Military Review

US Department of Defense orders Tomahawk upgrade to Block V

20
US Department of Defense orders Tomahawk upgrade to Block V

The US Department of Defense is not going to refuse Tomahawk cruise missiles, ordering their next modernization. According to the upi.com portal, the US military intends to replace the Tomahawk Block IV missiles of the new generation.


The U.S. military has signed a new contract with Raytheon for the production and modernization of Tomahawk cruise missiles. The $ 641,3 million agreement includes the production of new Tomahawk Block V missiles, as well as the modernization of the previous generation of Block IV missiles. At the same time, $ 90 million was allocated for the production of 147,9 new missiles, the remaining funds will be spent on modernization.

The development of Block IV modification missiles was suspended due to the high cost of the program and even rumors appeared about its closure. However, in 2018, a new generation of missiles was adopted. The key difference between the Block IV modification and previous developments is the ability to track the movement of the target in real time and change the target after the rocket is launched. The Tomahawk missiles of the Block IV modification also differ from their predecessors in a more efficient engine, which increased the flight range to 1850 km. In addition, the “fourth generation”, unlike its predecessors, has a more powerful warhead (high-explosive fragmentation) weighing 454 kg.

The combined guidance system includes inertial navigation equipment, corrected by GPS signals, a comparative overview and correlation guidance system on the map (works on the middle part of the trajectory) and a digital correlation guidance system on the terrain image (works on the final part of the trajectory).

There is almost no information about the new Tomahawk Block V rocket, it is only known that the missiles have improved navigation and communication.

To date, Raytheon (in Arizona) has released a total of more than 4 thousand KR Tomahawk of various modifications. Of these, 2300 were used in various military conflicts from 1991 to 2018.
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Operator
    Operator April 1 2020 15: 23 New
    +4
    “The Block Va index (designation RGM-109E / UGM-109E) will receive Maritime Strike Tomahawk (MST) cruise missiles equipped with a new multi-channel guidance system for the possibility of hitting surface targets. The types of homing channels for MST are not disclosed - presumably, it will combine active-passive radar and thermal imaging channels in combination with a powerful data processor and a new inertial unit.

    Block Vb index (designation RGM-109M / UGM-109M) will receive ground-based missiles equipped with the new penetrating warhead of the Joint Multiple Effects Warhead System (JMEWS), combining a cumulative precharge with a penetrating warhead. "
    1. Sky strike fighter
      Sky strike fighter April 1 2020 15: 28 New
      +2
      The key difference between the Block IV modification and previous developments is the ability to track the movement of the target in real time and change the target after the rocket is launched. The Tomahawk missiles of the Block IV modification also differ from their predecessors in a more efficient engine, which allowed to increase the flight range to 1850 km.


      X-101 is also capable of retargeting in flight.
      Thanks to the specially installed Hephaestus system, the missiles gained the ability to retarget after launch. Using a special channel, the computing subsystem receives a command from the control center located on the ground and transmits the target coordinates received from the satellite to the aircraft. And only when the plane is in the sky, Hephaestus makes the necessary calculations and lays the estimated coordinates in the brains of the rocket. I would like to say that our strategic missile carriers can carry out combat patrols during the day, and at the right time, at the request of the ground forces, launch a missile strike and provide support to the infantry.
      The characteristics of our strategic aviation and its weapons are very worrying for the high army command of the United States. So, in the American publication “The National Interest” they published material entitled “One of the deadliest Russian bombers received new frightening abilities.” The article says:

      “Now the Russians will be able to redirect their cruise missiles even in the air, during their flight. It is not yet clear how many modernized Tu-95 MS aircraft have already received such an opportunity, but over time the entire fleet of Russian airborne missile carriers in service will undoubtedly gain it. This is an important advantage of the Russians, will increase the flexibility and efficiency of the use of their precision weapons. Moreover, these smart Russian missiles are able to communicate with each other in flight ... "

