Military Review

In India, they told how 3D printing solved the problems of the country's Navy with the replacement of equipment

24

India is confidently following the path of introducing high technology in the military industry. Now it is the turn to use 3D printing for the needs of the Indian Navy.


The Indian Navy has entered into an agreement with a Think3D service bureau on the use of 3D printing technology in the manufacture of spare parts for equipment used on ships. At one time, the naval command experienced very big problems with organizing the supply of spare parts, since the Indian fleet used old imported equipment and it was always difficult to find parts for it.

Since most of the machinery used on Indian ships was shipped from other countries, and production could have already been stopped there, if necessary, the replacement of any component of the Indian fleet incurred very high financial costs. Many ships were idle at the bases and could not be operated due to the fact that the Indian Navy could not find components to replace certain equipment.

Now, thanks to 3D printing technology, spare parts for the equipment of Indian ships can be produced independently. As an example, Think3D cites the situation with the replacement of the impellers of centrifugal pumps, which could be replaced using 3D printing. At one time, the impeller failure became for the Indian fleet a real problem, which was exacerbated by the fact that impellers fail quite often.

On each ship there are several pumps and impellers, respectively, and constant breakdowns made it difficult to operate the Indian Navy ships and perform the tasks assigned to them. To produce a new impeller often required at least three months, and if you add here the waiting time, the conclusion of a supply contract, then even more. 3D printing, in turn, allowed to reduce organizational, time and financial costs and significantly accelerate the process of production and replacement of impellers.

Now the “flagship” of 3D printing for the Indian Navy is Think3D, founded in 2014. It offers 3D printing, design, scanning, and mass production services, and has a $ 3 million 6D printer for medical equipment. The printer is located in the AP MedTech Zone, a medical equipment manufacturing facility in Andhra Pradesh.

In India, they told how 3D printing solved the problems of the country's Navy with the replacement of equipment

After receiving an order from the Indian Navy, Think3D specialists visited warships to get acquainted with the problem and collected information about the impellers used on them, including the properties of the materials. The first step was a 3D scan of the impeller using an EinScan Pro + 3D scanner. Then, using ANSYS software, the bureau specialists determined the specifics of the further 3D printing process and found out what materials should be used.

The next step was to check the suitability of materials such as nylon composites, glass-filled nylon, PA12, plastics. Materials were required to possess damping properties. In addition, the part had to gain elasticity sufficient to withstand constant vibrations. Therefore, the possibility of using various materials with high fragility was excluded. What material the organization ultimately chose is still unknown, since the Think3D decided to keep this information secret.


Using HP Multi Jet Fusion technology, an impeller with the desired properties was printed. Then the part was subjected to further processing and was tested on the ship, demonstrating high performance. As a result, the entire process of creating the part, which previously took at least 3 months, took just 2 days.

The manufacturing cost of the component turned out to be 40% lower than the amount that would have been spent if the impeller was created in the traditional way. Last but not least, the impeller made using 3D printing turned out to be 8 times lighter than the traditional one - if the latter weighs 8-9 kg, the Think3D product weighs only 1 kg.

The Indian Navy and Think3D are currently considering installing a 3D printer on board the ship. Such a solution will ensure the need for spare parts in the event that it arises while the ship is on the high seas. If before installation of parts it would be necessary to deliver the vessel to the port or, in extreme cases, deliver the parts with aviation, then after installing the printer on board production will be possible in open swimming conditions.
Author:
Photos used:
3DPrintingIndustry
24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Aaron Zawi
    Aaron Zawi April 9 2020 10: 37 New
    +4
    Yes, the technology is very promising. About six months ago, I came across becoming in Hebrew that already today up to 30% of spare parts for our Air Force aircraft are manufactured using 3D printing.
    1. kenig1
      kenig1 April 9 2020 12: 28 New
      0
      But in Russia there is Skolkovo. laughing
      1. Sergey S.
        Sergey S. April 10 2020 00: 49 New
        0
        Quote: kenig1
        But in Russia there is Skolkovo.

