Military Review

Underminer program: why does the US army "go underground"

41

The United States is going to develop new technological solutions for the rapid construction of tactical tunnels. The importance of tunnel networks to replenish food supplies, weaponsThe ammunition is undeniable.


Three teams were selected to develop technology under the Underminer program. The total cost of the project is at least $ 11 million. The development is led by the United States Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). According to DAPRA experts, tactical tunnel networks would provide secure logistics for the supply of military units. The development is expected to increase drilling capabilities by 20 times.

Recall that tunnel networks are widely used by rebel groups. The Americans themselves first encountered the practice of using tunnels during the Vietnam War. Then the partisans of the National Liberation Front of South Vietnam (Viet Cong) actively used underground passages to communicate between their troops, their supplies, and intelligence operations. The US command in Vietnam even had to create special units to combat the Viet Cong rebels underground. The soldier of these units was nicknamed "tunnel rats."

Then tactical tunnels became widespread in the Middle East, primarily in Palestine and Syria. They are used by Hezbollah and Hamas in Palestine, the Islamic State banned in Russia - in Syria and Iraq. For a long time, the American army perfected the technologies for detecting and destroying tunnels, considering them in the general context of the development of counter-guerrilla operations. Now she herself decided in a certain way to "go underground."

Iran and North Korea are actively using tunnels for other purposes - to organize the uninterrupted supply of underground bunkers, in which, in the event of a large-scale armed conflict, senior officials will hide, command posts of the army and individual units, and management of industrial facilities.

Under the DAPRA plan, teams from the General Electric Research Center and Colorado School of Mines will be developing a complete solution for using Underminer technology. A third team from Sandia National Laboratories will investigate technology integration capabilities to identify existing constraints and technological issues.

Among the main areas are tunneling, borehole sounding and studying the specifics of the operation of tunnels. Underminer technology will combine advanced achievements in the field of horizontal drilling, trenchless drilling technologies, and will use the potential of robotics.

The main task


The main task is to create such solutions that would provide the possibility of prompt and constant access to underground tunnels. Apparently, those tunnels referred to by DAPRA will nevertheless be closer not to Iranian or North Korean tunnels, which are large-scale, capital structures, but to the tunnels used by the Viet Cong partisans. That is, these tunnels should be built as quickly as possible, in the field, to meet the needs of the army.

According to Dr. Andrew Nuss, who runs the Underminer program at the DARPA Tactical Technology Bureau, the ability to quickly go through the tactical tunnels will bring tangible benefits to the U.S. Army in complex operations involving the organization of operational supply of ammunition, rescue operations and other missions. Now DARPA is seriously considering that new technologies will provide a breakthrough in the development of the underground infrastructure system.
Author:
41 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Thunderbolt
    Thunderbolt April 30 2020 13: 31 New
    -8
    A very promising direction, for example, NATO’s confrontation --- USSR / one, always one, but proud. And after salute torches --- we are many!
    1. Ilya-spb
      Ilya-spb April 30 2020 14: 55 New
      0
      Dig, Americans, dig! There is gold)))
      1. Vvol
        Vvol 4 June 2020 20: 00 New
        0
        Quote: Ilya-spb
        Dig, Americans, dig! There is gold)))

