Boeing FARA: U.S. Army Aviation Reconnaissance Helicopter Project


Boeing introduced the concept of a new reconnaissance helicopter for the US military. The new machine has several advantages and will make up for the existing disadvantage of such a technique.


Introduced by Boeing Helicopter specially designed to meet the needs of the army aviation US Army in reconnaissance aircraft. The composite traction helicopter has one engine, a modular modern cockpit with a reconfigurable large-area display and autonomous capabilities.

According to Mark Cherry, vice president of Phantom Works at Boeing, the proposed helicopter concept is an affordable and fully integrated system for upcoming US Army missions. The company combined the existing experience of helicopter engineering and combat use of helicopters with innovative technologies and advanced analysis, which allowed us to offer a very convincing solution.

If adopted, the FARA helicopter will carry out reconnaissance missions, and will be able to conduct a light attack on enemy positions. It is assumed that it will replace the multi-purpose helicopter Bell OH-58D Kiowa, which was used by the U.S. Army aviation from 1969 to 2016, having gone through many conflicts, starting from the Vietnam War and ending with modern military operations in the Near and Middle East.

It was to replace the Bell OH-58D Kiowa that the FARA reconnaissance aircraft program was launched in 2018. By the way, the tasks of modernizing the FVL (Future Vertical Lift) fleet of airborne aircraft are considered by the US military command as one of the six priority development areas, therefore, financing the project and its implementation promises to be generous.


Boeing FARA Design Project

The command of the ground forces expects from the new reconnaissance and attack helicopter more optimal characteristics than were inherent in its predecessor Bell OH-58 Kiowa. We are talking about increasing cruising speed to 333 km / h and top speed to 380 km / h, survival against air defense systems of Russian and Chinese production, high maneuverability in urban conditions, the ability to hide behind obstacles.

In April 2019, concept development contracts were signed with five companies - Bell Helicopter, Boeing, Sikorsky Aircraft (owned by Lockheed Martin), Karem Aircraft and AVX Aircraft (in partnership with L3Harris Technologies). In 2020, two "finalists" of the competition should be selected, and in 2023, prototypes should already fly to the sky. And only in 2028 the American army will stop its final choice on the best example of the two presented.

Thus, the Boeing concept has serious competitors and it is far from the fact that the responsible officials of the US Department of Defense will ultimately choose the company under consideration. By the way, Boeing rivals have already presented their reconnaissance helicopter projects.

Experts believe that one of the most likely candidates for the role of the new army aviation helicopter will be the Sikorsky Aircraft project, which is already at the stage of a flying prototype and, accordingly, has a certain temporary advantage. However, it is still premature to talk about which project will still win the competition.
Author:
Photos used:
Boeing Corporation
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. gridasov 4 March 2020 10: 17 New
    • 2
    • 3
    -1
    It’s even good that the Americans, as a highly technological advanced country, continue to produce windmills. In Russia, they harness for a long time, but they may understand that it is necessary to change the movers to more efficient ones and move on to the new era of aircraft engines
    1. Mishiko 4 March 2020 10: 22 New
      • 1
      • 1
      0
      Experts believe that one of the most likely candidates for the role of the new army aviation helicopter will be the Sikorsky Aircraft project, which is already at the stage of a flying prototype and, accordingly, has a certain temporary advantage.

      And what is the probability of the probable?
      1. Maksus 4 March 2020 23: 13 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Another reincarnation of Comanche?
  2. rocket757 4 March 2020 10: 34 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Handsome of course, but what about the mood for drones everywhere and everywhere?
    1. bessmertniy 4 March 2020 11: 24 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Indeed, an unmanned version of the device can be both more economical and more promising in use and operation.
      1. rocket757 4 March 2020 12: 03 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        For a scout, there is always a danger and not a joke ... of course, if not in training. here the unmanned option will be the most.
        however, they have everything.
        1. gridasov 4 March 2020 18: 04 New
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          the human brain cannot be replaced by anything for a long time. Therefore, silent movers, high maneuverability and payload are the basis of the prospects for the development of this type of aircraft.
          1. rocket757 4 March 2020 19: 06 New
            • 0
            • 0
            0
            Everything is possible. Different systems can use.
            And yet, automatic systems have their advantages ... they just don’t know how to “think” so far.
      2. Mikhail3 4 March 2020 13: 12 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Indeed, an unmanned version of the device can be both more economical and more promising in use and operation.
        Yeah. True, the Pentagon ranks for some reason did not think of what you instantly comprehended. Why would this be?
  3. Vasily Ponomarev 4 March 2020 11: 17 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    “In April 2019, contracts for the development of concepts were concluded with five companies” - very interesting concepts, just like a selection, as many as five competitors and everyone has interesting designs, take the same valor 280
    1. Vyacheslav Viktorovich 4 March 2020 17: 32 New
      • 0
      • 1
      -1
      I support Bell Invictus - as handsome as Comanche (once upon a time).

