Military Review

The most unpopular presidents of the United States of the XX century according to the Americans themselves

14
The most unpopular presidents of the United States of the XX century according to the Americans themselves

In the twentieth century, at the head of the United States were a variety of rulers. In addition to prominent politicians, some of whom were truly outstanding historical personalities (Franklin Delano Roosevelt), and others may have ruled the country not so well, but simply were universal favorites (John F. Kennedy), this century gave the Americans and such leaders, whom otherwise with the application of epithets like “hated” or “shameful "They don’t even remember.


Let's try to figure out which of the owners of the White House managed by his rule to cause the greatest discontent among compatriots.

In this case, we will be based on materials from a study of public opinion of the inhabitants of the United States themselves and evaluative statements by local experts. If we talk about the presidents of the United States at the beginning and middle of this century, then a clear negative among all, perhaps, the inhabitants of the country are caused by two: Herbert Hoover and Richard Nixon.

The first is more than deservedly called the father of the Great Depression. It was under Hoover that the US economy experienced a crisis, worse than which it did not know, at least until the present day. At the same time, this president was a tough opponent of any measures to support the country's poor, saying that they "demoralize the nation." As a result, the spontaneous population of unemployed and homeless who were rapidly growing in the country began to be called "hooverville." Moreover, under Hoover, the notorious "prohibition" was in full swing in the country, even if it was not invented by him. Do we have a strong love for Gorbachev? Hoover - something like the American version of Mikhail Sergeyevich, only the country didn’t fall apart with him.

With Nixon, the story is different. Nothing special, he did not annoy his voters. True, the war in Vietnam is often associated with his name, but he did not start it. Yes, and economic shocks on the share of the United States during the presidency of this leader also did not occur. However, it is precisely it that is associated with perhaps the most ambitious and high-profile political scandal in the entire history of the country - Watergate. As a result of his team’s revelations about the political corruption and, in modern terms, “interference with the elections,” Nixon was forced to voluntarily resign as president, as his impeachment would have been inevitable.

This is, so to speak, a classic. We now turn to the presidents of the United States, much closer to our time. According to studies conducted independently by two highly respected American organizations - the sociological service Gallup and PPP (Public Policy Polling), in addition to the already mentioned Richard Nixon, two presidents received the most negative assessments of U.S. residents: George W. Bush and Barack Obama. With both of these leaders, the situation is very difficult: their popularity in the United States has changed over time from a sharp rise to a catastrophic fall.

So, the youngest of the Bush family, having come to power in early 2001, received a powerful backlog of American trust and support after the events of September 11. Nevertheless, the subsequent military campaigns in Afghanistan and Iraq, which were far from brilliant and initially aroused a lot of questions, greatly diminished his popularity. And then it got even worse, despite the re-election that took place with great difficulty in 2004. The disastrous actions of the authorities to eliminate the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, which killed almost 2 thousand people and almost completely flooded New Orleans, the Americans did not like the accusations of using secret prisons, where they used torture and other things like that.

The absurd statements of the head of the White House, which received the name of Bushism among the people, and tragicomic incidents, such as the case when the leader of the nation almost died, choking on a salty cracker, were constantly superimposed on all this. In the end, only the lazy ones in the United States (and throughout the world) did not make fun of the far from brilliant mental abilities of Bush Jr. The crown of all was the boot from the Egyptian journalist Muntazar al-Zaydi, who “hit” the head of a great power in 2008 during a press conference in Baghdad.

It is not surprising that, according to the Washington ProFile international information and analytical agency, George W. Bush scored 1945% of the vote in a poll entitled “The Worst Presidents of the Country Since 34”. However, after five years of the presidency of Barack Obama, this dubious palm has already passed to him. In any case, as claimed by the University of Quinnipack, who also decided to determine the least respected leader of the nation since 1945. Obama, according to his researchers, received 33% of the vote, and Bush Jr. - only 28%. Having come to power in 2009, in the wake of great hopes and expectations, the first black president of the United States for the most part did not justify them. In any case, such is the opinion of his compatriots.