        You shouldn't laugh. The deeper you dig, the more whole you will be. Find yourself in a position that the enemy will cut off from the supply of ammunition, food / "wean off" from the opportunity to take the wounded to the rear in time with your fire alone, in spite of the fact that in terms of his physical presence next to him we are "heroic", "not wanting mercy", etc. they did a complete "but passaran" - somehow I don't want to, brrr! .. recourse The Americans think correctly: underground communication passages are a useful thing. Not a panacea, yes. But with only open trenches and communication passages, a bummer can come out - in the form of too frequent hail of fragments vertically down ... And the enemy will not always allow digging pits from above, and then block it all. And if he "pleases" - so, I suppose, he will "peep" and draw on the map ... So they think correctly - the underground passages may come in handy. And digging them manually is not good anywhere (and it’s not very “manual” either - the blocks are needed to lift the excavated soil up, trolleys for transporting it along the already dug part of the tunnel, ventilation organization: just "manual", which soldiers paving a passage with shovels, and even the beams can be manually fastened, yes, "manual" ... a canary in a cage, hehe!))), in case of penetration of "wild" gas belay recourse ) So it’s better with mechanization. But here too - if even with mechanization driving will go slowly, then in a modern war this is bad. So, they think correctly that for such tasks an advanced technique is needed ... But here we are ... recourse No matter how they are again in the laggards. recourse If we catch ourselves and begin to gradually report on the development of "super-duper" robots, "moles", then all the same ... how not to be late ... how not to be late! negative recourse No matter how it turns out that it really snags - and you will have to dig tunnels with bayonet shovels or "what they really are" old jackhammers, loading the soil onto carts made with your own hands and keeping an eye on the canary in the cage. While the enemy, who made us sweaty deal with our bombing and shelling, will briskly dig their message moves with special powerful (but compact!) Automated tunneling systems, ahead of us in pace (and in the end - and in scale, if only he these scales will be required) works.
  2. Same lech
    Same lech April 30 2020 13: 39 New
    0
    Imagine how hordes of American soldiers tumble out of the tunnels after a nuclear apocalypse ... hehe Hollywood Star Troopers.
    1. Covid19 Ukhan
      Covid19 Ukhan April 30 2020 17: 06 New
      -3
      They fall out of the tunnels and unscrupulously ram the Russian patrol in Syria.
  3. dzvero
    dzvero April 30 2020 13: 45 New
    +1
    The topic is interesting, if only because of the commercial potential. Maybe they will finally stop digging roads for laying pipes and cables ...
    The question is how long will such tunnels survive under large-caliber shells / min? It seems to me, nevertheless, the trenches will be more practical.
    1. Amateur
      Amateur April 30 2020 14: 11 New
      +3
      Maybe they will finally stop digging roads for laying pipes and cables ...

      When it will cease to be beneficial to local kings. All have long been invented.
      1. Potter
        Potter 2 May 2020 12: 07 New
        +1
        We have been using such equipment for microtunneling in the construction of engineering networks and communications for 20 years.
    2. stalki
      stalki April 30 2020 15: 21 New
      -1
      Not only will they not survive, so an enclosed space is good for a chemical attack. In a row, whether it will be used in a real full-scale war, it is rather suitable for small deviation work. And so it is already used a lot where, the price of the question is, is it worth inventing "golden shovels" for this?
    3. Undecim
      Undecim April 30 2020 15: 35 New
      +5
      The question is not about the construction of tunnels along which trains and cars will ride. The question is about creating an underground transport network. At this stage, an option is considered with a diameter of tunnels up to 4 inches and the possibility of laying it under various conditions, including urban development and accurate positioning (direction, end point).
      1. dzvero
        dzvero April 30 2020 15: 48 New
        +3
        Those. technology demonstrator. Only a hose for supplying fuel or a communication / power cable will fit in 4 inches. Good too. I wonder how they will transfer for example cartridges. Rope-bound containers?
        1. Undecim
          Undecim April 30 2020 16: 22 New
          +3
          So in order for the program to work out all these issues. By the way, have you heard about airmail?
          1. dzvero
            dzvero April 30 2020 16: 41 New
            +2
            I heard, of course, but its application requires the preparation of the walls of the tunnel. Maybe a mentored plastic or thin-walled metal pipe? One of the drawbacks is that you need to carefully calculate the route to avoid sharp turns. Also, if the container still gets stuck, the system must be disassembled completely.
            In my opinion, this communication system has its pros and cons. If it turns out to reduce ground transportation even by 20%, then it is already justified. Let's see what they do.
            1. Undecim
              Undecim April 30 2020 16: 46 New
              +4
              These are the questions the program should answer. As stated in the press release: "Hence Project Underminer, a fifteen-month, $ 11 million program. DARPA will evaluate the feasibility of boring or tunneling methods in terms of“ diameter, speed, length, depth, branching, bend radius, accuracy, structural integrity, and infrastructure / logistics constraints. "
        2. Brylevsky
          Brylevsky April 30 2020 16: 49 New
          +3
          I wonder how they will transfer for example cartridges. Rope-bound containers?

