Against Iran or Saudi Arabia: Why did the US deploy F-22s to Qatar?


The US air base in Qatar remains one of the main bastions of the US military presence in the Middle East. In the summer of 2019, just in the midst of a deteriorating relationship with Iran, 12 F-22 aircraft were transferred there. Why: against Iran or as a warning to Saudi Arabia?


The US Air Force Base El Udeid in Qatar plays a very important role in maintaining control over the situation in the region. It houses the headquarters of the Central Command of the US Armed Forces, the US Air Force Command, as well as the Royal Air Force of the United Kingdom. The total number of personnel of American troops at the air base is estimated at about 10 thousand people. At the same time on the runway of the base can accommodate up to 100 aircraft.

As soon as Iranian-American relations deteriorated in the summer of 2019, the Pentagon decided to transfer 12 F-22 aircraft to Qatar. The first fifth-generation fighter, the F-22 began to be mass-produced in 2001. Despite the fact that its production was discontinued ten years later, the fighter is still actively used by the U.S. Air Force, including in the Middle East.

On June 27, 2019, aircraft belonging to the 1st Fighter Wing and the 192nd Fighter Wing of the Virginia National Guard were transferred to Qatar and remained on the territory of this Arab monarchy until early February 2020. On February 4, aircraft arrived at an air base in Spain, and then were relocated to Langley, USA. It turns out that in Qatar, American fighters were present for more than six months, more likely performing tasks to demonstrate the military power of the United States.

Our country called, and we responded to the deployment in a short time, sending the F-22 to Qatar for the first time in stories,

- Colonel David Lopez, the commander of the 1st fighter wing, told reporters about the withdrawal of American aircraft from the air base in El Udeida.

Why did you choose the F-22 when sending American planes to Qatar? Perhaps the main reason is the multifunctionality of Raptors, which he demonstrated, including five years earlier, during the fighting against the Islamists in Syria.

A multifunctional aircraft is capable of not only attacking air targets and enemy positions, but also counteracting air reconnaissance, covering troops and rear support facilities. Amid worsening relations with Iran, the presence of such aircraft in close proximity to the Iranian borders significantly increased the power of the American coalition.


Of course, the position of the Qatari authorities also played a role. They are interested in expanding the American presence in the country as much as possible. Indeed, the Qatari armed forces, despite generous funding, are very small and are unlikely to protect the country from more powerful neighbors in the person of the same Iran or even Saudi Arabia.

Despite some disagreements with both the United States and a number of states in the region that are Washington's strategic allies, Qatar generally welcomes the presence of the US military at the base in El Udeida. At the beginning of 2019, it became known about the offer of Qatar to take on the costs of expanding the American air base.

The Minister of Defense of Qatar, Khaled bin Muhammad al-Attiyah, talking about the project to expand the base, said that it is planned to build new barracks, but in addition, Qatar insists on changing the status of the base - they see El Udeid among the U.S. military bases in the Middle East.


Without American military assistance, the Qatar army will still not be able to defend the country

Here you can draw a certain parallel with the countries of Eastern Europe. True, Qatar, unlike Latvia or Estonia, has money, and considerable, but the emirate’s defense depends entirely on support from Western patrons - the United States and Great Britain. Qatar is well aware that without the presence of an American military base, the country's security will be in jeopardy, given the difficult relationship with almost all its neighbors - from Iran to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

By the way, Saudi Arabia and the UAE have repeatedly advocated the withdrawal of US troops and a military base from Qatar. At the same time, representatives of the kingdom and emirates explained their position by the fact that Qatar supports terrorist groups operating in Syria and Libya. For the Qatari authorities, in turn, the base is a guarantee against a possible invasion of the troops of Saudi Arabia and the UAE.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Alien From 25 February 2020 20: 02 New
    • 3
    • 2
    +1
    It is very unlikely that the beetles for military operations threw them, for the show off as usual ....
  2. Range 25 February 2020 20: 03 New
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    Why did you choose the F-22 when sending American planes to Qatar? And FIG knows!
    But away from the S-400.
    1. NEXUS 25 February 2020 23: 43 New
      • 3
      • 3
      0
      Quote: Spectrum
      Why did you choose the F-22 when sending American planes to Qatar? And FIG knows!

