Operation Uranus, how was it?


Operation Uranus is one of the most tactically and strategically verified operations of the Great Patriotic War. Moreover, the value of "Uranus" is difficult to overestimate. If the attempt to encircle large enemy forces near Stalingrad were not successful, then the Red Army could not only lose Stalingrad, but also be completely defeated on this front - with the subsequent exit of the Nazis to their cherished goal, which was Caucasian oil.


The famous historian Alexei Isaev shares with the audience of the Tactic Media channel his thoughts on the operation of the Soviet troops near Stalingrad. It touches on the topic of several so-called “planetary” (by their name) operations, including both “Uranus” and “Mars” with “Small Saturn”. The expert notes that the Soviet command developed operations taking into account the involvement of personnel and military equipment in them according to the specifics of a particular area.

Alexey Isaev:

Near Stalingrad there is a tank-accessible area, near Rzhev there are forests.

Operation Uranus itself, as you know, was intended as a strike from the flanks of an enemy grouping that wedged itself into the defense of the Red Army. Moreover, the stake was placed on the fact that the enemy flanking groups were not as strong as the central sector, on the assumption that Romanian formations acted on the flanks. Their fighting efficiency was significantly lower than that of the Wehrmacht. But by the time the Soviet operation "Uranus" began, the Nazis had seriously strengthened their flanks, creating a fairly deep defense (in places more than 5 km). The Soviet command emphasized a powerful artillery strike.

Rating from the historian:
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lamata 3 February 2020 10: 38 New
    • 8
    • 1
    +7
    Eternal glory to our soldiers !!! My cousin died there at age 21, another cousin came from Stalingrad to Koenig.
  2. Tiksi-3 3 February 2020 10: 39 New
    • 7
    • 2
    +5
    Something is not fair bypassing the battle for Voronezh .... where in terms of intensity, losses, bitterness and importance - not a bit was inferior to the battle for Stalingrad. the question is why?
    1. Alexander Suvorov 3 February 2020 10: 54 New
      • 11
      • 2
      +9
      Tiksi-3 (Dmitry)
      Something is not fair bypassing the battle for Voronezh .... where in terms of intensity, losses, bitterness and importance - not a bit was inferior to the battle for Stalingrad. the question is why?
      The same can be said for Rostov-on-Don. The point here is most likely that the battle for Voronezh, and for Rostov, and for Rzhev did not have such strategic consequences as the battle for Stalingrad. A radical turning point in the war occurred precisely near Stalingrad, and finally we got the initiative already near Kursk. And then, no one wanted to bring to light the loss of God under the same Rzhev or Voronezh, and to put it mildly, the not very successful actions of the Marshal of Victory, too, were somehow not to advertise.
      1. novel66 3 February 2020 10: 59 New
        • 2
        • 1
        +1
        Sychek, she is so ..
      2. Tiksi-3 3 February 2020 11: 14 New
        • 9
        • 2
        +7
        Quote: Alexander Suvorov
        for Voronezh, and for Rostov, and for Rzhev did not have such strategic consequences

        you are mistaken, the battle for Voronezh was of strategic importance .... both for Moscow and the USSR as a whole .... the only city in the USSR in which the Germans could not appoint a burgomaster and (policemen) for destruction is comparable to Stalingrad, is among 12 the world's most destroyed cities ... the number of those killed in the battle is one of the largest in the Great Patriotic War, 26 German divisions were destroyed, the 2nd Hungarian army (fully), the 8th Italian and parts of the Romanians, from our side died about 400000 Soviet soldiers! 212 days passed the front through the city
      3. major147 3 February 2020 13: 38 New
        • 3
        • 0
        +3
        Quote: Alexander Suvorov
        Tiksi-3 (Dmitry)
        Something is not fair bypassing the battle for Voronezh .... where in terms of intensity, losses, bitterness and importance - not a bit was inferior to the battle for Stalingrad. the question is why?
        The same can be said for Rostov-on-Don. The point here is most likely that the battle for Voronezh, and for Rostov, and for Rzhev did not have such strategic consequences as the battle for Stalingrad. A radical turning point in the war occurred precisely near Stalingrad, and finally we got the initiative already near Kursk. And then, no one wanted to bring to light the loss of God under the same Rzhev or Voronezh, and to put it mildly, the not very successful actions of the Marshal of Victory, too, were somehow not to advertise.