          Pneumatics. As airmail ... Of course, not the same as it was in the century before last. The air pressure in the system (or vice versa - vacuum) can already be done much more, which theoretically can allow you to move larger weights, compared to what it was before.
      2. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh April 30 2020 16: 24 New
        +5
        Drilling a tunnel is easy. Machines are designed.
        Difficulties begin:
        1) take out the soil behind the drilling machine
        2) to strengthen the tunnel so that it does not collapse.
        In the construction of the subway, both of these processes are mechanized and automated.
        But there is a tunnel of huge diameter.
        In small tunnels, people do everything behind the car.
        1. Undecim
          Undecim April 30 2020 16: 30 New
          +2
          As I understood from the press release, at this stage we are considering a question similar to trenchless laying of pipelines.
        2. Brylevsky
          Brylevsky April 30 2020 16: 53 New
          +4
          Difficulties begin:
          1) take out the soil behind the drilling machine
          2) to strengthen the tunnel so that it does not collapse.

          I have nothing to say on the first point, but on the second I can say that you can use polymer pipes wound around large diameter coils. Such a technique has long been used in laying underground utilities, for example, in horizontal drilling, when power cables are pulled.
          1. Saturn
            Saturn 4 May 2020 18: 17 New
            +1
            On the first point, there is something to say, there is practically no soil removal, the solution is mainly from the well, not a big puddle. Soil during drilling and expansion is compacted, a small part is carried out by the drilling fluid to the drilling site. It is unclear just what they were going to supply for such communications. Stealth is zero, a lot of technique is used when drilling. The distance is small, real I think up to 500 meters, more only in unique cases. In my opinion, this method can only be used to prepare long-term positions in the rear. I think sawing budget money under a plausible pretext. Technological limitations on horizontal drilling have long been known that I can’t understand American money on 11 meters there.
            1. Saturn
              Saturn 4 May 2020 18: 25 New
              0
              As usual, something like this
              https://youtu.be/sArTvPObHkw
        3. dzvero
          dzvero April 30 2020 17: 00 New
          +1
          For a start:
          1. the crushed soil is mixed with water and sways back through the hose to the surface;
          2. behind the machine, polymer solution is sprayed along the walls of the tunnel;
          In principle, everything is solved.
          1. Brylevsky
            Brylevsky April 30 2020 17: 16 New
            +3
            For a start:
            1. the crushed soil is mixed with water and sways back through the hose to the surface;
            2. behind the machine, polymer solution is sprayed along the walls of the tunnel;
            In principle, everything is solved.

            You can also use an underground rocket, designed by M.I. Tsiferov in 1948. Such a "rocket" passes even through rocky ground. And the jet stream itself carries the worked-out soil and chipped rock to the surface, you just need to hide from the debris.
        4. Potter
          Potter 2 May 2020 12: 13 New
          +3
          In Russia, there are no problems with microtunneling. From polyethylene pipes, a lash of the required length is welded, which is pulled behind the drilling body. The length of such tunnels reaches several hundred meters, the diameter is up to a meter. Everything is automated.
      3. Dead_mazay
        Dead_mazay 19 June 2020 23: 45 New
        0
        Here we are talking about precisely "burying drugs" in the ground. Following the example of the Viet Cong. The use of underground communications by personnel.
    4. sen
      sen 1 May 2020 04: 53 New
      +1
      Our fighters in Afghanistan fought with dushmans in the underground hydraulic system - in the kyariz. Since, as in Vietnam, aviation and artillery turned out to be ineffective against them, a special subdivision for underground warfare was created as part of the 40th Army. True, our soldiers did not climb deep into the ground, but used more powerful explosive charges and flamethrowers, including Bumblebees.
  4. knn54
    knn54 April 30 2020 13: 51 New
    +3
    War in a new "dimension".
    And a small amendment - the FIRST Yankees collided with tunnels on the island of Iwo Jima during WWII. When the Japanese used them to attack from an ambush.
  5. rocket757
    rocket757 April 30 2020 14: 23 New
    +7
    Troops have long been bursting into the earth at the very, most.
    This is not even the long forgotten old, it is as it is!
    They just want to bring this process to a new technological level.
  6. iouris
    iouris April 30 2020 14: 51 New
    +1
    Here you are not England - you need to dig deeper!
  7. sergo1914
    sergo1914 April 30 2020 15: 17 New
    +1
    How can they get the idea of ​​engineer Garin hyperboloid?
    1. Brylevsky
      Brylevsky April 30 2020 16: 55 New
      +2
      How can they get the idea of ​​engineer Garin hyperboloid?

