The story of one name


We boys and girls always called her Aunt Jimma. That's how they got used to it from childhood on to such a non-Russian name! She was our neighbor. Tall, stately. Hardworking and educated. What interesting things she told us! About the taiga and forest-tundra, about mountain rivers and urmans ...


My mother was friends with her. And in a neighborly way, and so, in a feminine way. They exchanged books, had some kind of conversation. Aunt Jimma was ten years older than her, but at an uncontrolled pace she seemed younger than her peers. Everything was on her shoulder: household chores and a game of volleyball, where she could give odds. She could train young people or help the projectionist with his old apparatus. Nekrasov wrote about such women!

For the first time I thought about her name when my daughter was born. Choosing a name is a serious matter, and a thick book with interpretations appeared in the house. When my wife and I reached the letter "D", I was surprised to read: "Gemma." From Italian - "gem". But why through "E"? How many times have I sent Aunt Jimme letters from the post office - it was always written through "And!"

He turned to his mother for explanations, since at that time Aunt Jimmu, who was seriously ill, took her daughter to her city. And what an amazing story I heard from my mother!

It turns out that the neighbor was also from a military family, which at one time brought her and my mother closer. She was born in 1939. Her father had a best friend - a Spaniard. Present. By nationality. The Republican who fought with the fascist infection in the Pyrenees and who was forced to retreat and move to the USSR. And at home, in sunny Spain, he left his wife and daughter Gemma. And this companion, having learned that his friend’s wife was pregnant, asked him, if a girl was born, to name her by the name of his blood. To call her by her name and remember her!

A girl was born, and the father complied with the request of a friend. Here are just a clerk unfamiliar with foreign names, instead of "e" wrote "and". So the neighbor Jimma remained. A lot of grief fell to her in her childhood. The war spared no one. Everyone drank in full. Both adults and children. Father, however, returned from the war. But the Spaniard died in the first months. Defending your second homeland.

After the war, Aunt Jimma graduated from the school and the College of Cinema Mechanics, but could not sit in the booth - she married the cartographer and traveled with him half the country! For six months they lived in tents and cooked at the stake, and then she helped her husband in Leningrad transfer all the marks to the cards.

From there, and stories about the vast expanses of our homeland. Not from books, but mine, seen with my own eyes.

A few years ago, from my mother, I learned that Aunt Jimma passed away quietly. She was an amazing woman with an unusual name and lived a life rich in impressions. A woman with the "wrong" name written in "and" ...
Author:
Photos used:
M. Koltsov, commons.wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. knn54 23 March 2020 15: 28 New
    • 18
    • 0
    +18
    MAN has lived a long and interesting life. Peace be upon her.
    And a person dies only when the last one who remembers him leaves. That is, the memory of him dies. And so - just leaves, leaves this world
  2. Andrei Nikolaevich 23 March 2020 16: 14 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    A man with a capital letter.
  3. Gunxnumx 23 March 2020 16: 34 New
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    Good afternoon! Real hero people from whom we were taught to take an example in early childhood. I teach my children, I try to convey to them the spirit of the era. Unfortunately, with varying success. I hope, despite all the cataclysms, our descendants will be worthy of their deeds
    1. vladcub 23 March 2020 16: 39 New
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Correct remark
    2. The leader of the Redskins 23 March 2020 16: 40 New
      • 3
      • 1
      +2
      Good afternoon. I accept the comment! I don’t know why I mixed up the peninsula, probably because of the obsessive and disturbing news from Italy. The most interesting thing is that the editor missed this error. Thanks for the amendment.
      1. Gunxnumx 23 March 2020 16: 41 New
        • 3
        • 0
        +3
        Then can I delete the comment before it's too late?
        1. The leader of the Redskins 23 March 2020 16: 42 New
          • 4
          • 1
          +3
          Not necessary. I always admit my mistakes. Both spelling and geographical) laughing
      2. Mart 24 March 2020 06: 43 New
        • 0
        • 1
        -1
        Quote: Leader of the Redskins
        The most interesting thing is that the editor missed this error.


