The border of Turkey and Syria: can Assad regain control over it?


Preventing Turkish intervention in Syria could be taking control of the border with Turkey by Syrian troops. Let's try to figure out how likely this scenario is in the foreseeable future.


Today, Turkish troops violate the state sovereignty of Syria, being on its territory against the will of Damascus. Moreover, the Turkish military actually entered the war against the Syrian government forces, taking the side of the armed forces operating in Idlib. But the Syrian Arab army continues to press militants with Russian help.

One of the main goals of the Turkish military presence is to establish control over the border territories. Ankara believes that this is necessary, first, to protect Turkey from the armed forces of the Syrian Kurds, and secondly, they say that Turkmens and Sunni Arabs living in northern Syria need protection from the Bashar al-Assad government. In addition, much is said in Turkey about the humanitarian disaster in Idlib, which led to a large influx of refugees to the Turkish border.

For Damascus, the main thing is to restore its sovereignty over the northern territories, which today are beyond its control. In order to enter the Syrian-Turkish border and completely regain control over it, government forces will have to solve the problem with their three opponents: radical groups in Idlib, the Kurdish militia and the regular armed forces of Turkey. The last task is the most difficult.

If Turkey had not supported the militants in Idlib, then the Syrian troops would have routed them long ago. But the militants receive the most diverse weapons from Turkey, right up to armored personnel carriers and tanks. And the Turkish troops themselves have already attacked the positions of the Syrian government troops.

The military potential of Syria and Turkey is currently not comparable. Despite the fact that the Syrian army has been fighting for a long time and has extensive combat experience, the Turkish armed forces have a good weapon, fresh and well trained staff. Finally, they are much more numerous.

Now Ankara has concentrated very impressive forces on the border with Syria. It was not for nothing that the Turkish Minister of Defense Hulusi Akar and the Chief of the General Staff, General Yashar Guler, recently visited the border. They inspected the personnel of the Turkish troops, checking their combat readiness.

To push the Turkish troops to the border and force them into the territory of Turkey, Syria is not yet possible. Moreover, as more active operations of the Syrian Arab army, Turkey will transfer more and more new units and military equipment to the border areas. The only hope for the Syrians is associated with help from Russia, but Moscow will not get involved in a full-scale armed conflict with Turkey, even on Syrian territory.

Therefore, such a development of events can be predicted. Most likely, the issue of the presence of Turkish troops in Syria will be decided at the talks of representatives of Ankara and Moscow. And here it all depends on what mutual concessions and, conversely, decisive action are prepared by Recep Erdogan and Vladimir Putin. It is possible that Turkish troops may move back to the border, but their presence on Syrian territory will not end.

The complete withdrawal of troops from Syria would be a serious political defeat for Recep Erdogan. Moreover, the Turks, it seems, are gaining a foothold in the occupied Syrian regions for a long time: they introduce their own currency, open educational institutions with teaching in Turkish. The restoration of Damascus’s control over these territories would be a collapse of Erdogan’s neo-Ottoman ambitions, and of course he would never agree to such a development of events. Syria will not force Turkey to withdraw by force.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Aerodrome 25 February 2020 05: 36 New
    • 3
    • 2
    +1
    Today, Turkish troops violate the state sovereignty of Syria, being on its territory against the will of Damascus
    there "of the invited" are generally only ours.
    1. Stas157 25 February 2020 08: 18 New
      • 9
      • 2
      +7
      The border of Turkey and Syria: can Assad regain control over her?

      Will be able. If the Kremlin under the Turks does not bend.
  2. Mar.Tirah 25 February 2020 05: 37 New
    • 7
    • 4
    +3
    Until it can. Like the Golan Heights, it’s necessary to endure, build up strength and authority. I think these territories can be returned later. In general, everything in this world is relative. Some states arise, others disappear if they show their non-viability. Some Jews are tenacious, their crush and they climb out in another place.
    1. Maki Avellevich 25 February 2020 07: 29 New
      • 1
      • 2
      -1
      Quote: Mar. Tira
      Some states arise, others disappear if they show their non-viability. Some Jews are tenacious, they are crushed, and they climbed out in another place.


      Martira, do not lose hope.
      1. Mar.Tirah 25 February 2020 07: 34 New
        • 5
        • 2
        +3
        Quote: Maki Avellevich
        Martira, do not lose hope.