        Rostov-on-Don was twice lost and taken back, and Germans occupied Voronezh only half. They were not allowed over the Voronezh River. Both cities are dear to me. Born in Rostov, childhood passed in Voronezh on Mira Ave at the station, now I live in Rostov again.
        1. Berber 3 February 2020 15: 20 New
          • 4
          • 0
          +4
          Nothing to argue about, men. Everywhere our relatives perished. And it does not matter whether it is a strategic or not a strategic battle. We will just remember them.
        2. Old Michael 4 February 2020 09: 19 New
          • 1
          • 0
          +1
          Germans occupied Voronezh only half. They were not allowed over the Voronezh River.

          It was seen in memoir literature that if it were not for the heroism of the defenders of Voronezh, then under Stalingrad everything would have been much worse.
          Once he asked a veteran why Voronezh did not receive the title of a hero city? He replied that there were some shoals, up to betrayal, on the part of the party organs, including could not evacuate the archives of the regional committee. But the details and degree of certainty are unknown to him.
    2. Lamata 3 February 2020 11: 51 New
      • 1
      • 1
      0
      Yes, unfortunately, as not everything is covered, my son is fond of military history. But he doesn’t know about Voronezh and Khakrkov, they don’t cover what a vague idea of ​​Vyazma and Rzhev has to fill in the gap)))
  3. rocket757 3 February 2020 12: 22 New
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    And there were no small, unimportant battles and battles in that war! Glory to all the soldiers who defended our homeland!
    1. Tiksi-3 3 February 2020 12: 29 New
      • 4
      • 2
      +2
      Quote: rocket757
      But there weren’t small ones in that war

      that's for sure !!!!, but why don't they talk about many, many battles?
      1. rocket757 3 February 2020 12: 47 New
        • 4
        • 0
        +4
        We have so many things DON'T FORGET! all sorts of books are written, films are made, but the people's memory is one for all and all.
        I don’t know how to capture all the exploits, events, battles. At a minimum, create museums, monuments to places of military glory of our soldiers.
        Something like this, but it can be done differently.
      2. Krasnodar 3 February 2020 22: 06 New
        • 6
        • 0
        +6
        Quote: Tiksi-3
        but why don't they talk about many, many battles?

        Stalingrad is the first surrender of German troops during WWII, led by a whole marshal
        1. WILL 3 February 2020 22: 45 New
          • 6
          • 1
          +5
          Quote: Krasnodar

          Stalingrad is the first surrender of German troops during WWII, led by a whole marshal

          Krasnodar, Correct you, Friedrich Paulus - was Field Marshal !!! yes
          1. Krasnodar 3 February 2020 23: 09 New
            • 4
            • 0
            +4
            Insuldigung ze beat - the whole FIELD Marshal! laughing
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. ccsr 3 February 2020 12: 57 New
    • 4
    • 3
    +1
    Moreover, the value of "Uranus" is difficult to overestimate. If the attempt to encircle large enemy forces near Stalingrad were not successful, then the Red Army could not only lose Stalingrad, but also be completely defeated on this front - with the subsequent exit of the Nazis to their cherished goal, which was Caucasian oil.

    I believe that this is not true, because the Germans no longer had the strength to move further after Stalingrad, and this was confirmed by the further course of the summer company of 1943, when they could not defeat our troops on the Kursk Bulge having mobilized all their capabilities. So even the loss of Stalingrad would not lead to the defeat of the front - the Germans themselves would be afraid to force the Volga and most likely would gain a foothold there.
    By the way, they approached the Caucasian oil fields in the summer of 1942, so if they had the strength, they would have captured our fields without the Battle of Stalingrad.
    The loss of Stalingrad would have dealt a greater psychological blow to our country, and of course would have hindered the delivery of oil from the Baku region. Although it is already clear that German bombers could sink our barges without capturing Stalingrad, taking off from more distant airfields, if they had the strength and capabilities. Therefore, without at all belittling the significance of the outstanding Uranus operation, I still disagree with the view that the loss of Stalingrad would lead to disaster and breakthroughs of our entire front.
  6. Evgenijus 20 February 2020 17: 25 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    It is a pity that in Soviet times, we were presented with a truncated history of the Battle of Stalingrad at school and further in high schools. Almost without details, except for the defenders in Pavlov’s house. And heroism was massive, but to show all the exploits means to show all the details of the battle. To this, the Soviet leaders did not have forces. Therefore, many heroic pages of this battle are hidden.

Военное обозрение

Операция «Уран», как это было?

17

Операция «Уран» - одна из самых тактически и стратегически выверенных операций Великой Отечественной войны. Причём значение «Урана» переоценить трудно. Если бы попытка окружения крупных сил противника под Сталинградом не увенчалась успехом, то Красная Армия могла не только потерять Сталинград, но и оказаться полностью разгромленной на этом фронте – с последующим выходом гитлеровцев к их заветной цели, которой являлась кавказская нефть.


