Military Review

How the Hong Kong flu of the late 1960s was remembered

16
How the Hong Kong flu of the late 1960s was remembered

Last March, the World Health Organization announced its new global influenza strategy for 2019-2030. Its goal was to prevent seasonal flu, control the transmission of viruses from animals to humans, and prepare for the next pandemic.


WHO global plans and history of viral pandemics


The emergence of a global strategy was commented on by the Director-General of WHO, Dr. Tedros Adhan Ghebreyesus. He noted that more than 1 billion people suffer from influenza every year worldwide, 3-5 million cases are considered serious, 290-650 thousand people die.

There were already four influenza pandemics: in 1918, 1957, 1968 and in 2009 (H1N1). Dr. Gebreyesus then said: "The question is not whether there will be another pandemic, but when it will be." Among the risks of modern times, he called the transmission of the influenza virus from animals to humans.

A WHO report drew media attention to the pandemics experienced by humanity. The special place in this series was occupied by the Hong Kong flu, which was raging on the planet in 1968-1969. Probably because this pandemic is still remembered by the people living now with all its features and fears.

The Russian editions unanimously recalled Vladimir Vysotsky’s famous song “The Ballad of Going to Paradise”, in which, according to the poet, “the Hong Kong flu was defeated”. It turned out to be more difficult with disease statistics. None of the countries had a summary of numbers except the United States, which recorded the death of 33800 people from the Hong Kong flu.

The number of those who died in a pandemic went from walking around the world - from 1 to 4 million people. Hong Kong influenza itself was rated by modern virologists as "moderate in severity" with a mortality rate of less than 0,2%. So why did people remember him so much?

First of all, due to the transience of the disease. Literally in the first two days all of his symptoms showed up, including fever and fever. A person could “burn out" in three to five days. However, this applies to older people over 65 years of age with immunocompromised chronic diseases.

The rest, too, was not sweet. The Hong Kong flu was a lot of complications. He carried pneumonia, myocarditis, bronchitis, otitis media, tracheitis, encephalitis, meningitis and a whole bunch of diseases with him. Often they became chronic and even made people disabled.

Tenacious virus


The virus first appeared in the summer of 1968 in Hong Kong. The crews of sea vessels carried it around the world. Within two weeks, the flu spread to the southern provinces of China, to Vietnam and Singapore. By fall, the virus reached India, the Philippines, Northern Australia, Europe and the USA.

Hong Kong flu was brought to the United States by soldiers returning from the Vietnam War. Perhaps that is why mortality statistics were more or less kept here so as not to be suspended under the consequences of military injuries.

In the rest of the countries, the statistics of the Hong Kong flu were not much carried away. Experts attribute this to the fact that there was not enough laboratory data that could be used to link the deaths of specific people with a pandemic.

The virus, meanwhile, was quite tenacious. In 1969, he was noted in the Soviet Union, Japan, Africa and South America. This wave was weaker than the first. Hong Kong influenza bothered people a couple of times in the seventies. But a vaccine and established treatment methods were already working against him.

The Hong Kong flu is also remembered because its pandemic has been better studied than the previous ones. For example, the “Spanish woman” could only fully understand the sad memory in 2005. Then, American scientists from tissue samples of people who died from that pandemic were able to recreate the gene structure of the virus and find out why the "Spaniard" was so deadly.

Any flu today remains a serious form of seasonal disease. The figures given by the head of the World Health Organization recall this. WHO was preparing for a new pandemic of the disease, but was confronted with SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus.

Its inexperience and unpredictability forced the authorities of many countries to take emergency measures to localize the emerging outbreaks of the pandemic. This work will have a good result, which profile specialists do not doubt. They are sure that medicine will "saddle" the new virus, as it did with the Hong Kong flu.
Author:
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Chervonny
    Chervonny April 1 2020 15: 36 New
    12
    They are sure that medicine will "saddle" the new virus, as it did with the Hong Kong flu.

