Increased US Artillery Power: New M109A7 Paladin Howitzers ordered


British military-industrial company BAE Systems received a new order from the US Department of Defense. She must produce a batch of M109A7 Paladin self-propelled howitzers. The goal is to increase the combat capabilities of US Army artillery.


Under a contract worth $ 339 million, BAE Systems is committed to supplying the USA with 48 M109A7 Paladin self-propelled howitzers under the M992A3 CAT ammunition, as well as M992A2 (FAASV) field artillery support vehicles and spare parts.

The Pentagon believes that the implementation of the order will significantly enhance the combat capabilities of the artillery units of the armored brigades of the American army. Moreover, increasing the power of artillery is now considered as one of the priority tasks in terms of the development of the American ground forces.

Back in 2017, the American RAND center, which is also engaged in military-political research, established that it is the army artillery that is currently the “Achilles heel” of the US ground forces. So, in the American brigades there is only one artillery division, and the Russian army has a much larger number of fire support units consisting of both motorized rifle and tank formations.

Thus, the American army is significantly inferior to the Russian army in artillery power, and this circumstance, experts point out, can play a very important role in the event of an armed conflict. Russian artillery will simply crush the American, which is not only smaller, but also has a lower rate of fire.

General John Murray, head of the U.S. Army Futures Command, appealed to the US Congress about the need to restore the capabilities of long-range army artillery. It was in connection with the need to correct the existing backlog of the American military leadership and turned to the order of new M109A7 howitzers.

The new M109A7 howitzers must meet the long-term needs of the US Army, which requires the use of the latest technology in their production. In particular, howitzers will use a completely new chassis based on the Bradley family of machine solutions combined with the new electronic architecture.


The first contract for the production and supply of howitzers was signed in 2017, but then it concerned small-scale production. The latest order increases the total number of purchased self-propelled howitzers to 204, and the total cost of supplies to $ 1,5 billion.

Recall that the M109 howitzers have been in the arsenal of the American army since 1963. For the first time they passed a serious test during the Vietnam War, and then participated in almost all wars and armed conflicts in which units of the American armed forces were involved. In addition to the United States, various modifications of the M109 howitzer are in service with the armies of many countries - from Italy, Spain, Greece to Morocco, Thailand and Taiwan.

The Paladin modernization program involves further radical transformation of the combat capabilities of American artillery. In addition, the U.S. military has begun developing a long-range strategic gun capable of firing 180 km. The new gun is planned to be used together with missile systems against the most strategically important goals.

In parallel, it is planned to improve both the detection and guidance means, since the ability to work at long distances is expected from updated artillery. Important target detection tools include future reconnaissance aircraft and low-orbit satellites, as well as advanced sensors on the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. kjhg 26 March 2020 13: 08 New
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    In addition, the U.S. military has begun developing a long-range strategic gun capable of firing 1800 km.
    This is a missprint?
    For the rest, let them improve. In recent years, they really paid little attention to this, completely focusing on UAVs and fifth-generation aircraft.
    1. PalBor 26 March 2020 13: 16 New
      • 2
      • 1
      +1
      Interestingly, no. The Pentagon actually ordered a cannon firing hypersonic shells for 1000 nautical miles. Something like

      The article was https://topwar.ru/163679-v-ssha-gotovjat-pushku-s-dalnostju-strelby-v-1500-km.html
      1. Shuttle 26 March 2020 16: 30 New
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        Smiled. wassat
        Especially this photo from the article.

        Who did not understand - it’s like that same wunderwaffe from the article ... in stock.
    2. voyaka uh 26 March 2020 13: 56 New
      • 4
      • 0
      +4
      The "super-gun" attempt is not abandoned. The projectile throws itself into the stratosphere,
      there it flies far in ballistics, and on the descent it is corrected by GPS.
      Hope to reduce the cost of the shot compared to missiles.
  2. Protos 26 March 2020 13: 23 New
    • 0
    • 2
    -2
    Another CUT laughing
    1. 5-9
      5-9 26 March 2020 13: 32 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      A7 is just the consequences of the fact that the CUT was a whack-whack on the Cruzader .... what if he fought, but the self-propelled guns were at the seams?
  3. 5-9
    5-9 26 March 2020 13: 31 New
    • 4
    • 1
    +3
    Mammoth coeval with 3 shots in 2 minutes must meet the long-term needs of the us army???? What are they undemanding ...
  4. K-50 26 March 2020 13: 44 New
    • 0
    • 1
    -1
    The U.S. military has begun developing a long-range strategic gun capable of firing 1800 km.

    Generally bullshit. Or were you wrong with zeros? what
    Even if you manage to shoot at such a distance, then there’s certainly no way to get there, but then what’s the point of shooting in the "white light"? No, I understand a lot of money can be printed, but this "firework" is too expensive. lol
    1. voyaka uh 26 March 2020 13: 58 New
      • 3
      • 1
      +2
      It’s easier to hit now than to shoot. GPS receiver and wings.
      Shooting from the barrel so far is much more difficult.
      1. K-50 26 March 2020 14: 18 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Quote: voyaka uh
        GPS receiver and wings.

        Yes, it seems that the EW facilities are not yet banned weapons. what request
        If only against any partisans, is it not too "fat" to shoot for a thousand kilometers for this?
        1. voyaka uh 26 March 2020 17: 02 New
          • 3
          • 0
          +3
          EW tools themselves are very vulnerable. These are hefty installations
          which themselves find themselves immediately after switching on.
          They will not live long in the war, and making a lot of them is expensive.
          In addition, they crush both their own and others.
  5. Amateur 26 March 2020 14: 10 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    In addition, the U.S. military has begun developing a long-range strategic gun capable of firing 1800 km.

    At VO, this was discussed on 27.02.2020.
  6. ABM
    ABM 26 March 2020 15: 03 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    the Turks “burned” the already promising NATO development in Syria, including a combination of drones and self-propelled guns, now we will be ready to meet a similar system in battle. Clearly, there will be a little longer-range and more target designation methods, but this should not confuse us
    1. Hermit21 26 March 2020 22: 48 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Turks "burned" already a promising NATO development in Syria


      In fact, the tactics of the ROK or RUK - reconnaissance-fire (strike) systems with the coordination of artillery with UAVs and other means of reconnaissance and target designation in real time were invented by us back in the 1980s and today are reviving. It has already been tested in some places on someone, the presentation is on the network. So this is NATO learning from us
  7. Engineer 26 March 2020 15: 24 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    So, in the American brigades - there is only one artillery division, and the Russian army has a much larger number of fire support units consisting of both motorized rifle and tank formations.

    Compound it from the division and above. The brigade is part. Equivalent concepts need to be compared.
    As part of the Russian TBR, there is exactly one art division. Due to the reactive artillery division, the Russian brigade is moving ahead, but the Americans traditionally rely on more massive air support.
    1. Lopatov 26 March 2020 15: 44 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: Engineer
      Compound it from the division and above. The brigade is part. Equivalent concepts need to be compared.

      Try it.
      Quote: Engineer
      As part of the Russian TBR, there is exactly one art division.

      It is impossible to put an equal sign between the American heavy and Russian tank brigades
      "You need to compare equivalent concepts" (c)
  8. primaala 26 March 2020 16: 59 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Increased US Artillery Power: New M109A7 Paladin Howitzers ordered
    ====================
    All the fuss around the American defense industry is reminiscent of Kuprin's novel "The Pit."

Повышение мощи артиллерии США: заказаны новые гаубицы M109A7 Paladin


Британская военно-промышленная компания BAE Systems получила новый заказ от Министерства обороны США. Она должна произвести партию самоходных гаубиц M109A7 Paladin. Цель - повышение боевых возможностей артиллерии сухопутных войск США.


Согласно условиям контракта, заключенного на общую сумму в 339 млн долларов, BAE Systems обязуется поставить США 48 самоходных гаубиц M109A7 Paladin под боеприпасы M992A3 CAT, а также автомобили поддержки полевых артиллерийских боеприпасов M992A2 (FAASV) и запасные части.

В Пентагоне считают, что выполнение заказа позволит значительно усилить боевые возможности артиллерийских подразделений бронетанковых бригад американской армии. Тем более, что увеличение мощи артиллерии сейчас рассматривается как одна из приоритетных задач в плане развития американских сухопутных войск.

Еще в 2017 году американский центр RAND, занимающийся и военно-политическими исследованиями, установил, что именно армейская артиллерия в настоящее время является «ахиллесовой пятой» сухопутных войск США. Так, в американских бригадах – лишь один артиллерийский дивизион, а российская армия имеет куда большее количество подразделений огневой поддержки в составе и мотострелковых, и танковых соединений.

Таким образом, американская армия по артиллерийской мощи заметно уступает российской и это обстоятельство, как указывают специалисты, может сыграть очень важную роль в случае вооруженного конфликта. Российская артиллерия просто подавит американскую, которая не только малочисленнее, но и обладает меньшей скорострельностью.

Генерал Джон Мюррей, глава армейского фьючерсного командования США, обратился к Конгрессу США с заявлением о необходимости восстановления возможностей дальней армейской артиллерии. Именно в связи с необходимостью исправить существующее отставание американское военное руководство и обратилось к заказу новых гаубиц M109A7.

Новые гаубицы M109A7 должны отвечать долгосрочным потребностям американской армии, что требует использования при их производстве новейших технологий. В частности, гаубицы будут использовать абсолютно новое шасси, основанное на решениях семейства машин Bradley в сочетании с новой электронной архитектурой.


Первый контракт на производство и поставку гаубиц был заключен еще в 2017 году, но тогда он касался мелкосерийного производства. Последний заказ увеличивает общее количество приобретенных самоходных гаубиц до 204, а общую стоимость поставок – до 1,5 млрд долларов.

Напомним, что гаубицы M109 находятся на вооружении американской армии с 1963 года. Впервые серьезную проверку они прошли во время Вьетнамской войны, а затем участвовали практически во всех войнах и вооруженных конфликтах, в которых были задействованы подразделения американских вооруженных сил. Кроме США, различные модификации гаубицы М109 стоят на вооружении армий множества стран – от Италии, Испании, Греции до Марокко, Таиланда и Тайваня.

Программа модернизации Paladin предполагает дальнейшее коренное преобразование боевых возможностей американской артиллерии. Кроме того, американское военное ведомство приступило к разработке стратегической пушки дальнего действия, способной стрелять на 180 км. Новую пушку планируется использовать вместе с ракетными комплексами против наиболее важных в стратегическом отношении целей.

Параллельно планируется совершенствовать и средства обнаружения и наведения, поскольку от обновленной артиллерии ожидается способность работать на дальних дистанциях. В числе важных инструментов обнаружения целей рассматриваются разведывательные самолеты будущего и низкоорбитальные спутники, а также усовершенствованные датчики на F-35 Joint Strike Fighter.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. kjhg 26 марта 2020 13:08 Новый
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    Кроме того, американское военное ведомство приступило к разработке стратегической пушки дальнего действия, способной стрелять на 1800 км.
    Это опечатка?
    В остальном, пусть совершенствуют. В последние годы они и вправду уделяли этому мало внимания, полностью сосредоточившись на БПЛА и самолетах пятого поколения.
    1. ПалБор 26 марта 2020 13:16 Новый
      • 2
      • 1
      +1
      Что интересно, нет. Пентагон действительно заказал пушку, стреляющую гиперзвуковыми снарядами на 1000 морских миль. Что-нибудь вроде

      Статья была https://topwar.ru/163679-v-ssha-gotovjat-pushku-s-dalnostju-strelby-v-1500-km.html
      1. Shuttle 26 марта 2020 16:30 Новый
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        Улыбнуло. wassat
        Особенно вот эта фоточка из статьи.

        Кто не понял - это как-бы та самая вундерваффе из статьи... на складе.
    2. voyaka uh 26 марта 2020 13:56 Новый
      • 4
      • 0
      +4
      Не оставляется попытка "супер-пушки". Снаряд закидывается в стратосферу,
      там летит далеко по баллистике, а на спуске корректируется по GPS.
      Надежда удешевить выстрел по сравнению с ракетами.
  2. Protos 26 марта 2020 13:23 Новый
    • 0
    • 2
    -2
    Очередной РАСПИЛ laughing
    1. 5-9
      5-9 26 марта 2020 13:32 Новый
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      А7 это как раз последствия того, что РАСПИЛ был вжик-вжик на Крусейдере....а вдруг воевать, а САУ вообще швах?
  3. 5-9
    5-9 26 марта 2020 13:31 Новый
    • 4
    • 1
    +3
    Ровесник мамонта с 3 выстрелами в 2 минуты должны отвечать долгосрочным потребностям американской армии???? Экие они нетребовательные...
  4. К-50 26 марта 2020 13:44 Новый
    • 0
    • 1
    -1
    американское военное ведомство приступило к разработке стратегической пушки дальнего действия, способной стрелять на 1800 км.

    Воще бред сивой кобылы. Или с нулями ошиблись? what
    Даже если получится стрельнуть на такую дистанцию, то вот попасть уж точно нет, а смысл тогда пулять в "белый свет"? Не, я понимаю денег много можно напечатать, но этот "фейерверк" слишком дорогой получается. lol
    1. voyaka uh 26 марта 2020 13:58 Новый
      • 3
      • 1
      +2
      Попасть сейчас легче, чем пульнуть. GPS приемник и крылышки.
      Стрельнуть из ствола так далеко гораздо труднее.
      1. К-50 26 марта 2020 14:18 Новый
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Цитата: voyaka uh
        GPS приемник и крылышки.

        Да вроде бы средства РЭБ ещё не запрещённое оружие. what request
        Если только против партизан каких, так не слишком ли "жирно" за тыщу км стрелять для этого?
        1. voyaka uh 26 марта 2020 17:02 Новый
          • 3
          • 0
          +3
          Средства РЭБ сами очень уязвимы. Это здоровенные установки,
          которые сами себя обнаруживают сразу же после включения.
          В войне они проживут недолго, а много их изготовить - дорого.
          Кроме того, они давят и своих и чужих.
  5. Дилетант 26 марта 2020 14:10 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Кроме того, американское военное ведомство приступило к разработке стратегической пушки дальнего действия, способной стрелять на 1800 км.

    На ВО это обсуждалось 27.02.2020.
  6. ABM
    ABM 26 марта 2020 15:03 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    турки "спалили" уже перспективную разработку НАТО в Сирии, включающую комбинацию беспилотников и САУ, теперь мы уже будем готовы встретить в бою подобную систему. Понятно, будет чуть дальнобойнее и больше методов целеуказания, но в тупик нас это уж не должно поставить
    1. Hermit21 26 марта 2020 22:48 Новый
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      турки "спалили" уже перспективную разработку НАТО в Сирии


      Вообще-то тактика РОК или РУК – разведывательно-огневых (ударных) комплексов с увязкой артиллерии с БПЛА и другими средствами разведки и целеуказания в реальном времени была придумана нами ещё в 1980-е и сегодня возрождается. Её уже апробировали кое-где кое на ком, в сети презенташка лежит. Так что это НАТО учится у нас
  7. Engineer 26 марта 2020 15:24 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Так, в американских бригадах – лишь один артиллерийский дивизион, а российская армия имеет куда большее количество подразделений огневой поддержки в составе и мотострелковых, и танковых соединений.

    Соединение это от дивизии и выше. Бригада это часть. Сравнивать нужно эквивалентные понятия.
    В составе российской ТБр точно так же один арт дивизион. За счет реактивного артдивизиона российская бригада вырывается вперед, но американцы традиционно рассчитывают на более массированную авиаподдержку.
    1. Лопатов 26 марта 2020 15:44 Новый
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Цитата: Engineer
      Соединение это от дивизии и выше. Бригада это часть. Сравнивать нужно эквивалентные понятия.

      Попробуйте.
      Цитата: Engineer
      В составе российской ТБр точно так же один арт дивизион.

      Нельзя ставить знак "равно" между американской "тяжёлой" и российской танковой бригадами
      "Сравнивать нужно эквивалентные понятия" (с)
  8. primaala 26 марта 2020 16:59 Новый
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Повышение мощи артиллерии США: заказаны новые гаубицы M109A7 Paladin
    ====================
    Вся возня вокруг американской оборонки, напоминает повесть Куприна "Яма".