        Russia is not only Skolkovo, but rather not Skolkovo at all.

        The topic is important and necessary.
        the only thing is still expensive, and not always possible.
        Particularly durable parts cannot be made only with 3D printing.
        Heavy parts also can’t be made. The combat campaign will be shorter than the production time.
        But pump wheels, thin-walled housings, parts with internal cavities are a reality.

        By the way, the equipment is not heavy, the dimensions are comparable to the dimensions of the parts.
        The problem is different.
        If repair production - working drawings are needed, moreover, in 3D-design.
        Manufacturers may not do this. Rather, they try not to give.

        And in many cases, measurement of parts will be required - Laser measuring machine in size even larger ...

        And it is very expensive.
        Therefore, for the manufacture of rockets and aircraft - is used. But for the pump wheel of the boat is not very much believed.
  2. Ros 56
    Ros 56 April 9 2020 10: 41 New
    +2
    Good deal, can the ships start printing right away? laughing
  3. Pavel57
    Pavel57 April 9 2020 10: 47 New
    0
    On the ship now you need to have a full-time designer and full-time technologist.
    1. Cowbra
      Cowbra April 9 2020 11: 36 New
      +1
      A place for a healthy fool, this is not a household printer, but a factory one, and a supply of consumables. Nude Nude. Not to mention the fact that throwing 6 lam on each boat to print a disk once a year - it will not be cheaper at all.
      In short - make a fool pray to God, he will dance to you
  4. alekc75
    alekc75 April 9 2020 10: 53 New
    0
    and the supply of all components will also be taken with them on the ship ????
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh April 9 2020 11: 32 New
      -1
      Which components? You must have 1) a printer 2) a scanner (or drawings of already scanned parts) 3) powder for printing.
      1. APASUS
        APASUS April 9 2020 12: 11 New
        0
        Quote: voyaka uh
        Which components? You must have 1) a printer 2) a scanner (or drawings of already scanned parts) 3) powder for printing.

        What about the pitching or deformation of the body during a wave?
        1. Cowbra
          Cowbra April 9 2020 12: 56 New
          -1
          It will be a new design! Marine disk - with waves on the surface!
          Quote: voyaka uh
          3) powder for printing.

          Chukchi, as always, is not a reader, he is here at work. And he skipped a couple of paragraphs of the article about “choosing the material”. Besides. to scratch your tongue - you do not need to understand the differences in household and industrial 3D printers laughing
        2. voyaka uh
          voyaka uh April 9 2020 13: 35 New
          0
          I did not write about what "they will do." I write about what is already there.
          3D printers are already installed on US aircraft carriers and are being printed
          various spare parts. There were articles about this.
          Apparently, the pitching does not interfere. smile
          1. Cowbra
            Cowbra April 9 2020 16: 07 New
            -1
            Quote: voyaka uh
            Apparently, the pitching does not interfere.

            There, like the Indians, the main thing is to hold the saw tighter. However, on the aircraft carrier, firstly, there will definitely be less pitching, and secondly, there you can install a stable platform for the printer
  5. Free wind
    Free wind April 9 2020 11: 17 New
    0
    It is interesting in the photo of the latter the old brass impeller was printed, judging by the appearance from the duralumin. It is interesting that the pump pumps, if fuel or fresh water will go. And if sea water, then the pump and for a month is not enough. aluminum is not friendly with seawater. Judging by the tracks. on the old impeller there the bearings in the pump casing are ground. They will put a printer on the ship, while on the campaign you can print weapons, why should the printer stand idle. And it’s possible to rivet the monuments, the order went to the port, the order was received on the way back, the customer was given the order, the Tugriks received it. You can spank from old plastic bottles. only a meat grinder is needed. Not a plowed field, Damn they forgot their own blind men in the Ganges drown, oh, covered the business with a copper basin.
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh April 9 2020 11: 36 New
      +1
      "in the campaign you can print weapons," ///
      ---
      Americans are going to do so. Print both the shells of bombs and missiles directly on aircraft carriers. And collect on a hike.
      Spare parts for aircraft are already printed on board.
  6. exo
    exo April 9 2020 11: 26 New
    +3
    But what about copyright and patents? Of course, you can ignore it. Well, only then this manufacturer is unlikely to sell anything. Again, if the spare part is not original, for example, in aviation, and no one has certified and tested it in the proper amount, the consequences can be sad.
  7. grandfather_Kostya
    grandfather_Kostya April 9 2020 12: 03 New
    +1
    Last but not least, the impeller made using 3D printing turned out to be 8 times lighter than the traditional one - if the latter weighs 8-9 kg, then the Think3D product weighs only 1 kg.

