Military Review

In the service of Russia. Peter Khristianovich Wittgenstein

5
In the treatise “The Art of War”, Sun Tzu described a universal formula for success for any battle: “That military leader wins, who has a good army and who is not disturbed by his sovereign decree.”

Not once or twice this judgment was confirmed by the biographies of the generals. She found her confirmation in the life of a skilled Russian military leader Peter Christian Wittgenstein.

Peter Khristianovich was born in 1768 in the city of Nizhyn in a noble family belonging to an ancient Germanic family. At twelve, he was enrolled as a sergeant in the Semenov regiment. The young age of determining the sovereign's service is typical for that time, it was used as a kind of legal maneuver for circumventing the “Table of Ranks” 25-year service life. Separate noble children recorded the service from infancy, and in 25 years, a young nobleman completely fulfilled his duties before the state. Wittgenstein the opportunity to leave the army did not take advantage.

In 1789, he began a real service with the rank of sergeant of the equestrian regiment of the Life Guard.

Through 4 of the year, in 1793, Peter Wittgenstein was promoted to the rank of Prime-Major in the Ukrainian Light Regiment, and in 1794 he sought transfer to Poland to quell the uprising under Kosciuszko. Here he brilliantly proved himself in the battles of Ostrolenka, and during the assault on the outskirts of Warsaw.

After the defeat of the Polish uprising, Peter Hristianovich came under the command of Count V.A. Zubova and in the corps are participating in the company against Persia. For services to the capture of Derbent, Wittgenstein was honored to personally deliver the keys to the city to St. Petersburg.

Already in 1798, Peter Khristianovich was given the rank of colonel, and a year later he was promoted to major general and appointed to command the Elizavetgrad hussars. With the accession of Paul I falls into disgrace and sent to the emperor to resign. In 1801, Alexander I is enlisted in the army by the commander of the same hussar regiment.

P.H. Wittgenstein. Hood George Doe. Military Gallery of the Winter Palace. State Hermitage. St. Petersburg


Peter Khristianovich collided with French troops for the first time in 1805, fighting as part of coalition forces. He served under the command of Bagration and Miloradovich. In the rearguard battle near Amstetten, three cavalry attacks of the cuirassiers Murat fought off. In the battle of Visau, he decisively defeated the French with only three cavalry regiments: more than 400 of the French were taken prisoner. He also distinguished himself in the battles of St. Pölten, Rausinice, Krems, Stremberg, and fought against the Turks of Moldova. On account of the merits of the company in Europe, he was promoted to lieutenant general and was appointed chief of the Hussar Life Guards Regiment. During the Russian-Swedish war, 1808-1809 gained experience in command of infantry; at the head of a detachment numbering in 9 thousand guarded the coast of the Gulf of Finland.

By the beginning of World War 1812, under his command consisted 1th Infantry Corps, covering the right flank of the 1th army of Barclay de Tolly.
Upon arrival at the fortified camp at Drissa, it became clear that the plan proposed by Pfule did not work and the army needed to join the army Barclay de Tolly marched into Vitebsk, and the Wittgenstein corps as part of 20 thousand soldiers had to cover the northern direction - the ways of possible offensive on Petersburg.

Wittgenstein was opposed by the corps of Marshal Oudinot and Marshal Macdonald. Realizing the futility of trying to defend a stretch of road the length of 600 miles, Wittgenstein decides to split the corps of the French separately.

The fighting developed as follows. Marshal Oudinot, seeing the difficult situation of the Russians, sought to cut off the Wittgenstein 1 infantry corps from the rear areas of the Pskov highway. To do this, the French crossed the Dvina at Polotsk and, taking the city, moved in the direction of Sebezh - Pskov. Peter Khristianovich made the decision to attack the Udino corps, despite the enemy’s considerable superiority in numbers, which, according to various estimates, ranged from 8 to 10 thousand.