        Yes, I focused attention on the example of survival. So you need to be proud that I said it. You’ll fit in everywhere, smear it with everyone, and therefore you will survive unlike other peoples who do not know how to sacrifice themselves for the sake of survival, like Russian soldiers for example.
        1. Maki Avellevich 25 February 2020 07: 43 New
          • 1
          • 4
          -3
          Quote: Mar. Tira
          Yes, I focused on the example of survival. So you need to be proud that I said this.

          maybe he didn’t understand it, but the choice of the word "get out" pushes negative connotations.

          and yes. Jews went through a large number of wars and tribulations, terrible defeats and victories over the past few years.
          ruthless selection, as a result of which was bred Surviving jew in latin.
  3. rocket757 25 February 2020 06: 41 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Everything is interconnected.
    An attempt to destroy the state of Syria came from outside, although internal contradictions contributed to this.
    Now, the moment of restoration of the state and restoration of peaceful life, this also depends on external "players" ....
    And the intentions of those external are DIFFERENT!
    1. novel66 25 February 2020 07: 39 New
      • 5
      • 2
      +3
      Vit hi and where are the UN peacekeepers, it’s interesting to know
      1. rocket757 25 February 2020 07: 46 New
        • 3
        • 2
        +1
        Hello Roman soldier
        UNushka, if it has not become abusive, then it will not be long. For business.
  4. Gene84 25 February 2020 07: 25 New
    • 6
    • 1
    +5
    Syria has not yet been able to regain control of the border with Turkey. Syria does not have enough strength for this. Russia will not go to an open conflict with Turkey. We will negotiate with the Turks and possibly agreed that part of the territory of Syria will remain under control, and Turkey will make concessions to us in other matters.
    1. papandopala 25 February 2020 08: 41 New
      • 1
      • 7
      -6
      Quote: Gene84
      Syria has not yet been able to regain control of the border with Turkey. Syria does not have enough strength for this. Russia will not go to an open conflict with Turkey. We will negotiate with the Turks and possibly agreed that part of the territory of Syria will remain under control, and Turkey will make concessions to us in other matters.

      Or maybe vice versa. To stop Moscow, Ankara will close the Bosphorus Strait ”, this outweighs all the tourists, and the Turkish stream and the NPP <POMIDORS> And the C400 isn’t what happened so much hodovachka https://mk-turkey.ru/blog/povestka/ 2020/02/24 / ostanovit-moskvu-idlib-sr.html
  5. high 25 February 2020 07: 30 New
    • 3
    • 6
    -3
    Quote: Mar. Tira
    .One Jews are tenacious, they are crushed and they climbed out in another place.

    You insult Christianity who pray to a Jew ....
    The Virgin Mary the Most Holy was Jewish. And Jesus was a Jew.
    John the Baptist, who blessed the first holy baptism, was a Jew.
    And all four Gospel writers were Jews. And all twelve apostles.
    1. novel66 25 February 2020 07: 38 New
      • 5
      • 1
      +4
      Yes Yes! for it was said:
  6. Livonetc 25 February 2020 07: 45 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Please explain about the quality of the Turkish army declared in the article, "fresh personnel"?
    What exactly does this mean?
  7. SanSanych Gusev 25 February 2020 08: 52 New
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    Amad must be announced that Syria will create a 30-kilometer zone in Turkey to protect the Kurds!
  8. Hermit21 25 February 2020 08: 59 New
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    Syria may not force. But the imperial astronauts have been hinting at the Turks for about a week now that it is time to honor
  9. akunin 25 February 2020 09: 02 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    The border of Turkey and Syria: can Assad regain control over it?
    the question is not posed correctly
    The border between Turkey and Syria: will Putin be able to regain control over it?
    Assad has not been able to do anything for a long time.
  10. Xenofont 25 February 2020 11: 36 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    In existing realities, Assad fails to create a full-fledged combat-ready army, for the hat-wise mentality wins. How many young men are sitting on hookahs or engaged in trafficking when a war is near. The philosophy of opportunism dominates in the society there: like, and you can live with the Igiloids.

Граница Турции и Сирии: сможет ли Асад вернуть над ней контроль?


Помешать турецкой интервенции в Сирии может взятие под контроль сирийскими войсками границы с Турцией. Попробуем разобраться, насколько вероятен данный сценарий развития событий в обозримом будущем.


Сегодня турецкие войска нарушают государственный суверенитет Сирии, находясь на ее территории вопреки воле Дамаска. Более того, турецкие военные фактически вступили в войну против сирийских правительственных войск, встав на сторону вооруженных формирований, оперирующих в Идлибе. Но Сирийская арабская армия продолжает с российской помощью теснить боевиков.