      It is clear why US generals are so concerned about the ability of our missiles. With a massive salvo of x-101 missiles, it is enough to program only one of them, and it will indicate to the other missiles the coordinates or moving targets for which they must "work out". The x-101 cruise missiles have the so-called “swarm intelligence”: after receiving target designation, the group of fired missiles independently decides how it is more convenient to attack the enemy, distributing the detected targets among themselves and building the optimal flight and construction plan. It is enough for an airplane to launch eight x-101 cruise missiles on an aircraft carrier group from a distance of four thousand kilometers and calmly fly home, and the rest will be completed by the missiles themselves.

      https://www.politforums.net/rmo/1516182447.html

      X-101 works on moving targets.
      The second qualitative difference from analogues is the combination of high range with highest accuracy, including moving targets. Along with complementary inertial and satellite navigation systems, an optical homing head is installed on the X-101. In the final section, the correction is carried out by the television system "Octopus", which provides the possibility of defeat, including moving targets.

      The carriers of the X-101/102 family missiles are the Tu-95MS strategic bombers-missile carriers that have undergone modernization (up to 8 on the external suspension nodes) and Tu-160 (up to 12 on the internal drum launchers). There is unverified information that in the future they will be installed on front-line bombers Su-34, and modernized long-range bombers Tu-22M3.

      https://www.arms-expo.ru/armament/samples/1357/72318/
      1. Peter Tverdokhlebov
        Peter Tverdokhlebov April 1 2020 16: 54 New
        +2
        And if the satellite communication channel that gives the coordinates of the new target is intercepted by the enemy?
        What protective measures are used?
        1. Sky strike fighter
          Sky strike fighter April 1 2020 17: 00 New
          +2
          Many knowledge multiplies many sorrows. So the ancients said. If I honestly don’t know. It is unlikely that you will find such information in the public domain.
      2. Professor
        Professor April 1 2020 17: 01 New
        -1
        I started reading your comment, but how did I get to So, in the American edition of The National Interest immediately threw it. Then he remembered that today was April 1st and continued. I believe that the X-101 is also capable of retargeting in flight. good
    2. NEXUS
      NEXUS April 1 2020 17: 00 New
      +6
      Of these, 2300 were used in various military conflicts from 1991 to 2018.

      As the colonial expansion is streamlined called then ... behind every ax, the lives of civilians of other countries. At its core, the United States is the Fourth Reich, with the same ambitions and Wishlist.
  2. Magic archer
    Magic archer April 1 2020 15: 27 New
    +4
    The real "ax of war" ... And the Americans are not going to bury it. He probably took part in all conflicts involving America over the past almost 30 years! By the way, I read somewhere that they are going to return to service the land version. I hope everyone is clear against anyone in the first place. But we send them help planes! "Well done" negative
    1. Alf
      Alf April 1 2020 22: 36 New
      +1
      Quote: Magic Archer
      But we send them help planes!

      And where are the pennies of our "elite" acquired by overwork?
  3. askort154
    askort154 April 1 2020 15: 28 New
    +3
    Of these, 2300 were used in various military conflicts from 1991 to 2018.

    They spent a lot, but where are the victories ?! Only Iraq, and the rest brought only chaos.
    Moreover, they won in Iraq not at the expense of the Tomahawks, but at the expense of bribing the General Staff officers.
    And Yugoslavia fell upon all NATO.
  4. The leader of the Redskins
    The leader of the Redskins April 1 2020 15: 29 New
    +2
    How many did not write about them, how many did not criticize, citing data on the number of those shot down, but they still fear ... Reliable "axes" turned out to be ...
    1. Alf
      Alf April 1 2020 22: 40 New
      +1
      Quote: Leader of the Redskins
      Reliable "axes" were ...