The battle took place near the village of Klyastitsy and lasted 3 day from 28 to 30 July. In the very first clash, the vanguard of General Kulnev (4 of the hussar squadrons and 500 of the Cossacks) defeated the 3 regiment (12 of the squadrons) of the French cavalry. On July 30, Udino’s troops were driven out of the village of Yakubovo and forced to retreat to Klyastitsy. The continuation of the attack required the Russians to force the river Nyshta, otherwise the initiative would have been lost. Realizing that the continuation of the battle threatens with inevitable defeat, Udino orders his artillery to burn down the bridge across the river, thereby knocking down the Russian offensive. However, the bold attack of the 2 Battalion of the Pavlograd Grenadier Regiment over the burning bridge, as well as the Kulnev bypass maneuver, compel the French to retreat beyond Driss to the captured Polotsk.

On August 1, when crossing the Drissa during the pursuit of the French, Major General Kulnev’s squad was ambushed. The general himself died, the survivors retreated, but the French pursuing under the command of Verdier fell into a similar situation and were defeated by the main forces of Wittgenstein. In this battle Peter Khristianovich was slightly wounded on the cheek.

As a result of the battle near Klyastitsy, the offensive of Napoleon's troops against St. Petersburg was thwarted, the first major victory was won, and Peter Wittgenstein became known to all of Russia as "the savior of Petrova Grad."

A further offensive against the French, however, failed. In the first battle of Polotsk, Wittgenstein was defeated by the united forces of Udino and Saint-Cyr who came to his rescue. The corps of the latter was removed from the main direction and weakened the main forces of Napoleon.

After the first battle near Polotsk, battles in the north acquired a positional character. The troops of Saint-Cyr and MacDonald guarded the communications of the Great Army. Wittgenstein saved up his strength and replenished his troops at the expense of the St. Petersburg and Novgorod militia.

In October, the Russian army increased in number to 40 thousand people and resumed active operations. October 19 was released Polotsk, and 30 suffered another defeat to the French - this time the connected corps of Saint-Cyr and Victor. 7 November Vitebsk released.

Next, Wittgenstein receives an order from Kutuzov to follow Borisov to join up with Chichagov’s army and the encirclement of the retreating French. Maneuver Peter Khristianovich failed. Historians point to different reasons: from tactical miscalculation to unwillingness to take risks in clashes with Napoleon himself. Be that as it may, Kutuzov to a greater degree blamed Wittgenstein. Despite this setback, the authority of the “savior of Petersburg” was not shaken.

General PH Wittgenstein in the uniform of the Life Guards Hussar Regiment. Hood Franz Kruger. 1844 year


During the foreign campaign of the Russian army, the troops under the command of Peter Khristianovich occupied Koenigsberg, and later Berlin, ahead of the corps of Eugene Beauharnais. And on May 3, 1813, Beaugarne was defeated under McCurn.

In Lutzen, at the insistence of Alexander I, Wittgenstein took the supreme command of the army from Tormasov's general-in-cavalry who temporarily headed her after Kutuzov. However, the Russian emperor and the Prussian king are not in a hurry to move away from the army - the laurels of the victor of Napoleon are too valuable a trophy for the royal vanity and political weight.

In the battle of Lutzen, the need to coordinate every step with the sovereigns, in many ways, became the cause of defeat. In addition, Wittgenstein was opposed by Napoleon himself, commanding superior forces. As a result of the battle, the Russian-Prussian troops retreated, and the French suffered more heavy casualties.

The next major battle of the Sixth Coalition was the battle of Bautzen. Here the bet was made on a favorable defensive position and the corresponding course of action. The main ally in this battle for Napoleon was Emperor Alexander I the Blessed. It was he who at the critical moment of the battle insisted on sending a reserve to the place of a false attack, which was what Bonaparte wanted. Only the lack of a sufficient number of cavalry in the French army allowed the allied forces to retreat in an organized way. Of course, Wittgenstein was to blame for the defeat. On the advice of General Miloradovich, he withdrew the powers of the Supreme Commander, who passed to the Minister of War Barclay de Tolly.
As commander of individual units, Wittgenstein took part in the final battles of the foreign campaign.