    Undoubtedly. Medicine will defeat the coronavirus.
    Hong Kong influenza of the late 1960s remained in the memory of people

    Coronavirus will remain in people's memory for a very long time. Perhaps in a century, our descendants in the school will be told in the history lessons about the pandemic 2020, just as we were told at the school about the epidemics of the Middle Ages.
    1. The popuas
      The popuas April 1 2020 15: 48 New
      +3
      If some kind of infection does not mow down humanity in the next hundred years hi
    2. Snail N9
      Snail N9 April 1 2020 15: 51 New
      +7
      In the USSR, everything was somehow "simpler":
      1. knn54
        knn54 April 1 2020 15: 58 New
        0
        Just drank carbonated water.
        Regarding the flu. In 1982, he then cured himself with a new remedy, Remantadine, which was released by one of the Baltic states. Effective and against ticks.
        Since then I have been drinking 10 tablets for prophylaxis, one day, once a year. I haven’t complained yet (for almost 40 years).
        One flaw - STRONGLY hits the liver. If, for prevention, and not treatment, it is quite normal.
      2. svp67
        svp67 April 1 2020 16: 43 New
        +9
        Quote: Snail N9
        In the USSR, everything was somehow "simpler":

        To achieve such "simplicity" a lot of work was spent, a large number of people. In the same apparatus with soda, it was provided for the installation of a cylinder with a concentrate of disinfectant solution. Entire research institutes worked out various scenarios and methods of protecting the population, expeditions traveled around the world to take part in suppressing all possible foci of diseases, collecting material and information ...
        1. The comment was deleted.
        2. ycuce234-san
          ycuce234-san April 3 2020 11: 14 New
          0
          In the same apparatus with soda, it was provided for the installation of a cylinder with a concentrate of disinfectant solution.

          So after all, technologies do not stand still and now the same glass in the filling chamber in the bowels of the apparatus can certainly be dried and briefly burned with air plasma from a plasma torch (as in air-plasma welding machines) and then cooled with liquid poured into it. A glass, probably, it will already be required, all the same, not glass, but quartz or even glass - for heat resistance during thermal shock, but this is solvable and the device is simpler and more reliable: instead of some kind of cloudy bottle with unstable efficiency, it is an annihilating plasma.
          1. svp67
            svp67 April 3 2020 15: 42 New
            0
            Quote: ycuce234-san
            So technology does not stand still

            That's right, and that's why now reusable glass is replaced by disposable paper
            1. ycuce234-san
              ycuce234-san April 4 2020 12: 39 New
              +1
              now reusable glass replaced with disposable paper

              Not bad, yes, but I mostly find disposable plastic ones. And, from the point of view of epidemiology, the problems of storage, processing and accidental contact with used containers remained - that is, contact with the used glass is still possible - just reach out and take it.
    3. Lannan Shi
      Lannan Shi April 1 2020 15: 53 New
      -1
      Quote: Red
      Perhaps in a century, our descendants in the school will be told in the history lessons about the pandemic 2020, just as we were told at the school about the epidemics of the Middle Ages.

      In the winter of 2016-2017, 30 or 35 thousand people died in Italy. From the most common flu. From the crowns, at the moment, in the same Italy, many times less. And How? Are you already talking about the flu pandemic 2017 in history lessons?
      In the same 2017, about 2 million people died from tuberculosis in the world. But this evil is familiar, and the name is boring. Now, if he had just appeared yesterday, and called him something like - thiaravirusussmertim all the time, then yes, then he would have panicked completely. And about the crown, in 30 years, no one will remember except the doctors.
      1. Polymer
        Polymer April 2 2020 20: 40 New
        0
        Whether this pandemic will be remembered or not is still an open question, but it will definitely spoil statistics on longevity. But with a decrease in the retirement age, it will most likely be the same with the prices - if they increased it, then they will not reduce it anymore.
  2. akarfoxhound
    akarfoxhound April 1 2020 16: 11 New
    +7
    - Rabinovich, you fell ill and still have not called a doctor! How do you explain this?
    - Firstly, I do not want to spoil the statistics ...
    - And secondly?
    - And secondly, I’m not sure that I have a coronavirus, but I’m sure that in quarantine in a regional hospital I will die ...
  3. Catfish
    Catfish April 1 2020 16: 11 New
    +4
    In 1969, he was noted in the Soviet Union,