      Yes, yes, especially if you recall how 4 Axes flew to Iran instead of Iraq ... Yes, they went straight to the Chinese Embassy, ​​good, it was Sunday and only a cleaner was covered, then China rolled out a powerful presentation, which began with the words, in translation, you cho Honest guys, ofigel?
  5. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh April 1 2020 15: 48 New
    +6
    Block 5 is a remake of the Tomahawk in RCC.
    An integrated GOS with a radar and a scanning video camera was installed on it.
    For comparison, on the simplest options, the Tomahawk is only a GPS receiver.
    1. Sky strike fighter
      Sky strike fighter April 1 2020 15: 58 New
      +2
      In all modern rockets, the line that used to distinguish the Kyrgyz Republic from the anti-ship missiles is blurred. This is true for Granite, Onyx, X-35U, X-101, Caliber, Zircon, Tomahawk. All modern rockets become universal.
      1. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh April 1 2020 16: 07 New
        +3
        The line in the Kyrgyz Republic is very clear - a view of the seeker.
        On fixed targets are inertial and GPS (or equivalent).
        For moving targets - by active radar and video channel.
        1. Saxahorse
          Saxahorse April 1 2020 22: 26 New
          0
          Quote: voyaka uh
          The line in the Kyrgyz Republic is very clear - view of the seeker

          Not obvious. For example, AGM-158 JASSM, the air-surface, in addition to inertia and GPS, has a high-resolution infrared seeker in the last section. Visually recognizes the target and in the thermal range.

          And the AGM-158C LRASM, an air-to-ship, has GPS, a passive radar, and again an infrared seeker.
  6. Alf
    Alf April 1 2020 22: 35 New
    -3
    The key difference between the Block IV modification and previous developments is the possibility of ... changing the target after the rocket is launched.

    After Russian hackers rummaged in the rocket, the US Air Force changed the name of the rocket from Tomahawk to Boomerang. laughing
  7. KCA
    KCA April 2 2020 05: 48 New
    -1
    Interestingly, and the current modernization of the "Grenade" is it the same "Caliber" now which block? 1-2-3-4-5-6? Why is our MO not tell? There is no money to draw cartoons, or is there something to keep silent about? I guessed, "Caliber", in any case, they’ll buy it, there’s no sense in cartoons, but what and how, who needs it, and so they know
  8. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey April 2 2020 19: 00 New
    0
    Quote: KCA
    Interestingly, and the current modernization of the "Grenade" is it the same "Caliber" now which block? 1-2-3-4-5-6? Why is our MO not tell? There is no money to draw cartoons, or is there something to keep silent about? I guessed, "Caliber", in any case, they’ll buy it, there’s no sense in cartoons, but what and how, who needs it, and so they know

    we only show cartoons about nuclear weapons, and the rest is
  9. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey April 2 2020 19: 07 New
    0
    Quote: askort154
    Of these, 2300 were used in various military conflicts from 1991 to 2018.

    They spent a lot, but where are the victories ?! Only Iraq, and the rest brought only chaos.
    Moreover, they won in Iraq not at the expense of the Tomahawks, but at the expense of bribing the General Staff officers.
    And Yugoslavia fell upon all NATO.

    Stripes did not have a victory in wars, they only believe that the country itself is 100 years old with a hook ...
  10. leon1204id
    leon1204id April 6 2020 18: 21 New
    0
    Tomahawk Block V flies to himself, and here he is met by BM Mercury, Air Defense Derivation, Tor and other guys. Here and the tale ends .......... laughing

Военное обозрение

Минобороны США заказало модернизацию КР Tomahawk до уровня Block V

20
Минобороны США заказало модернизацию КР Tomahawk до уровня Block V

Министерство обороны США не собирается отказываться от крылатых ракет Tomahawk, заказывая их очередную модернизацию. Как сообщает портал upi.com, американские военные намерены заменить КР Tomahawk Block IV ракетами нового поколения.


Американское военное ведомство заключило с компанией Raytheon очередной контракт на производство и модернизацию крылатых ракет Tomahawk. Соглашение стоимостью 641,3 млн. долларов включает в себя производство новых ракет Tomahawk Block V, а также модернизацию уже произведенных ракет предыдущего поколения Block IV. При этом на производство 90 новых ракет выделено 147,9 млн. долларов, остальные средства пойдут на модернизацию.

