Kubachinskaya battle tower. Shard of Zirichgeran State

Kubachinskaya battle tower. Shard of Zirichgeran State

The ancient village of Kubachi gained fame as the cradle of the most skilled gunsmiths and jewelers. Kubachi daggers, sabers, yatagans, chain mail and various jewelry adorn the collections of the most famous museums of the world: the Louvre Museum in France, the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, the Hermitage in St. Petersburg, the All-Russian Museum of Decorative and Applied Folk Art and the State Historical Museum in Moscow. According to numerous legends and traditions, Kubachinsky weapon belonged to Prince Mstislav, son of Vladimir Monomakh, and Alexander Nevsky. There are fantastic theories. According to one of them, the helmet of Alexander the Great himself has Kubachin roots.

Kubachi himself is notable for a battle tower, which is a unique creation of the fortification architecture of the Caucasus. It is completely unlike the solid Ossetian residential and battle towers; it is far from the sophisticated Vainakh towers. The unusual appearance of the Kubachi tower is associated with another cultural influence that Kubachi experienced for its ancient history.



However, no less mysteries are hidden in themselves and Kubachintsy. According to one version, the Kubachins are not just one of the branches of the Dargins with their own dialect, but the real European aliens from Genoa or France. This version is based on the fact that Laks and Lezgins called the Kubachins Prang Kapoor, i.e., Franks. And references to certain Franks or Genoese in the mountains near Kubachi are found by authors such as ethnographer Colonel Johann Gustav Gerber, traveler Jan Potocki and academician Johann Anton Guldenstedt. However, modern scholars studying tombstones decorated with carved eagles and dragons tend to believe that Kubachi has Middle Eastern roots.

Zirichgeran: a forgotten state


In the distant VI century, the state with the mystical name Zirichgeran began to develop on the territory of modern Kubachi. The state was governed by a council of selected elders. According to other sources, the early Zirichgeran (translated from Persian as “chain mail” or “armored”) had his own king or ruler. At the same time, Kubachi was the capital at that time. A little later, the state is isolated as a free society, which creates a council.


The council was directly subordinate to the military organization (squad) of Batirte, consisting of unmarried young people. They were engaged in wrestling, throwing stones, distance running, horse racing, archery, cold steel exercises and paramilitary dances of Askaila. The squad consisted of 7 units of 40 people each. It is noteworthy that the members of Batirte lived separately from the Kubachintsy in battle towers. The duties of the soldiers included a guard service, protecting the village from external attacks, robbery and robbery. Often, Batyrte fought with residents of neighboring villages in order to protect the forest and grazing lands, cattle and herds of horses belonging to the Kubachi.

Given the many civil wars, Batirte fought with neighboring villages and just for the sake of influence. At the same time, the geographical location of Zirichgeran, lost in the mountains at an altitude of more than 1600 meters, played a significant defensive role. Despite the fact that Zirichgeran periodically became dependent on neighboring feudal microstates like the Kaitag Ussmii, the capital remained formally independent. Even during the Arab expansion into the lands of Dagestan, the warlord Mervan ibn Muhammad, the caliph from the Umayyad dynasty, having seized Tabaristan, Tuman, Shindan and other possessions, decided to sign a peace treaty with Zirichgeran, and not risk an army in the mountains, fighting against a real weapons spring.


Kubachi daggers Kama

The relative independence of the ancient state can be traced in the religions practiced in Kubachi. In Zirichgeran, one could meet Muslims, Christians, Jews, and even followers of Zoroastrianism. And just the spread of the last religion determined the unique architecture of the Kubachi battle tower.

Akayla kala: watchman of Kubachi


Above the ancient village of Kubachi, a battle tower rises with its own name - Akayla kala, which served as the home for one of the Batirte warrior squads. From the height of the tower offers stunning views of all the surroundings of the village. The tower is located in such a way that the Batirte fighters could see in advance a possible enemy, from whatever side he tries to approach Kubachi. The Kubachin Tower is just a small echo of those powerful fortifications that once encircled the ancient village. Many centuries ago, the whole of Kubachi was hidden by the thick walls of masonry.

