US Navy going to equip drones


US Navy Command wants to robot part fleet. To achieve this goal, a course has been taken on the development and production of unmanned warships with remote control. The first in line will be unmanned patrol boats.


In a report on the vision for the future development of the US Navy, Admiral John Richardson made two crucial conclusions. First, the United States needs to increase the number of warships. The second - it is necessary to more actively introduce new technologies in the US Navy.

Note that unmanned boats are already used by the US Navy for mine action. But now the American naval command is discussing the prospect of creating unmanned ships that could carry out reconnaissance and even strike functions, being equipped with special equipment, artillery and missile weapons.

A weighty argument in favor of the automation of warships is their low cost. Unmanned ships can cost the US budget much less than modern ships with crew from sailors. In addition, the use of unmanned vehicles minimizes the risks of loss of personnel, the spread of diseases among crew members, etc.

Back in 2019, Rear Admiral William Gallins said that the U.S. Navy was going to launch a remote-controlled ship development program. This program will cover at least 2 classes of warships. The first ship is a medium-sized unmanned surface ship capable of acting as a scout and equipped with radar and sonar equipment. The second ship is supposed to be designed the size of an ordinary corvette, equipping it with rocket launchers.

Rear Admiral John Neagley, who is in command of the U.S. Navy for small warships and unmanned vessels, said that a contract for the production of such a vessel could be concluded in 2023. However, we venture to suggest that the coronavirus epidemic and associated costs may slightly shift these dates.

Some US military experts suggest modifying coast guard boats by roboticizing them and turning them into unmanned vessels. Instead of developing a new small unmanned ship from scratch, patrol boats can be modified, thus solving two pressing problems of the Navy - replacing Cyclone-class patrol boats and creating a new unmanned ship.

At the same time, the US Navy command acknowledges that developing a new coast guard unmanned patrol boat will not be an easy task. Of course, the first boats will still go to sea with the crew, but the tendency to a gradual reduction in the number of personnel of the crews of boats as the development and expansion of the use of artificial intelligence should prevail. Robots will gradually replace crew members until the boat can become completely unmanned, working on a remote control.

In favor of fleet robotization, financial considerations also speak. As you know, President Donald Trump headed for an increase in the number of ships in the US Navy. But this is a very expensive event, but the robotization of the fleet’s crew will just solve the problem of lack of funds, providing the US Navy with new ships at lower financial cost.

By the way, unmanned vehicles will undoubtedly be cheaper than manned ones in everyday maintenance: for example, the operation of a single destroyer of the U.S. Navy will cost the American treasury hundreds of thousands of dollars a day, and the operation of an unmanned ship will cost about 20 thousand dollars a day. The difference is ten times. The only question is how soon the designers will be able to develop those unmanned ships, about the need for which they say in the command of the Navy.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Doccor18 April 16 2020 14: 34 New
    • 4
    • 3
    +1
    "The US Navy command wants to robotize part of the fleet. To achieve this goal, a course has been taken on the development and production of unmanned warships with remote control. The first in line will be unmanned patrol boats."

    Unmanned boats equipped with heavy machine guns
    will eventually lead to the collapse of the Iranian "boat pressure"
    in the Strait of Hormuz.
    1. svp67 April 16 2020 15: 01 New
      • 1
      • 2
      -1
      Quote: Doccor18
      Unmanned boats equipped with heavy machine guns
      will eventually lead to the collapse of the Iranian "boat pressure"
      in the Strait of Hormuz.

      And the "processing" of these "drones" with electronic warfare equipment will not lead to the collapse of "unmanned pressure"?
      1. Alex777 April 16 2020 20: 12 New
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        And the "processing" of these "drones" with electronic warfare equipment will not lead to the collapse of "unmanned pressure"?

        Quite possible. Without GPS, these ships will not sail far.
        Unmanned ships can cost the US budget much less than modern ships with crew from sailors.