        The move is familiar: kick the editor. Dear author, you will be counted.
        1. The leader of the Redskins 24 March 2020 07: 43 New
          • 0
          • 1
          -1
          Your reaction is strange, Mr. Editor-in-Chief. Not the first time I was talking with you, I always recognized the indicated errors and tried to correct them. Therefore, I was SURPRISED when it became clear MY geographical oversight. And you reacted so painfully to my surprise. Well, if so, it’s not in PM, but in public, I apologize to you.
  4. vladcub 23 March 2020 17: 41 New
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    How much a person’s name can tell. More precisely, a whole era can be associated with a person’s name.
    At my institute there was a young and energetic teacher Viola Voltovna. Once she showed her diploma and it says: "Volta Voltovna." It turned out that her grandfather was one of the first electricians and children in the country to call: Ampere and Volt and they had been working in the energy sector all their lives. Her father wanted to continue the family tradition, but a daughter was born. She was also going to work in the energy sector, but ended up in a ped institute. .
    It seems her daughter will continue or continue the family tradition in energy.
    1. Svarog51 23 March 2020 19: 25 New
      • 8
      • 2
      +6
      Svyatoslav hi My colleagues are power engineers. Let Volta Voltovna come all she dreamed about. yes
      1. vladcub 24 March 2020 14: 56 New
        • 2
        • 0
        +2
        After graduation, after some years, someone said that her daughter is studying energy. I didn’t react then, but now I think: Volta’s father would be happy.
        1. Svarog51 24 March 2020 19: 54 New
          • 7
          • 0
          +7
          Maybe Ivanovo? We have energy. I would also be glad at heart that I came in contact with part of the story.
  5. parusnik 23 March 2020 20: 23 New
    • 3
    • 1
    +2
    Better so .. The right woman A woman with the "wrong" name written in "and" ...
    who fought with the fascist plague on the Apennines
    ... Dear Nazarius, in the Pyrenees he fought with fascism ... an annoying slumber. hi
  6. The leader of the Redskins 23 March 2020 21: 08 New
    • 3
    • 1
    +2
    Thanks to everyone who read, who left feedback. I hope that you will find something to tell, describe. Take a look around - there were the last ones around us who saw the war, participated in it, remember it ... Tell us about them.
  7. Akuzenka 26 March 2020 20: 12 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Gemma, consonance with the processed gem - Gemma.

История одного имени


Мы, пацаны и девчонки, всегда звали ее тетей Джиммой. Вот как-то привыкли с самого детства к такому нерусскому имени! Она была нашей соседкой. Высокая, статная. Работящая и образованная. Какие интересные вещи она нам рассказывала! О тайге и лесотундре, о горных реках и урманах…


Моя мама с ней дружила. И по-соседски, и так, по-женски. Обменивались книгами, вели какие-то свои разговоры. Тетя Джимма была старше ее лет на десять, но в безудержном своем темпе казалась младше своих сверстников. Ей все было по плечу: домашние заботы и игра в волейбол, где она могла фору дать. Она могла приструнить молодежь или помочь киномеханику с его старенькими аппаратами. О таких женщинах Некрасов писал!

Впервые о ее имени я задумался, когда у меня родилась дочь. Выбор имени — дело серьезное, и в доме появилась толстенная книга с толкованиями. Когда дошли с женой до буквы "Д", то я с удивлением прочитал: "Джемма". С итальянского — "драгоценный камень". Но почему через "Е"? Сколько раз я передавал тете Джимме письма с почты — всегда было написано через "И"!

За объяснениями обратился к маме, так как на тот момент тетю Джимму, тяжело заболевшую, забрала к себе в город дочь. И какой удивительный рассказ я услышал от мамы!

Оказывается, соседка была тоже из семьи военного, что и сблизило в свое время ее и мою маму. Родилась она в 1939 году. У ее отца был лучший друг — испанец. Настоящий. По национальности. Республиканец, который дрался с фашистской заразой на Пиренеях и который был вынужден отступить и перебраться в СССР. А дома, в солнечной Испании, у него остались жена и дочь Джемма. И вот этот товарищ, узнав, что у друга жена беременна, попросил его, если родится девочка, назвать ее так, как зовут его кровинушку. Чтобы называл ее по имени и свою вспоминал!

Родилась девочка, и отец выполнил просьбу друга. Вот только писарь, незнакомый с иностранными именами, вместо "е" написал "и". Так и осталась соседка Джиммой. Много горя ей выпало ей в детстве. Война никого не щадила. Все хлебнули сполна. И взрослые, и дети. Отец, правда, с войны вернулся. А вот испанец погиб в первые месяцы. Защищая свою вторую Родину.

После войны тетя Джимма закончила школу и техникум киномехаников, но в будке посидеть не довелось — вышла замуж за картографа и полстраны с ним исколесила! По полгода жили в палатках и готовили еду на кострах, а потом она помогала мужу в Ленинграде переносить все отметки на карты.

Оттуда и рассказы о бескрайних просторах нашей Родины. Не из книг, а свои, увиденные собственными глазами.