Разработка ракет модификации Block IV была приостановлена из-за высокой стоимости программы и даже появились слухи о ее закрытии. Однако в 2018 году новое поколение ракет было принято на вооружение. Ключевое отличие модификации Block IV от предыдущих разработок заключается в возможности отслеживания перемещения цели в режиме реального времени и смены цели уже после пуска ракеты. Ракеты Tomahawk модификации Block IV также отличаются от предшественников более экономичным двигателем, что позволило увеличить дальность полёта до 1850 км. Кроме того, "четвертое поколение" в отличие от предшественниц имеет более мощную боевую часть (осколочно-фугасную) весом 454 кг.

В состав комбинированной системы наведения входят инерциальное навигационное оборудование, корректируемое сигналами GPS, обзорно-сравнительная корреляционная система наведения по карте (работает на среднем участке траектории) и цифровая корреляционная система наведения по изображению местности (работает на конечном участке траектории).

О новой ракете Tomahawk Block V сведений почти нет, известно только, что ракеты имеют улучшенную навигацию и связь.

К настоящему времени Raytheon (в штате Аризона) выпустил в общей сложности более 4 тыс. КР Tomahawk разных модификаций. Из них 2300 применены в различных военных конфликтах с 1991-го по 2018 год.
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Оператор
    Оператор 1 апреля 2020 15:23 Новый
    +4
    "Индекс Block Va (обозначение RGM-109E/UGM-109E) получат крылатые ракеты в варианте Maritime Strike Tomahawk (MST), оснащаемые новой многоканальной системой наведения для возможности поражения надводных целей. Типы каналов самонаведения для MST не раскрываются - предположительно, она будет сочетать активно-пассивные радиолокационный и тепловизионный каналы в сочетании с мощным процессором обработки данных и новым инерциальным блоком.

    Индекс Block Vb (обозначение RGM-109M/UGM-109M) получат ракеты для поражения наземных целей, оснащаемые новой проникающей боевой частью Joint Multiple Effects Warhead System (JMEWS), сочетающей кумулятивный предзаряд с проникающей боеголовкой."
    1. Sky Strike fighter
      Sky Strike fighter 1 апреля 2020 15:28 Новый
      +2
      Ключевое отличие модификации Block IV от предыдущих разработок заключается в возможности отслеживания перемещения цели в режиме реального времени и смены цели уже после пуска ракеты. Ракеты Tomahawk модификации Block IV также отличаются от предшественников более экономичным двигателем, что позволило увеличить дальность полёта до 1850 км.


      Х-101 тоже способна перенацеливаться в полете.
      Благодаря специально установленной системе «Гефест», ракеты обрели способность перенацеливаться после пуска. Вычислительная подсистема при помощи специального канала получает команду с центра управления, находящегося на земле, и передает полученные со спутника координаты цели на самолет. И только когда самолет находится в небе, «Гефест» делает необходимые расчеты и закладывает предполагаемые координаты в «мозги» ракеты. Хочется сказать, что наши стратегические ракетоносцы при этом могут нести боевое патрулирование в течение суток, а в нужный момент, по запросу наземных войск, нанести ракетный удар и осуществить поддержку пехоты.
      Характеристики нашей стратегической авиации и ее вооружения очень беспокоят высшее армейское командование США. Так, в американском издании «The National Interest» опубликовали материал под названием «Один из самых смертоносных русских бомбардировщиков получил новые пугающие способности». В статье говорится:

      «Теперь русские смогут перенацеливать свои крылатые ракеты даже в воздухе, во время их полета. Пока не ясно, какое количество модернизированных самолетов Ту-95 МС уже получили такую возможность, но со временем несомненно ее обретет весь парк русских воздушных ракетоносцев стоящих на вооружении. Это важное преимущество русских, повысит гибкость и оперативность применения их высокоточного оружия. Тем более что эти умные русские ракеты способны общаться между собой в полете…»

      Понятно, почему генералы США так обеспокоены способностью наших ракет. При массовом залпе ракет х-101 достаточно запрограммировать лишь одну из них, а она укажет другим ракетам координаты или движущиеся цели, по которым они должны «отработать». Крылатые ракеты х-101 имеют так называемый «роевой интеллект»: группа выпущенных ракет после получения целеуказания самостоятельно принимает решение, как удобнее атаковать врага, распределяя между собой обнаруженные цели и выстраивая оптимальный план полета и построения. Самолету достаточно сделать пуск восемью крылатыми ракетами х-101 по авианосной группе с расстояния в четыре тысячи километров и спокойно улететь домой, а все остальное ракеты доделают сами.

      https://www.politforums.net/rmo/1516182447.html

      Х-101 работает и по движущимся целям.
      Вторым качественным отличием от аналогов является сочетание высокой дальности с высочайшей точностью, в том числе и по движущимся целям. Наряду с взаимодополняющими инерциальной и спутниковой навигационными системами на Х-101 установлена оптическая головка самонаведения. На конечном участке коррекция осуществляется телевизионной системой «Спрут», что обеспечивает возможность поражения, в том числе и движущихся целей.

      Носителями ракет семейства Х-101/102 являются прошедшие модернизацию стратегические бомбардировщики-ракетоносцы Ту-95МС (до 8 на внешних узлах подвески) и Ту-160 (до 12 на внутренних барабанных пусковых установках). Есть непроверенная информация о том, что в перспективе будет обеспечена их установка и на фронтовые бомбардировщики Су-34, и модернизированные дальние бомбардировщики Ту-22М3.

      https://www.arms-expo.ru/armament/samples/1357/72318/
      1. Пётр Твердохлебов
        Пётр Твердохлебов 1 апреля 2020 16:54 Новый
        +2
        А если спутниковый канал связи который даёт координаты новой цели перехватит противник?
        Какие меры защиты используются?
        1. Sky Strike fighter
          Sky Strike fighter 1 апреля 2020 17:00 Новый
          +2
          Многие знания умножают многие печали.Так говорили древние.Если честно не знаю.Врядли вы найдёте подобную информацию в открытом доступе.
      2. профессор
        профессор 1 апреля 2020 17:01 Новый
        -1
        Начал читать ваш коментарий, но как дошел до Так, в американском издании «The National Interest» сразу бросил. Потом вспомнил, что сегодня 1-е апреля и продолжил. Верю, что Х-101 тоже способна перенацеливаться в полете. good
    2. НЕКСУС
      НЕКСУС 1 апреля 2020 17:00 Новый
      +6
      Из них 2300 применены в различных военных конфликтах с 1991-го по 2018 год.

      Как обтекаемо названа колониальная экспансия то ...за каждым топором ,жизни мирных граждан других стран. По сути своей,США-это Четвертый Рейх, с такими же амбициями и хотелками.
  2. Magic Archer
    Magic Archer 1 апреля 2020 15:27 Новый
    +4
    Настоящий "топор войны"... И зарывать его американцы не собираются. Принимал участие наверное во всех конфликтах с участием америки за последние почти 30 лет! Кстати, где то читал что собираются вернуть на вооружение сухопутную версию.Надеюсь всем ясно против кого в первую очередь. Зато мы им самолеты помощи отправляем! "Молодцы" negative
    1. Альф
      Альф 1 апреля 2020 22:36 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Magic Archer
      Зато мы им самолеты помощи отправляем!

      А где нажитые непосильным трудом грошики нашей "элиты" хранятся ?
  3. askort154
    askort154 1 апреля 2020 15:28 Новый
    +3
    Из них 2300 применены в различных военных конфликтах с 1991-го по 2018 год.

    Израсходовали много, а где победы ?! Только Ирак, а в остальные только хаос принесли.
    К тому же в Ираке победили не за счёт "томагавков", а за счёт подкупа генштабовских служивых.
    А на Югославию всем НАТО-м навалились.
  4. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 1 апреля 2020 15:29 Новый
    +2
    Сколько о них не писали, сколько не критиковали, приводя данные о количестве сбитых, а все равно опасаются... Надёжные "топоры" оказались...
    1. Альф
      Альф 1 апреля 2020 22:40 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Вождь краснокожих
      Надёжные "топоры" оказались...