After the end of the war with Napoleon, he led the garrisons in Courland and Livonia. Since 1818, the commander of the 2 Army and member of the Council of State. In the 1828 year, with the start of the next Russian-Turkish war, already in the rank of field marshal, Wittgenstein was appointed commander of the 100 Russian army operating against the Turks in Europe. At the initial stage, the fighting developed quite successfully. Russian troops quickly occupied the Danube principalities, but they faced fierce resistance in the fortresses: Varna, Silistria and Shumly. The pace of attack was slowed down, which caused displeasure of Emperor Nicholas I.

After the seizure of Varna in 1829, Peter Christian Wittgenstein asked for dismissal for health reasons - the consequences of a severe wound received during the Napoleonic wars.

The last years of his life Petr Hristianovich spent at his estate Kamenka, where he was given the title of hereditary prince of the Most High.

In the 1843 year on the way abroad - in Lviv - Peter Khristianovich died. Buried in the estate of Kamenka, Podolsk province.

With the beginning of the First World War, a wave of Germanophobia is rising in Russia. Petersburg is renamed Petrograd, the Russian Germans are beginning to leave the country. People with German surnames are suspected of spying for Germany. Painfully familiar situation. The descendants of the heroic general also did not escape the common fate. The surname Wittgenstein sounds unreliable.

During World War II, the great-grandson of Russian General Peter Christian Wittgenstein - German military pilot Ludwig zu Sein-Wittgenstein had already fought in the ranks of the Luftwaffe. Takova, the irony of the military fate of generations, is such a difficult one история long-suffering Europe ...
Author:
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. grizzlir
    grizzlir 21 July 2012 08: 48
    +1
    Ethnic Germans played a big role in the history of Russia. It is a pity that our countries had to fight with each other. The imperialists gentlemen pushed their foreheads together, and in the second World War II the German nation was led by the calls of the schizocaned Hitler with his idea of ​​racial Aryan superiority. There would be a completely different story if it was possible to combine German punctuality and Russian ingenuity.
  2. datur
    datur 21 July 2012 12: 00
    +4
    grizzlir, but this is the worst dream of impudent Saxons !!!!!
  3. ustin
    ustin 21 July 2012 20: 49
    -3
    Look, a Jew, look at the great Russian history, and not your abrams who have been slaves all their lives, there were warriors, ha laughing
    1. Smirnov Vadim
      21 July 2012 21: 39
      0
      He is German, not Jewish.
  4. fgc56gfs
    fgc56gfs 21 July 2012 23: 29
    0
    You will probably be surprised - but there is a site in which data about all the inhabitants of the beating USSR.
    Everything that the authorities carefully concealed is now known to everyone on this site ydn. * Ru / sngpoisk (copy the link without *)
    You drive a name, a surname - and it shows you everything that can beat
    (your relatives, friends, phone numbers, well, a lot)
    And most importantly, it is accessible to everyone, I was really scared at first - you never know what moron there will climb
    Well, the truth is that you can remove yourself from the site, there you just need to find yourself, go through registration and delete
  5. ustin
    ustin 23 July 2012 05: 36
    0
    Smirnov Vadim,
    No, it’s just that there is a Jew on a forum that compares Russia with a banana country, but it’s not so!

На службе России. Петр Христианович Витгенштейн

В трактате «Искусство войны» Сунь Цзы описал универсальную формулу успеха для любого сражения: «Побеждает тот полководец, у кого хорошее войско, и кому не мешает своими указами Государь».

Не раз и не два это суждение подтверждалось биографиями полководцев. Нашла она свое подтверждение и в жизни умелого русского полководца Петра Христиановича Витгенштейна.