    They will start to print everything in a row - they will violate the alignment and lower seaworthiness. Here you have to think seven times with a pint.
    1. Pavel57
      Pavel57 April 9 2020 12: 08 New
      +1
      So you still need to take the meter on board - calculation in the ANSYS program.
  8. Chaldon48
    Chaldon48 April 9 2020 12: 19 New
    0
    What's so right on every ship will have its own repair shop with a 3D printer?
  9. magadan72
    magadan72 April 9 2020 12: 35 New
    0
    And we are not enthusiastic about 3D technology. We ordered a reverse handle on the JONSON 30 outboard motor (the original one was plastic) - after three reverses it broke ... exactly like that in the middle ... The work was very expensive ... it failed.
  10. Peter is not the first
    Peter is not the first April 9 2020 13: 04 New
    0
    And is 40% cheaper and 8 times lighter? What is wrong here. Most likely, the material is completely different from the source, and therefore the resource of this part is scanty, only in order to reach the nearest port.
    1. Sergey S.
      Sergey S. April 10 2020 00: 54 New
      0
      Quote: Peter is not the first
      And is 40% cheaper and 8 times lighter? What is wrong here. Most likely, the material is completely different from the source, and therefore the resource of this part is scanty, only in order to reach the nearest port.

      The data was provided by enthusiastic hives.
      Which either have never done anything like this, or have never been responsible for the final result.
  11. 23424636
    23424636 April 9 2020 13: 12 New
    +1
    a very funny article, especially in terms of what material was used for the manufacture, remained a mystery. Centrifugal pumps devour the material concretely and wanted to see what would happen to their sprayed material after a couple of months of exploitation of the aggressive medium among abrasives. . 3D printing is suitable for the manufacture of molds for molding and subsequent casting from materials already tested and having a metal structure for investment casting or burning, it is cheap and fast and making parts on a 3D printer is insanely expensive and not practical.
  12. tuts
    tuts April 9 2020 17: 07 New
    0
    change steel to plastic, well this
  13. TermNachTer
    TermNachTer April 10 2020 11: 05 New
    0
    Given the hodgepodge that the Indian Navy and the Air Force have in their composition, the topic is more than relevant.

Военное обозрение

В Индии рассказали, как 3D-печать решила проблемы ВМС страны с заменой оборудования

24

Индия уверенно идет по пути внедрения высоких технологий в военной промышленности. Теперь настала очередь и для использования 3D печати для нужд индийских военно-морских сил.


ВМС Индии заключили соглашение с сервисным бюро Think3D об использовании технологий 3D-печати в производстве запасных частей для оборудования, применяемого на кораблях. В свое время военно-морское командование испытывало очень большие проблемы с организацией поставки запасных частей, так как индийский флот использовал старое импортное оборудование и найти детали к нему всегда было довольно сложно.

Поскольку большая часть машинного оборудования, используемого на индийских кораблях, поставлялась из других стран, причем там его производство уже могло быть прекращено, при необходимости замены какого-либо компонента индийский флот нес очень большие финансовые расходы. Многие корабли простаивали на базах и не могли эксплуатироваться из-за того, что ВМС Индии не могло найти компоненты для замены определенного оборудования.

Теперь, благодаря технологии 3D-печати, запасные части для оборудования индийских кораблей можно производить самостоятельно. В качестве примера Think3D приводит ситуацию с заменой рабочих колес центробежных насосов, которые смогли заменить с помощью 3D-печати. В свое время выход рабочих колес из строя стал для индийского флота настоящей проблемой, которая усугублялась тем, что из строя рабочие колеса выходят довольно часто.

На каждом корабле имеется несколько насосов и рабочих колёс, соответственно и постоянные поломки затрудняли саму возможность эксплуатации кораблей ВМС Индии и выполнения поставленных перед ними задач. Для производства нового рабочего колеса часто требовалось не менее трех месяцев, а если прибавить сюда время ожидания, заключения договора на поставку, то и того больше. 3D-печать, в свою очередь, позволила сократить организационные, временные и финансовые издержки и значительно ускорить процесс производства и замены рабочих колес.

Сейчас «флагманом» 3D-печати для ВМС Индии является компания Think3D, основанная в 2014 году. Она предлагает услуги по 3D-печати, дизайну, сканированию и серийному производству, имеет в распоряжении 3D-принтер стоимостью 6 миллионов долларов США, на котором производится медицинское оборудование. Принтер находится в AP MedTech Zone – производственном парке медицинского оборудования в штате Андхра-Прадеш.

В Индии рассказали, как 3D-печать решила проблемы ВМС страны с заменой оборудования

Получив заказ от индийских военно-морских сил, специалисты Think3D для ознакомления с проблемой посетили военные корабли и собрали информацию об используемых на них рабочих колесах, включая свойства материалов. Первым делом было проведено 3D сканирование рабочего колеса с помощью сканера EinScan Pro+3D. Затем, используя программное обеспечение ANSYS, специалисты бюро определили специфику дальнейшего процесса 3D-печати и выяснили, какие материалы следует использовать.

Следующим шагом стала проверка на пригодность таких материалов как нейлоновые композиты, стеклонаполненный нейлон, PA12, пластмассы. От материалов требовалось обладание демпфирующими свойствами. Кроме того, деталь должна была обрести эластичность, достаточную для того, чтобы выдерживать постоянные вибрации. Поэтому была исключена возможность использования различных материалов с высокой хрупкостью. Какой материал в итоге выбрала организация, до сих пор неизвестно, поскольку Think3D было принято решение о сохранении этой информации в тайне.


С помощью технологии Multi Jet Fusion от HP было напечатано рабочее колесо с желаемыми свойствами. Затем деталь подверглась последующей обработке и была испытана на корабле, продемонстрировав высокую производительность. В итоге весь процесс создания детали, который прежде занимал не менее 3 месяцев, уложился всего в 2 дня.

Стоимость изготовления компонента оказалась на 40% ниже той суммы, которую бы пришлось потратить в случае создания рабочего колеса традиционным способом. Наконец, что также немаловажно, рабочее колесо, изготовленное с помощью 3D-печати, оказалось в 8 раз легче традиционного – если последнее весит 8-9 кг, то продукт Think3D весит всего 1 кг.

Сейчас ВМС Индии и бюро Think3D рассматривают возможность установки 3D-принтера на борту корабля. Такое решение позволит обеспечить потребность в запасных частях в том случае, если она возникнет во время нахождения судна в открытом море. Если прежде для установки деталей требовалось бы доставить судно в порт или, в крайнем случае, доставить детали с помощью авиации, то после установки принтера на борту производство станет возможно в условиях открытого плавания.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
3DPrintingIndustry
24 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Арон Заави
    Арон Заави 9 апреля 2020 10:37 Новый
    +4
    Да технологии очень перспективные. Где то полгода назад мне попадалась стать на иврите, что уже на сегодня до 30% запчастей для самолетов наших ВВС изготовляются при использовании 3D печати.
    1. kenig1
      kenig1 9 апреля 2020 12:28 Новый
      0
      А в России Сколково есть. laughing
      1. Сергей С.
        Сергей С. 10 апреля 2020 00:49 Новый
        0
        Цитата: kenig1
        А в России Сколково есть.