      Build a working model and make a presentation with a buffet and chicks.
  8. 7,62h54
    7,62h54 April 30 2020 15: 21 New
    -1
    When shelling over areas in amers sitting in holes, delayed concussions will again occur.
  9. Charik
    Charik April 30 2020 16: 30 New
    0
    Yes, the whole planet in these tunnels.
  10. Ros 56
    Ros 56 April 30 2020 16: 39 New
    -1
    But underground, it’s not so scary from these Russians, and you don’t need to dig graves. fellow negative
  11. AVA77
    AVA77 April 30 2020 16: 51 New
    -3
    Underminer program: why does the US army "go underground"
    Damn, yes Klitschko advised wink
  12. Peter is not the first
    Peter is not the first April 30 2020 18: 01 New
    +1
    I remember in my childhood I read the novel The Time Machine by Herbert Wells, and there, too, one of the races of the former humanity went to live underground, and the other remained on the surface. The Americans are just the most aggressive nation, and as Tram tells us, and the most hard-working, they are already preparing for the life of the worm. drinks
    1. sabakina
      sabakina April 30 2020 18: 40 New
      0
      Recently revised the film. Looks normal.
  13. businessv
    businessv April 30 2020 19: 24 New
    0
    Now DARPA is seriously considering that new technologies will provide a breakthrough in the development of the underground infrastructure system.
    Great plan! Especially in the period that follows the exchange of nuclear strikes.
  14. Klingon
    Klingon April 30 2020 20: 52 New
    +2
    In the USSR under Khrushchev there was even a project of an underground tank, or rather an underground boat, the Mole
  15. Ryaruav
    Ryaruav April 30 2020 21: 05 New
    0
    which guys will make good money for research on this topic
  16. Avior
    Avior 1 May 2020 00: 51 New
    -1
    Everything has been invented for a long time - military lithostats smile

    Last signal: a sharp bell sounds in all cabins. The voltage increases threefold ... And the lithostat goes up, crushing cement and reinforced concrete, breaking the foundations of gun turrets, scattering dugouts and machine gun nests.
    I can imagine what was happening then in the enemy fortifications.
    It seems that the enemy armies are firmly standing and the future promises them victory. Cheerfully feel their commanders. Firmly resting his feet on the concrete floor of the artillery casemate and watching the telescope, the commander of a battery repeatedly throws orders into the telephone receiver. Suddenly he feels that the earth has swayed beneath him. The casemate begins to heel and settle. The neighboring rooms collapse with a roar, the heavy guns of the battery cease to shoot, .... some grating humming comes from below. The earth beneath your feet is swinging more and more. Suddenly the exit tunnel of the casemate collapses. Nowhere to run. The officer sees his soldiers. Their faces are warped with horror. Then he recalls his duty and shouts in a trembling voice: “Calm!” But at this time the floor of the casemate was cracking and some terrible monster protruded from the ground like a huge mole. It crushes the underground fortress, and the numbed garrison of the underground fortress dies, not even having time to realize that it’s Soviet military lithostats that break through the line of enemy fortifications

    smile
  17. sen
    sen 1 May 2020 05: 00 New
    +1
    The United States is going to develop new technological solutions for the rapid construction of tactical tunnels. The importance of tunnel networks to replenish stocks of food, weapons, ammunition is undeniable.

    I think that Underminer is not only to solve the transport problem, but also to fight the enemy tunnels. For battle and transportation in narrow tunnels, specialized robots are needed.

Военное обозрение

Программа Underminer: зачем американская армия «уходит под землю»

41

В США собираются разработать новые технологические решения для быстрого строительства тактических туннелей. Важность туннельных сетей для пополнения запасов продовольствия, оружия, боеприпасов неоспорима.


Для разработки технологий в рамках программы «Underminer» были отобраны три команды. Общая стоимость реализации проекта составляет не менее 11 млн долларов. Руководство разработками осуществляет Агентство перспективных исследований в области обороны США (DARPA). По мнению специалистов DAPRA, тактические туннельные сети позволили бы обеспечить безопасную логистику для снабжения войсковых подразделений. От разработок ожидают увеличения возможностей бурения в 20 раз.

Напомним, что туннельные сети широко используются повстанческими группировками. Сами американцы впервые столкнулись с практикой использования туннелей во время войны во Вьетнаме. Тогда партизаны Национального фронта освобождения Южного Вьетнама (Вьетконга) активно использовали подземные ходы для сообщения между своими отрядами, их снабжения, разведывательных операций. Американскому командованию во Вьетнаме даже пришлось создать специальные подразделения для борьбы с повстанцами Вьетконга под землей. Солдат этих подразделений прозвали «туннельными крысами».

Затем тактические туннели получили широкое распространение на Ближнем Востоке, в первую очередь в Палестине и Сирии. Их используют «Хезболла» и «Хамас» в Палестине, запрещенное в России «Исламское государство» - в Сирии и Ираке. Долгое время американская армия совершенствовала технологии обнаружения и уничтожения туннелей, рассматривая их в общем контексте развития методов контрпартизанских операций. Теперь сама решили в определённом плане "уйти под землю".

Иран и Северная Корея активно используют туннели в других целях – для организации бесперебойного снабжения подземных бункеров, в которых, в случае крупномасштабного вооруженного конфликта будут укрываться высшие должностные лица, размещаться командные пункты армии и отдельных соединений, управление промышленными объектами.

По плану DAPRA, команды из Исследовательского центра General Electric и Горной школы в Колорадо займутся разработкой комплексного решения для применения технологии Underminer. Третья команда из Sandia National Laboratories будет заниматься исследованием интеграционных возможностей технологий, чтобы выявить существующие ограничения и технологические проблемы.

Среди основных направлений – туннелирование, скважинное зондирование и изучение специфики эксплуатации туннелей. Технология Underminer объединит передовые достижения в сфере горизонтального бурения, бестраншейных технологий бурения, будет использовать потенциал робототехники.

Основная задача


Главная задача – создать такие решения, которые бы обеспечивали возможность оперативного и постоянного доступа в подземные туннели. Судя по всему, те туннели, о которых ведет речь DAPRA, будут все же ближе не к иранским или северокорейским туннелям, являющимся масштабными, капитальными сооружениями, а к туннелям, использовавшимся партизанами Вьетконга. То есть, эти туннели должны сооружаться максимально оперативно, в полевых условиях, чтобы обеспечивать потребности действующей армии.

По словам доктора Эндрю Нусса, который руководит программой Underminer в Бюро тактических технологий DARPA, возможность быстрого прохождения тактических туннелей позволит принести очень ощутимую пользу американской армии в сложных операциях по организации оперативного снабжения боеприпасами, проведению спасательных операций и иных миссий. Сейчас в DARPA всерьез рассчитывают, что новые технологии обеспечат прорыв в развитии системы подземной инфраструктуры.
Автор:
41 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Громобой
    Громобой 30 апреля 2020 13:31 Новый
    -8
    Очень перспективное направлене,например----противостояние НАТО---СССР/один,всегда один,но горрдый.А после салютоционных лучин ---нас много!
    1. Ilya-spb
      Ilya-spb 30 апреля 2020 14:55 Новый
      0
      Копайте, американцы, копайте! Там золото)))
      1. Vvol
        Vvol 4 июня 2020 20:00 Новый
        0
        Цитата: Ilya-spb
        Копайте, американцы, копайте! Там золото)))

        Зря смеетесь. Чем глубже зароешься - тем целее будешь. Оказаться на позиции, которую враг отрежет от снабжения боеприпасами, продуктами питания/"отлучит" от возможности вовремя вынести раненных в тыл одним лишь своим огнем, несмотря на то что в плане его физического присутствия рядом мы ему "героически", "пощады не желая" и т.п. таки устроили полный "но пассаран" - как-то не хочется, бррр!.. recourse Американцы правильно мыслят: подземные ходы сообщения - это вещь полезная. Не панацея, да. Но с одними открытыми траншеями и ходами сообщения может выйти и облом - в виде слишком частого града осколков вертикально вниз... И враг не всегда позволит рыть котлованы сверху, а потом все это перекрывать. А если "похволит" - так, небось, "подсмотрит" и на карту себе нанесет... Так что они-то правильно мыслят - подземные ходы могут и пригодиться. А вручную их копать - никуда ни годится (да и не очень-то это и "вручную" - блоки нужны для поднятия вынутого грунта вверх, тележки для транспортировки его по уже отрытой части тоннеля, организация вентиляции: только что и "ручного", что солдаты, лопатами прокладывающие проход, да еще балки можно вручную крепить, да "ручная"... канарейка в клетке, хе-хе!))), на случай проникновения "дикого" газа belay recourse ). Так что лучше с механизацией. Но и тут - если даже с механизацией проходка будет идти медленно, то в современной войне это плохо. Так что, они тут правильно мыслят, что для таких задач нужна продвинутая техника... А вот мы... recourse Как бы опять не оказались в отстающих. recourse Если и спохватимся, и начнем постепенно рапортовать об разработке "супер-пупер" роботов-"кротов", то все равно... как бы не опаздать... как бы не опаздать! negative recourse Как бы не получилось так, что вправду припрет - и придется тоннели копать штыковыми лопатами или "какими уж есть" старинными отбойными молотками, грузя грунт на сделанные собственными руками тележки и следить за канарейкой в клетке. В то время как противник, заставивший нас сим потным делом заниматься своими бомбежками и обстрелами, свои ходы сообщения будет бодренько рыть специальными мощными (но компактными!) автоматизированными проходческими комплексами, опережая нас в темпах (и в итоге - и в масштабах, если только ему эти масштабы потребуются) работ.
  2. Тот же ЛЕХА
    Тот же ЛЕХА 30 апреля 2020 13:39 Новый
    0
    Представляю как полчища американских солдат вываливаются из туннелей после ядерного апокалипсиса...хе хе Звездный десант Голливуда.
    1. Covid19 Ukhan
      Covid19 Ukhan 30 апреля 2020 17:06 Новый
      -3
      Вываливаются из туннелей и бессовестно таранят патруль РФ в Сирии.
  3. dzvero
    dzvero 30 апреля 2020 13:45 Новый
    +1
    Тема интересная хотя бы и из-за коммерческого потенциала. Может наконец перестанут перекапывать дороги для прокладки труб и кабелей...
    Вопрос в том как долго уцелеют такие туннели под крупнокалиберных снарядов/мин? Мне кажется все-таки траншеи попрактичнее будут.
    1. Дилетант
      Дилетант 30 апреля 2020 14:11 Новый
      +3
      Может наконец перестанут перекапывать дороги для прокладки труб и кабелей...

      Когда это перестанет быть выгодным местным царькам. Все уже давно придумали.
      1. Гончар
        Гончар 2 мая 2020 12:07 Новый
        +1
        Подобное оборудование для микротоннелирования при строительстве инженерных сетей и коммуникаций массово используется у нас уже лет 20.
    2. stalki
      stalki 30 апреля 2020 15:21 Новый
      -1
      Мало того что не уцелеют, так закрытое пространство ой как хорошо для химатаки. В ряд ли это будут использовать в настоящей полномасштабной войне, скорее для мелкой деверсионной работы подходит. А так это уже много где используется, цена вопроса, стоит ли ради этого "золотые лопаты" изобретать?
    3. Undecim
      Undecim 30 апреля 2020 15:35 Новый
      +5
      Вопрос стоит не о строительстве тоннелей, по которым будут ездить поезда и автомобили. Вопрос стоит о создании подземной транспортной сети. На данном этапе рассматривается вариант с диаметром тоннелей до 4 дюймов и возможностью ее прокладки в различных условиях, в том числе и городской застройки и точного позиционирования (направление, конечная точка).
      1. dzvero
        dzvero 30 апреля 2020 15:48 Новый
        +3
        Т.е. демонстратор технологии. В 4 дюйма уложатся разве что шланг для подачи топлива или кабель связи/силовой. Тоже неплохо. Интересно как будут передавать например патронов. Контейнеры, привязанные к канату?
        1. Undecim
          Undecim 30 апреля 2020 16:22 Новый
          +3
          Так для того и программа, чтобы отработать все эти вопросы. Кстати, о пневмопочте слышали?
          1. dzvero
            dzvero 30 апреля 2020 16:41 Новый
            +2
            Слышал, конечно, но ее применение требует подготовку стен тоннеля. Может, наставная пластиковая или тонкостенная металлическая труба? Один из недостатков в том, что надо внимательно рассчитывать трассу во избежание крутых поворотов. Также, если контейнер все-таки застрянет, систему надо разбирать полностью.
            По-моему, данная система коммуникации имеет свои плюсы и минусы. Если получится сократить наземные перевозки даже на 20%, то уже оправдано. Посмотрим, что у них получится.
            1. Undecim
              Undecim 30 апреля 2020 16:46 Новый
              +4
              Как раз на эти вопросы и должна ответить программа. Как написано в пресс-релизе:"Hence Project Underminer, a fifteen-month, $11 million program. DARPA will evaluate the feasibility of boring or tunneling methods in terms of “diameter, speed, length, depth, branching, bend radius, accuracy, structural integrity, and infrastructure/logistics constraints."
        2. Brylevsky
          Brylevsky 30 апреля 2020 16:49 Новый
          +3
          Интересно как будут передавать например патронов. Контейнеры, привязанные к канату?

          Пневматикой. Как пневмопочта...Конечно не такая, как была в позапрошлом веке. Давление воздуха в системе (или наоборот - вакуум) уже можно сделать гораздо больше, что теоретически может позволит перемещать бОльшие веса, по сравнению с той, что была раньше.
      2. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh 30 апреля 2020 16:24 Новый
        +5
        Бурить тоннель легко. Машины разработаны.
        Трудности начинаются:
        1) выносить грунт за буровой машиной
        2) укреплять тоннель, чтобы он не обрушился.
        В строительстве метро оба эти процесса механизированы и автоматизированы.
        Но там тоннель огромного диаметра.
        В небольших тоннелях все делают позади машины люди.
        1. Undecim
          Undecim 30 апреля 2020 16:30 Новый
          +2
          Как я понял из пресс-релиза, на данном этапе рассматривается вопрос, аналогичный бестраншейной прокладке трубопроводов.
        2. Brylevsky
          Brylevsky 30 апреля 2020 16:53 Новый
          +4
          Трудности начинаются:
          1) выносить грунт за буровой машиной
          2) укреплять тоннель, чтобы он не обрушился.

          По первому пункту мне сказать нечего, а по второму могу сказать, что можно использовать полимерные трубы, намотанные на катушки большого диаметра. Такая методика достаточно давно применяется при прокладке подземных коммуникаций, например при горизонтальном бурении, когда тянут силовые кабеля.
          1. Saturn
            Saturn 4 мая 2020 18:17 Новый
            +1
            По первому пункту есть чего сказать, выноса грунта практически нет, из скважины идет в основном раствор,не большая лужа. Грунт при бурении и расширении уплотняется, небольшая часть выносится буровым раствором к месту бурения. Непонятно только что они собрались снабжать по таким коммуникациям. Скрытности ноль, при бурении используется много техники. Расстояние небольшое, реальное думаю до 500 метров, большее только в уникальных случаях. По моему мнению использовать данный метод можно только для подготовки долговременных позиций в своем тылу. Думаю пилят бюджетные деньги под благовидным предлогом. Технологические ограничения по горизонтальному бурению уже давно известны, что там можно изучать на 11 м американских денег не пойму.
            1. Saturn
              Saturn 4 мая 2020 18:25 Новый
              0
              Как обычно выйдет как то так
              https://youtu.be/sArTvPObHkw
        3. dzvero
          dzvero 30 апреля 2020 17:00 Новый
          +1
          Навскидку:
          1. измельченный грунт смешивается с водой и качается по шлангу обратно на поверхность;
          2. за машиной по стенам тоннеля распыляется полимерный раствор;
          В принципе все решаемо.
          1. Brylevsky
            Brylevsky 30 апреля 2020 17:16 Новый
            +3
            Навскидку:
            1. измельченный грунт смешивается с водой и качается по шлангу обратно на поверхность;
            2. за машиной по стенам тоннеля распыляется полимерный раствор;
            В принципе все решаемо.