Одна из главных целей турецкого военного присутствия – установить контроль над приграничными территориями. В Анкаре считают, что это необходимо, во-первых, для защиты Турции от вооруженных формирований сирийских курдов, а во-вторых утверждают, что в защите от правительства Башара Асада нуждаются туркмены и арабы-сунниты, проживающие на севере Сирии. Кроме того, в Турции много говорят и о гуманитарной катастрофе в Идлибе, которая привела к многочисленному притоку беженцев на турецкую границу.

Для Дамаска же главное – восстановить свой суверенитет над северными территориями, которые ему сегодня неподконтрольны. Для того чтобы выйти на сирийско-турецкую границу и полностью восстановить контроль над ней, правительственным войскам придется решить вопрос аж с тремя своими противниками: радикальными формированиями в Идлибе, курдским ополчением и регулярными вооруженными силами Турции. Последняя задача – самая сложная.

Если бы Турция не поддерживала боевиков в Идлибе, то сирийские войска давно бы их разгромили. Но боевики получают самое разнообразное вооружение от Турции, вплоть до бронетранспортеров и танков. Да и сами турецкие войска уже наносили удары по позициям сирийских правительственных войск.

Военный потенциал Сирии и Турции в настоящее время несопоставим. Несмотря на то, что сирийская армия воюет давно и обладает большим боевым опытом, вооруженные силы Турции имеют хорошее оружие, свежий и неплохо подготовленный личный состав. Наконец, они намного многочисленнее.

Сейчас Анкара сосредоточила очень внушительные силы на границе с Сирией. Не зря на границе недавно побывали министр обороны Турции Хулуси Акар и начальник Генерального штаба генерал Яшар Гюлер. Они проинспектировали личный состав турецких войск, проверив их боеготовность.

Оттеснить турецкие войска к границе и вытеснить их на территорию Турции Сирии пока не под силу. Тем более что по мере более активных действий Сирийской арабской армии Турция будет перебрасывать в приграничные районы все новые и новые подразделения, военную технику. Единственная надежда для сирийцев связана с помощью со стороны России, но Москва не будет ввязываться в полномасштабный вооруженный конфликт с Турцией, пусть и на сирийской территории.

Поэтому можно предсказать такое развитие событий. Скорее всего, вопрос о присутствии турецких войск в Сирии будет решаться на переговорах представителей Анкары и Москвы. И здесь все зависит от того, на какие взаимные уступки и, наоборот, решительные действия готовы Реджеп Эрдоган и Владимир Путин. Не исключено, что турецкие войска могут отойти назад, к границе, но их присутствие на сирийской территории не закончится.

Полный вывод войск с территории Сирии стал бы серьезнейшим политическим поражением для Реджепа Эрдогана. Тем более что турки, похоже, закрепляются в оккупированных сирийских районах надолго: вводят в оборот свою валюту, открывают учебные заведения с преподаванием на турецком языке. Восстановление контроля Дамаска над этими территориями стало бы крахом неоосманистских амбиций Эрдогана, и он на такое развитие событий, разумеется, никогда не согласится. Силой же вывести войска Сирия Турцию не заставит.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Аэродромный 25 февраля 2020 05:36 Новый
    • 3
    • 2
    +1
    Сегодня турецкие войска нарушают государственный суверенитет Сирии, находясь на ее территории вопреки воле Дамаска
    там "из приглашённых" вообще только наши.
    1. Stas157 25 февраля 2020 08:18 Новый
      • 9
      • 2
      +7
      Граница Турции и Сирии: сможет ли Асад вернуть над ней контроль?

      Сможет. Если Кремль под турками не прогнётся.
  2. Мар.Тира 25 февраля 2020 05:37 Новый
    • 7
    • 4
    +3
    Пока не сможет.Как и Голанскими высотами,придёться терпеть ,накапливать силы и авторитет.Думаю в последствии эти территории можно будет вернуть.А вообще всё в этом мире относительно.Одни государства возникают,другие исчезают если показывают свою нежизнеспособность.Одни евреи живучи ,их давят а они в другом месте вылазят.
    1. Маки Авелльевич 25 февраля 2020 07:29 Новый
      • 1
      • 2
      -1
      Цитата: Мар.Тира
      Одни государства возникают,другие исчезают если показывают свою нежизнеспособность.Одни евреи живучи ,их давят а они в другом месте вылазят.


      Мартира, не теряйте ндежды.
      1. Мар.Тира 25 февраля 2020 07:34 Новый
        • 5
        • 2
        +3
        Цитата: Маки Авелльевич
        Мартира, не теряйте ндежды.