  4. Vasily Ponomarev 4 March 2020 11: 18 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Quote: gridasov
    It’s even good that the Americans, as a highly technological advanced country, continue to produce windmills. In Russia, they harness for a long time, but they may understand that it is necessary to change the movers to more efficient ones and move on to the new era of aircraft engines

    Interesting, like everything was written correctly, but you were bombarded, strange, why?
    1. gridasov 4 March 2020 11: 29 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Do not be surprised. We are all different. On the pages of the site is a more focused search for people who understand each other. Therefore, they should not be offended. In addition, it is worthwhile to understand that we are talking about a new direction in the research and design of new devices as movers using environmental properties that are now not even theoretically considered.
    2. Mikhail3 4 March 2020 13: 15 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Perhaps because nobody knows the "new movers." To be honest, those simply do not exist.
      1. gridasov 4 March 2020 13: 51 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        I bet! Your life is mine!
        1. Mikhail3 4 March 2020 14: 39 New
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          Clear. I’ll go to the toilet ...
  5. Whalebone 4 March 2020 14: 04 New
    • 0
    • 3
    -3
    Interestingly, at least one helicopter will survive a sequential salvo of 2 Verb from 3-4 km? The time of manned front-line aviation is running out. MANPADS is 100 times cheaper than a helicopter. And the life of the crew is generally priceless.
  6. Vasily Ponomarev 4 March 2020 18: 07 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Quote: Vyacheslav Viktorovich
    I support Bell Invictus - as handsome as Comanche (once upon a time).


    and by the way what are his chips?
  7. Nikolay R-PM 4 March 2020 21: 25 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    against the background of fanfare by Turkish UAVs and Western concepts of using UAVs for reconnaissance, target designation and point strikes, the development of a replacement for oh-58d does not fit in with my fashionable UAV trend. Americans even taught the ah-64e to control the UAV to do without the oh-58d. And here again, a manned reconnaissance-attack helicopter, a helicopter that is not a tenant with modern air defense systems, is slow, noisy, consuming fuel.
    Are all the same UAVs with their well-known and universally recognized advantages not so "omnipotent" in reconnaissance and subsequent destruction of reconnaissance targets that the US Army announces a competition to replace oh-58? or is the concept of widespread use of reconnaissance-strike UAVs concealing non-obvious disadvantages identified by operation? Why develop a manned vehicle that must be "pressed to the ground" and hidden in the terrain, if a UAV is cheaper than a similar manned vehicle and, moreover, the priceless life of pilots.
    In my opinion, only the implicit flaws of the fashionable dpl-trend caused the initiation of the fara program.
  8. Pavel57 7 March 2020 19: 19 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Does a battlefield helicopter need to fly at a speed of 500 km / h?

Военное обозрение

Boeing FARA: проект разведывательного вертолёта для армейской авиации США

20

Компания Boeing представила концепт нового разведывательного вертолета для американских вооруженных сил. Новая машина обладает рядом преимуществ и позволит восполнить существующий недостаток подобной техники.


Представленный Boeing вертолет специально разработан для удовлетворения потребностей армейской авиации сухопутных войск США в разведывательных воздушных машинах. Составной тяговый вертолет обладает одним двигателем, модульной современной кабиной с реконфигурируемым дисплеем большой площади и автономными возможностями.

По словам Марка Черри, вице-президента Phantom Works компании Boeing, предложенный концепт вертолета представляет собой доступную и полностью интегрированную систему для предстоящих миссий американской армии. Компания объединила существующий опыт вертолетостроения и боевого применения вертолетов с инновационными технологиями и расширенным анализом, что позволило предложить очень убедительное решение.