Известный историк Алексей Исаев делится со зрителями канала Tactic Media своими соображениями по поводу операции советских войск под Сталинградом. Затрагивается тема нескольких так называемых «планетарных» (по их названию) операций, включая как «Уран», так и «Марс» с «Малым Сатурном». Эксперт отмечает, что советское командование разрабатывало операции с учётом задействования в них личного состава и военной техники по специфике той или иной местности.

Алексей Исаев:

Под Сталинградом – танкодоступная местность, подо Ржевом – леса.

Сама операция «Уран», как известно, замышлялась в качестве удара с флангов по группировке противника, вклинившегося в оборону Красной Армии. При этом ставка делалась на то, что фланговые группы противника были не так сильны, как центральный сектор, исходя из того, что на флангах действовали румынские соединения. Их боеспособность была существенно ниже, чем у Вермахта. Но к моменту начала советской операции «Уран» гитлеровцы серьёзно укрепили свои фланги, создав достаточно глубокую оборону (местами более 5 км). Советское командование сделало упор на мощный артиллерийский удар.

Оценка от историка:
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Ламата
    Ламата 3 февраля 2020 10:38 Новый
    +7
    Вечная слава нашим воинам !!! У меня там двоюродный дед в 21 год погиб , другой двоюродный дед от сталинграда до кенига дошел.
  2. Тикси-3
    Тикси-3 3 февраля 2020 10:39 Новый
    +5
    Что то не справедливо обходят стороной битву за Воронеж....где по накалу, потерям, ожесточенности и важности - ни капли не уступало битве за Сталинград. вопрос - по чему?
    1. Александр Суворов
      Александр Суворов 3 февраля 2020 10:54 Новый
      +9
      Тикси-3 (Дмитрий)
      Что то не справедливо обходят стороной битву за Воронеж....где по накалу, потерям, ожесточенности и важности - ни капли не уступало битве за Сталинград. вопрос - по чему?
      То же самое можно сказать и за Ростов-на-Дону. Дело здесь скорее всего в том, что и битва за Воронеж, и за Ростов, и за Ржев не имели таких стратегических последствий, как битва за Сталинград. Коренной перелом в войне произошел именно под Сталинградом, а окончательно мы получили инициативу уже под Курском. Да и потом, никто не хотел выносить на свет божий потери под тем же Ржевом или Воронежем, да и мягко говоря не совсем удачные действия маршала Победы тоже как то не с руки было афишировать.
      1. роман66
        роман66 3 февраля 2020 10:59 Новый
        +1
        Сычевка, она такая..
      2. Тикси-3
        Тикси-3 3 февраля 2020 11:14 Новый
        +7
        Цитата: Александр Суворов
        за Воронеж, и за Ростов, и за Ржев не имели таких стратегических последствий

        вы ошибаетесь, битва за Воронеж имело стратегическое значение....и для Москвы и для СССР в целом....единственный город в СССР в котором немцы не смогли назначить бургомистра и (полицаев) по разрушениям сопоставим с Сталинградом, входит в число 12 городов мира более всех получивших разрушения...количество погибших в битве одно из самых крупных в Великой Отечественной войне, было уничтожено 26 немецких дивизий, 2-ая венгерская армия(полностью), 8-ая итальянская и части румын, с нашей стороны погибло около 400000 советских воинов! 212 дней проходил фронт через город
      3. майор147
        майор147 3 февраля 2020 13:38 Новый
        +3
        Цитата: Александр Суворов
        Тикси-3 (Дмитрий)
        Что то не справедливо обходят стороной битву за Воронеж....где по накалу, потерям, ожесточенности и важности - ни капли не уступало битве за Сталинград. вопрос - по чему?
        То же самое можно сказать и за Ростов-на-Дону. Дело здесь скорее всего в том, что и битва за Воронеж, и за Ростов, и за Ржев не имели таких стратегических последствий, как битва за Сталинград. Коренной перелом в войне произошел именно под Сталинградом, а окончательно мы получили инициативу уже под Курском. Да и потом, никто не хотел выносить на свет божий потери под тем же Ржевом или Воронежем, да и мягко говоря не совсем удачные действия маршала Победы тоже как то не с руки было афишировать.

        Ростов-на-Дону два раза теряли и брали обратно, а Воронеж немцы заняли только на половину. За реку Воронеж их не пустили. Оба города мне родные. Родился в Ростове, детство прошло в Воронеже на пр. Мира у вокзала, теперь опять живу в Ростове.
        1. BerBer
          BerBer 3 февраля 2020 15:20 Новый
          +4
          Не о чем спорить, мужчины. Везде погибали наши родные. И не имеет значения, стратегическая или не стратегическая битва. Просто будем их помнить.
        2. OldMichael
          OldMichael 4 февраля 2020 09:19 Новый
          +1
          Воронеж немцы заняли только на половину. За реку Воронеж их не пустили.