        Россия это не только Сколково, скорее совсем не Сколково.

        Тема важная и нужная.
        единственно, пока еще дорого получается, и не всегда возможно.
        Особо прочные детали только 3D-печатью не сделать.
        Тяжелые детали тоже не получится изготовить. Боевой поход будет короче срока изготовления.
        Но колеса насосов, тонкостенные корпуса, детали с внутренними полостями - это реальность.

        Кстати, оборудование не тяжелое, размеры сопоставимы с размерами деталей.
        Проблема в другом.
        Если ремонтное производство - нужны рабочие чертежи, причем в 3D-исполнении.
        Фирмы-производители на это могут не пойти. Вернее попытаются не дать.

        И во многих случаях потребуется обмер деталей - Лазерная измерительная машина в размерах еще больше...

        И это очень дорого.
        Поэтому для изготовления ракет и самолетов - используется. А вот для насосного колеса катера пока не очень-то верится.
  2. Ros 56
    Ros 56 9 апреля 2020 10:41 Новый
    +2
    Хорошее дело, может сразу корабли начнут печатать? laughing
  3. Pavel57
    Pavel57 9 апреля 2020 10:47 Новый
    0
    На корабле теперь надо иметь штатного конструктора и штатного технолога.
    1. Cowbra
      Cowbra 9 апреля 2020 11:36 Новый
      +1
      Место под здоровую дуру, это не бытовой принтер, а заводской, и запас расходников. Ню-ню. Не говоря уж про то, что кидать 6 лям на каждый катер, чтоб печатать раз в год диск - это совершенно не будет дешевле.
      Короче - заставь дyрака богу молится, он тебе спляшет
  4. alekc75
    alekc75 9 апреля 2020 10:53 Новый
    0
    а запас всех компонентов тоже с собой на корабле будут брать????
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 9 апреля 2020 11:32 Новый
      -1
      Каких компонентов? Надо иметь 1) принтер 2) сканер (или чертежи уже отсканированных деталей) 3) порошок для печати.
      1. APASUS
        APASUS 9 апреля 2020 12:11 Новый
        0
        Цитата: voyaka uh
        Каких компонентов? Надо иметь 1) принтер 2) сканер (или чертежи уже отсканированных деталей) 3) порошок для печати.

        Как на счет качки или деформации корпуса при волнении ?
        1. Cowbra
          Cowbra 9 апреля 2020 12:56 Новый
          -1
          Будет новым дизайном! Диск морской - с волнами на поверхности!
          Цитата: voyaka uh
          3) порошок для печати.

          Чукча как всегда - не читатель, он тут на работе. И пару абзацев статьи про то, что "выбирали материал" - он пропустил. Кроме того. чтоб чесать языком - различия в бытовом и промышленном 3Дэ принтерах понимать не надо laughing
        2. voyaka uh
          voyaka uh 9 апреля 2020 13:35 Новый
          0
          Я не написал о том, что "будут делать". Я пишу о том, что уже есть.
          На авианосцах США уже установлены 3Д-принтеры и на них печатают
          разнообразные запчасти. Об этом были статьи.
          Судя по всему, качка не мешает. smile
          1. Cowbra
            Cowbra 9 апреля 2020 16:07 Новый
            -1
            Цитата: voyaka uh
            Судя по всему, качка не мешает.

            Там как и у индусов - главное - крепче держать пилу. Впрочем, на авианосце во-первых качка точно поменьше будет, во-вторых, там и стабилизированную платформу под принтер установить можно
  5. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 9 апреля 2020 11:17 Новый
    0
    Интересно на фотке последней крыльчатка старая латунная, отпечатали судя по виду с дюраля. Интересно что качает насос, если топливо или пресную воду то ходить будет. А если морскую воду, то насоса и на месяц не хватит. алюминий с морской водой не дружит. Судя по следам. на старой крыльчатке там и подшипники в корпусе насоса размолотило. Поставят на корабле принтер, в походе можно и оружия напечатать, зачем принтеру простаивать. А можно и памятники клепать, в порт зашли заказ приняли, на обратном пути заказ клиенту выдали, тугрики получили. Можно из пластиковых старых бутылок шлепать. только мясорубка нужна. Не паханное поле, Блин забыл они же своих жмуриков в Ганге топят, эх, накрылся бизнес медным тазом.
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 9 апреля 2020 11:36 Новый
      +1
      " в походе можно и оружия напечатать,"///
      ---
      Американцы так и собираются делать. Печатать и корпуса бомб, и ракет прямо на авианосцах. И собирать в походе.
      Запчасти для самолетов уже печатают на борту.
  6. exo
    exo 9 апреля 2020 11:26 Новый
    +3
    А как дело, с авторским правом и патентами? Конечно, можно и игнорировать. Вот, только потом этот производитель, вряд ли что продаст. Опять же, если запчасть является не оригинальной,например в авиации,и её никто не сертифцировал и не тестировал,в должном объеме,последствия могут быть,печальные.
  7. дед_Костя
    дед_Костя 9 апреля 2020 12:03 Новый
    +1
    Наконец, что также немаловажно, рабочее колесо, изготовленное с помощью 3D-печати, оказалось в 8 раз легче традиционного – если последнее весит 8-9 кг, то продукт Think3D весит всего 1 кг.

    Начнут печатать всё подряд- нарушат центровку и понизят мореходность. Тут семь раз подумать надо с поллитрой.
    1. Pavel57
      Pavel57 9 апреля 2020 12:08 Новый
      +1
      Значит надо еще рассчетчика брать на борт - расчет в программе ANSYS.
  8. Chaldon48
    Chaldon48 9 апреля 2020 12:19 Новый
    0
    Что так прямо на каждом карабле будет своя ремонтная мастерская с 3D принтером?
  9. magadan72
    magadan72 9 апреля 2020 12:35 Новый
    0
    А мы не в восторге от 3D технологии.Заказали ручку реверса на лодочный мотор JONSON 30 (оригинальная была пластиковая) -после трёх реверсов сломалась... ровненько так по середине...Стоила работа очень дорого...потерпели фиаско.
  10. Петр не первый
    Петр не первый 9 апреля 2020 13:04 Новый
    0
    И дешевле на 40% и легче в 8 раз? Что здесь не так. Скорее всего материал совсем не тот, что у исходника, а значит и ресурс этой детали мизерный, только для того, чтобы дойти до ближайшего порта.
    1. Сергей С.
      Сергей С. 10 апреля 2020 00:54 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Петр не первый
      И дешевле на 40% и легче в 8 раз? Что здесь не так. Скорее всего материал совсем не тот, что у исходника, а значит и ресурс этой детали мизерный, только для того, чтобы дойти до ближайшего порта.

      Данные предоставили восторженные шарамыжники.
      Которые либо никогда ничего подобного не делали, либо за конечный результат никогда не отвечали.
  11. 23424636
    23424636 9 апреля 2020 13:12 Новый
    +1
    очень веселая статья особенно в части какой материал был использован для изготовления -осталось тайной.Центробежные насосы жрут материал конктретно и хотел увидеть что будет с их напыляемым материалом через пару месяцев эксплатации агресивной среде среди абразивов. . 3д печать подходит для изготовления прессформ для формовки и последующего литья из материалов уже опробованных и имеющих металлическую структуру для литья по выплавляемым моделям или выжигаемым это дешево и быстро а делать детали на 3 д принтере это безумно дорого и не практично.
  12. туц
    туц 9 апреля 2020 17:07 Новый
    0
    менять сталь на пластик, ну такое
  13. ТермиНахТер
    ТермиНахТер 10 апреля 2020 11:05 Новый
    0
    Учитывая, ту сборную солянку, которую имеют индейские ВМФ и ВВС в своем составе, тема более чем актуальная.