        It has long been said: "... you would not chase ... for cheapness ...".
        The simplest (compared to controlling a ship in a combat operation) task of observing the refueling of airplanes in the air failed after the visual control of a special operator on a tanker plane was replaced by observing the cameras from the cockpit.
        And it turned out that the distance on the cameras is very difficult to assess.
        And then a ship with missiles ... hi
  2. Skay April 16 2020 14: 35 New
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    And who will be there to fight for vitality? ... Or is it a fleet of peacetime? Or is it consumables?
  3. Teberii April 16 2020 14: 37 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    The story with unmanned vehicles has been going on for a long time and every time the price only grew, it will continue. In the United States, everything about the military budget is definitely expensive.
  4. rocket757 April 16 2020 14: 37 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Again plans, plans ... however, this is understandable. Here to believe that this is new, it will be much cheaper to service, very much in any way.
    In short, it will be interesting to see.
  5. askort154 April 16 2020 14: 56 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    US Navy going to equip drones

    So they are not sure that the coronavirus released from its jug will win. wink
  6. HAM
    HAM April 16 2020 14: 57 New
    • 1
    • 2
    -1
    It's just some kind of holiday ..... for the electronic warfare service ....
  7. KVU-NSVD April 16 2020 15: 00 New
    • 1
    • 1
    0
    Ships - drones are, of course, technologically advanced, economical, hypo and so on. Personally, I have one question: how to solve the problem with remote control in general and with the stability of radio channels in particular if the enemy has ships and aircraft with advanced electronic warfare equipment? Act only in areas that are limited and remote from such an enemy? under the guise of "manned" ships? Or completely entrusted to the rogue in the future AI? Make a revolution with the invention of "unkillable" communication channels? Although in general, the future of marine drones is very broad, but not comprehensive
    1. APASUS April 16 2020 16: 56 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: KVU-NSVD
      Ships - drones are, of course, technologically advanced, economical, hypo and so on. Personally, I have one question: how to solve the problem with remote control in general and with the stability of radio channels in particular if the enemy has ships and aircraft with advanced electronic warfare equipment? Act only in areas that are limited and remote from such an enemy? under the guise of "manned" ships? Or completely entrusted to the rogue in the future AI? Make a revolution with the invention of "unkillable" communication channels? Although in general, the future of marine drones is very broad, but not comprehensive

      Yes there are hundreds of questions. How will such a border guard conduct an inspection while detaining the violator, and if it is not the violator? The drug mafia in the Gulf of Mexico will only be delighted or completely change tactics, saw - drowned, and then raised and apologized if that?
  8. Doccor18 April 16 2020 15: 03 New
    • 0
    • 1
    -1
    And the "processing" of these "drones" with electronic warfare equipment will not lead to the collapse of "unmanned pressure"?
    It is possible, but how much time and money the IRGC will need to implement such a serious technological tool. If only someone will help ...
  9. Vasily Ponomarev April 16 2020 15: 04 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Quote: rocket757
    Again plans, plans ... however, this is understandable. Here to believe that this is new, it will be much cheaper to service, very much in any way.
    In short, it will be interesting to see.

    plans with good examples
  10. 7,62h54 April 16 2020 19: 08 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    And this solution has some advantages:
    1. Lack of hazing;
    2. There is no risk of infecting the team with a virus;
    3. No need to worry about treatment and pensions;
    4. There is no one to be afraid of a potential enemy flying planes on a ship.

Военное обозрение

ВМС США собрались оснастить беспилотными кораблями

13

Командование ВМС США хочет роботизировать часть флота. Для реализации этой цели взят курс на разработку и производство беспилотных военных кораблей на дистанционном управлении. Первыми на очереди будут беспилотные патрульные катера.


В докладе, посвященном видению будущего развития Военно-морских сил США, адмирал Джон Ричардсон сделал два важнейших вывода. Первый – Соединенные Штаты нуждаются в увеличении количества боевых кораблей. Второй – необходимо более активно внедрять новые технологии в ВМС США.

Отметим, что беспилотные катера уже используются ВМС США для противоминных мероприятий. Но сейчас американское военно-морское командование обсуждает перспективу создания беспилотных кораблей, которые могли бы выполнять разведывательные и даже ударные функции, будучи оснащены специальным оборудованием, артиллерийским и ракетным вооружением.

Весомым аргументом в пользу роботизации боевых кораблей становится их низкая стоимость. Беспилотные корабли могут обойтись американскому бюджету значительно дешевле, чем современные корабли с экипажем из моряков. К тому же, использование беспилотных кораблей минимизирует риски потери личного состава, распространения заболеваний среди членов экипажа и т.п.

Еще в прошлом 2019 году контр-адмирал Уильям Галлинс говорил о том, что ВМС США собираются запустить программу разработки судов с дистанционным управлением. Эта программа будет охватывать как минимум 2 класса военных кораблей. Первый корабль – беспилотный надводный корабль среднего размера, способный действовать в качестве разведчика и оснащенный радиолокационной и гидролокационной аппаратурой. Второй корабль предполагается спроектировать размером с обычный корвет, оснастив его ракетными пусковыми установками.

Контр-адмирал Джон Нигли, отвечающий в командовании ВМС США за малые военные корабли и беспилотные суда, заявил, что контракт на производство такого судна может быть заключен в 2023 году. Однако мы рискнем предположить, что эпидемия коронавируса и связанные с ней затраты могут несколько сдвинуть эти сроки.

Некоторые американские военные специалисты предлагают модифицировать катера береговой охраны, роботизировав их и превратив в беспилотные суда. Вместо того, чтобы разрабатывать новый малый беспилотный корабль с нуля, можно модифицировать патрульные катера, решив, таким образом, две насущные проблемы ВМС – замену патрульных катеров класса Cyclone и создание нового беспилотного судна.

В то же время, в командовании ВМС США признают, что разработка нового беспилотного патрульного катера береговой охраны не будет простой задачей. Конечно, первые катера все равно будут выходить в море с экипажем, но должна возобладать тенденция к постепенному сокращению численности личного состава экипажей катеров по мере развития и расширения использования искусственного интеллекта. Роботы будут постепенно заменять членов экипажа, пока катер не сможет стать полностью беспилотным, работающим на дистанционном управлении.

В пользу роботизации флота говорят и соображения финансового характера. Как известно, президент Дональд Трамп взял курс на увеличение количества кораблей в составе ВМС США. Но это – очень дорогостоящее мероприятие, а вот роботизация плавсостава флота как раз позволит решить проблему нехватки средств, обеспечив ВМС США новыми судами при меньших финансовых затратах.

Кстати, беспилотные корабли будут несомненно дешевле пилотируемых и в повседневном обслуживании: так, обеспечение функционирования одного эсминца ВМС США обходится американской казне в сотни тысяч долларов в день, а эксплуатация беспилотного корабля обойдется примерно в 20 тысяч долларов в день. Разница – в десятки раз. Вопрос лишь в том, как скоро конструкторам удастся разработать те беспилотные корабли, о потребности в которых говорят в командовании ВМС.
Автор:
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Doccor18
    Doccor18 16 апреля 2020 14:34 Новый
    +1
    "Командование ВМС США хочет роботизировать часть флота. Для реализации этой цели взят курс на разработку и производство беспилотных военных кораблей на дистанционном управлении. Первыми на очереди будут беспилотные патрульные катера."

    Беспилотные катера оснащенные крупнокалиберными пулеметами
    приведут, со временем, к краху иранское "катерное давление"
    в Ормузском проливе.
    1. svp67
      svp67 16 апреля 2020 15:01 Новый
      -1
      Цитата: Doccor18
      Беспилотные катера оснащенные крупнокалиберными пулеметами
      приведут, со временем, к краху иранское "катерное давление"
      в Ормузском проливе.

      А "обработка" этих "беспилотников" аппаратурой РЭБ не приведет ли к краху "беспилотного давления"?
      1. Alex777
        Alex777 16 апреля 2020 20:12 Новый
        +1
        А "обработка" этих "беспилотников" аппаратурой РЭБ не приведет ли к краху "беспилотного давления"?

        Вполне возможно. Без GPS эти корабли далеко не уплывут.
        Беспилотные корабли могут обойтись американскому бюджету значительно дешевле, чем современные корабли с экипажем из моряков.

        Давно сказано: "... не гонялся бы ты ... за дешевизной...".
        Вон простейшая (по сравнению с управлением кораблем в боевой операции) задача по наблюдению за заправкой самолетов в воздухе, провалилась после того, как визуальный контроль специального оператора, на самолете-танкере, заменили наблюдением по камерам из кабины самолета.
        И оказалось, что дистанцию по камерам оценить очень сложно.
        А тут корабль с ракетами... hi
  2. Skay
    Skay 16 апреля 2020 14:35 Новый
    0
    А бороться за живучесть там кто будет?... Или это флот мирного времени? Или это расходники?
  3. Teberii
    Teberii 16 апреля 2020 14:37 Новый
    0
    История с беспилотными кораблями уже идет давно и каждый раз цена только росла,так и будет дальше. В США все что касается военного бюджета однозначно дорого.
  4. rocket757
    rocket757 16 апреля 2020 14:37 Новый
    0
    Опять планы, планы ... впрочем, это понятно. Вот поверить, что это новое, будет в обслуживание много дешевле, очень никак.
    Короче, на это интересно будет посмотреть.
  5. askort154
    askort154 16 апреля 2020 14:56 Новый
    0
    ВМС США собрались оснастить беспилотными кораблями

    Значит не уверены, что победят выпущенный из своего кувшина коронавирус. wink
  6. HAM
    HAM 16 апреля 2020 14:57 Новый
    -1
    Это просто праздник какой то.....для службы РЭБ....
  7. КВУ-НСвД
    КВУ-НСвД 16 апреля 2020 15:00 Новый
    0
    Корабли - дроны это конечно технологично , экономно , хайпово и прочее . Лично у меня вопрос один : как решать проблему с дистанционным управлением вообще и с устойчивостью радиоканалов в частности при наличии у противника кораблей и самолётов с продвинутой аппаратурой РЭБ ? Действовать только в ограниченных и отдалённых от такого врага районах ? под прикрытием "человекоуправляемых" кораблей ? Или полностью вверится низбежному в будущем ИИ ? Произвести революцию с изобретением "неубиваемых" каналов связи ? Хотя в общем будущее у морских беспилотников очень широкое , но не всеохватывающее
    1. APASUS
      APASUS 16 апреля 2020 16:56 Новый
      0
      Цитата: КВУ-НСвД
      Корабли - дроны это конечно технологично , экономно , хайпово и прочее . Лично у меня вопрос один : как решать проблему с дистанционным управлением вообще и с устойчивостью радиоканалов в частности при наличии у противника кораблей и самолётов с продвинутой аппаратурой РЭБ ? Действовать только в ограниченных и отдалённых от такого врага районах ? под прикрытием "человекоуправляемых" кораблей ? Или полностью вверится низбежному в будущем ИИ ? Произвести революцию с изобретением "неубиваемых" каналов связи ? Хотя в общем будущее у морских беспилотников очень широкое , но не всеохватывающее

      Да там вопросов сотни.Как будет проводить досмотри такой вот пограничник ,при задержании нарушителя ,а если это не нарушитель ? Наркомафия в Мексиканском заливе только обрадуется или менять полностью тактику ,увидел - потопил ,а потом подняли и извинились если что ?
  8. Doccor18
    Doccor18 16 апреля 2020 15:03 Новый
    -1
    А "обработка" этих "беспилотников" аппаратурой РЭБ не приведет ли к краху "беспилотного давления"?
    Возможно, но сколько времени и средств будет необходимо КСИР для реализации столь серьезного технологического инструмента. Если только поможет кто...
  9. василий пономарев
    василий пономарев 16 апреля 2020 15:04 Новый
    0
    Цитата: rocket757
    Опять планы, планы ... впрочем, это понятно. Вот поверить, что это новое, будет в обслуживание много дешевле, очень никак.
    Короче, на это интересно будет посмотреть.

    планы с удачными примерами
  10. 7,62х54
    7,62х54 16 апреля 2020 19:08 Новый
    0
    И в этом решении одни преимущества:
    1. Отсутствие неуставных отношений;
    2. Нет риска заразить вирусом команду;
    3. Не надо беспокоиться о лечении и пенсиях;
    4. Некому бояться пролетающих на кораблём самолётов вероятного противника.