          Доводилось встречать в мемуарной литературе мнение, что если бы не героизм защитников Воронежа, то под Сталинградом всё было бы намного хуже.
          Как-то спросил одного ветерана, почему же Воронеж не получил звание города-героя? Он ответил, что были некие косяки, вплоть до предательства, со стороны партийных органов, в т.ч. не смогли эвакуировать архивы обкома. Но подробности и степень достоверности ему неизвестны.
    2. Ламата
      Ламата 3 февраля 2020 11:51 Новый
      0
      Да, к сожалению как не все освещается , мой сын увлекается военной исто.рией а про Воронеж иХакрьков не знает, не освещают , какое то смутное представление о Вязьме и Ржеве, приходится восполнять пробел)))
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 3 февраля 2020 12:22 Новый
    +7
    А не было в той войне малых, не важных сражений и битв! Слава всем воинам, защищавшим нашу Родину!
    1. Тикси-3
      Тикси-3 3 февраля 2020 12:29 Новый
      +2
      Цитата: rocket757
      А не было в той войне малых

      это точно!!!!, но вот по чему не говорят про многие-многие сражения ?
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 3 февраля 2020 12:47 Новый
        +4
        Нам столько всего НЕ ЗАБЫТЬ НАДО! книги всякие пишут, фильмы снимают, а память народная она есть единая на вех и всё.
        Как запечатлеть всё подвиги, события, битвы, не знаю. Как минимум музеи создавать, памятники по местам боевой славы наших воинов.
        Как то так, а можно и по другому.
      2. Krasnodar
        Krasnodar 3 февраля 2020 22:06 Новый
        +6
        Цитата: Тикси-3
        но вот по чему не говорят про многие-многие сражения ?

        Сталинград - это первая в ходе ВМВ капитуляция немецких войск во главе с целым маршалом
        1. ЗВЕРОБОЙ
          ЗВЕРОБОЙ 3 февраля 2020 22:45 Новый
          +5
          Цитата: Krasnodar

          Сталинград - это первая в ходе ВМВ капитуляция немецких войск во главе с целым маршалом

          Краснодар, Поправлю вас, Фридрих Паулюс - был Фельдмаршал!!! yes
          1. Krasnodar
            Krasnodar 3 февраля 2020 23:09 Новый
            +4
            Иншульдигунг зе бите - целым ПОЛЕВЫМ маршалом! laughing
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. ccsr
    ccsr 3 февраля 2020 12:57 Новый
    +1
    Причём значение «Урана» переоценить трудно. Если бы попытка окружения крупных сил противника под Сталинградом не увенчалась успехом, то Красная Армия могла не только потерять Сталинград, но и оказаться полностью разгромленной на этом фронте – с последующим выходом гитлеровцев к их заветной цели, которой являлась кавказская нефть.

    Я считаю что это не соответствует действительности, потому что у немцев уже не было сил двигаться дальше после Сталинграда, и это подтвердилось дальнейшим ходом летней компании 1943 года, когда они не смогли разгромить наши войска на Курской дуге мобилизовав все свои возможности. Так что даже потеря Сталинграда не привела бы к разгрому фронта - немцы сами бы побоялись форсировать Волгу и скорее всего закрепились бы там.
    К слову, к месторождениям кавказской нефти они приблизились еще летом 1942 года, так что если бы у них хватило сил, то они бы и без Сталинградской битвы захватили наши промыслы.
    Потеря Сталинграда нанесла бы больше психологический удар для нашей страны, и конечно бы затруднила доставку нефти из района Баку. Хотя и так понятно, что немецкие бомбардировщики могли без захваченного Сталинграда топить наши баржи, взлетая с более отдаленных аэродромов, если бы у них были силы и возможности. Поэтому нисколько не умаляя значения выдающейся операции "Уран", все же не соглашусь с мнением, что потеря Сталинграда привела бы к катастрофе и прорывы всего нашего фронта.
  6. Evgenijus
    Evgenijus 20 февраля 2020 17:25 Новый
    0
    Жаль, что в советское время нам в школе и далее в ВУЗ -ах преподносили историю Сталинградской битвы в урезанном виде. Почти без подробностей, кроме защитников в "доме Павлова". А героизм был массовый, но показать все подвиги это значит показать все подробности битвы. На это у советских руководителей сил не было. Потому и сокрыты многие героические страницы этой битвы.