A distinctive feature of Akayla kala is its similarity to the Zoroastrian towers of silence - dahme, which served as funeral structures in religious rites of Zoroastrianism, widespread in Iran. Since Zirichgeran had deep and dense trade relations with various countries and entire civilizations, it can be quite assumed that during these relations the people of Zirichgeran were culturally enriched.


Tower in Kubachi

The Kubachin Tower is built of large, specially hewn stones with shell masonry with an internal backing of torn stone and earth. The height of the structure is about 16 meters, and the diameter is 20 meters. The wall thickness at the entrance reaches 1,45 m. There is a problem with the dating of the tower. Some believe that the construction of Akayla kala began in the XNUMXth century, while others, emphasizing the Zoroastrian architectural features, believe that the tower was erected in the XNUMXth century, since Islamic expansion could hardly leave such architectural traces.

The tower was rebuilt several times, but initially it had five floors above the ground and two underground floors. On the top floor, the Batyrte warriors trained and served. Two floors were allocated directly under the living quarters. Two more floors served as a pantry for food supplies and a Zeichhaus. One of the underground floors was a kind of guardhouse. This is due to the extremely harsh traditions of Batirte. For example, among the warriors the “union of the unmarried” or the “male union” was spread. Members of this almost sectarian movement devoted themselves entirely to military service, but when the flesh gained the upper hand, the warrior was sent to serve his sentence.

In general, legends still circulate about the severity of Batirte's rules. For example, they were allowed to appear in the village exclusively under the cover of twilight. According to one legend, once a mother recognized in one of the warriors her son with an open hand and dared to call him by name. The next day they sent her a severed hand of her son, so that she would not knock him off the right military path.


Despite the strictly organized military structure of Batirte and the craft power of Zirichheran, this tiny mountainous state could not forever be on the edge of the bloody winds of history. The strongest Islamic-Arab expansion, which was forced and violent in nature, by the 1467th century also affected this unique world. In XNUMX, the name Zirikhgeran first disappears and the Turkic name Kubachi appears, which, in essence, is the equivalent of the words “chain mail masters” or “chain mail”.



Save at all costs


Nowadays, Kubachi, despite the unfading weapons of fame, is a very modest village with a population of less than 3000 people. Not the best times are going through the unique Akaila kala tower, which, fortunately, continues to dominate the area.


In the midth century, the tower was rebuilt into a residential building, because its combat functionality lost its meaning. Part of the upper floors was demolished, although at the beginning of the XNUMXth century the third floor was rebuilt. However, the unique historical masonry underwent significant changes, almost completely losing its original face. At the beginning of the XXI century, the tower was completely empty and began to collapse under mountain winds and snowfalls.

In 2009, with the support of the Ministry of Culture of Dagestan and the youth of Kubachi, the tower was restored as close to the original as possible. A unique museum was opened inside the tower, recreating the surroundings of an old Kubachin house. However, this is extremely small, since the ancient Kubachi needs to conduct fundamental ethnographic and archaeological research by a whole group of scientists so that there are fewer white spots in history.
Author:
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Кубачинская боевая башня. Осколок государства Зирихгеран

Кубачинская боевая башня. Осколок государства Зирихгеран

Древнее село Кубачи снискало себе славу колыбели искуснейших мастеров-оружейников и ювелиров. Кубачинские кинжалы, сабли, ятаганы, кольчуги и самые различные ювелирные изделия украшают коллекции известнейших музеев мира: Лувра во Франции, музея Метрополитен в Нью-Йорке, музея Виктории и Альберта в Лондоне, Эрмитажа в Санкт-Петербурге, Всероссийского музея декоративно-прикладного народного искусства и Государственного исторического музея в Москве. Согласно многочисленным легендам и преданиям, кубачинское оружие принадлежало князю Мстиславу, сыну Владимира Мономаха, и Александру Невскому. Есть и вовсе фантастические теории. Согласно одной из них, шлем самого Александра Македонского имеет кубачинские корни.