Петр Христианович родился в 1768 году в городе Нежин в дворянской семье, принадлежавшей к древнему германском роду. В двенадцать лет был записан сержантом в Семеновский полк. Юный возраст определения на государеву службу типичен для того времени, применялся в качестве эдакого юридического маневра для обхода, установленного «Табелем о рангах» 25-летнего срока службы. Отдельных дворянских детей записывал на службу с младенчества, и в 25 лет молодой дворянин полностью выполнял свои повинности перед государством. Витгенштейн возможность оставить армию не воспользовался.


В 1789 году он начал реальную службу в звании вахмистра конного полка Лейб-гвардии.

Через 4 года, в 1793, Петр Витгенштейн в чине премьер-майора переведен в Украинский легкоконный полк, а в 1794 году добивается перевода в Польшу для усмирения восстания под предводительством Костюшко. Здесь он блестяще проявил себя в боях под Остроленкой, и при штурме предместий Варшавы.

После разгрома польского восстания Петр Христианович переходит под командование графа В.А. Зубова и в составе корпуса учувствует в компании против Персии. За заслуги при взятии Дербента Витгенштейн удостоен чести лично доставить ключи от города в Петербург.

Уже в 1798 году Петру Христиановичу присвоен чин полковника, а через год он произведен в генерал-майоры и назначен командовать Елизаветградским гусарским полком. С воцарением Павла I попадает в опалу и отправляется императором в отставку. В 1801 зачисляется в армию Александром I командиром того же гусарского полка.

На службе России. Петр Христианович Витгенштейн
П.Х.Витгенштейн. Худ. Джордж Доу. Военная галерея Зимнего дворца. Государственный Эрмитаж. Санкт-Петербург


С французскими войсками Петр Христианович столкнулся впервые в 1805 году, воюя в составе коалиционных войск. Служил под командованием Багратиона и Милорадовича. В арьергардном бою под Амштеттеном отбил три кавалерийских атаки кирасиров Мюрата. В бою под Вишау одержал решительную победу над французами силами всего трех кавалерийских полков: в плен попало более 400 французов. Так же отличился в боях при Сент-Пельтене, Раузинице, Кремсе, Штремберге, воевал против турок Молдавии. В счет заслуг компании в Европе, произведен в генерал-лейтенанты и назначен шефом Гусарского полка лейб-гвардии. Во время русско-шведской войны 1808-1809 получил опыт командования инфантерией; во главе отряда численностью в 9 тыс. охранял побережье Финского залива.

К началу Отечественной войны 1812 года под его началом состоял 1-й пехотный корпус, прикрывавший правый фланг 1-й армии Барклая-де-Толли.
По прибытии в укрепленный лагерь у Дриссы, стало ясно, что план, предложенный Пфулем, не сработает и соединение армий необходимо армия Барклая-де-Толли выступила в Витебск, а корпус Витгенштейна в составе 20 тыс. солдат должен был прикрывать северное направление – пути возможного наступления на Петербург.

Витгенштейну противостояли корпуса маршала Удино и маршала Макдональда. Понимая бесперспективность попыток оборонять участок дороги протяженностью 600 верст, Витгенштейн принимает решение разбить корпуса французов по отдельности.

Боевые действия развивались следующим образом. Маршал Удино, видя сложное положение русских, стремился отрезать 1-й пехотный корпус Витгенштейна от тылов на Псковском тракте. Для этого французы переправились через Двину у Полоцка и, заняв город, двинулись в направлении Себеж – Псков. Петр Христианович принял решение атаковать корпус Удино, несмотря на значительный перевес противника в численности, который, по разным оценкам, составлял от 8 до 10 тыс.

Сражение состоялось около села Клястицы и длилось 3 дня с 28 по 30 июля. В первом же столкновении авангард генерала Кульнева (4 гусарских эскадрона и 500 казаков) разгромил 3 полка (12 эскадронов) французской кавалерии. 30 июля войска Удино вытеснены из села Якубово и вынуждены отступить в Клястицы. Продолжение атаки требовало от русских форсировать реку Нища, в противном случае инициатива была бы потеряна. Понимая, что продолжение боя грозит неминуемым поражением, Удино приказывает своей артиллерии сжечь мост через реку, тем самым сбив тем наступления русских. Однако дерзкая атака 2-го батальона Павлоградского гренадерского полка через горящий мост, а также обходной маневр Кульнева вынуждают французов отойти за Дриссу – к захваченному Полоцку.

1 августа при переправе через Дриссу во время преследования французов отряд генерал-майора Кульнева попал в засаду. Сам генерал погиб, уцелевшие отступили, но преследовавшие французы под командованием Вердье попали в аналогичную ситуацию и были разгромлены основными силами Витгенштейна. В этом сражении Петр Христианович получил легкое ранение в щеку.

В результате сражения под Клястицами было сорвано наступление наполеоновских войск на Петербург, одержана первая крупная победа, а Петр Витгенштейн стал известен всей России как «спаситель Петрова Града».

Дальнейшее наступление против французов развить, однако, не удалось. В первом сражении при Полоцке Витгенштейн потерпел поражение от соединенных сил Удино и подоспевшего ему на помощь Сен-Сира. Корпус последнего был снят с главного направления и ослабил основные силы Наполеона.

После первого сражения под Полоцком бои на севере приобрели позиционный характер. Войска Сен-сира и Макдональда охраняли коммуникации Великой Армии. Витгенштейн копил силы и пополнял войска за счет петербургского и новгородского ополчения.

В октябре русская армия возросла в численности до 40 тыс. человек и возобновила активные действия. 19 октября был освобожден Полоцк, а 30 нанесено ещё одно поражение французам – на этот раз соединенным корпусам Сен-Сира и Виктора. 7 ноября освобождён Витебск.

Далее Витгенштейн получает приказ от Кутузова следовать к Борисову для соединения с армией Чичагова и окружения отступающих французов. Выполнить маневр Петру Христиановичу не удалось. Историки указывают на разные причины: от тактического просчета до нежелания рисковать в столкновениях с самим Наполеоном. Как бы там ни было, Кутузов в большей степени возлагал ответственность на Витгенштейна. Несмотря на эту неудачу, авторитет «спасителя Петербурга» не был поколеблен.

На службе России. Петр Христианович Витгенштейн
Генерал П.Х.Витгенштейн в мундире лейб-гвардии Гусарского полка. Худ. Франц Крюгер. 1844 год


Во время Заграничного похода русской армии войска под командованием Петра Христиановича заняли Кенигсберг, а позже и Берлин, опередив корпус Евгения Богарне. А 3 мая 1813 года Богарне был разбит при Маккёрне.

В Лютцене Витгенштейн по настоянию Александра I принимает верховное командование армией у временно возглавлявшего её после Кутузова генерала-от-кавалерии Тормасова. Удаляться от армии, впрочем, российский император и прусский король не спешат – лавры победителя Наполеона слишком ценный трофей для монаршего тщеславия и политического веса.

В битве при Лютцене, необходимость каждый шаг согласовывать с государями, во многом, стал причиной поражения. Кроме того Витгенштейну противостоял сам Наполеон, командующий превосходящими по численности силами. По итогам сражения русско-прусские войска отступили, а французы понесли более тяжелые потери.

Следующим крупным сражением Шестой Коалиции стала битва при Бауцене. Здесь ставка была сделана на выгодную оборонительную позицию и соответствующий образ действий. Главным союзником в этом сражении для Наполеона стал император Александр I Благословенный. Именно он в критический момент битвы настоял на отправке резерва к месту ложной атаки, чего и добивался Бонапарт. Только отсутствие достаточного количества кавалерии в армии французов позволило союзным войскам организовано отступить. Разумеется, «виноват» в поражениях оказался Витгенштейн. По совету генерала Милорадовича он снял с себя полномочия верховного главнокомандующего, которые перешли к военному министру Барклаю-де-Толли.
В качестве командира отдельных частей Витгенштейн принимал участие и завершающих сражениях Заграничного похода.

