Military Review

Fifth generation fighter manufacturers: countries capable of joining the top three

16

In the race that has been going on for more than one decade for the possession of the most modern combat aircraft belonging to the so-called fifth generation, the three clear leaders are unambiguous. These are the USA, Russia and China. However, the list of states that are firmly determined not to purchase such a valuable technological novelty on the side, but to develop, at a minimum, combat vehicles comparable in terms of characteristics on their own with the “Big Three”, is certainly not exhausted. So, who else are we next?


In order to be considered a fifth-generation aircraft, a fighter must possess a number of mandatory parameters: maximum stealth, super maneuverability, high speed characteristics, multifunctionality, and the most advanced control system. And also some others. Perhaps it is precisely the highest innovative requirements for such aircraft that explain the fact that most of their developments today are conducted in the countries of Southeast Asia.

The prototype Mitsubishi X-2 Shinshin, developed by the Technical Design Institute (TRDI) of the Ministry of Defense of Japan, and built by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, has already taken off and is quite successful. The military department of the country of the rising sun assures that with the stealth technologies, and with other parameters, their offspring are more than at the level. However, there is a problem - the engines with a controlled thrust vector proposed for installation on this machine from the Japanese company IHI XF5-1 are still only at the development stage. Perhaps the first samples of the new fighter will be equipped with installations of American or European production, and then they will already “finish” their product. Be that as it may, Japan aspiring to possess the “fifth generation” is still purchasing the F-35 from the USA, which indicates that the X-2 is still far from the full-scale “series”.

The next on the list, it is expected, is South Korea - there is already 10 years work is underway on a program to create a multi-role fighter KAI KF-X (Korea Aerospace Industries KF-X). True, its developers cannot decide in any way whether it will be a 4 ++ generation machine or a fifth. The project is being implemented, which is typical, together with Indonesia, and, to a greater extent, most likely, and is designed for countries of its level. South Korea itself, recall, is a member of the F-35 program and an active buyer of this aircraft.

The situation with India remains rather incomprehensible. They also want to have their fifth generation fighter there. They just can’t decide in any way whether to develop the FGFA program together with Russia, or to throw all their efforts into the program of creating a “purely Indian” promising AMCA fighter. It is very possible that they will stop just on the second option, but if we take into account the not very successful previous experiments on the creation of combat aircraft, in this case it is hardly worth waiting for special successes, especially, in the short term.

Europe periodically also announces its intentions to create the latest fighter. In any case, at the 53rd Paris Aviation and Space Salon (Paris Air Show 2019), the Next Generation Fighter (NGF) - the “fifth generation fighter” - was presented. So far, there is more talk of a project causing a negative in the US (which market for the F-35!) Is more than a real deal, but quite serious companies - Dassault Aviation and Airbus took up the development, so it’s quite possible that there will be a crisis and coronavirus will not interfere, leaving the project without sufficient funding. As far as we know, the Swedes, who seek, as far as possible, to participate in any European defense project, are not involved in NGF, since they themselves are working on the SAAB Flygsystem 2020 - also a fifth-generation fighter.

There are a couple of applicants in the Middle East region. For example, Ankara, which has had serious problems updating the Air Force fleet. Americans excluded Turks from the F-35 program; Europeans have little hope. It remains either to buy Russian fighters, causing even greater indignation of Washington and Brussels, or to do something of their own. For the first time, intentions to create a fifth-generation Turkish Fighter fighter for the centennial of the Republic of Turkey were announced at the IDEF-2013 International Defense Exhibition in Istanbul. There are no data on specific results yet. It is unlikely that one should expect in the near future - especially when you consider that this will be the first fighter of local development. For example, the country has no experience in creating jet engines. Like the corresponding industry for their production. The development cost is tentatively estimated at $ 10 billion.

Tehran also speaks of a firm intention to acquire a fifth-generation fighter of domestic production. It's about the IAIO Qaher-313 project. There are even more doubts about realism than with respect to Turkey, and for the same reasons. Although, in recent years, the Iranians began to surprise with their own military developments.

One way or another, but for now the "troika of leaders" remains the trio, moreover, Russia has yet to adopt the Su-57.
Author:
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Varyag_0711
    Varyag_0711 25 March 2020 16: 45 New
    -1
    One way or another, but for now the "troika of leaders" remains the trio, moreover, Russia has yet to adopt the Su-57.
    I think that in the next 10 years, the three will remain the three. And then, the big question is, is it a triple? To what extent can Chinese models be considered fifth-generation aircraft if the words (often empty) of Chinese "experts" are discarded? I am not very sure that the Chinese, in addition to external copying, created something outstanding. They do not yet have that flight school, which could independently create something. Copy it yes, here they are ahead of the rest, but they have problems with their own. So I would not enter China here yet.
    Well, to carry out work on the fifth generation program does not mean to bring it to mind. To do this, at a minimum, you need your own Aircraft Engineering SCHOOL. Indeed, a modern aircraft is not only a glider, it is a complex avionics, AFAR, and complexes of interaction with AWACS and ground defense, and electronic warfare systems and weapons, and much more. So to get hold of a glider, which is similar to the fifth generation, it is still not to get hold of a plane, and to be precise, it’s not even a plane, but a fifth generation COMPLEX.
    So for the time being the leaders will be the United States, and we, too, are catching up. If our designers do not immediately give the sixth generation to the mountain, as some threaten.
    1. codetalker
      codetalker 25 March 2020 16: 54 New
      +1
      And the way they all successfully copy is also a significant exaggeration.
    2. Mastrer
      Mastrer 26 March 2020 03: 16 New
      0
      Underestimating the enemy is fraught ...
  2. The leader of the Redskins
    The leader of the Redskins 25 March 2020 16: 53 New
    0
    I always liked Japanese development. Purely visual. As they say, a beautiful plane and flies beautifully. The samurai has a beautiful apparatus. I think they will bring him to mind.
    1. Threaded screw
      Threaded screw 26 March 2020 11: 02 New
      0
      I think they will bring him to mind.
      It depends a lot on the USA, they famously insert sticks into the wheels, in principle, if it weren’t for the whales, the little people with narrow eyes would have already washed down something close to the series, the Mitsuba does things comparable in technology with a 5th generation airplane. I remember what sort of showdown was at 18 about this. Here, by the way, many were sure that nothing would fly at the Japs.
    2. Igor Polovodov
      Igor Polovodov 28 March 2020 19: 51 New
      0
      An ugly plane will most likely not fly ... the words belong to Tupolev, if I'm not mistaken
  3. knn54
    knn54 25 March 2020 16: 55 New
    +2
    Taiwan plans to create its fifth generation aircraft by 2028.
    At least, back in the late 80s he was able (unlike some "willing" from this publication) was able to release his own 4th-generation fighter F-CK-1 fighter.
  4. The comment was deleted.
    1. Vladimir_2U
      Vladimir_2U 26 March 2020 07: 05 New
      +2
      Quote: Sun Chaser
      But without network infrastructure, this is not the 5th generation.

      Precisely, in the 21st century and without Wi-Fi, some kind of nonsense. laughing
      1. dauria
        dauria 26 March 2020 12: 59 New
        +1
        Precisely, in the 21st century and without Wi-Fi, some kind of nonsense.


        Marketers, damn it. "5-6-7, super, over." Tu-22m from the prototype to the latest "modifications" - the sky and the earth. Changed engines, REO, weapons and equipment, elements of the airframe. The same thing will happen with the F-35 and with the Su-57, if you correctly guess the glider, the idea and catch "where the wind blows" in wars.
        One thing became clear - without a small EPR less than 1 square meter there is nothing to catch. Otherwise, they would fly on the F-15 and Su-27 and not invent anything but new engines, Wai-Fai and missiles. But no one knows where the wind blows. There were no serious batches a long time ago. And thank God.
  5. bar
    bar 25 March 2020 17: 56 New
    +1
    In order to be considered a fifth-generation machine, a fighter must possess a number of mandatory parameters: ... super maneuverability, high speed characteristics

    On these indicators, "penguin" crossed out?
  6. lucul
    lucul 25 March 2020 18: 11 New
    +1
    Now the "partners" will run in to prove that super-maneuverability is not needed))))
  7. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 25 March 2020 18: 58 New
    +5
    So far, the manufacturer of serial 5th generation fighters is the United States. China and the Russian Federation on the transition from pilot production to serial .... and not with the final configuration.
  8. Maks1995
    Maks1995 25 March 2020 20: 03 New
    0
    Everything rests on the engines and the need. IMHO, Japan and Europe will do something similar.
    Without super-maneuverability, at high speeds it’s one ... but at low speeds the plane will not save ...
  9. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 26 March 2020 04: 21 New
    +3
    And what ? Hiba Velika Ukraine was looking for the 5th generation vinishuvuvach? belay
  10. boriz
    boriz 27 March 2020 22: 00 New
    +1
    So far, there are only two fifth-generation aircraft. F22 b Su57. And then, Su has not yet been accepted. The rest is learning how to make engines. And F35 no engine will help.
  11. jura-19
    jura-19 30 March 2020 09: 58 New
    0
    Under Putinism, not of which generation 5 there will be only 4/5 remnants

Военное обозрение

Производители истребителей пятого поколения: страны, способные присоединиться к тройке лидеров

16

В продолжающейся уже не одно десятилетие гонке за обладание самым современным боевым самолетом, относящимся к так называемому пятому поколению, тройка явных лидеров имеется однозначно. Это США, Россия и Китай. Однако перечень государств, твердо намеренных не закупать столь ценную технологическую новинку на стороне, а разработать, как минимум, сопоставимые по характеристикам боевые машины самостоятельно «большой тройкой», конечно же, не исчерпывается. Итак, кто у нас на очереди еще?


Для того, чтобы считаться машиной пятого поколения, истребитель обязан обладать рядом обязательных параметров: максимальной малозаметностью, сверхманевренностью, повышенными скоростными характеристиками, многофункциональностью, самой современной системой управления. А также некоторыми другими. Возможно, именно высочайшие инновационные требования, предъявляемые к таким самолетам и объясняют то, что большинство их разработок сегодня ведется в странах Юго-Восточной Азии.

Опытный образец Mitsubishi X-2 Shinshin, разработанный Техническим проектно-конструкторским институтом (TRDI) Минобороны Японии, и построенный компанией Mitsubishi Heavy Industries уже поднимался в воздух и вполне успешно. В военном ведомстве страны восходящего солнца уверяют, что и со стелс-технологиями, и с прочими параметрами у их детища все более, чем на уровне. Однако, есть проблема – предполагаемые для установки на эту машину двигатели с управляемым вектором тяги от японской компании IHI XF5-1 пока что находятся лишь на стадии разработки. Возможно, первые образцы нового истребителя оснастят установками американского либо европейского производства, а дальше уже будут «доводить» свое изделие. Как бы то ни было, стремящаяся к обладанию «пятым поколением» Япония пока что закупает у США F-35, что свидетельствует – до полномасштабной «серии» X-2 еще далековато.

Следующей в списке, вполне ожидаемо, значится Южная Корея – там уже лет 10 идет работа над программой создания многоцелевого истребителя KAI KF-X (Korea Aerospace Industries KF-X). Правда, его разработчики никак не могут определиться – будет ли это машина поколения 4++ или все-таки пятого. Реализуется проект, что характерно, совместно с Индонезией, и, в большей мере, скорее всего, и рассчитан на государства ее уровня. Сама Южная Корея, напомним, является участником программы F-35 и активным покупателем этого самолёта.

Достаточно непонятной остается ситуация с Индией. Свой истребитель пятого поколения там тоже хотят иметь. Вот только все никак не могут решить – то ли развивать совместно с Россией программу FGFA, то ли бросить все силы на программу создания «чисто индийского» перспективного истребителя AMCA. Очень возможно, что остановятся как раз на втором варианте, но если учесть не слишком удачные предыдущие опыты по созданию боевых самолетов, в этом случае вряд ли стоит ждать особых успехов, тем более, в краткие сроки.

Европа периодически тоже заявляет о намерениях создать новейший истребитель. Во всяком случае на 53-м Парижском авиационно-космическом салоне (Paris Air Show 2019) был представлен макет Next Generation Fighter (NGF) – «евроистребителя пятого поколения». Пока что о проекте, вызывающем негатив в США (какой рынок для F-35 закроется!) разговоров больше чем реального дела, однако за разработку взялись достаточно серьезные компании - Dassault Aviation и Airbus, так что толк, вполне возможно, и будет, если кризис и коронавирус не помешают, оставив проект без достаточного финансирования. Насколько известно, шведы, стремящиеся, по возможности, поучаствовать в любом европейском оборонном проекте, к NGF не привлекаются, поскольку сами трудятся над SAAB Flygsystem 2020 – истребителем также пятого поколения.

Имеются пара претендентов и в Ближневосточном регионе. Например, Анкара, у которой с обновлением авиапарка ВВС возникли серьезные проблемы. Из программы F-35 турок американцы исключили, на европейцев надежды мало. Остается или покупать истребители российские, вызывая еще большее негодование Вашингтона и Брюсселя, или делать что-то свое. Впервые о намерениях создать к столетнему юбилею Турецкой республики истребитель пятого поколения Turkish Fighter было заявлено на Международной оборонной выставке IDEF-2013 в Стамбуле. О конкретных результатах пока данных нет. Вряд ли из стоит ожидать в скором будущем – в особенности, если учесть, что это будет первый истребитель местной разработки. К примеру, опыт создания реактивных двигателей у страны отсутствует. Как и соответствующая индустрия по их производству. Стоимость разработки предварительно оценена в 10 миллиардов долларов.

О твердом намерении обзавестись истребителем пятого поколения отечественного производства говорят и в Тегеране. Речь о проекте IAIO Qaher-313. Здесь сомнений в реалистичности еще больше, чем относительно Турции, и по тем же самым причинам. Хотя, в последнее время иранцы взялись удивлять собственными военными разработками.

Так или иначе, а пока что «тройка лидеров» остаётся тройкой, мало того, России ещё только предстоит принять Су-57 на вооружение.
Автор:
16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Варяг_0711
    Варяг_0711 25 марта 2020 16:45
    -1
    Так или иначе, а пока что «тройка лидеров» остаётся тройкой, мало того, России ещё только предстоит принять Су-57 на вооружение.
    Я так полагаю, что в ближайшие лет 10, тройка так и останется тройкой. И то, большой вопрос, а тройка ли это? Насколько китайские образцы можно считать самолетами пятого поколения, если откинуть слова(зачастую пустые) китайских "экспертов"? Я сильно не уверен, что китайцы, помимо внешнего копирования, создали что то выдающееся. Нет у них еще той летной школы, которая могла бы самостоятельно что то создать. Скопировать это да, тут они впереди планеты всей, а вот со своим у них проблемы. Так что Китай я бы пока не вписывал сюда.
    Ну а вести работы по программе пятого поколения не значит его довести до ума. Для этого как минимум требуется своя собственная ШКОЛА самолетостроения. Ведь современный самолет это не только планер, это и сложная авионика, и АФАР, и комплексы взаимодействия с АВАКС и наземной ПВО, и средства РЭБ и оружие и много много чего еще. Так что заиметь планер, который похож на пятое поколение, это еще не заиметь самолет, а уж если быть точным, то даже не самолет, а КОМПЛЕКС пятого поколения.
    Так что в лидерах пока так и будут США, ну и мы в роли догоняющих. Если наши конструктора, не выдадут на гора сразу шестое поколение, как некоторые грозятся.
    1. codetalker
      codetalker 25 марта 2020 16:54
      +1
      Да и то, как они все успешно копируют, тоже в значительной степени преувеличение.
    2. Mastrer
      Mastrer 26 марта 2020 03:16
      0
      Недооценка противника чревата...
  2. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 25 марта 2020 16:53
    0
    Мне всегда нравилась японская разработка. Чисто визуально. Как говорится, красивый самолёт и летает красиво. У самураев аппарат красивый. Думаю, доведут его до ума.
    1. Винт с резьбой
      Винт с резьбой 26 марта 2020 11:02
      0
      Думаю, доведут его до ума.
      Во много зависит от США, они лихо вставляют палки в колеса, в принципе если бы не полосатики, то человечки с узкими глазами уже бы запилили что то близкое к серии, митцуба делает вещи по технологичности сравнимые с самолетом 5 поколения. Помню какие разборки были в 18 по этому поводу. Тут к стати многие были уверены что у Япошек ничего не полетит.
    2. Игорь Половодов
      Игорь Половодов 28 марта 2020 19:51
      0
      Некрасивый самолет скорее всего не полетит... слова принадлежат Туполеву, если не ошибаюсь
  3. knn54
    knn54 25 марта 2020 16:55
    +2
    Тайвань планирует создать до 2028 г. свой самолет пятого поколения.
    По крайней мере, он еще в конце 80-х смог(в отличие от некоторых "желающих" из данной публикации) смог выпустить собственный истребитель 4-ого поколения истребитель F-CK-1.
  4. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Владимир_2У
      Владимир_2У 26 марта 2020 07:05
      +2
      Цитата: Sun Chaser
      Но без сетевой инфраструктуры, это не 5 поколение.

      Точно, в 21 веке и без ВайФая, бред какой то. laughing
      1. dauria
        dauria 26 марта 2020 12:59
        +1
        Точно, в 21 веке и без ВайФая, бред какой то.


        Маркетологи, блин. "5-6-7 , супер, сверх" . Ту-22м от прототипа до последних "модификаций" -небо и земля. Менялись движки, РЭО, вооружение и оборудование, элементы планера. То же самое будет и с F-35 и c Cу-57 , если угадать правильно планер, идею и уловить "куда дует ветер" в войнах .
        Одно стало ясно - без малой ЭПР меньше 1 кв метра ловить нечего. Иначе летали бы на F-15 и Су-27 и не выдумывали ничего, кроме новых движков, "Вай-фаев" и ракет. А вот "куда дует ветер" пока никто не знает. Серьёзных замесов не было давным давно. И слава богу.
  5. bar
    bar 25 марта 2020 17:56
    +1
    Для того, чтобы считаться машиной пятого поколения, истребитель обязан обладать рядом обязательных параметров: ... сверхманевренностью, повышенными скоростными характеристиками

    По этим показателям "пингвина" вычёркиваем?
  6. lucul
    lucul 25 марта 2020 18:11
    +1
    Сейчас набегут " партнёры " доказывать , что сверхманевренность не нужна ))))
  7. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 25 марта 2020 18:58
    +5
    Пока производитель серийных истребителей 5го поколения один - США . Китай и РФ на переходе от опытного производства к серийному....и не с финальной комплектацией.
  8. Макс1995
    Макс1995 25 марта 2020 20:03
    0
    Все упирается в двигатели и в нужность. Имхо, япония и европа сделает себе чтото подобное.
    Без сверхманевренности, на высоких скоростях она того..., а на малых самолет не спасет...
  9. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 26 марта 2020 04:21
    +3
    А шо ? Хiба Велика Украiна вiдмовилася вiд створення винищувача 5 поколiння ? belay
  10. boriz
    boriz 27 марта 2020 22:00
    +1
    Пока самолётов пятого поколения только два. F22 b Су57. И то, Су ещё не принят. Остальным - учиться делать движки. А F35 никакой движок не поможет.
  11. юра-19
    юра-19 30 марта 2020 09:58
    0
    При путинизме не какого поколения 5 не будет будут только остатки 4/5