During the time of the president of the current US leader, Donald Trump, American sources have repeatedly predicted an “honorable” place in the list of the worst of the worst heads of state. Well, the ongoing struggle in the country against the coronavirus pandemic gives the 45th president absolutely equal chances to justify these forecasts and to be at the very top of the rating of popular sympathies - depending on its final results, of course .
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. AB
    AB April 9 2020 13: 43 New
    +2
    With the worst US condoms, everything seems to be correct in the article. But here is the most recognizable, it’s at 20 bucks which. One of the most popular bills to use, is Andrew Jackson's 7th America Prez. By the way, it is most often faked.
  2. Lipchanin
    Lipchanin April 9 2020 14: 11 New
    +2
    The absurd statements of the head of the White House, which received the name of Bushism among the people, were constantly superimposed on all this.

    Yes, he and the present sometimes blurt out this ...
  3. knn54
    knn54 April 9 2020 14: 40 New
    +8
    Hillary's “merit” in Obama's low rating is not small.
    Once again, they were convinced that you can’t vote for the candidate only because the person is African-American, woman or gay ...
  4. andrew42
    andrew42 April 9 2020 14: 45 New
    -1
    R. Nixon was a worthy president. At least he was not a White House talker. After Nixon, only Bush Sr. and J. Ford looked more or less self-sufficient presidents (for the Masons themselves with a high degree of initiation), but they did. The rest are clearly manipulated figures, to a greater or lesser extent, but the trend is unambiguous - from Jimmy (Carter) to Obama the golfer. However, this is the business of the Americans, who is dearer to them.
    1. Altona
      Altona April 10 2020 15: 30 New
      +1
      Quote: andrew42
      R. Nixon was a worthy president.

      ------------------------------
      Nixon has done an excellent job with the PRC. He became close friends with Mao Zedong, promised China a share of Western markets and the latest technology. Deng Xiao Ping only had to open the "Chinese gate" for the penetration of Western technologies and orders, that is, simply "substantiate the" Chinese "version of Marxism by including petty-bourgeois postulates in it.
  5. faterdom
    faterdom April 9 2020 16: 21 New
    +1
    Dhabya is our beloved president. Klitschko is our favorite mayor. We are always looking forward to revelations.
  6. Peter is not the first
    Peter is not the first April 9 2020 20: 32 New
    +5
    We also have our worst presidents of Russia and there are three of them in this ranking.
    1. Altona
      Altona April 10 2020 15: 10 New
      +1
      Quote: Peter is not the first
      We also have our worst presidents of Russia and there are three of them in this ranking.

      ---------------------
      A plus to them is the self-selected "president of the USSR", who in Germany steals wine from supermarkets. laughing
  7. Al_lexx
    Al_lexx April 9 2020 21: 04 New
    0
    "We must all accept that the past is over" (c) D. Bush, Jr.
    I have never heard anything more stupid, said to the public, the leader of a superpower.
    Only our beloved and always bugging Benya Yeltsin could argue with him.
  8. gorenina91
    gorenina91 April 10 2020 03: 58 New
    +1
    -The most disgusting is George W. Bush ... -How in general the Americans could elect a man with such an appearance for the presidency ... -It is impossible to understand at all ...- an Indian is not an Indian; and in demeanor - some kind of provincial clown-loser ... -The USA always boasted about the appearance of their presidents ...- the usual "standard" ...- this is a successful white "yuppie American" ...- and then suddenly such a bummer ... -On the background of his imposing father, he looked like ... a freak ... -Well, but there is nothing to say about mental abilities ... -Only after such a "Bush Jr." was the Negro Obama able to "take place" ...
    1. Charik
      Charik April 25 2020 22: 45 New
      +1
      Alcohol + grass looks like a chimpanzee
  9. Zolotse
    Zolotse April 10 2020 05: 49 New
    +5
    And we are so lucky ...
  10. Engineer Schukin
    Engineer Schukin April 10 2020 08: 59 New
    +3
    Quote: Al_lexx
    I have never heard anything more stupid, said to the public, the leader of a superpower.

    Why so.
    For example, I recently heard that 17 thousand rubles define you as the middle class.
    And even before that I heard that those who live in the ruble zone will not be affected by the collapsed ruble exchange rate.
    I also heard that with a price of oil at $ 80, production will collapse.
    However, this was not said by the leader of the superpower, so the condition is met.
  11. Altona
    Altona April 10 2020 15: 09 New
    +1
    During the time of the president of the current US leader, Donald Trump, American sources have repeatedly predicted an “honorable” place in the list of the worst of the worst heads of state.
    -------------------------
    Suffice it to say that people in the hallway crowd Donald Fredovich's election gatherings 3 hours before the start, and about 300-500 people go to meetings with Joe Biden, and even those, they say, are employees of his companies (administrative resource, so to speak). So much for the "unpopular" president. laughing laughing

Военное обозрение

Самые непопулярные президенты США XX века по версии самих американцев

14
Самые непопулярные президенты США XX века по версии самих американцев

В ХХ веке во главе США стояли самые разные правители. Помимо ярких политиков, некоторые из которых были действительно выдающимися историческими личностями (Франклин Делано Рузвельт), а другие, возможно, управляли страной не столь удачно, но попросту являлись всеобщими любимцами (Джон Кеннеди), это столетие подарило американцам и таких лидеров, о которых иначе как с приложением эпитетов вроде «ненавистный» или «позорный» даже не вспоминают.


Попробуем разобраться, кто из хозяев Белого дома умудрился своим правлением вызвать самое большее недовольство соотечественников.

Основываться при этом мы будем на материалах изучения общественного мнения жителей самих Соединенных Штатов и оценочных высказываниях тамошних экспертов. Если говорить о президентах США начала и середины нынешнего века, то явный негатив у всех, пожалуй, жителей страны вызывают двое: Герберт Гувер и Ричард Никсон.

Первого более чем заслуженно называют отцом Великой депрессии. Именно при Гувере экономика США пережила кризис, хуже которого не знала, во всяком случая, до дня нынешнего. При этом данный президент был жестким противником любых мер по поддержке малоимущего населения страны, заявив, что они «деморализуют нацию». В итоге стремительно плодившиеся в стране стихийные таборы безработных и бомжей стали называть «гувервиллями». К тому же при Гувере в стране вовсю действовал печально знаменитый «сухой закон», пусть и не им придуманный. Сильно у нас Горбачева любят? Вот Гувер – что-то вроде американского варианта Михаила Сергеевича, вот только страна при нём всё-таки не развалилась.

С Никсоном история другая. Ничем особенным он своим избирателям не насолил. С его именем, правда, частенько связывают войну во Вьетнаме, но начал ее не он. Да и экономических потрясений на долю США в годы президентства этого лидера тоже не выпадало. Однако именно оно ассоциируется с самым, пожалуй, масштабным и громким политическим скандалом за всю историю страны – «Уотергейтом». В результате попавших в СМИ и дошедших до судебного разбирательства разоблачений его команды, касавшихся политической коррупции и, говоря в современных терминах, «вмешательства в выборы», Никсон вынужден был добровольно оставить президентский пост, поскольку в противном случае его импичмент был бы неминуем.

Это, так сказать, классика. Перейдем теперь к президентам США, намного более близким к нашему времени. Согласно исследованиям, проводившимся независимо друг от друга двумя весьма уважаемыми американскими организациями – социологической службой Gallup и компанией PPP (Public Policy Polling), помимо уже упомянутого Ричарда Никсона, наибольшего числа негативных оценок жителей США удостоились два президента: Джордж Буш-младший и Барак Обама. С обоими этими лидерами дело обстоит очень непросто: их популярность в США менялась со временем от резкого взлета до катастрофического падения.

Так, младший из семейства Бушей, придя к власти в начале 2001 года, получил мощнейший задел доверия и поддержки американцев после событий 11 сентября. Тем не менее, последовавшие за этим далеко не блестящие и вызывавшие изначально массу вопросов военные кампании в Афганистане и Ираке популярности ему сильно поубавили. А дальше стало еще хуже, несмотря на давшееся с большим трудом переизбрание в 2004 году. Провальные действия власти по ликвидации последствий урагана «Катрина», убившего почти 2 тысячи человек и почти полностью затопившего Новый Орлеан, обвинения в использовании тайных тюрем, где вовсю использовались пытки и прочие подобные вещи, очень не понравилось американцам.

На все это постоянно накладывались нелепые высказывания главы Белого дома, получившие в народе имя бушизмов, и трагикомические инциденты вроде того случая, когда лидер нации едва не умер, подавившись соленым крекером. В конечном итоге над далеко не блестящими умственными способностями Буша-младшего не потешался в Соединенных Штатах (да и во всем мире) только ленивый. Венцом всего стал ботинок от египетского журналиста Мунтазара аль-Зейди, «поразивший» главу великой державы в 2008 году во время пресс-конференции в Багдаде.

Неудивительно, что, согласно данным международного информационно-аналитического агентства Washington ProFile, при проведении опроса «Худшие президенты страны с 1945 года» Джордж Буш-младший набрал 34% голосов. Впрочем, спустя пять лет президентства Барака Обамы эта сомнительная пальма первенства перешла уже к нему. Во всяком случае, так утверждал Квиннипэкский университет США, тоже решивший определить самого малопочтенного с 1945 года лидера нации. Обама, по данным его исследователей, получил 33% голосов, а Буш-младший — всего 28%. Пришедший к власти в 2009 году на волне огромных надежд и ожиданий первый чернокожий президент Соединенных Штатов по большей части их не оправдал. Во всяком случае, таково мнение его соотечественников.

За время президента нынешнего лидера США, Дональда Трампа, «почетное» место в списке худших из худших глав государства американские источники прочили ему уже неоднократно. Что ж, разворачивающаяся сейчас в стране борьба с пандемией коронавируса дает 45-му президенту совершенно равнозначные шансы как на то, чтобы оправдать эти прогнозы, так и на то, чтобы оказаться на самом верху рейтинга народных симпатий – в зависимости от ее конечных результатов, естественно.
Автор:
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. A.B.
    A.B. 9 апреля 2020 13:43 Новый
    +2
    С худшими презиками США вроде всё правильно в статье. Но вот самый узнаваемый, это на 20 баксах который. Одна из самых популярных в использовании купюр, представляет 7 презика Америки Эндрю Джексона. Кстати её и чаще всего подделывают.
  2. Липчанин
    Липчанин 9 апреля 2020 14:11 Новый
    +2
    На все это постоянно накладывались нелепые высказывания главы Белого дома, получившие в народе имя бушизмов

    Да он и нынешний иногда такое ляпнет...
  3. knn54
    knn54 9 апреля 2020 14:40 Новый
    +8
    В низком рейтинге Обамы немалая "заслуга" Хиллари.
    Лишний раз убедились, что нельзя голосовать за кандидата только потому,что человек афро-американец, женщина или гей...
  4. andrew42
    andrew42 9 апреля 2020 14:45 Новый
    -1
    Р. Никсон был достойный президент. По крайней мере, он не был "говорилкой из Белого дома". После Никсона только Буш-старший и Дж.Форд выглядели более менее самодостаточными президентами (ибо сами масоны с высоким градусом посвящения), но именно выглядели. Остальные - явно манипулируемые фигуры, в большей или меньшей степени, но тенденция однозначная - от Джимми (Картера) до Обамы-гольфиста. Впрочем, это дело американцев, кто им милее.
    1. Altona
      Altona 10 апреля 2020 15:30 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: andrew42
      Р. Никсон был достойный президент.

      ------------------------------
      Никсон блестяще провел работу с КНР. Он сильно сдружился с Мао Дзе Дуном, пообещал Китаю долю западных рынков и самые новейшие технологии. Дэн Сяо Пину надо было лишь открыть "китайскую калитку" для проникновения западных технологий и заказов, то есть просто "обосновать" китайскую "версию" марксизма, включив в неё мелкобуржуазные постулаты.
  5. faterdom
    faterdom 9 апреля 2020 16:21 Новый
    +1
    Дабья - наш любимый президент. Кличко - наш любимый мэр. Всегда с нетерпением ждем откровений.
  6. Петр не первый
    Петр не первый 9 апреля 2020 20:32 Новый
    +5
    У нас тоже есть свои худшие президенты России и их в этом рейтинге трое.
    1. Altona
      Altona 10 апреля 2020 15:10 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Петр не первый
      У нас тоже есть свои худшие президенты России и их в этом рейтинге трое.

      ---------------------
      Плюсом к ним самовыбранный "президент СССР", который в Германии винище ворует из супермаркетов. laughing
  7. Al_lexx
    Al_lexx 9 апреля 2020 21:04 Новый
    0
    "Все мы должны признать, что прошлое закончилось" (с) Д. Буш младший.
    Никогда не слышал ничего более тупого, сказанного на публику, руководителем сверх державы.
    Поспорить в этом с ним мог только наш ненаглядный и вечно бухой Беня Ельцин.
  8. gorenina91
    gorenina91 10 апреля 2020 03:58 Новый
    +1
    -Самый отвратный -это Джордж Буш-младший... -Как вообще американы могли выбрать в президенты человечка с такой внешностью... -Вообще не понять...-индеец -не индеец ; а по манере поведения - какой-то провинциальный клоун-неудачник... -США всегда кичились внешностью своих президентов ...-обычный "эталон" ...-это преуспевающий белый "яппи американец" ...-и тут вдруг такой облом... -На фоне своего импозантного отца он выглядел как ...уродец... -Ну , а про умственные способности и говорить нечего... -Только после такого "Буша-младшего" и смог в последствии "состояться" негр Обама...
    1. Чарик
      Чарик 25 апреля 2020 22:45 Новый
      +1
      Алкоголь+трава-вот и похожь на шимпанзе
  9. Золотце
    Золотце 10 апреля 2020 05:49 Новый
    +5
    А нам то как повезло...
  10. Инженер Щукин
    Инженер Щукин 10 апреля 2020 08:59 Новый
    +3
    Цитата: Al_lexx
    Никогда не слышал ничего более тупого, сказанного на публику, руководителем сверх державы.

    Почему же.
    Я например недавно слышал, что 17 тысяч рублей определяют тебя средним классом.
    А ещё до этого слышал, что те кто живёт в рублёвой зоне, на них рухнувший курс рубля никак не повлияет.
    А ещё слышал, что при цене на нефть в 80 долларов производство рухнет.
    Впрочем, это говорилось не руководителем сверхдержавы, так что условие выполнено.
  11. Altona
    Altona 10 апреля 2020 15:09 Новый
    +1
    За время президента нынешнего лидера США, Дональда Трампа, «почетное» место в списке худших из худших глав государства американские источники прочили ему уже неоднократно.
    -------------------------
    Достаточно сказать, что на предвыборные сборища Дональда Фредовича народ в сенях толпится за 3 часа до начала, а на встречи с Джо Байденом ходят человек 300-500, да и те, говорят, сотрудники его компаний (административный ресурс так сказать). Вот вам и "непопулярный" президент. laughing laughing