      Да, да, особенно если вспомнить, как 4 Топора вместо Ирака в Иран залетели...Да прямиком в посольство КНР угодили, благо, воскресенье было и только уборщицу накрыли, Китай тогда мощную предъяву выкатил, начавшуюся со слов, в переводе, Вы чо, честнЫе пацаны, офигели ?
  5. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 1 апреля 2020 15:48 Новый
    +6
    Блок 5 - это переделка Томагавка в ПКР.
    На нее установили комплексную ГСН с радаром и сканирующей видеокамерой.
    Для сравнения, на самых простых вариантах Томагавка - только GPS приемник.
    1. Sky Strike fighter
      Sky Strike fighter 1 апреля 2020 15:58 Новый
      +2
      Во всех современных ракетах размыта грань ,которая раньше отличала КР от ПКР.Это верно для Гранита, Оникса,Х-35У,Х-101,Калибра,Циркона,Томагавка.Все современные ракеты становятся универсальными.
      1. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh 1 апреля 2020 16:07 Новый
        +3
        Грань в КР очень четкая - вид ГСН.
        На неподвижные цели наводятся по инерциалке и GPS (или аналогу).
        На подвижные цели - по активному радару и видеоканалу.
        1. Saxahorse
          Saxahorse 1 апреля 2020 22:26 Новый
          0
          Цитата: voyaka uh
          Грань в КР очень четкая - вид ГСН

          Не очевидно. Например AGM-158 JASSM, воздух-поверхность, помимо инерционки и GPS имеет ИК ГСН высокого разрешения на последнем участке. Визуально распознает цель причем в тепловом диапазоне.

          А AGM-158C LRASM, воздух-корабль, имеет GPS, пассивный радар и опять ИК ГСН.
  6. Альф
    Альф 1 апреля 2020 22:35 Новый
    -3
    Ключевое отличие модификации Block IV от предыдущих разработок заключается в возможности... смены цели уже после пуска ракеты.

    После того, как в ракете покопались русские хакеры, ВВС США сменили название ракеты с Томагавка на Бумеранг. laughing
  7. KCA
    KCA 2 апреля 2020 05:48 Новый
    -1
    Интересно, а текущая модернизация "Граната" он-же "Калибр" сейчас какой блок? 1-2-3-4-5-6? Почему наше МО не расскажет? Нет денег мультики нарисовать, или есть, о чём промолчать? Догадался, "Калибр", по-любому, купят, нет смысла в мультиках, а что и как, кому надо, и так знают
  8. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 2 апреля 2020 19:00 Новый
    0
    Цитата: KCA
    Интересно, а текущая модернизация "Граната" он-же "Калибр" сейчас какой блок? 1-2-3-4-5-6? Почему наше МО не расскажет? Нет денег мультики нарисовать, или есть, о чём промолчать? Догадался, "Калибр", по-любому, купят, нет смысла в мультиках, а что и как, кому надо, и так знают

    мы мультики только про ЯВ показываем, а остальное в деле
  9. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 2 апреля 2020 19:07 Новый
    0
    Цитата: askort154
    Из них 2300 применены в различных военных конфликтах с 1991-го по 2018 год.

    Израсходовали много, а где победы ?! Только Ирак, а в остальные только хаос принесли.
    К тому же в Ираке победили не за счёт "томагавков", а за счёт подкупа генштабовских служивых.
    А на Югославию всем НАТО-м навалились.

    Победы в войнах не было у полосатых, они только верят, самой стране 100 лет с гаком...
  10. leon1204id
    leon1204id 6 апреля 2020 18:21 Новый
    0
    Летит себе Tomahawk Block V а тут его встречает Ртуть БМ, Деривация ПВО,Тор и другие ребята.Тут и сказке конец.......... laughing