      Because for the USA it’s a chumodan without a pen. And it’s a pity to throw it away and bear it hard. How many battle-worthy dinosaurs remain in operation? Taking into account catastrophes, typhoons, banal cannibalism (since there is no assembly line, and therefore no spare parts) ... according to the most optimistic estimates of 100 pieces. Now let's add to this the eternal problems with software, coverage, and flyers , oxygen system, etc., as well as the cost of an hour of operation with the total cost of this device and it turns out ... that there is no exhaust from this. The lizard is outdated godlessly, and it does not have a full replacement for mattresses.
      1. Range 26 February 2020 01: 12 New
        • 1
        • 4
        -3
        NEXUS, do not take it for flattery, but I love to read your comments - biting and accurate. Thanks! from me plus. Duc, plus to the plus to all this foot and mouth disease, in addition, also naked .., t.b. Without clothing. And it seems to him that no one sees his flabby Faberge. lol This is a type of elusive JOE.
    2. GAF
      GAF 26 February 2020 19: 53 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: Spectrum
      But away from the S-400

      And closer to Iran. At present, 200 km. - not the distance for the Persians compared with what it was 15-20 years ago. "Raptor" may not fly up.
  3. The comment was deleted.
    1. Nikolay3 25 February 2020 20: 24 New
      • 4
      • 4
      0
      Quote: 013
      And the plane is so stunning as if God himself passed his hands over this miracle.)

      And why is he so good? Just do not write that stealth. There are no invisible aircraft in nature, but there are subtle ones.
      1. The comment was deleted.
        1. kpd
          kpd 25 February 2020 21: 31 New
          • 1
          • 1
          0
          The very first pancake was lumpy and it was called F-117.
    2. NEXUS 25 February 2020 23: 44 New
      • 3
      • 4
      -1
      Quote: 013
      And the plane is so stunning

      It was. About 15 years ago.
      1. Ka-52 26 February 2020 08: 25 New
        • 2
        • 2
        0
        NEXUS (Andrey) Yesterday, 23:44 NEW
        And the plane is so stunning

        It was. About 15 years ago.

        Well, not true. the functionality of the F-22 to gain air supremacy is now one of the most serious in the world. And he has few equal competitors in this business, very few.
  4. Shahno 25 February 2020 20: 11 New
    • 1
    • 6
    -5
    Qatari generally well done. .. Often they helped us. And they don’t leave their own.
    1. Sergey Sfiedu 29 February 2020 20: 35 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      "Qatari generally well done ... Often they helped us." What is true is true. Our ambassador, for example, was beaten to a state of disability, their proxy our passenger plane over. Sinai was blown up. God save us from such "friends."
  5. Jack O'Neill 25 February 2020 20: 21 New
    • 3
    • 4
    -1
    The US air base in Qatar remains one of the main bastions of the US military presence in the Middle East. In the summer of 2019, just in the midst of a deteriorating relationship with Iran, 12 F-22 aircraft were transferred there. Why: against Iran or as a warning to Saudi Arabia?


    It is obvious that it is against Iran. Saudi Arabia them Raptors for what to scare?
    And Qatar is located close to Iran, much closer than Saudi Arabia, which means that efficiency will be higher.

    Why did you choose the F-22 when sending American planes to Qatar? Perhaps the main reason is the multifunctionality of Raptors, which he demonstrated, including five years earlier, during the fighting against the Islamists in Syria.

    The choice fell on the Reptor because it is an interceptor. This is to shoot down Iranian planes.
    As a multi-functional fighter-bomber, the F-35 is much better, and for these tasks it would have been placed instead of the Raptor.
  6. cniza 25 February 2020 20: 29 New
    • 5
    • 2
    +3
    By the way, Saudi Arabia and the UAE have repeatedly advocated the withdrawal of US troops and a military base from Qatar. At the same time, representatives of the kingdom and emirates explained their position by the fact that Qatar supports terrorist groups operating in Syria and Libya. For the Qatari authorities, in turn, the base is a guarantee against a possible invasion of the troops of Saudi Arabia and the UAE.


    What kind of snake ball is there, guess who will bite someone ...
  7. The comment was deleted.
  8. TatarinSSSR 25 February 2020 21: 39 New
    • 7
    • 3
    +4
    Whoever says anything and as if in his chest did not drum with a jingo, but the F-22 Raptor is really a dangerous plane. This is a truly unique car. It is clear that it is insanely expensive and very problematic in maintenance and operation, but ... Precisely as the perfection of technology is really a breakthrough aircraft not only for its time - in 2001, it had no equal in the air at long and medium distances. Of course, it is not particularly suitable for close combat and dog landfills. But even for the wealthy United States, he was ruinous for money. And now why not use it - after all, airplanes are also aging. And it’s necessary to squeeze out the benefit.
    1. Nikolay3 25 February 2020 21: 50 New
      • 3
      • 4
      -1
      Quote: TatarinSSSR (Tatarin)
      Whoever says anything and as if in his chest did not drum with a jingo, but the F-22 Raptor is really a dangerous plane. This is a truly unique car.

      What is the uniqueness of the F-22? Your above, vis-a-vis, couldn’t say anything specifically - age makes itself felt.
      Quote: TatarinSSSR (Tatarin)
      Just like the perfection of technology - this is really a breakthrough aircraft not only for its time - in 2001, it had no equal in the air at long and medium distances.

      Now the F-22 is not equal? More specifically.
      Are you a Russophobe quack? If there are patriots ... I am waiting for an answer, otherwise - you are a talker! And not from Russia!
      1. Sergey Sfiedu 29 February 2020 20: 40 New
        • 1
        • 1
        0
        I would also like specifics. But ... the first thing that comes to mind - is the Su-57 already in the army? Is there already a radar with AFAR on the Su-35 and is it made using stealth technology? So, yes - "Raptor" - at least a dangerous opponent.
  9. knn54 25 February 2020 21: 40 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The United States is not satisfied with the normal relations of Qatar with Iran.
  10. rocket757 25 February 2020 22: 00 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    BV is a big tangle of hot problems.
    In short, the adder is still one.
    Where, well, it still nests to the one who imagines himself a "great spellcasters".

Военное обозрение

Против Ирана или Саудовской Аравии: для чего США перебрасывали F-22 в Катар

18

Авиабаза США в Катаре остается одним из главных оплотов американского военного присутствия на Ближнем Востоке. Летом 2019 года, как раз в разгар обострения отношений с Ираном, туда были переброшены 12 самолетов F-22. Для чего: против Ирана или же как предупреждение Саудовской Аравии?


Военно-воздушная база США Эль-Удейд в Катаре играет очень важную роль в поддержании контроля над ситуацией в регионе. Здесь размещаются штаб Центрального командования Вооруженных сил США, Командования ВВС США, а также авиагруппа Королевских ВВС Великобритании. Общая численность личного состава американских военнослужащих на авиабазе оценивается примерно в 10 тысяч человек. Одновременно на взлетной полосе базы могут разместиться до 100 самолетов.

Как только летом 2019 года обострились ирано-американские отношения, в Пентагоне решили перебросить в Катар 12 самолетов F-22. Первый истребитель пятого поколения, F-22 стал серийно выпускаться в 2001 году. Несмотря на то, что его производство было прекращено спустя десять лет, истребитель до сих пор активно используется американскими военно-воздушными силами, в том числе и на Ближнем Востоке.

27 июня 2019 года самолеты, принадлежащие 1-му истребительному крылу и 192-му истребительному крылу Национальной гвардии Вирджинии, были переброшены в Катар и находились на территории этой арабской монархии до начала февраля 2020 года. 4 февраля самолеты прибыли на авиабазу в Испании, а затем были передислоцированы в Лэнгли, США. Получается, что в Катаре американские истребители присутствовали более полугода, выполняя скорее задачи по демонстрации военной мощи Соединенных Штатов.

Наша страна призвала, и мы отреагировали на развертывание в короткие сроки, отправив F-22 в Катар впервые в истории,

- заявил командир 1-го истребительного крыла полковник Дэвид Лопес, рассказывая журналистам о выводе американских самолетов с военно-воздушной базы в Эль-Удейде.

Почему при отправке американских самолетов в Катар выбор пал именно на F-22? Наверное, главная причина – многофункциональность Raptors, продемонстрированная им, в том числе, и пятью годами ранее – во время боевых действий против исламистов в Сирии.

Многофункциональный самолет способен не только атаковать воздушные цели и позиции противника, но и противодействовать воздушной разведке, прикрывать войска и объекты тылового обеспечения. На фоне обострения отношений с Ираном присутствие таких самолетов в непосредственной близости от иранских границ значительно увеличивало мощь американской коалиции.


Конечно, свою роль сыграла и позиция катарских властей. Они заинтересованы в как можно большем расширении американского присутствия в стране. Ведь катарские вооруженные силы, несмотря на щедрое финансирование, весьма малочисленны и вряд ли могут защитить страну от более сильных соседей в лице того же Ирана или даже Саудовской Аравии.

Несмотря на определенные разногласия как с США, так и с рядом государств региона, являющихся стратегическими союзниками Вашингтона, в Катаре в целом приветствуют нахождение американских военных на базе в Эль-Удейде. В начале 2019 года стало известно о предложении Катара взять на себя расходы по расширению американской военно-воздушной базы.