После окончания войны с Наполеоном возглавляет гарнизоны в Курляндии и Лифляндии. С 1818 года командующий 2-й армией и член Государственного совета. В 1828 году с началом очередной русско-турецкой войны, уже в чине фельдмаршала, Витгенштейн назначен командующим 100-й русской армией, действовавшей против турок в Европе. На начальном этапе боевые действия развивались довольно успешно. Русские войска быстро заняли придунайские княжества, но столкнулись с ожесточенным сопротивлением в крепостях: Варны, Силистрия и Шумлы. Темп наступления был замедлен, что вызвало неудовольствие императора Николая I.

После взятия Варны в 1829 году Петр Христианович Витгенштейн испросил увольнения со службы по состоянию здоровья – сказывались последствия тяжелого ранения полученного ещё в наполеоновские войны.

Последние годы жизни Петр Христианович провел в своем имении Каменки, где ему был присвоен титул потомственного светлейшего князя.

В 1843 году по дороге за границу – во Львове – Петр Христианович скончался. Погребен в имении Каменки Подольской губернии.

С началом Первой мировой войны в России поднимается волна германофобии. Петербург переименовывается в Петроград, русские немцы начинают покидать страну. Люди с немецкими фамилиями подозреваются в шпионаже в пользу Германии. До боли знакомая ситуация. Потомки героического генерала тоже не избежали общей участи. Фамилия Витгенштейн звучит неблагонадёжно.

Во время Второй мировой войны правнук русского генерала Петра Христиановича Витгенштейна - германский военный лётчик Людвиг цу Зайн-Витгенштайн уже сражался в рядах люфтваффе.Такова уж ирония военной судьбы поколений, такова непростая история многострадальной Европы...
Автор: Станислав Пошелюжный


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. grizzlir 21 июля 2012 08:48
    Этнические немцы сыграли в истории России большую роль.Жаль что нашим странам приходилось воевать друг с другом.В первую лбами столкнули господа империалисты,а во вторую Отечественную немецкая нация повелась на призывы шизоканутого Гитлера с его идеей рассового арийского превосходства.Была бы совсем другая история если возможно было объединить немецкую пунктуальность и русскую смекалку.
    grizzlir
  2. datur 21 июля 2012 12:00
    grizzlir, да это же самый страшный сон нагло -саксов!!!!!
  3. ustin 21 июля 2012 20:49
    Вот еврей смотрите великую русскую историю,а не ваши абрамчики которые целую жизнь были рабами,нашлись вояки,ха laughing
    ustin
    1. Смирнов Вадим 21 июля 2012 21:39
      Он немец, а не еврей.
  4. fgc56gfs 21 июля 2012 23:29
    Вы наверное удивитесь - но есть сайт в котором данные про все жителей бившего СССР.
    Все что власти тчатильно скрывали теперь известно всем на этом сайте ydn.*ru/sngpoisk (ссылку копировать без *)
    Водишь имя, фамилию - и тебе показывает всё, что только может бить
    (твоих родственников, друзей, номера телефонов, ну вообще много)
    И главное это же доступно всем, я вообще сильно испугалась по началу - мало ли какой придурок там будет лазить
    Хорошо, правда одно, что можно удалить себя из сайта, там просто нужно найти себя, пройти регистрацию и удалить
    fgc56gfs
  5. ustin 23 июля 2012 05:36
    Смирнов Вадим,
    Да нет просто тут есть еврей на форуме,которые Россию сравнивает с банановой страной,но это не так!
    ustin

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня