T-90 Bhishma: how India creates tanks based on Russian technologies


India is actively using Russian tank technology to create and improve its own fleet of armored vehicles. One of the typical examples of the transfer of Russian technology to Indian soil is the famous T-90 Bhishma tank.


In the period from 2001 to 2010, the T-90 was the best-selling on the world market. a tank. At the same time, India became the main buyer of the Russian combat vehicle abroad, while at that time it was seriously concerned about the increase in the number of tanks to confront its potential adversaries - Pakistan and China. In addition, delays in the production of the actual Indian Arjun tank, which has been developed since the mid-1970s, forced the Indian military to seek an alternative. It took into account the fact that neighboring Pakistan also increased tank power by acquiring tanks from China and Ukraine.

In 2001, a contract was signed for the supply of 310 T-90S with a total value of $ 1 billion, and in 2006 India signed a contract for $ 2,5 billion on the licensed production of 1000 T-90 tanks at Indian enterprises. This is how the T-90 Bhishma tanks appeared, named after the legendary warrior from the Indian epic Mahabharata.

The Indian tank Bhishma combines the advantages of Russian tank technology with local accessories and French thermal sights. It is produced at the Avadi Tank Plant in Chennai (formerly Madras) in Tamil Nadu. The T-90M Bhishma is equipped with a new automatic loader, fire control system (FCS), main gun (2A46M-5) and a power plant with a capacity of 1130 horsepower, as well as an additional anti-aircraft gun with remote control.

One of the modifications of the T-90, namely the T-90MS, according to military experts, is ideal for the harsh climate and mountain landscape of such Himalayan regions as Ladakh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. In turn, on the plains of India, where the climate is very hot, T-90 locally produced have not proved their worth, often overheating. Therefore, in military units deployed in lowland India, they prefer the Indian tanks "Arjun".


However, with an obvious preference for domestic technology, India still does not refuse to further acquire Russian tanks. At present, at least 1000-1100 T-90S tanks, including Bhishma modifications, are at the disposal of the Indian ground forces. The command of the Indian army expects to strengthen the Indo-Pakistani border with the help of Bhishma tanks, especially since a significant part of the border passes through the mountainous regions of Kashmir, where the climate is much colder than in the more southern states of India.

However, until now, the T-90 tanks are not yet the most massive in the Indian Army. At the disposal of the tank units of the Indian army is most of the T-72M1 tanks - about 2000 units. But the T-90 has every chance to replace the T-72 in the Indian army, especially considering that India now has more T-90 tanks than Russia itself, having acquired half of all produced tanks of this type over the years of production.


Well-known expert Caleb Larson in an article in The National Interest magazine writes that India is showing interest in the latest Russian tank T-14 Armata. However, it is not yet clear whether New Delhi will want to purchase tanks already produced in Russia, or whether to start producing them under license at Indian enterprises. It is possible that “Armata” is of interest to the Indian military and purely as a platform for subsequent, already purely Indian developments.

The main task of India in terms of tank building is to bring the number of tanks in service in the near future to 4500 units. After achieving this goal, India will be the fourth power in the world in the number of tanks after Russia, the USA and China.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. The leader of the Redskins 26 March 2020 17: 57 New
    • 4
    • 2
    +2
    New automatic loader and anti-aircraft gun? Am I so far behind world tank building?
  2. WHAT IS 26 March 2020 17: 58 New
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    However, it is not yet clear whether New Delhi will want to purchase tanks already produced in Russia, or whether to start producing them under license at Indian enterprises.

    Why it’s not clear, it’s just clear how they want with the T-90S:
    India has signed a $ 2,5 billion contract for the licensed production of 1000 T-90 tanks at Indian enterprises. So there were tanks T-90 "Bhishma"

    It’s quite reasonable to do things at home than to buy all the time ... But in general, well done, although it is customary here to play a trick on them:
    in the near future to bring the number of tanks in service to 4500 units. After achieving this goal, India will be the fourth power in the world in the number of tanks after Russia, the USA and China.

    Colles quasi-Si vis pacem para bellum.
  3. V.I.P. 26 March 2020 17: 59 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Interestingly, how did the T-72 behave on the plain? He did not overheat? Why did they refuse to modernize the T-72? Even another tower could be put up, in theory it would have been cheaper ....
    1. Lopatov 26 March 2020 18: 17 New
      • 5
      • 1
      +4
      Quote: V.I.P.
      Why did they refuse to modernize the T-72?

      In what sense?
      They developed their engine for them, their dynamic defense system, their mine trawl, and they are developing their replacement guns and their ammunition.

      There is very active work in progress.
      1. Frol 26 March 2020 20: 07 New
        • 2
        • 2
        0
        Quote: Spade
        They developed their engine for them, their dynamic defense system, their mine trawl, and they are developing their replacement guns and their ammunition.

        Well, this is not a Russian tank ..? Outwardly similar, and so
        Remember AK assault rifles, who only did not produce them in the world .. But Soviet ones are still appreciated! OTK there was concrete and trunk control ..
        And the Indians, of course cunning, but it would be better if they bought Russian weapons and our technical support .. And so they are gouging !!! Sorry for that, but the way it is ..
        1. Lopatov 26 March 2020 20: 09 New
          • 1
          • 1
          0
          Quote: Frol
          Well, this is not a Russian tank

          He initially held them as Ajeya Mk1
  4. Sergey Averchenkov 26 March 2020 18: 43 New
    • 2
    • 2
    0
    I do not think that India (with all due respect to this country) will be able to create a tank. If I could have created it long ago.
    1. knn54 26 March 2020 19: 12 New
      • 2
      • 2
      0
      They realized too late that tanks are better than elephants.
      Almost 40 (!) Years they fought over Arjun, and as a result they buy so much that their own tank factory would not be closed.
      So they remained "screwdrivers."
    2. 32363 26 March 2020 19: 54 New
      • 2
      • 1
      +1
      so arjun is collected after all, though it's the same leopard laughing

Военное обозрение

Т-90 «Бхишма»: как Индия создаёт танки на базе российских технологий

9

Индия активно использует российские технологии танкостроения для создания и совершенствования собственного парка бронетехники. Одним из типичных примеров переложения российских технологий на индийскую почву является знаменитый танк Т-90 «Бхишма».


В период с 2001 по 2010 годы Т-90 был самым продаваемым на мировом рынке танком. При этом главным покупателем российской боевой машины за рубежом стала Индия, в то время всерьез озабоченная увеличением количества танков для противостояния своим потенциальным противникам – Пакистану и Китаю. К тому же, задержки в производстве собственно индийского танка «Арджун», который разрабатывался с середины 1970-х годов, заставили индийское военное ведомство искать альтернативу. Учитывалось и то обстоятельство, что соседний Пакистан также наращивал танковую мощь, приобретая танки у Китая и Украины.

В 2001 г. был заключен контракт на поставку 310 Т-90С общей стоимостью в 1 млрд долларов, а в 2006 г. Индия подписала контракт на 2,5 млрд долларов о лицензионном производстве 1000 танков Т-90 на индийских предприятиях. Так появились танки Т-90 «Бхишма», названные в честь легендарного воителя из индийского эпоса «Махабхарата».

Индийский танк «Бхишма» сочетает преимущества российских технологий танкостроения с местными дополнениями и французскими тепловыми прицелами. Он производится на танкостроительном заводе в Авади в городе Ченнаи (раньше – Мадрас) в штате Тамилнаду. T-90M Bhishma оборудован новым автоматическим погрузчиком, системой управления огнем (FCS), главным орудием (2A46M-5) и силовой установкой мощностью 1130 лошадиных сил, а также дополнительной зенитной пушкой с дистанционным управлением.

Одна из модификаций Т-90, а именно Т-90MS, по мнению военных экспертов, идеально подходит для сурового климата и горного ландшафта таких гималайских регионов как Ладакх, Сикким и Аруначал-Прадеш. В свою очередь, на равнинах Индии, где климат очень жаркий, Т-90 местного производства зарекомендовали себя не с лучшей стороны, часто перегреваясь. Поэтому в воинских частях, дислоцированных в равнинной Индии, отдают предпочтение индийским танкам «Арджун».


Однако, при очевидном предпочтении отечественным технологиям, все же Индия не отказывается от дальнейшего приобретения российских танков. В настоящее время в распоряжении сухопутных войск Индии находится не менее 1000-1100 танков Т-90С, включая и модификации «Бхишма». Командование индийской армии рассчитывает укрепить с помощью танков «Бхишма» индо-пакистанскую границу, тем более, что значительная часть границы проходит через горные районы Кашмира, где климат гораздо холоднее, чем в более южных штатах Индии.

Впрочем, вплоть до настоящего времени танки Т-90 еще не являются наиболее массовыми в сухопутных войсках Индии. В распоряжении танковых частей индийской армии находится больше всего танков Т-72М1 – около 2000 единиц. Но у Т-90 есть все шансы заменить Т-72 в индийской армии, особенно если учитывать, что уже сейчас Индия обладает большим количеством танков Т-90, чем сама Россия, приобретя за годы производства половину всех произведенных танков данного типа.


Известный эксперт Калеб Ларсон в статье в журнале The National Interest пишет, что Индия проявляет интерес и к новейшему российскому танку Т-14 «Армата». Впрочем, пока непонятно, то ли в Нью-Дели захотят приобрести уже произведенные в России танки, то ли начать выпуск их по лицензии на индийских предприятиях. Не исключено, что «Армата» интересует индийских военных и чисто как платформа для последующих, уже сугубо индийских разработок.

Главная задача Индии в плане танкостроения – в ближайшее время довести численность танков, находящихся в строю, до 4500 единиц. После достижения этой цели Индия окажется четвертой в мире державой по количеству танков после России, США и Китая.
Автор:
9 комментариев
Объявление

Нашим проектам требуются авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 26 марта 2020 17:57 Новый
    +2
    Новым автоматическим погрузчиком и зенитной ПУШКОЙ?! Я так сильно отстал от мирового танкостроения?
  2. КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ
    КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ 26 марта 2020 17:58 Новый
    +7
    Впрочем, пока непонятно, то ли в Нью-Дели захотят приобрести уже произведенные в России танки, то ли начать выпуск их по лицензии на индийских предприятиях.

    Почему не понятно,как раз понятно,как с Т-90С хотят:
    Индия подписала контракт на 2,5 млрд долларов о лицензионном производстве 1000 танков Т-90 на индийских предприятиях. Так появились танки Т-90 «Бхишма»

    Вполне разумно у себя делать,чем закупать все время...А вообще молодцы,хоть и принято здесь подшучивать над ними:
    в ближайшее время довести численность танков, находящихся в строю, до 4500 единиц. После достижения этой цели Индия окажется четвертой в мире державой по количеству танков после России, США и Китая.

    Сolles quasi-Si vis pacem para bellum.
  3. В.И.П.
    В.И.П. 26 марта 2020 17:59 Новый
    +2
    Интересно, а как Т-72 вёл себя на равнине? Он не перегревался? Почему они отказались от модернизации Т-72 ? Даже башню другую можно было бы ставить, по идее дешевле бы было....
    1. Лопатов
      Лопатов 26 марта 2020 18:17 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: В.И.П.
      Почему они отказались от модернизации Т-72 ?

      В смысле?
      Они для них разработали свой двигатель, свою систему динамической защиты, свой минный трал, разрабатывает своё орудие на замену и свои боеприпасы.

      Там весьма активно работа идёт.
      1. Frol
        Frol 26 марта 2020 20:07 Новый
        0
        Цитата: Лопатов
        Они для них разработали свой двигатель, свою систему динамической защиты, свой минный трал, разрабатывает своё орудие на замену и свои боеприпасы.

        Ну это уже не русский танк ..? Внешне похож ,а так
        Вспомните автоматы АК ,кто их только не производил в мире ..А все же ценятся имеено Советские ! ОТК там был конкретный и контроль ствола ..
        А индусы ,кончно хитрые ,но лучше бы Российское оружие покупали и нашу техподдержку ..А так они раздолбаи !!! Уж извините за это ,но так оно и есть ..
        1. Лопатов
          Лопатов 26 марта 2020 20:09 Новый
          0
          Цитата: Frol
          Ну это уже не русский танк

          Он у них изначально проходил как Ajeya Mk1
  4. Сергей Аверченков
    Сергей Аверченков 26 марта 2020 18:43 Новый
    0
    Я не думаю что Индия (со всем уважением к этой стране) сможет создать танк. Если бы могла давно бы создала.
    1. knn54
      knn54 26 марта 2020 19:12 Новый
      0
      Слишком поздно поняли,что танки лучше,чем слоны.
      Почти 40(!) лет бились над Арджуном,и в результате покупают столько,что бы собственный танковый завод не закрыть.
      Так и остались "отверточниками".
    2. 32363
      32363 26 марта 2020 19:54 Новый
      +1
      так арджун собирают ведь, правда это тотже леопард laughing