В случае принятия на вооружение вертолет FARA будет выполнять задачи по осуществлению разведывательных операций, сможет проводить легкую атаку позиций противника. Предполагается, что он заменит многоцелевой вертолет Bell OH-58D Kiowa, который использовался американской армейской авиацией с 1969 по 2016 годы, пройдя множество конфликтов, начиная с Вьетнамской войны и заканчивая современными боевыми действиями на Ближнем и Среднем Востоке.

Именно для замены Bell OH-58D Kiowa и была запущена в 2018 году программа разведывательных самолетов будущего (FARA). Кстати, задачи по модернизации парка воздушных машин вертикального взлета FVL (Future Vertical Lift) рассматриваются американским военным командованием в числе шести наиболее приоритетных, направлений развития, поэтому финансирование проекта и его реализации обещает быть щедрым.


Проект дизайна Boeing FARA

Командование сухопутных войск ожидает от нового разведывательно-ударного вертолета более оптимальных характеристик, чем были присущи его предшественнику Bell OH-58 Kiowa. Речь идет о повышении крейсерской скорости до 333 км/ч и максимальной скорости до 380 км/ч, выживаемости против средств противовоздушной обороны российского и китайского производства, высокой маневренности в городских условиях, способности укрываться за препятствиями.

В апреле 2019 года контракты на разработку концептов были заключены с пятью компаниями - Bell Helicopter, Boeing, Sikorsky Aircraft (принадлежит Lockheed Martin ), Karem Aircraft и AVX Aircraft (в партнерстве с L3Harris Technologies ). В 2020 году должны быть выбраны два «финалиста» конкурса, а в 2023 году опытные образцы уже должны подняться в небо. И лишь в 2028 году американская армия остановит свой окончательный выбор на наилучшем образце из двух представленных.

Таким образом, у концепта Boeing есть серьезные конкуренты и далеко не факт, что ответственные чиновники Министерства обороны США в конечном итоге остановят свой выбор на рассматриваемом проекте компании. Кстати, конкуренты Boeing уже представили свои проекты разведывательного вертолета.

Эксперты считают, что одним из наиболее вероятных претендентов на роль нового вертолета армейской авиации будет проект Sikorsky Aircraft, который уже находится на стадии летающего прототипа и обладает, соответственно, определенным временным преимуществом. Однако говорить о том, какой проект все же одержит победу в конкурсе, пока еще преждевременно.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Корпорация Boeing
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gridasov
    gridasov 4 марта 2020 10:17
    -1
    Это даже хорошо ,что американцы как передовая страна в высоко технологическом плане ,продолжает выпускать ветряные мельницы. В России долго запрягают ,но может поймут ,что нужно менять движители на более эффективные и переходить в новую эпоху авиадвигателей
    1. Мишико
      Мишико 4 марта 2020 10:22
      0
      Эксперты считают, что одним из наиболее вероятных претендентов на роль нового вертолета армейской авиации будет проект Sikorsky Aircraft, который уже находится на стадии летающего прототипа и обладает, соответственно, определенным временным преимуществом.

      И какая же вероятность вероятного?
      1. Maksus
        Maksus 4 марта 2020 23:13
        0
        Очередная реинкарнация Команча?
  2. rocket757
    rocket757 4 марта 2020 10:34
    +1
    Красавец конечно, но как же настрой на беспилотники везде и всюду?
    1. bessmertniy
      bessmertniy 4 марта 2020 11:24
      +1
      Действительно, беспилотный вариант аппарата может быть и экономически выгоднее и перспективнее в использовании и эксплуатации.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 4 марта 2020 12:03
        0
        Для разведчика, опасность всегда есть и не шуточная ... конечно, если не на учениях. тут беспилотный вариант будет самое то.
        впрочем, у них всякое есть.
        1. gridasov
          gridasov 4 марта 2020 18:04
          0
          человеческий мозг ещё долго ничем нельзя будет заменить .Поэтому бесшумные движители , высокая маневренность и полезная нагрузка являются основой перспектив развития данного вида ЛА.
          1. rocket757
            rocket757 4 марта 2020 19:06
            0
            Всё возможно. Системы разные могут использовать.
            И всё-таки, автоматические системы имеют свои преимущества ... просто пока "думать" не умеют.
      2. михаил3
        михаил3 4 марта 2020 13:12
        0
        Действительно, беспилотный вариант аппарата может быть и экономически выгоднее и перспективнее в использовании и эксплуатации.
        Ага. Правда чины Пентагона почему то не додумались до того, что вы мгновенно постигли. Отчего бы это?
  3. василий пономарев
    василий пономарев 4 марта 2020 11:17
    +1
    "В апреле 2019 года контракты на разработку концептов были заключены с пятью компаниями"-очень интересные концепты,прям как на подбор,целых пять конкурентов и у всех интересные конструкции,взять тот же valor 280
    1. Вячеслав Викторович
      Вячеслав Викторович 4 марта 2020 17:32
      -1
      Я болею за Bell Invictus - красив, как Команч (когда-то был).

  4. василий пономарев
    василий пономарев 4 марта 2020 11:18
    0
    Цитата: gridasov
    Это даже хорошо ,что американцы как передовая страна в высоко технологическом плане ,продолжает выпускать ветряные мельницы. В России долго запрягают ,но может поймут ,что нужно менять движители на более эффективные и переходить в новую эпоху авиадвигателей

    интересно,вроде все правильно написали,а вас заминусовали,странно,почему?
    1. gridasov
      gridasov 4 марта 2020 11:29
      +1
      Не стоит удивляться. Мы все разные. На страницах сайта идёт скорее целенаправленный поиск людей понимающих друг друга. Поэтому и обижатся не стоит. К тому же стоит понимать и то ,что мы говорим о новом направлении в исследованиях и конструировании новых устройств как движителей использующих такие свойства среды ,которые сейчас даже теоретически не рассматриваются.
    2. михаил3
      михаил3 4 марта 2020 13:15
      0
      Возможно потому, что никому не известны "новые движители". Если честно, то таковых попросту не существует.
      1. gridasov
        gridasov 4 марта 2020 13:51
        0
        Делаю ставку! Ваша жизнь на мою!
        1. михаил3
          михаил3 4 марта 2020 14:39
          0
          Понятно. Пойду в туалет схожу...
  5. КитовыйУс
    КитовыйУс 4 марта 2020 14:04
    -3
    Интересно, хоть один вертолет переживет последовательный залп 2 Верб с 3-4 км? Время пилотируемой фронтовой авиации уходит. ПЗРК стоит в 100 раз дешевле вертолета. А жизнь экипажа вообще бесценна.
  6. василий пономарев
    василий пономарев 4 марта 2020 18:07
    0
    Цитата: Вячеслав Викторович
    Я болею за Bell Invictus - красив, как Команч (когда-то был).


    а какие кстати у него фишки?
  7. Николай Р-ПМ
    Николай Р-ПМ 4 марта 2020 21:25
    0
    на фоне фанфар турецким бпла и западным концепциям применения бпла для разведки, целеуказания и точечных ударов разработка замены для oh-58d на мой взгляд немного не вяжется с модным бпла-трендом. американцы даже ah-64e научили бпла управлять, чтобы обойтись без oh-58d. И вот опять пилотируемый разведовательно-ударный вертолёт, вертолет, который не жилец при современных средствах пво, медленный, шумный, жрущий топливо.
    неужели все-таки бпла при их общеизвестных и общепризнанных приемуществах не так "всесильны" в разведке и последующем уничтожении разведанных целей, что армейская авиация сша объявляет конкурс на замену oh-58? или концепция широкого применения разведовательно-ударных бпла скрывает неочевидные недостатки, выявленные эксплуатацией? зачем разрабатывать пилотируемую машину, которую надо "прижимать к земле" и прятать в скадках местности, если бпла дешевле аналогичной пилотируемой машины и тем более бесценной жизни летчиков.
    по моему мнению, только неявные недостатки модного бпла-тренда обусловили инициацию программы fara.
  8. Pavel57
    Pavel57 7 марта 2020 19:19
    0
    А нужно вертолету поля боя летать со скоростью 500км/ час?