US military bases abroad: vulnerabilities


Currently, the United States occupies first place in the world in the number of military bases outside its territory and the number of troops deployed on them. But many US military facilities abroad are quite vulnerable to a potential adversary.


Near East


One of the “hottest” regions of the planet where US military bases are located is the Middle East. At one time, the United States actually replaced Great Britain, which until the middle of the twentieth century had played a dominant role in Middle Eastern politics, and acquired military bases in the Persian Gulf region. Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Kuwait, UAE, Oman - all of these countries host US military facilities.

The U.S. Air Force also uses the Incirlik Air Base in Turkey, which despite disagreements remains an important US partner in NATO in the Eastern Mediterranean. In addition, US troops are deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan.

It is the Middle East US bases in the Persian Gulf region and in Afghanistan that are the most vulnerable to attacks from such a potential enemy of Washington as Iran.

The author of FARS News Agency, Abdollah Ebadi, names 8 key US military bases against which Iran can strike. Among them in the first place is the base of the Fifth flotilla US Navy in Bahrain. In the western part of the capital of Bahrain, Manama, there is a pier with American destroyers and boats, next to the sea airfield aviation US Navy, administrative buildings and barracks.

The second target is the Sheikh Isa air base in Bahrain, where the U.S. Air Force planes are located, which are part of the 379th U.S. Air Force Corps, considered one of the most combat-ready in military aviation.

The third vulnerable base is El Udeid in Qatar. Here is the American center for the preparation and planning of air operations in the Middle East, the aircraft of the US Air Force are located. For all its security, the geographic proximity to Iran also makes El Udeid an easy target for Iranian missiles.

The fourth facility, also located near Iran, is the base of Ali As-Salem in Kuwait. The fifth facility is the Ahmad al-Jabir air base in Kuwait. The sixth is the Az-Zafare air base in the United Arab Emirates, and the seventh is the U.S. Navy Tumrit base in Oman, which performs strategic missions to maintain an American military presence in the Indian Ocean. Finally, the Iranian author calls the US military base at Bagram in Afghanistan the eighth object, where transport planes, units and units of the US Army and Marine Corps are deployed.

Of course, in addition to the listed permanent military bases, in the event of a conflict, the American military contingent in Iraq will also be hit by Iranian missiles. Most likely, it is he who will take the first blows. American troops in Iraq even today, almost two decades after the overthrow of Saddam Hussein, cannot feel safe in this country.

East Asia


In the Asia-Pacific region, US military bases are located in Japan and South Korea. Interestingly, in each of these countries there are bases of all types of US Armed Forces - the army, and the navy, and aviation, and the marine corps. In addition, US warships cruise regularly in the western Pacific.

But bases in both Japan and the Republic of Korea in the event of a large-scale armed conflict in this region of the planet can become a target for missile attacks of three neighboring states, which are in difficult relations with the United States. It is about China, North Korea and Russia. In Japan, the main US military bases are traditionally located on Okinawa - one of the islands of the Ryukyu archipelago, which is much closer to the Chinese coast than the rest of Japan. Some conclusions can also be drawn from this.

Eastern Europe


Finally, in Eastern and Central Europe, US military bases could be targeted by Russian missiles. First of all, this refers to the new military facilities in Poland and Romania, where the United States is deploying anti-ballistic missiles. American military facilities in Germany and Norway may also be under attack. The constant presence of US and NATO forces in the Baltic republics in the event of a conflict also does not bode well for Riga, Tallinn and Vilnius.

So the presence of numerous military bases and developed military infrastructure abroad is not yet a guarantee of dominance for the United States. Moreover, an extensive network of military bases is more likely to create additional problems for the Pentagon, since the question arises of ensuring the security of bases and personnel, and the solution to this issue lies, first of all, on the political plane.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Honest Citizen 3 March 2020 17: 32 New
    • 4
    • 4
    0
    Ensuring the security of a military base abroad of your country is a headache for all countries, and it does not matter whether it is the United States or Russia.
  2. cniza 3 March 2020 17: 43 New
    • 5
    • 3
    +2
    The constant presence of US and NATO forces in the Baltic republics in the event of a conflict also does not bode well for Riga, Tallinn and Vilnius.


    Let them think who and how called them trouble ...
  3. DMB 75 3 March 2020 17: 49 New
    • 6
    • 2
    +4
    Military bases abroad of America, these are the problems of the "Indians" ...
  4. Ros 56 3 March 2020 17: 53 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    If only the striped base suffered, and to hell with them, but the local landscape, together with the population, would suffer very well, this is just the price for the stupidity, greed and stupidity of its leadership. And what to do - such is la la vie. This is a question of the security of Poles, tribals, Japanese, and other near-minded Papuans of the modern world.
  5. knn54 3 March 2020 19: 54 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Military technology does not stand still.

Военные базы США за рубежом: вопросы уязвимости


В настоящее время США занимают первое место в мире по числу военных баз за пределами своей территории и численности дислоцирующихся на них военнослужащих. Но многие американские военные объекты за рубежом довольно уязвимы для потенциального противника.


Ближний Восток


Один из самых «горячих» регионов планеты, где расположены американские военные базы – Ближний Восток. В свое время США фактически сменили Великобританию, до середины ХХ века игравшую доминирующую роль в ближневосточной политике, и обзавелись военными базами в регионе Персидского залива. Саудовская Аравия, Бахрейн, Катар, Кувейт, ОАЭ, Оман – во всех этих странах размещаются военные объекты США.