Сам же Кубачи примечателен боевой башней, которая является уникальным творением фортификационной архитектуры Кавказа. Она совершенно не похожа на основательные осетинские жилые и боевые башни, она далека и от утончённых вайнахских башен. Необычный вид кубачинской башни связан с иным культурным влиянием, которое испытал Кубачи за свою древнюю историю.



Впрочем, не меньше загадок таят в себе и кубачинцы. Согласно одной из версий, кубачинцы — не просто одна из ветвей даргинцев с собственным наречием, а самые настоящие европейские пришельцы из Генуи или Франции. Данная версия зиждется на том, что лакцы и лезгины называли кубачинцев пранг-капур, т. е. франками. А упоминания о неких франках или генуэзцах в горах близ Кубачи встречаются у таких авторов, как этнограф полковник Иоганн Густав Гербер, путешественник Ян Потоцкий и академик Иоганн Антон Гюльденштедт. Однако современные исследователи, изучавшие надгробные плиты, украшенные резными орлами и драконами, склонны считать, что у Кубачи ближневосточные корни.

Зирихгеран: забытое государство


В далёком VI веке на территории современного Кубачи начало развиваться государство с мистическим названием Зирихгеран. Государство управлялось советом выбранных старейшин. По другим же данным, у раннего Зирихгерана (переводится с персидского как «кольчужники» или «бронники») был собственный царь или владетель. При этом Кубачи в то время был столицей. Несколько позже государство обособляется как вольное общество, которое и создаёт совет.


Совету непосредственно подчинялась военная организация (дружина) Батирте, состоящая из неженатых молодых людей. Они занимались борьбой, метанием камней, бегом на дистанцию, конными скачками, стрельбой из лука, упражнениями по ведению боя холодным оружием и военизированными танцами аскайла. Дружина состояла из 7 отрядов по 40 человек в каждом. Примечательно, что члены Батирте жили отдельно от кубачинцев в боевых башнях. В обязанности воинов входила сторожевая служба, охрана селения от внешних нападений, грабежа и разбоя. Нередко Батирте вели боевые действия с жителями соседних селений с целью защиты принадлежащих кубачинцам лесных и пастбищных угодий, скота и табунов лошадей.

Учитывая множество междоусобных войн, Батирте вели бои с соседними селениями и просто ради влияния. При этом весомую оборонительную роль играло само географическое расположение Зирихгерана, затерянного в горах на высоте более 1600 метров. Несмотря на то, что Зирихгеран периодически попадал под зависимость от соседних феодальных микрогосударств вроде Кайтагского уцмийства, столица оставалась формально независимой. Даже во время арабской экспансии на земли Дагестана военачальник Мерван ибн Мухаммад, халиф из династии Омейядов, захватив Табаристан, Туман, Шиндан и прочие владения, решил подписать с Зирихгераном мирный договор, а не рисковать войском в горах, сражаясь против настоящего оружейного родника.


Кубачинские кинжалы кама

Относительная самостоятельность древнего государства прослеживается и в религиях, исповедуемых в Кубачи. В Зирихгеране можно было встретить и мусульман, и христиан, и иудеев, и даже последователей зороастризма. И вот как раз распространение последней религии и определило уникальную архитектуру боевой башни Кубачи.

Акайла кальа: сторож Кубачи


Над древним селом Кубачи возвышается боевая башня с собственным именем — Акайла кальа, служившая домом для одного из отрядов воинов Батирте. С высоты башни открывается потрясающий вид на все окрестности села. Башня расположена таким образом, что бойцы Батирте могли заблаговременно разглядеть возможного противника, с какой бы стороны он ни пытался подойти к Кубачи. Кубачинская башня — лишь небольшой отголосок тех мощных укреплений, некогда опоясывающих древнее селение. Многие столетия назад весь Кубачи был сокрыт толстыми крепостными стенами каменной кладки.

Отличительной чертой Акайла кальа является её схожесть с зороастрийскими башнями молчания — дахме, служившими погребальными сооружениями в религиозных обрядах зороастризма, распространённого на территории Ирана. Так как Зирихгеран имел глубокие и плотные торговые взаимоотношения с самыми разными странами и целыми цивилизациями, можно вполне допустить, что в ходе этих взаимоотношений народ Зирихгерана культурно обогащался.


Башня в Кубачи

Кубачинская башня построена из крупных, специально отесанных камней панцирной кладкой с внутренней забутовкой из рваного камня и земли. Высота сооружения около 16 метров, а диаметр – 20 метров. Толщина стены у входа достигает 1,45 м. Существует проблема с датировкой башни. Одни полагают, что строительство Акайла кальа началось в XIII веке, другие, подчёркивающие зороастрийские особенности архитектуры, считают, что башню возвели в V веке, т. к. исламская экспансия вряд ли могла оставить такие архитектурные следы.

Башня несколько раз перестраивалась, но изначально она имела пять этажей над землёй и два подземных этажа. На верхнем этаже воины Батирте тренировались и несли службу. Два этажа отводились непосредственно под жилые помещения. Ещё два этажа служили кладовой для съестных припасов и цейхгаузом. Один из подземных этажей был своеобразной гауптвахтой. Это связано с крайне жёсткими традициями Батирте. К примеру, среди воинов имел распространение «союз неженатых» или «мужской союз». Члены этого почти сектантского течения посвящали себя военной службе целиком и полностью, но когда плоть брала верх, воина отправляли отбывать наказание.

Вообще, о суровости правил Батирте до сих пор ходят легенды. К примеру, им разрешалось появляться в селении исключительно под покровом сумерек. Согласно одному из преданий, однажды мать признала в одном из воинов своего сына по открытой руке и посмела окликнуть его по имени. На следующий день ей прислали отрубленную руку сына, дабы она не сбивала его с правильного военного пути.


Несмотря на строго организованную военную структуру Батирте и ремесленную мощь Зирихгерана, это крошечное горное государство не могло вечно находиться на отшибе кровавых ветров истории. Сильнейшая исламо-арабская экспансия, которая носила принудительный и насильственный характер, к XV веку затронула и этот уникальный мир. В 1467 году имя Зирихгеран впервые исчезает и появляется тюркоязычное название Кубачи, которое, по сути, является эквивалентом слов «мастера кольчуг» или «кольчужники».



Сохранить любой ценой


Ныне Кубачи, несмотря на немеркнущую оружейную славу, весьма скромный посёлок с населением менее 3000 человек. Не лучшие времена переживает и уникальная башня Акайла кальа, которая, к счастью, продолжает господствовать над местностью.


В середине XIX века башня была перестроена в жилой дом, т. к. её боевая функциональность потеряла смысл. Часть верхних этажей была разобрана, правда, в начале XX века третий этаж был отстроен заново. Однако уникальная историческая кладка претерпела значительные изменения, едва полностью не потеряв оригинальное лицо. В начале XXI века башня опустела вовсе и начала разрушаться под горными ветрами и снегопадами.

В 2009 году при поддержке министерства культуры Дагестана и силами молодёжи Кубачи башня была восстановлена с максимальной близостью к оригиналу, насколько это было возможно. Внутри самой башни был открыт своеобразный музей, воссоздающий антураж старинного кубачинского дома. Однако и этого крайне мало, т. к. древний Кубачи нуждается в проведении фундаментальных этнографических и археологических исследований целой группой учёных, чтобы белых пятен в истории стало меньше.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти