Indian opposition: Now we need to spend money not on weapons, but on confronting the coronavirus


The Indian opposition and human rights organizations criticized the government led by Narendra Modi in connection with the implementation of arms contracts. According to representatives of the opposition forces, the cabinet should temporarily abandon arms import deals, as "money today is needed primarily to counter the coronavirus pandemic."

The Indian press reports that opposition forces have particularly criticized one of the recent deals - the acquisition of a small weapons Israel has about $ 116 million. Under the contract, India acquires about 16,5 thousand light machine guns from the Israelis.



Indian human rights defenders:

At a time when 1,3 billion people in our country are threatened by COVID-19, at a time when WHO is worrying about a possible infection in India of up to 750 million people, the government spends a lot of money on weapons. This despite the fact that the country does not have enough masks, protective suits for doctors, medicines and equipment. India is ill prepared to face the epidemic.

At present, in India, about 500 known cases of coronavirus infection with 10 fatal outcomes have been recorded (mainly people over 75 years old). The other day, Modi declared universal quarantine.

Professor, Department of Global Policy, University of Delhi Achin Vanayk:

The authorities are well aware that the danger of an epidemic cannot be underestimated. But when each rupee is important to the country, they divert funds to other purposes. Our medical system may come under a powerful blow, not comparable to that inflicted on Europe, because so far our medicine is not able to provide all those in need with timely help with our population.

It is added that now it is necessary to spend money not on weapons, on opposing the new coronavirus.

Meanwhile, opponents in India claim that opposition forces are “engaged in demagogy.” It is noted that it is absolutely impossible to link the need to make military spending with health care costs.

It is noted that the contract for the purchase of weapons from Israel was signed back in 2018, and its implementation is now in full compliance with the agreements. It is additionally said that against the background of coronavirus we must not forget that "India has enemies that must be defended against."
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Индийская оппозиция: Сейчас надо тратить деньги не на оружие, а на противостояние коронавирусу


Индийская оппозиция и представители правозащитных организаций раскритиковали правительство во главе с Нарендрой Моди в связи с реализацией контрактов на приобретение вооружений. По мнению представителей оппозиционных сил, кабинет министров должен на время отказаться от сделок по импорту вооружений, так как «денежные средства сегодня нужны в первую очередь на противостояние пандемии коронавируса».

В индийской прессе рассказывается о том, что оппозиционные силы особенно раскритиковали одну из недавних сделок – по приобретению стрелкового оружия у Израиля на сумму около 116 млн долларов. В рамках контракта Индия приобретает у израильтян около 16,5 тысяч лёгких пулемётов.



Индийские правозащитники:

В тот момент, когда 1,3 млрд человек в нашей стране находятся под угрозой COVID-19, в тот момент, когда ВОЗ высказывает опасения относительно возможного заражении в Индии до 750 млн человек, правительство тратит огромные деньги на оружие. Это притом, что в стране не хватает масок, защитных костюмов для врачей, медикаментов и оборудования. Индия плохо подготовлена к встрече с эпидемией.

На данный момент в Индии зафиксировано около 500 известных случаев заражения коронавирусом при 10-ти летальных исходов (в основном это люди старше 75 лет). На днях Моди объявил всеобщий карантин.

Профессор кафедры глобальной политики университета Дели Ачин Ванайк:

Власти хорошо понимают, что недооценивать опасность эпидемии нельзя. Но когда стране важная каждая рупия, они отвлекают средства на другие цели. Наша медицинская система может оказаться под мощным ударом, не сравнимым с тем, который нанесён по Европе, так как пока наша медицина не в состоянии обеспечивать всех нуждающихся своевременной помощью при нашей численности населения.

Добавлено, что Сейчас надо тратить денежные средства не на вооружение, на противостояние новому коронавирусу.

Тем временем оппоненты в Индии заявляют, что оппозиционные силы «занимаются демагогией». Отмечено, что совершенно нельзя увязывать необходимость совершать военные расходы с расходами на здравоохранение.

Отмечается, что контракт на приобретение оружия у Израиля был подписан ещё в 2018 году, и его реализация сейчас проходит в полном соответствии с соглашениями. Дополнительно говорится, что на фоне коронавируса нельзя забывать о том, что «у Индии есть враги, от которых необходимо защищаться».
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

24 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти