I know and will remember. And I'm proud


Southwest



My great-grandfather, Alexander Potapovich Asmolov, took part in the Great Patriotic War. The war began a week after his birthday. June 15 he turned 27 years old, and June 23, 1941 Pyatigorsk GVK, he was called up for war.

From June 1941 to March 1943 he was on the Southwestern Front as a political instructor of a company of the 13th separate railway brigade. During the battles of 1941, the troops of the Southwestern Front, which included 13 railway brigades, repelled the attacks of the German Army Group "South", tried to launch a counterattack in a tank battle near Dubno - Lutsk - Brody.


In mid-July, the South-Western Front managed to stop the enemy near Kiev, and in the second half of July - early August, in collaboration with the Southern Front, thwarted his attempt to defeat Soviet troops in Right-Bank Ukraine. But in September – November 1941, the remaining forces of the Southwestern Front were forced to withdraw to the line east of Kursk, Kharkov, and Raisins. The front also participated in the Donbass defensive operation.

During the Kharkov battle, which began at the end of May 1942, the troops of the Southwestern Front unsuccessfully tried to take over Kharkov, but were surrounded and suffered heavy losses. The defeat near Kharkov opened the way for German troops to Stalingrad. On July 12, 1942, the Southwestern Front, defeated near Kharkov, was disbanded.

On October 25, 1942, at the junction of the Don Front and the Voronezh Front, the South-Western Front of the second formation was created. The troops of the Southwestern Front, where great-grandfather also fought, took part in the Battle of Stalingrad and surrounded by a group of German troops near Stalingrad (operation "Uranus").

Great-grandfather participated in the Middle Don offensive operation of 1942, and then there were the Ostrogozh-Rossoshansk and Voroshilovgrad offensive operations of 1943, the liberation of Donbass and new heavy battles near Kharkov in the spring of 1943. On October 20, 1943, the Southwestern Front was renamed the Third Ukrainian Front.

When I first saw such a list of battles, I thought that my great-grandfather was lucky to manage without injuries for so long, and yet he remained practically at the forefront as a battalion agitator. During the Battle of the Dnieper in October – November 1943, troops of the Third Ukrainian Front liberated the cities of Dnepropetrovsk and Dneprodzerzhinsk, and advanced 50-60 km west of the Dnieper.


By the end of December 1943, together with the Second Ukrainian Front, units of the Third Ukrainian Front were holding a large strategic bridgehead on the Dnieper. When the Right-Bank Ukraine was liberated, the front forces, in cooperation with the Fourth Ukrainian Front, carried out the Nikopol-Krivorozhsky operation, went to the Ingulets river, from where they launched an offensive in the Nikolaev-Odessa direction in March-April 1944.

Thank you great-grandfather for his contribution to the Great Victory!


During this period, while working as an agitator for the battalion, his great-grandfather showed himself to be a brave, decisive and proactive officer. At the railway sections Katavsk - Odessa, Zilani - Krustpils, Riga - Tukums - Vindava, as well as during the restoration of the Tukums junction II of the Riga - Tukums railway section, he assumed great responsibility to personally lead the civilian population.

All orders were executed ahead of schedule. For me, these are very important events from his biography, because managing people, taking responsibility for their lives, especially in such difficult times, is the best feature of a leader who has managed to gather people around him and give them the opportunity to trust!

During restoration work on the Loshkarevka-Apostolovo railway section, showing examples of dedication and genuine heroism, the great-grandfather mobilized the local population to restore Art. Loshkarevka, which greatly accelerated the execution of the order. This territory was subjected to mortar attacks, many sites were very dangerous, but great-grandfather was always ready for labor exploits! And once, when fulfilling an assignment, his great-grandfather wounded him with a shrapnel. According to the surviving certificate from the hospital, I learned that on January 22, 1944, my great-grandfather received a minor shrapnel wound in his right shoulder.

He stayed in the hospital not too long - a month. The award sheet indicates:

“For the excellent mobilization and involvement of the local population in restoration work, he deserves a government award.”

Great-grandfather was awarded the Order of the Red Star. Then, from April 1944 to May 1945, he was transferred to the Leningrad and 2nd Baltic Front, and again to the post of battalion agitator.


In June 1944, the Leningrad Front, with the participation of the Baltic Front, Ladoga and Onega military flotillas, successfully carried out the Vyborg operation, as a result of which Finland was forced to withdraw from the war on the side of Germany. Great-grandfather also participated in the Baltic operation, which the front carried out in September-November 1944, liberating the continental part of Estonia.

In the fall of 1944, the troops of the Leningrad Front in cooperation with the Baltic fleet they cleared the islands of the Moonsund archipelago from the enemy, and this was the end of the active fighting of the front. The troops took up positions on the Soviet-Finnish border and the coast of the Baltic Sea from Leningrad to Riga.

On April 1, 1945, part of the troops of the disbanded Second Baltic Front was transferred to the Leningrad Front, and it was entrusted with the task of blocking the Courland group of enemy troops. On July 24, 1945, the Leningrad Front was transformed into the Leningrad Military District.



My great-grandfather ended the war not in Berlin and not in Vienna, but on the shores of the Baltic. He was awarded two orders and several medals: orders of the Red Star and World War I degree, medals "For the victory over Germany in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945", "For the defense of Kiev" and "For the defense of Stalingrad."

I am proud that my great-grandfather contributed to this Great Victory! Perhaps not the largest, but for our family - so important!
Author:
Photos used:
smipressa.ru, from the family archive
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. The leader of the Redskins April 23 2020 10: 36 New
    • 14
    • 1
    +13
    As a student, I somehow got to the hospital. To the hospital. The chamber was for four, but the three of us lay. I, a guy a little older than me and an old man. From boredom, we talked to my grandfather and found out that he was a member of the Second World War. And the troops are just railway. Then I first learned that such were. And our grandfather, it turns out, during the Battle of Stalingrad every night he restored the temporary railway line along which the ammunition was brought. Here are such non-combat feats ...
    1. AU Ivanov. April 23 2020 10: 54 New
      • 9
      • 0
      +9
      Why are not feats of war? Restoring the path under the bombs, or even under shelling - is quite a battle. My paternal grandmother was on duty at the front-line station, where trains were unloaded for the North-Western Front, the Bologoe-Dno line. Civilian, awarded a military medal.
    2. podymych April 23 2020 10: 55 New
      • 9
      • 0
      +9
      Here are such non-combat feats ...

      Yeah, wow, non-combat, almost daily under bombs. Bright memory to those who have already passed away, and health to those who are still with us!
      1. The leader of the Redskins April 23 2020 11: 25 New
        • 3
        • 1
        +2
        According to the veteran, they restored at night. In the afternoon it was impossible to even approach that road.
  2. Vladimir_2U April 23 2020 10: 40 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    We can safely say that without the railway troops, victory would have been given even more blood! Memory and Glory to the soldiers of the railway workers!
  3. Thunderbolt April 23 2020 11: 01 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Railways ---- this is the artery of transportation. Wagons --- this is the blood of war. Whatever you want, the only criterion is ---- the uninterrupted supply of the front. All brigades of the iron troops, thank you very much for the uninterrupted maneuver, for this opportunity, and there we’ll kick the ass for Hitler, fortunately, the Soviet forge riveted tank and fur corps. We piled up with tank armies ---- and we felt the operational space, Guys.
  4. Pashhenko Nikolay April 23 2020 11: 02 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Grandfather spent the whole war in the railway troops, he graduated in Czechoslovakia.
  5. AU Ivanov. April 23 2020 11: 25 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Bologoe Station Oct. train During the war years, 527 raids of fascist aviation were committed, more than 2100 railway workers were killed at their post.
  6. podymych April 23 2020 12: 59 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Connoisseurs, but someone has information about the crazy train traffic jam in Velikiye Luki, when the war was just beginning. In the midst of evacuation? Or maybe there’s someone from there?
    1. fuxila April 23 2020 17: 58 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      Connoisseurs, but someone has information about the crazy train traffic jam in Velikiye Luki, when the war was just beginning. In the midst of evacuation? Or maybe there’s someone from there?

      Very well versed in this topic G.A. Kumanov, who wrote about the railroad workers in the Second World War. He himself naturally knew much more than what he had written, because directly communicated with the Stalinist people's commissars, including NKPS. Unfortunately, he died not so long ago (1,5 years ago), otherwise he would have contacted him and found out a lot of interesting things ...
      1. podymych April 23 2020 18: 04 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Thank you, Alexei, I know his work On Evacuation well, but alas, I didn’t find anything special about Velikiye Luki there. I’ll go to the local history museum - they can tell someone ... Here N.V. Starostenkov famously described about the Volga rockfall and about the railway as a whole, somewhere he found about how super-steam engines from Estonia stolen from under the nose of the Nazis, looking for something ...

Военное обозрение

Я знаю и буду помнить. И я горжусь

11

На юго-западном направлении



Мой прадедушка, Александр Потапович Асмолов, принимал участие в Великой Отечественной войне. Война началась спустя неделю после его дня рождения. 15 июня ему исполнилось 27 лет, а 23 июня 1941 года Пятигорским ГВК он был призван на войну.

С июня 1941 года по март 1943 года он был на Юго-Западном фронте в должности политрука роты 13-й отдельной железнодорожной бригады. В ходе сражений 1941 года войска Юго-Западного фронта, в состав которого входила 13 ождбр, отражали удары немецкой группы армий «Юг», пытались перейти в контрнаступление в танковом сражении под Дубно — Луцком — Бродами.


В середине июля Юго-Западный фронт сумел остановить врага под Киевом, а во второй половине июля — начале августа во взаимодействии с Южным фронтом сорвал его попытку разгромить советские войска на Правобережной Украине. Но в сентябре—ноябре 1941 года остатки сил Юго-Западного фронта вынуждены были отойти на рубеж восточнее Курска, Харькова, Изюма. Фронт участвовал и в Донбасской оборонительной операции.

В ходе начавшегося в конце мая 1942 года Харьковского сражения войска Юго-Западного фронта безуспешно пытались овладеть Харьковом, но попали в окружение и понесли тяжелые потери. Поражение под Харьковом открыло немецким войскам дорогу на Сталинград. 12 июля 1942 года Юго-Западный фронт, разбитый под Харьковом, был расформирован.

25 октября 1942 года на стыке Донского фронта и Воронежского фронта был создан Юго-Западный фронт второго формирования. Войска Юго-Западного фронта, где воевал и прадед, приняли участие в Сталинградской битве и в окружении группировки немецких войск под Сталинградом (операция «Уран»).

Прадед участвовал и в Среднедонской наступательной операции 1942 года, а потом были Острогожско-Россошанская и Ворошиловградская наступательные операции 1943 года, освобождение Донбасса и новые тяжёлые сражения под Харьковом уже весной 1943 года. 20 октября 1943 года Юго-Западный фронт был переименован в Третий Украинский фронт.

Когда я впервые увидела такой список сражений, подумала, что прадедушке повезло так долго обойтись даже без ранений, а ведь он оставался фактически на передовой — в должности агитатора батальона. В ходе Битвы за Днепр в октябре—ноябре 1943 года войска Третьего Украинского фронта освободили города Днепропетровск и Днепродзержинск, продвинулись на запад от Днепра на 50-60 км.


К концу декабря 1943 года вместе со Вторым Украинским фронтом части Третьего Украинского фронта удерживали на Днепре крупный стратегический плацдарм. При освобождении Правобережной Украины войска фронта во взаимодействии с Четвертым Украинским фронтом, осуществив Никопольско-Криворожскую операцию, вышли на реку Ингулец, откуда в марте-апреле 1944 года развернули наступление на николаевско-одесском направлении.

Спасибо прадеду за вклад в Великую Победу!


В этот период, работая агитатором батальона, прадедушка проявлял себя смелым, решительным и инициативным офицером. На железнодорожных участках Катавск — Одесса, Зилани — Крустпилс, Рига — Тукумс — Виндава, а также при восстановлении узла Тукумс II железнодорожного участка Рига — Тукумс он взял на себя большую ответственность — лично руководить гражданским населением.

Все приказы были выполнены досрочно. Для меня это очень важные события из его биографии, ведь руководить людьми, брать ответственность за их жизнь, тем более в такие трудные времена, — это лучшая черта лидера, сумевшего собрать вокруг себя людей и дать им возможность доверять!

В период восстановительных работ на железнодорожном участке Лошкаревка — Апостолово, проявляя образцы самоотверженности и подлинного героизма, прадед мобилизовал местное население для восстановления ст. Лошкаревка, чем намного было ускорено выполнение приказа. Эта территория подвергалась минометным обстрелам, многие участки были очень опасны, но прадед всегда был готов на трудовые подвиги! И однажды при выполнении задания прадеда ранило осколком. По сохранившейся справке из госпиталя я узнала, что 22 января 1944 года прадедушка получил легкое осколочное ранение в правое плечо.

Пробыл он в госпитале не слишком долго — месяц. В наградном листе указано:

«За отличную мобилизацию и привлечение местного населения к восстановительным работам достоин награждения правительственной наградой».

Прадедушка был награжден орденом Красной Звезды. После чего, с апреля 1944 года по май 1945 года, его перевели на Ленинградский и 2-й Прибалтийский фронт, и снова — на должность агитатора батальона.


В июне 1944 года Ленинградский фронт при участии Балтийского фронта, Ладожской и Онежской военных флотилий успешно осуществил Выборгскую операцию, в результате которой Финляндия была вынуждена выйти из войны на стороне Германии. Прадед участвовал и в Прибалтийской операции, которую фронт провёл в сентябре—ноябре 1944 года, освободив континентальную часть Эстонии.

Осенью 1944 года войска Ленинградского фронта во взаимодействии с Балтийским флотом очистили от противника острова Моонзундского архипелага, и на этом активные боевые действия фронта завершились. Войска заняли позиции на советско-финской границе и побережье Балтийского моря от Ленинграда до Риги.

1 апреля 1945 года в состав Ленинградского фронта была передана часть войск расформированного Второго Прибалтийского фронта, и на него возложена задача по блокаде курляндской группировки войск противника. 24 июля 1945 года Ленинградский фронт преобразован в Ленинградский военный округ.



Мой прадедушка завершил войну не в Берлине и не в Вене, а на берегах Балтики. Он был награжден двумя орденами и несколькими медалями: орденами Красной Звезды и Отечественной войны I степени, медалями «За победу над Германией в Великой Отечественной войне 1941-1945 гг.», «За оборону Киева» и «За оборону Сталинграда».

Я горжусь тем, что мой прадедушка внес свой вклад в эту Великую Победу! Быть может, и не самый большой, но для нашей семьи — такой важный!
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
smipressa.ru, из семейного архива
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 23 апреля 2020 10:36 Новый
    +13
    Ещё студентом попал я как то в больницу. На стационар. Палата была на четверых, но лежало нас трое. Я, парень чуть старше меня и старик. От скуки, разговорили мы деда и выяснили, что он участник ВОВ. А войска - как раз железнодорожные. Тогда я впервые узнал о том, что такие были. А дедушка наш, оказывается, во время Сталинградской битвы каждую ночь восстанавливал временную ж/д дорогу по которой подвозили боеприпасы. Вот такие вот небоевые подвиги...
    1. АС Иванов.
      АС Иванов. 23 апреля 2020 10:54 Новый
      +9
      Почему подвиги не боевые? Восстановление пути под бомбами, а то и под артобстрелом - вполне себе боевые. Моя бабушка по отцу была дежурной по прифронтовой станции, где выгружались эшелоны для Северо - Западного фронта, линия Бологое-Дно. Гражданский человек, награждена боевой медалью.
    2. podymych
      23 апреля 2020 10:55 Новый
      +9
      Вот такие вот небоевые подвиги...

      Да уж, ничего себе небоевые, чуть ли ежедневно под бомбами. Светлая память уже ушедшим, и здоровья тем, кто ещё с нами!
      1. Вождь краснокожих
        Вождь краснокожих 23 апреля 2020 11:25 Новый
        +2
        По словам ветерана, они восстанавливали по ночам. Днём к той дороге даже приблизиться было невозможно.
  2. Владимир_2У
    Владимир_2У 23 апреля 2020 10:40 Новый
    +3
    Можно смело утверждать, что без Ж/Д войск Победа далась бы ещё большей кровью! Память и Слава воинам-железнодорожникам!
  3. Громобой
    Громобой 23 апреля 2020 11:01 Новый
    +4
    Железные дороги ---- это артерии перевозок.Вагоны--- это кровь войны.Как-бы вы ни хотели,критерий только один----это бесперебойность снабжения фронта.Все бригады железных войск,спасибо вам большое за бесперебойный манёвр,за эту возможность,а там уж надерём гитлеру задницу,благо,советская кузница клепала танковыые и мех.корпуса.Танковыми армиями мы навалились----и мы ощутили оперативный простор,,Ребята.
  4. Pashhenko Nikolay
    Pashhenko Nikolay 23 апреля 2020 11:02 Новый
    +2
    Дед всю войну в Ж/Д войсках,закончил в Чехословакии.
  5. АС Иванов.
    АС Иванов. 23 апреля 2020 11:25 Новый
    +3
    Станция Бологое Окт. жд. За годы войны было совершено 527 налетов фашистской авиации, на своем посту погибло более 2100 железнодорожников.
  6. podymych
    23 апреля 2020 12:59 Новый
    0
    Знатоки, а у кого-нибудь есть информация о безумной ж\д ПРОБКЕ в Великих Луках, когда только начиналась война. В разгар эвакуации? А может вообще есть кто-то оттуда?
    1. fuxila
      fuxila 23 апреля 2020 17:58 Новый
      +2
      Знатоки, а у кого-нибудь есть информация о безумной ж\д ПРОБКЕ в Великих Луках, когда только начиналась война. В разгар эвакуации? А может вообще есть кто-то оттуда?

      Очень хорошо разбирался в этой теме Г.А. Куманёв, писавший о железнодорожниках в ВОВ. Сам он естественно знал намного больше того, что написал, т.к. непосредственно общался со сталинскими наркомами, в т.ч. НКПС. К сожалению он не так давно умер (1,5 года назад), а то связались бы с ним и узнали много интересного...
      1. podymych
        23 апреля 2020 18:04 Новый
        0
        Спасибо, Алексей, я хорошо знаю его работы "Об эвакуации", но увы, о Великих Луках там ничего особо не нашёл. Буду обращаться в тамошний краеведческий музей - может подскажут кого... Вот Н.В.Старостенков классно описал про Волжскую рокаду и в целом про желдор войска, где-тот находил про то, как из Эстонии суперпаровозы угоняли из-под носа у фашистов, что-то такое ищу...