    He served in the SA in the Far East (ZVO, Khabarovsk Territory, EAO) 1966 - 69 years. The author has the wrong information, the flu appeared in our region already in 1968. In our separate tank regiment for the sick, a separate barracks was allocated. It lasted no more than a month, there were no deaths. The personnel in both the "hospital" and "freedom" were treated exclusively with "folk methods" as far as finances allowed. And in the corridor of the barracks hung a large sheet of whatman paper with a caricature on which the Russian boot gives under the ass to a departing Chinese who says "Hong Kong flu." Such are the memories of youth. smile
    I hope that now we will break through without much loss. All health and confidence in victory. soldier
  4. AU Ivanov.
    AU Ivanov. April 1 2020 16: 50 New
    -2
    Hong Kong influenza mainly caused heart complications and caused meningitis. He did not kill as much as the crown, but left the disabled.
  5. nikvic46
    nikvic46 April 1 2020 18: 37 New
    0
    Of course, we must help medicine. But since this is a menacing situation, we need to change the information field. If you open any news, there is a coronavirus, turn on the same thing. And they say that you don’t have to panic. Such a policy will lead to many people go into stress. And as you know in this state, any infection is dangerous to human life.
  6. Operator
    Operator April 1 2020 19: 10 New
    +4
    The Spanish woman (blue death, N1H1 flu) was first registered in March 1918 at a training camp for US Army recruits in Colorado. The cook fell ill, then about 1000 military personnel, about fifty of whom died suddenly.

    Acute respiratory disease developed within one to two days and was accompanied by high fever and blue skin due to the lungs refusing to transfer oxygen from the air to the blood. The severe disease affected people of young and middle age from 18 to 40 years. The virus caused them hyperactivity of the immune system with an increase in body temperature over 40 degrees. Mortality was 5%. Younger and older people easily transferred the virus or transferred it asymptomatically.

    It is believed that the null patient - the cook contracted the flu from the pig. The genome of the virus was deciphered in 2005 under the name N1H1 by extracting it from the lungs of a resident of Alaska who died in 1920 and was buried in permafrost.

    Due to the fact that the surviving Colorado recruits disappeared all the symptoms of the disease, they were transported by rail across America (infecting a mass of people on the way), transported by sea to Europe to the front against Germany, where they rebranded as their allies the French, British and Italians , and opponents of the Germans, Austro-Hungarians and Turks. From the Germans, the virus spread to the Russians. In addition, all the neutral countries of Europe, including Spain, were infected.

    The warring countries carefully concealed the fact of the epidemic, because the first information about it was published by Spanish doctors (hence the name "Spanish"). After the end of the WWI, the virus, together with the demobilized soldiers, spread to Asia, Africa and South America. In Russia, the spread of the virus contributed to the Civil War. In 1920, the virus disappeared by itself in connection with the coverage of the entire population of the Earth, which acquired immunity to it.

    The total number of deaths from the Spanish woman is estimated at 55 million (mainly in India and China).
  7. shinobi
    shinobi April 8 2020 00: 37 New
    0
    So, like be, H1N1 is Spanish? Not? If you put “a” from the front through | , then it’s already a “swine” flu. Or did you misunderstand something?

Как гонконгский грипп конца 1960-х остался в памяти людей

Как гонконгский грипп конца 1960-х остался в памяти людей

В марте прошлого года Всемирная организация здравоохранения сообщила о своей новой глобальной стратегии по гриппу на 2019-2030 годы. Её целью было заявлено предотвращение сезонного гриппа, контроль передачи вирусов от животных к человеку, подготовка к следующей пандемии.


Глобальные планы ВОЗ и история вирусных пандемий


Появление глобальной стратегии прокомментировал генеральный директор ВОЗ, доктор Тедрос Адханом Гебрейесус. Он отметил, что ежегодно во всем мире гриппом болеют свыше 1 млрд человек, 3-5 млн случаев считаются тяжелыми, 290-650 тысяч человек умирают.

Было уже четыре пандемии гриппа: в 1918, 1957, 1968 и в 2009 годах (H1N1). Доктор Гебрейесус тогда сказал: «Вопрос не в том, будет ли еще одна пандемия, а в том – когда она будет». Среди рисков нового времени он назвал передачу вируса гриппа от животных человеку.

Сообщение ВОЗ привлекло внимание СМИ к пандемиям, пережитым человечеством. Особое место в этом ряду занял гонконгский грипп, свирепствовавший на планете в 1968-1969 годах. Наверное, потому, что эта пандемия ещё помнится живущим ныне людям со всеми её особенностями и страхами.

В российских изданиях дружно вспомнили известную песню Владимира Высоцкого «Баллада об уходе в рай», в которой, по словам поэта «побеждён гонконгский грипп». Со статистикой заболеваний оказалось сложнее. Сводных цифр не оказалось ни у одной страны кроме Соединённых Штатов, зафиксировавших смерть от гонконгского гриппа 33800 человек.

По миру пошла гулять цифра умерших в пандемию – от 1 до 4 миллионов человек. Сам гонконгский грипп современные вирусологи оценили как «умеренной тяжести» с уровнем летальности менее 0,2%. Так почему же его так запомнили люди?

Прежде всего, из-за скоротечности заболевания. Буквально в первые два дня проявлялись все его симптомы, включая жар и лихорадку. Человек мог «сгореть» за три-пять дней. Впрочем, это касалось пожилых людей старше 65-летнего возраста с ослабленным хроническими болезнями иммунитетом.

Остальным тоже пришлось не сладко. Гонконгский грипп был горазд на осложнения. Он нёс с собой пневмонию, миокардит, бронхит, отит, трахеит, энцефалит, менингит и ещё целый букет заболеваний. Нередко они переходили в хроническую форму и даже делали людей инвалидами.

Живучий вирус


Впервые вирус появился летом 1968-го в Гонконге. По миру его понесли экипажи морских судов. За две недели грипп распространился на южные провинции Китая, во Вьетнам и Сингапур. К осени вирус достиг Индии, Филиппин, Северной Австралии, Европы и США.

В Соединённые Штаты гонконгский грипп завезли возвращавшиеся с вьетнамской войны солдаты. Наверное, поэтому здесь более-менее вели статистику смертности, чтобы не подвесить её под последствия боевых ранений.

В остальных странах статистикой гонконгского гриппа не сильно увлекались. Эксперты объясняют это тем, что не было достаточного объёма лабораторных данных, с помощью которых можно было увязать смерти конкретных людей с пандемией.

Вирус, тем временем, оказался достаточно живучим. В 1969 году он отметился в Советском Союзе, Японии, Африке и Южной Америке. Эта волна была послабее первой. Гонконгский грипп в семидесятых годах беспокоил людей ещё пару раз. Но против него уже работала вакцина и освоенные методы лечения.

Гонконгский грипп вспоминают ещё и потому, что его пандемия лучше изучена, чем предыдущие. Например, печальной памяти «испанку» смогли до конца понять только в 2005 году. Тогда американские ученые из образцов тканей умерших от той пандемии людей смогли воссоздать генную структуру вируса и выяснить, почему «испанка» была такой смертоносной.

Любой грипп и сегодня остаётся тяжёлой формой сезонного заболевания. Об этом напоминают цифры, приведённые главой Всемирной организации здравоохранения. ВОЗ готовилась к новой пандемии этой болезни, но столкнулась с коронавирусом SARS-CoV-2.

Его неизученность и непредсказуемость заставила власти многих стран предпринять чрезвычайные меры для локализации возникших очагов пандемии. У этой работы будет хороший результат, в чем не сомневаются профильные специалисты. Они уверены, что медицина «оседлает» новый вирус, как сделала это с гонконгским гриппом.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Червонный 1 апреля 2020 15:36 Новый
    • 14
    • 2
    +12
    Они уверены, что медицина «оседлает» новый вирус, как сделала это с гонконгским гриппом.

    Бесспорно. Медицина победит коронавирус.
    гонконгский грипп конца 1960-х остался в памяти людей

    Коронавирус останется в памяти людей очень на долго. Возможно через столетия, нашим потомкам в школе будут на уроках истории рассказывать о пандемии 2020, так же как нам рассказывали в школе о эпидемиях средневековья.
    1. Попуас 1 апреля 2020 15:48 Новый
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Если какая нибудь зараза не выкосит человечество в следующие сто лет hi
    2. Улиточник N9 1 апреля 2020 15:51 Новый
      • 7
      • 0
      +7
      В СССР все было как-то "проще":
      1. knn54 1 апреля 2020 15:58 Новый
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Просто пили ГАЗИРОВАННУЮ воду.
        По поводу гриппа.В 1982 г.вылечился тогда новым средством-Ремантадин,которое выпускал кто то из прибалтов. Эффективный и против клещей.
        С тех пор пью для профилактики 10 таблеток-по одной день,раз в год.Пока (почти 40 лет) не жалуюсь.
        Один недостаток-СИЛЬНО бьет по печени. Если ,для профилактики,а не лечения,вполне нормально.
      2. svp67 1 апреля 2020 16:43 Новый
        • 9
        • 0
        +9
        Цитата: Улиточник N9
        В СССР все было как-то "проще":

        Что бы добиться такой "простоты" очень много труда было потрачено, большого количества людей. В том же аппарате с газировкой, была предусмотрена установка балона с концентратом дезинфицирующего раствора. Целые НИИ отрабатывали различные сценарии и методики защиты населения, экспедиции ездили по всему миру, что бы принять участие в подавлении всех возможных очагов заболеваний, собирая материал и информацию...
        1. Комментарий был удален.
        2. ycuce234-san 3 апреля 2020 11:14 Новый
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          В том же аппарате с газировкой, была предусмотрена установка балона с концентратом дезинфицирующего раствора.

          Так ведь технологии не стоят на месте и сейчас тот же стакан в камере наполнения в недрах аппарата наверняка можно сушить и кратковременно обжигать воздушной плазмой из плазмотрона (как в аппаратах воздушно-плазменной сварки) а потом охлаждать наливаемой в него жидкостью. Стакан, наверное уже потребуется, всё таки не стеклянный а кварцевый или даже ситалловый - для термостойкости при термоударах, но это решаемо а аппарат проще и надёжней: вместо какого то мутного баллона с нестабильной эффективностью - всёуничтожающая плазма.
          1. svp67 3 апреля 2020 15:42 Новый
            • 0
            • 0
            0
            Цитата: ycuce234-san
            Так ведь технологии не стоят на месте

            Правильно и потому сейчас многоразовые стеклянные заменены на одноразовые бумажные
            1. ycuce234-san 4 апреля 2020 12:39 Новый
              • 1
              • 0
              +1
              сейчас многоразовые стеклянные заменены на одноразовые бумажные

              Неплохо, да, но я в основном встречаю пластиковые одноразовые. А, с точки зрения эпидемиологии проблемы хранения, переработки и случайных контактов с использованной тарой остались - т. е. с использованным стаканом всё равно возможен контакт - просто протяни руку и возьми.
    3. Ланнан Ши 1 апреля 2020 15:53 Новый
      • 1
      • 2
      -1
      Цитата: Червонный
      Возможно через столетия, нашим потомкам в школе будут на уроках истории рассказывать о пандемии 2020, так же как нам рассказывали в школе о эпидемиях средневековья.

      Зимой 2016-2017 в италии умерло то ли 30, то ли 35 тыс человек. От самого банального гриппа. От коронав, на данный момент, в той же италии, в разы меньше. И как? О пандемии гриппа 2017 уже рассказывают на уроках истории?
      В том же 2017 от туберкулёза, в мире, умерло порядка 2 млн человек. Но это зло привычное, да и название приевшееся. Вот если бы он только вчера появился, и назвали его как нибудь вроде - тиаравируссмертимывсепомрем, тогда да, тогда бы попаниковали всласть. А о короне, лет через 30, кроме медиков и помнить никто не будет.
      1. Полимер 2 апреля 2020 20:40 Новый
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Будут помнить эту пандемию или нет - вопрос пока открытый, а вот статистику по долголетию он подпортит обязательно. Но со снижением пенсионного возраста, скорее всего, будет как и с ценами - раз повысили, то снижать уже не будут.
  2. akarfoxhound 1 апреля 2020 16:11 Новый
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    - Рабинович, вы заболели и до сих пор не вызвали врача! Как вы это объясните? 
    - Во-первых, я не хочу портить статистику... 
    - А во-вторых? 
    - А во-вторых, я не уверен, что у меня коронавирус, но таки уверен, что на карантине в районной больнице я сдохну...
  3. Морской Кот 1 апреля 2020 16:11 Новый
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    В 1969 году он отметился в Советском Союзе,

    Служил в СА на Дальнем Востоке (ЗВО, Хабаровский край, ЕАО) 1966 - 69 гг.. У автора неверная информация, в нашем регионе грипп появился уже в 1968 году. В нашем отдельном танковом полку для заболевших выделили отдельную казарму. Продолжалось это не больше месяца, смертельных случаев не было. Личный состав и в "больнице" и на "свободе" лечился исключительно "народными методами" насколько позволяли финансы. А в коридоре казармы вывесили большой лист ватмана с карикатурой, на которой русский сапог даёт под зад улетающему китайцу на котором написано "Гонконговский грипп". Такие вот воспоминания юности. smile
    Надеюсь, что и сейчас прорвёмся без особых потерь. Всем здоровья и уверенности в победе. soldier
  4. АС Иванов. 1 апреля 2020 16:50 Новый
    • 2
    • 4
    -2
    Гонконгский грипп, в основном, давал осложнение на сердце и вызывал менингиты. Он не сколько убивал сразу, как корона, а оставлял инвалидов.
  5. nikvic46 1 апреля 2020 18:37 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Конечно,мы должны помочь медицине.Но раз такое угрожающее положение,надо и информационное поле изменить.Любые новости откроешь,там пр коронавирус,включишь то же самое.И при этом говорят,не надо паниковать.Такя политика приведет к тому,что многие люди войдут в стресс.А как известно в таком состоянии любая инфекция опасна для жизни человека.
  6. Оператор 1 апреля 2020 19:10 Новый
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Испанка (синяя смерть, грипп N1H1) впервые был зарегистрирован в марте 1918 года в тренировочном лагере для новобранцев Армии США в штате Колорадо. Заболел повар, затем порядка 1000 военнослужащих, примерно полсотни из них скоропостижно скончались.

    Острое респираторное заболевание развивалось в течение одного-двух дней и сопровождалось высокой температурой и синим цветом кожи из-за отказа легких переносить кислород из воздуха в кровь. Заболевание в тяжелой форме поражало людей молодого и среднего возраста от 18 до 40 лет. Вирус вызывал у них гиперактивность имунной системы с повышением температуры тела свыше 40 градусов. Летальность составила 5%. Люди младшего и старшего возраста легко переносили вирус или переносили его бессимптомно.

    Считается, что нулевой пациент - повар заразился гриппом от свиньи. Геном вируса был расшифрован в 2005 году под названием N1H1 путем извлечения его из легких жительницы Аляски, погибшей в 1920 году и захороненной в вечной мерзлоте.

    В связи с тем, что у выживших колорадских новобранцев исчезли все симптомы болезни, их провезли железнодорожным транспортом по Америке (заразив по дороге массу народа), перевезли морским транспортом в Европу на фронт против Германии, где они перезаражали как своих союзников французов, британцев и итальянцев, так и противников немцев, австро-венгров и турок. От немцев вирус перекинулся русским. Кроме того, заразились все нейтральные страны Европы, включая Испанию.

    Воюющие страны тщательно скрывали факт эпидемии, потому первая информация о нем была опубликована испанскими врачами (отсюда название "испанка"). После окончания ПМВ вирус вместе с демобилизованными солдатами распространился на Азию, Африку и Южную Америку. В России распространению вируса способствовала Гражданская война. В 1920 году вирус исчез сам собой в связи охватом всего населения Земли, которое приобрело к нему иммунитет.

    Общее количество смертей от испанки оценивается в 55 млн. (в основном в Индии и Китае).
  7. синоби 8 апреля 2020 00:37 Новый
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Так,как бэ,H1N1 и есть испанка?Не?Если с переди приставить " а" через | ,то получится уже "свинной" грип.Или что-то не так понял?