Министр обороны Катара Халед бен Мухаммед аль-Аттыйя, говоря о проекте расширения базы, рассказал, что планируется строительство новых казарм, но кроме того Катар настаивает на изменении статуса базы – в эмирате видят Эль-Удейд в числе постоянных военных баз США на Ближнем Востоке.


Без американской военной помощи армия Катара все равно не сможет защитить страну

Здесь можно провести определенную параллель со странами Восточной Европы. Правда, у Катара, в отличие от Латвии или Эстонии, есть деньги, и немалые, но обороноспособность эмирата всецело зависит от поддержки со стороны западных покровителей – США и Великобритании. В Катаре прекрасно понимают, что без присутствия американской военной базы безопасность страны окажется под угрозой, учитывая непростые отношения практически со всеми соседями – от Ирана до Саудовской Аравии и Объединенных Арабских Эмиратов.

Кстати, Саудовская Аравия и ОАЭ неоднократно выступали за вывод американских войск и военной базы из Катара. При этом представители королевства и эмиратов объясняли свою позицию тем, что Катар поддерживает террористические группировки, орудующие в Сирии и в Ливии. Для катарских властей, в свою очередь, база является гарантией против возможного вторжения войск Саудовской Аравии и ОАЭ.
Автор:
18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Alien From
    Alien From 25 февраля 2020 20:02 Новый
    +1
    Очень маловероятно, что жуки для боевых действий их перебросили, для понта как обычно....
  2. Спектр
    Спектр 25 февраля 2020 20:03 Новый
    0
    Почему при отправке американских самолетов в Катар выбор пал именно на F-22? А фиг его знает!
    Зато подальше от С-400.
    1. НЕКСУС
      НЕКСУС 25 февраля 2020 23:43 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Спектр
      Почему при отправке американских самолетов в Катар выбор пал именно на F-22? А фиг его знает!

      Потому что для США -это чумодан без ручки.И выбросить жалко и нести тяжело. Сколько боеспособных ящеров в строю осталось?С учетом катастроф,тайфунов,банального канибализма(так как линии сборки нет,а значит и запчастей нет)...по самым оптимистичным подсчетам штук 100. Теперь прибавим к этому вечные проблемы с ПО,покрытием,летунами ,кислородной системой и тд,а так же стоимость часа эксплуатации с суммарной стоимостью этого девайса и получается...что выхлопа то от этого нет. Ящер устарел безбожно,и полноценной замены у матрассов ему нет.
      1. Спектр
        Спектр 26 февраля 2020 01:12 Новый
        -3
        НЕКСУС, не сочти за лесть, но обожаю читать твои комменты - хлесткие и точные. Спасибо! от меня плюс. Дык, плюс к плюсу ко всему этот ящур, вдобавок, еще и голый .., т.б. без одежды. И ему кажется, что его дряблые фаберже никто не видит. lol Это типа неуловимый ДЖО.
    2. GAF
      GAF 26 февраля 2020 19:53 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Спектр
      Зато подальше от С-400

      И поближе к Ирану. По нынешним временам 200 км. - не расстояние для персов по сравнению с тем, что было лет 15-20 тому назад. "Рапторы" могут и не взлететь.
  3. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Николай3
      Николай3 25 февраля 2020 20:24 Новый
      0
      Цитата: 013
      А самолёт, на столько сногсшибателен, будто бы сам Бог провел руками по этому чуду.)

      И чем-же он так хорош? Только не пишите, что стелс. Невидимых самолётов в природе нет, а есть малозаметные.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
        1. kpd
          kpd 25 февраля 2020 21:31 Новый
          0
          Самый первый блин был комом и назывался он F-117.
    2. НЕКСУС
      НЕКСУС 25 февраля 2020 23:44 Новый
      -1
      Цитата: 013
      А самолёт, на столько сногсшибателен,

      БЫЛ. Лет 15 назад.
      1. Ка-52
        Ка-52 26 февраля 2020 08:25 Новый
        0
        НЕКСУС (Андрей) Вчера, 23:44 НОВЫЙ
        А самолёт, на столько сногсшибателен,

        БЫЛ. Лет 15 назад.

        ну не правда. функциональные возможности F-22 по завоеванию господства в воздухе и сейчас являются одними из самых серьезных в мире. И равных конкурентов у него в этом деле мало, совсем мало.
  4. Shahno
    Shahno 25 февраля 2020 20:11 Новый
    -5
    Катарцы вообще молодцы. .. Часто нам помогали. И своих не бросают.
    1. Сергей Сфыеду
      Сергей Сфыеду 29 февраля 2020 20:35 Новый
      0
      "Катарцы вообще молодцы. .. Часто нам помогали". Что верно, то верно. Нашего посла, например избили до состояния инвалидности, их прокси наш пассажирский самолет над.Синаем взорвали. Убереги нас, Боже, от таких "друзей".
  5. Джек О’Нилл
    Джек О’Нилл 25 февраля 2020 20:21 Новый
    -1
    Авиабаза США в Катаре остается одним из главных оплотов американского военного присутствия на Ближнем Востоке. Летом 2019 года, как раз в разгар обострения отношений с Ираном, туда были переброшены 12 самолетов F-22. Для чего: против Ирана или же как предупреждение Саудовской Аравии?


    Ведь очевидно, что против Ирана. Саудовскую Аравию им Рэпторами за каким пугать?
    Да и Катар находится впритык к Ирану, куда ближе чем Саудовская Аравия, а значит и оперативность будет выше.

    Почему при отправке американских самолетов в Катар выбор пал именно на F-22? Наверное, главная причина – многофункциональность Raptors, продемонстрированная им, в том числе, и пятью годами ранее – во время боевых действий против исламистов в Сирии.

    Выбора на Рэптор пал потому, что это - перехватчик. Это чтобы иранские самолеты сбивать.
    Как многофункциональный истребитель-бомбардировщик - F-35 куда лучше, и для этих задач разместили бы его, а не Рэптор.
  6. cniza
    cniza 25 февраля 2020 20:29 Новый
    +3
    Кстати, Саудовская Аравия и ОАЭ неоднократно выступали за вывод американских войск и военной базы из Катара. При этом представители королевства и эмиратов объясняли свою позицию тем, что Катар поддерживает террористические группировки, орудующие в Сирии и в Ливии. Для катарских властей, в свою очередь, база является гарантией против возможного вторжения войск Саудовской Аравии и ОАЭ.


    Какой же там змеиный клубок , гадай кто кого укусит...
  7. Комментарий был удален.
  8. TatarinSSSR
    TatarinSSSR 25 февраля 2020 21:39 Новый
    +4
    Кто бы что ни говорил и как бы в грудь не барабанил ура-кряканием, но Ф-22 Раптор реально опасный самолёт. Это действительно уникальная машина. Понятное дело, что он безумно дорогой и очень проблемный в обслуживании и эксплуатации, но... Именно как совершенство технологий - это действительно прорывной самолёт не только для своего времени - в 2001 году ему не было равных в воздухе на дальней и средней дистанции. Конечно для ближнего боя и собачей свалки он не особо годится. Но даже для богатых США он оказался разорителен по деньгам. И сейчас почему бы его не использовать - ведь самолёты тоже стареют. А пользу выжать из него надо.
    1. Николай3
      Николай3 25 февраля 2020 21:50 Новый
      -1
      Цитата: TatarinSSSR (Tatarin)
      Кто бы что ни говорил и как бы в грудь не барабанил ура-кряканием, но Ф-22 Раптор реально опасный самолёт. Это действительно уникальная машина.

      В чём уникальность Ф-22? Ваш выше, визави, ничего не смог конкретно сказать - возраст даёт себя знать.
      Цитата: TatarinSSSR (Tatarin)
      Именно как совершенство технологий - это действительно прорывной самолёт не только для своего времени - в 2001 году ему не было равных в воздухе на дальней и средней дистанции.

      Сейчас Ф-22 не равных? Конкретней.
      Вы русофоб-крякалка? Если есть патриоты... Я жду ответ, иначе - вы болтун! И не с России!
      1. Сергей Сфыеду
        Сергей Сфыеду 29 февраля 2020 20:40 Новый
        0
        Тоже хотелось бы конкретики. Но... первое что приходит в голову - Су-57 уже в войсках? На Су-35 уже стоит РЛС с АФАР и он выполнен по технологии "стэлс"? Так что, да - "Раптор" - как минимум опасный противник.
  9. knn54
    knn54 25 февраля 2020 21:40 Новый
    +2
    США не устраивают нормальные отношения Катара с Ираном.
  10. rocket757
    rocket757 25 февраля 2020 22:00 Новый
    +1
    БВ большой клубок горячих проблем.
    Короче, гадючник ещё тот.
    Где, ж ещё угнездится тому, кто себя "великим заклинатели" возомнил.