ... their military-political union ... If we talk about our own things, then there should be two co-chairs: put it in and Shiite ... Although it will be ... throats to each other, they will completely bite each other. ..religiously ... laughing
  7. Ros 56 15 January 2020 18: 08 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    NATO will resemble the Krylov fable about the famous trinity.
    1. Maki Avellevich 16 January 2020 07: 29 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Quote: Ros 56
      NATO will remind Krylov's fable about the famous trinity.

      NATO since its birth as a fable. like any army team.

Военное обозрение

Арабские страны в НАТО: почему идея Трампа обречена на провал

11
Арабские страны в НАТО: почему идея Трампа обречена на провал

События на Ближнем Востоке заставили Дональда Трампа заговорить о включении в состав блока НАТО некоторых ближневосточных государств. Но вряд ли европейские участники альянса согласятся с подобными планами американского президента.


В настоящее время в состав НАТО входит лишь одна с территориальной частью в Азии. Это Турция. Даже давний союзник США Израиль не является участником Североатлантического альянса, не говоря уже о других региональных союзниках США вроде Саудовской Аравии.

Тем не менее, изменение ситуации на Ближнем Востоке, активное участие России в ближневосточной политике и ухудшение отношений США с Турцией заставляют американское руководство задуматься либо о включении некоторых арабских государств в состав НАТО, либо о создании альтернативного военно-политического альянса в регионе.

Европа не захочет видеть саудитов в блоке НАТО


Еще со времен Холодной войны союзниками США на Ближнем Востоке, помимо Турции, являются как минимум шесть арабских монархий, расположенных на Аравийском полуострове. Это Саудовская Аравия, Объединенные Арабские Эмираты, Кувейт, Катар, Бахрейн, Оман.

Сохранение форм правления и общественного уклада в этих странах было результатом целенаправленной политики США и Великобритании, которые панически боялись распространения левых идей на Аравийском полуострове и попадания нефтеносных государств под советское влияние.

Но именно особенности правления и социального устройства перечисленных государств и, прежде всего, Саудовской Аравии, могут стать одним из главных препятствий для вхождения их в состав НАТО. Если в США руководствуются, прежде всего, своими прагматическими интересами, то в Евросоюзе в большей степени уделяют внимание и идеологической составляющей. У европейских стран есть претензии даже к относительно светской по восточным меркам Турции, особенно после прихода к власти Реджепа Эрдогана, что говорить про Саудовскую Аравию или Катар.

Положение женщин, этноконфессиональных меньшинств, расправы над оппозиционерами, общий уровень демократических свобод и прав человека станут камнем преткновения на пути к вхождению арабских монархий в состав Североатлантического альянса. Ведь понятно, что эти страны никогда не будут разделять евроатлантические ценности, которые являются идеологическим фундаментом блока. Тем более, что после убийства генерала Касема Сулеймани градус доверия к США у европейских стран снизился.

Соответственно, вряд ли возможно включение арабских монархий в состав НАТО, но зато вполне реальным выглядит формирование регионального военно-политического блока под эгидой США, в который бы и входили арабские монархии.

Нехватка сил - главный недостаток арабских союзников США


Минусом этого блока будет то, что практически все его участники – карликовые государства с очень небольшими армиями. Исключение – Саудовская Аравия, но и ее вооруженные силы не столь боеспособны, что и показал конфликт в Йемене. Но кроме монархий полуострова вовлечь в блок США по сути и некого. Ирак – под иранским влиянием, да и слишком раздираем внутренними конфликтами.

Штатам можно попытаться включить Иорданию – еще одну арабскую монархию, но Хашимитское королевство также не обладает ни людскими ресурсами, ни большой военной и экономической мощью. Теоретически альянс мог бы усилить Египет, но вопрос в том, что Каир, лавирующий между США и Россией, вряд ли сейчас захочет открыто вставать на одну из сторон, да еще связывая себя союзническими обязательствами в военном плане.

Наконец, есть и еще одна сторона вопроса. Даже сами арабские монархии, особенно Саудовская Аравия, претендующая на роль лидера исламского мира, по крайней мере - его суннитской части, могут отказаться от предложения Трампа.

Ведь участие в военно-политическом союзе с США, тем более, если речь зайдет о вхождении в НАТО, способно очень серьезно ударить по репутации королевства, да и других монархий региона, в глазах сотен миллионов мусульман планеты. Американский империализм все равно воспринимается большинством жителей Азии и Африки как абсолютное зло, а американские и европейские ценности – как греховные, крайне чуждые, и если арабские монархии официально будут союзниками США и европейских стран НАТО, то неприязненное отношение к ним значительно возрастет.
Автор:
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Тот же ЛЕХА
    Тот же ЛЕХА 15 января 2020 15:26
    +1
    Восток дело тонкое...недавний союзник там может быстро сделаться врагом и без угрызений совести воткнуть кинжал в спину...яркий пример с Анваром Садатом президентом Египта здорово промыл мозги интернационалистам.
    Так что США окажутся точно в таком же положении как и СССР в свое время.
    1. Сергей39
      Сергей39 15 января 2020 16:14
      +1
      Да пусть расширяются. Хоть на Восток, хоть на Африку. Быстрее развалятся.
  2. Сергей 777
    Сергей 777 15 января 2020 15:32
    +3
    Военный союз подобного рода уже был на ближнем востоке. Организа́ция Центра́льного Догово́ра. Туда входили США, Англия,Иран и Пакистан. Но итог плачевный. В 1979 году организация самоликвидировалась
  3. knn54
    knn54 15 января 2020 15:52
    0
    Похоже, кроме Трампа. это НИКОМУ не нужно.
    1. g1v2
      g1v2 15 января 2020 16:01
      +1
      Там главная фишка в другом. Если эти страны войдут в НАТО, то окажутся обязанными покупать только натовское вооружение. Никаких с400, панцирей , бмп3, т90 и тд. Это очень серьезные рынки вооружения и Трамп хочет их застолбить за собой.
  4. NF68
    NF68 15 января 2020 15:53
    0
    Еще этих бабаев с их причудами в НАТО не хватало.
    1. dzvero
      dzvero 15 января 2020 16:06
      +2
      После того как кое-кому пришлось пройти ликбез по гинекологии, изучение сур, порядок намаза и как отдавать честь в тюрбане навряд ли впечатлит smile
      А в статье главное то, что Трамп приоткрыл форточку Овертона.
  5. НасРать
    НасРать 15 января 2020 15:54
    +2
    Сама мысль возникла не случайно... У США нет уверенности в Европе? и прежде всего, нет уверенности в себе(США)???
    Дядюшке Сэму понадобилось пушечное мясо... bully
  6. parusnik
    parusnik 15 января 2020 15:58
    +1
    А самим арабам это надо...НАТО...свой военно-политический союз...Если о своем говорить, то два сопредседателя должно быть : сунит и шиит...Хотя пусть будет...глотки друг,другу совсем перегрызут...на религиозной почве... laughing
  7. Ros 56
    Ros 56 15 января 2020 18:08
    0
    Будет НАТО напоминать крыловскую басню про знаменитую троицу.
    1. Маки Авелльевич
      Маки Авелльевич 16 января 2020 07:29
      +1
      Цитата: Ros 56
      удет НАТО напоминать крыловскую басню про знаменитую троицу.

      НАТО с момента своего рождения как басне. как любая сборная армия.