        Да это я на примере выживаемости акцентировал внимание.Так что гордиться вам нужно,что я это сказал.Вы везде влезете,всем подмажете,поэтому и выживаете в отличии от других народов не умеющих жертвовать собой ради выживания как русские воины например.
        1. Маки Авелльевич 25 февраля 2020 07:43 Новый
          • 1
          • 4
          -3
          Цитата: Мар.Тира
          Да это я на примере выживаемости акцентировал внимание.Так что гордиться вам нужно,что я это сказал.

          может быть и не так понял, но выбор слова " вылазят " подталкивает к конотациям негативным.

          а так да. евреи прошли большое количество войн и несчастий, страшных поражений и побед за последние несколько т. лет.
          селекция безжалостная, в результате которой был выведен Еврей выживающий по латински.
  3. rocket757 25 февраля 2020 06:41 Новый
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Всё взаимосвязано.
    Попытка уничтожения государства Сирии, пришло извне, хотя и внутринние противоречия этому поспособствовали.
    Сейчас, момент восстановление государства и восстановления мирной жизни, это тоже от внешних "игроков" зависит ....
    А намерения у тех, внешних, РАЗНЫЕ!
    1. роман66 25 февраля 2020 07:39 Новый
      • 5
      • 2
      +3
      Вить hi , а где же миролюбцы из ООН, интересно знать
      1. rocket757 25 февраля 2020 07:46 Новый
        • 3
        • 2
        +1
        Привет Роман soldier
        ООНушка, если не стало ещё ругательным, то осталось не долго. По делам.
  4. Гена84 25 февраля 2020 07:25 Новый
    • 6
    • 1
    +5
    Сирия пока не сможет вернуть под свой контроль границу с Турцией. Сил у Сирии на это не хватит. Россия не пойдёт на открытый конфликт с Турцией. Мы будем вести с турками переговоры и возможно договорился, что часть территории Сирии останется под контролем, а Турция пойдёт нам на уступки в иных вопросах.
    1. papandopala 25 февраля 2020 08:41 Новый
      • 1
      • 7
      -6
      Цитата: Гена84
      Сирия пока не сможет вернуть под свой контроль границу с Турцией. Сил у Сирии на это не хватит. Россия не пойдёт на открытый конфликт с Турцией. Мы будем вести с турками переговоры и возможно договорился, что часть территории Сирии останется под контролем, а Турция пойдёт нам на уступки в иных вопросах.

      А может быть и наоборот Чтобы остановить Москву, Анкара закроет пролив Босфор» это перевешивает все и туристов, и турецкий поток и АЭС <ПОМИДОРЫ >И С400 не чего так получилась много ходовачка https://mk-turkey.ru/blog/povestka/2020/02/24/ostanovit-moskvu-idlib-sr.html
  5. alta 25 февраля 2020 07:30 Новый
    • 3
    • 6
    -3
    Цитата: Мар.Тира
    .Одни евреи живучи ,их давят а они в другом месте вылазят.

    Вы оскорбляете христианство, которые молятся еврею ....
    Дева Мария Пресвятая была еврейка. И Иисус был еврей.
    Иоанн Креститель, совершивший первое крещение святое, был еврей.
    И все четыре автора Евангелий были евреи. И все двенадцать апостолов.
    1. роман66 25 февраля 2020 07:38 Новый
      • 5
      • 1
      +4
      да-да! ибо было сказано:
  6. Livonetc 25 февраля 2020 07:45 Новый
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Поясните пожалуйста по поводу заявленного в статье, как качество турецкой армии,, "свежий личный состав"?
    Что конкретно это значит?
  7. СанСаныч Гусев 25 февраля 2020 08:52 Новый
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    Амаду надо объявить что Сирия создаст на территории Турции 30 -Ти километровую зону для защиты курдов!
  8. Hermit21 25 февраля 2020 08:59 Новый
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    Сирия, может, не заставит. А вот имперские космонавты уже с неделю осколочно-фугасно намекают туркам, что пора бы и честь знать
  9. akunin 25 февраля 2020 09:02 Новый
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Граница Турции и Сирии: сможет ли Асад вернуть над ней контроль?
    вопрос поставлен не правильно
    Граница Турции и Сирии: сможет ли Путин вернуть над ней контроль?
    асад уже давно ни чего не может.
  10. Xenofont 25 февраля 2020 11:36 Новый
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    В существующих реалиях, Асаду полноценную боеспособную армию создать не удается, ибо хатоскрайний менталитет побеждает. Сколько молодых мужиков сидят по кальянным или занимаются торговлишкой, когда рядом идет война. Философия приспособленчества доминирует в тамошнем обществе: типа, и при игилоидах жить можно.