Американские ВВС также используют авиабазу Инджирлик в Турции, которая несмотря на разногласия остается важным партнером США по НАТО в Восточном Средиземноморье. Кроме того, американские войска дислоцируются в Ираке и Афганистане.

Именно ближневосточные базы США в регионе Персидского залива и в Афганистане являются наиболее уязвимыми для ударов со стороны такого потенциального противника Вашингтона как Иран.

Автор FARS News Agency Абдоллах Эбади называет 8 ключевых военных баз США, по которым Иран способен нанести удары. Среди них на первом месте – база Пятой флотилии ВМС США в Бахрейне. В западной части столицы Бахрейна Манамы находится причал с американскими эсминцами и катерами, рядом – аэродром морской авиации ВМС США, административные здания и казармы.

Вторая цель – авиабаза Шейх-Иса в том же Бахрейне, где дислоцируются самолеты американских ВВС, входящие в состав 379-го авиационного корпуса ВВС США, считающегося одним из наиболее боеспособных в военной авиации.

Третья уязвимая база – Эль-Удэйд в Катаре. Здесь находится американский центр по подготовке и планированию воздушных операций на Ближнем Востоке, размещаются самолеты ВВС США. При всей ее защищенности географическая близость от Ирана также делает Эль-Удэйд легкой мишенью для иранских ракет.

Четвертый объект, также находящийся недалеко от Ирана – база Али-Ас-Салем в Кувейте. Пятый объект - авиационная база Ахмад-Аль-Джабир в Кувейте. Шестой - авиационная база Аз-Зафаре в Объединенных Арабских Эмиратах, а седьмой – база ВМС США Тумрит в Омане, которая выполняет стратегические задачи по обеспечению американского военного присутствия в Индийском океане. Наконец, восьмым объектом иранский автор называет базу ВС США в Баграме в Афганистане, где дислоцируются транспортные самолеты, части и подразделения сухопутных войск и Корпуса морской пехоты США.

Разумеется, помимо перечисленных постоянных военных баз под удар иранских ракет в случае конфликта попадет и американский военный контингент в Ираке. Скорее всего, именно он и примет на себя первые удары. Американские военнослужащие в Ираке даже сегодня, спустя почти два десятилетия после свержения Саддама Хусейна, не могут чувствовать себя в безопасности в этой стране.

Восточная Азия


В Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе американские военные базы расположены в Японии и Южной Корее. Что интересно, в каждой из этих стран есть базы всех видов ВС США – и армии, и флота, и авиации, и морской пехоты. Кроме того, американские военные корабли регулярно курсируют в западной части Тихого океана.

Но базы и в Японии, и в Республике Корея в случае масштабного вооруженного конфликта в этом регионе планеты могут стать мишенью для ракетных ударов сразу трех соседних государств, находящихся в непростых отношениях с США. Речь идет о Китае, КНДР и России. В Японии главные американские военные базы традиционно находятся на Окинаве – одном из островов архипелага Рюкю, который находится гораздо ближе к китайскому побережью, чем остальная Япония. Из этого также можно сделать определенные выводы.

Восточная Европа


Наконец, в Восточной и Центральной Европе американские военные базы могут стать мишенью для российских ракет. Прежде всего, это относится к новым военным объектам в Польше и Румынии, где США размещают средства противоракетной обороны. Под ударом могут оказаться и американские военные объекты в Германии и Норвегии. Постоянное присутствие войск США и НАТО в республиках Прибалтики в случае конфликта также не сулит Риге, Таллину и Вильнюсу ничего хорошего.

Так что наличие многочисленных военных баз и развитой военной инфраструктуры за рубежом еще не является для Соединенных Штатов гарантией доминирования. Более того, разветвленная сеть военных баз скорее создает для Пентагона дополнительные проблемы, поскольку встает вопрос об обеспечении безопасности баз и персонала и решение этого вопроса лежит, прежде всего, в политической плоскости.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Честный Гражданин 3 марта 2020 17:32 Новый
    • 4
    • 4
    0
    Обеспечение безопасности военной базы за рубежом своей страны - да это головная боль для всех стран, и не важно США это или Россия.
  2. cniza 3 марта 2020 17:43 Новый
    • 5
    • 3
    +2
    Постоянное присутствие войск США и НАТО в республиках Прибалтики в случае конфликта также не сулит Риге, Таллину и Вильнюсу ничего хорошего.


    Пусть думают , кто и как накликал им беду...
  3. ДМБ 75 3 марта 2020 17:49 Новый
    • 6
    • 2
    +4
    Военные базы за рубежом Америки,это проблемы "индейцев"...
  4. Ros 56 3 марта 2020 17:53 Новый
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Если бы только базы полосатых пострадали, да хрен с ними, а вот местный ландшафт вместе с населением пострадает и очень здорово, это как раз плата за тупость, жадность и глупость своего руководства. А что поделать - такова се ля ви. Это к вопросу безопасности ляхов, трибалтов, японцев и прочих недалекого ума папуасов современного мира.
  5. knn54 3 марта 2020 19:54 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Военные технологии не стоят на месте.