Несколько лет назад от мамы я узнал, что тетя Джимма тихо скончалась. Она была удивительной женщиной с необыкновенным именем и прожила жизнь, богатую на впечатления. Женщина с "неправильным" именем, написанным через "и"…
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
М. Кольцов, commons.wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. knn54 23 марта 2020 15:28 Новый
    • 18
    • 0
    +18
    ЧЕЛОВЕК прожил долгую и интересную жизнь.Мир ее праху.
    А человек умирает только тогда,когда уходит последний,кто его помнит. Т. е умирает память о нем А так - просто уходит, покидает этот мир
  2. Андрей Николаевич 23 марта 2020 16:14 Новый
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Человек, с Большой буквы.
  3. Gun70 23 марта 2020 16:34 Новый
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    Добрый день! Настоящие люди-герои, с которых нас в далёком детстве учили брать пример. Я учу своих детей, стараюсь передать им дух эпохи. К сожалению, с переменным успехом. Надеюсь, не смотря на все катаклизмы, наши потомки будут достойны их деяний
    1. vladcub 23 марта 2020 16:39 Новый
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Правильное замечание
    2. Вождь краснокожих 23 марта 2020 16:40 Новый
      • 3
      • 1
      +2
      Добрый день. Принимаю замечание! Не знаю, почему полуострова перепутал, наверное, из за навязчивых и тревожных новостей из Италии. Самое интересное, что и редактор пропустил эту ошибку. Спасибо за поправку.
      1. Gun70 23 марта 2020 16:41 Новый
        • 3
        • 0
        +3
        Тогда я может удалю комментарий, пока не поздно?
        1. Вождь краснокожих 23 марта 2020 16:42 Новый
          • 4
          • 1
          +3
          Не нужно. Я всегда признаю свои ошибки. И орфографические, и географические) laughing
      2. Mart 24 марта 2020 06:43 Новый
        • 0
        • 1
        -1
        Цитата: Вождь краснокожих
        Самое интересное, что и редактор пропустил эту ошибку.


        Ход знакомый: пнуть редактора. Уважаемый автор, вам зачтётся.
        1. Вождь краснокожих 24 марта 2020 07:43 Новый
          • 0
          • 1
          -1
          Странная у вас реакция, господин главный редактор. Не первый раз общаясь с Вами я всегда признавал указанные ошибки и старался исправить их. Поэтому и УДИВИЛСЯ когда выяснилась МОЯ географическая оплошность. А вы так болезненно отреагировали на мое удивление. Что ж, раз так, то не в личке, а публично, приношу Вам свои извинения.
  4. vladcub 23 марта 2020 17:41 Новый
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    Как много может рассказать имя человека. Точнее с именем человека может быть связана целая эпоха.
    У меня в институте была молодая и энергичная преподавательница Виола Вольтовна. Как-то раз она показала свой диплом и там написано:"Вольта Вольтовна". Оказалось,что её дед из первых в стране электриков и детей назвал : Ампер и Вольт и они всю жизнь работали в энергетике. Её отец хотел продолжения семейный традиции, но родилась дочь. Она тоже собиралась работать в энергетике, но оказалась в пед институте. .
    Кажется её дочь продолжит или продолжает семейную традицию в энергетике.
    1. Svarog51 23 марта 2020 19:25 Новый
      • 8
      • 2
      +6
      Святослав hi Коллеги мои - энергетики. Пусть Вольте Вольтовне всё придёд, о чём мечтала. yes
      1. vladcub 24 марта 2020 14:56 Новый
        • 2
        • 0
        +2
        Уже после вручения диплома, через сколько-то лет кто-то рассказывал,что её дочь энергетическом учится. Я тогда не отреагировал,а сейчас думаю: отец Вольта был бы счастлив.
        1. Svarog51 24 марта 2020 19:54 Новый
          • 7
          • 0
          +7
          Может Иваново? У нас есть Энерго. Я бы тоже в душе был рад, что соприкоснулся с частью истории.
  5. parusnik 23 марта 2020 20:23 Новый
    • 3
    • 1
    +2
    Лучше так..Правильная женщина Женщина с "неправильным" именем, написанным через "и"…
    который дрался с фашистской заразой на Апеннинах
    ...Уважаемый Назарий, на Пиренеях он дрался с фашизмом...досадная опячатка. hi
  6. Вождь краснокожих 23 марта 2020 21:08 Новый
    • 3
    • 1
    +2
    Спасибо всем, кто прочитал, кто оставил отзывы. Надеюсь, что и вам найдется что рассказать, описать. Оглянитесь - вокруг нас остались последние, кто видел ТУ войну, участвовал в ней, помнит ее... Расскажите о них.
  7. AKuzenka 26 марта 2020 20:12 Новый
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Джемма, созвучие с обработанные драгоценным камнем - Гемма.