            Ещё можно применить подземный реактивный снаряд, сконструированный М. И. Циферовым в 1948 году. Такая "ракета" проходит даже через скальные грунты. А выработанный грунт и сколотую породу реактивная струя сама выносит на поверхность, надо только от обломков прятаться.
        4. Гончар
          Гончар 2 мая 2020 12:13 Новый
          +3
          В России никаких проблем при микротоннелировании нет. Из полиэтиленовых труб сваривается плеть нужной длины, которая протаскивается за буровым органом. Длина таких тоннелей достигает нескольких сотен метров, диаметр - до метра. Все автоматизировано.
      3. Dead_Mazay
        Dead_Mazay 19 июня 2020 23:45 Новый
        0
        Тут речь о именно "зарывании ЛС" в землю. По примеру вьетконговцев. Использование именно личным составом подземных коммуникаций.
    4. sen
      sen 1 мая 2020 04:53 Новый
      +1
      Наши бойцы в Афганистане боролось с душманами в подземной гидротехнической системе - в кяризах. Поскольку, как и во Вьетнаме, авиация и артиллерия оказались против них малоэффективной, в составе 40-й армии было создано специальное подразделение по подземной борьбе. Правда, наши солдаты под землю глубоко не лазили, но использовали более мощные заряды взрывчатки и огнеметы, включая "Шмели".
  4. knn54
    knn54 30 апреля 2020 13:51 Новый
    +3
    Война в новом "измерении".
    И маленькая поправка-ВПЕРВЫЕ янкесы столкнулись туннелями на о.Иводзима во время ВМВ .Когда японцы пользовались ими для нападения из засады.
  5. rocket757
    rocket757 30 апреля 2020 14:23 Новый
    +7
    Войска давно уже врываются в землю по самое, самое.
    Это даже не давно забытое старое, это как есть!
    Просто хотят вывести это процесс на новый технологический уровень.
  6. iouris
    iouris 30 апреля 2020 14:51 Новый
    +1
    Тут вам не Англия - копать надо глубже!
  7. sergo1914
    sergo1914 30 апреля 2020 15:17 Новый
    +1
    Как им впарить идею про гиперболоид инженера Гарина?
    1. Brylevsky
      Brylevsky 30 апреля 2020 16:55 Новый
      +2
      Как им впарить идею про гиперболоид инженера Гарина?

      Построить действующую модель и устроить презентацию с фуршетом и тёлками.
  8. 7,62х54
    7,62х54 30 апреля 2020 15:21 Новый
    -1
    При обстреле по площадям у амеров сидящих в норах опять случатся отложенные сотрясения мозга.
  9. Чарик
    Чарик 30 апреля 2020 16:30 Новый
    0
    Да вся планета в этих тоннелях.
  10. Ros 56
    Ros 56 30 апреля 2020 16:39 Новый
    -1
    А под землей не так страшно от этих русских, да и могилы копать не надо. fellow negative
  11. AVA77
    AVA77 30 апреля 2020 16:51 Новый
    -3
    Программа Underminer: зачем американская армия «уходит под землю»
    Блин,да Кличко посоветовал wink
  12. Петр не первый
    Петр не первый 30 апреля 2020 18:01 Новый
    +1
    Помню в детстве читал роман «Машина времени» Герберта Уэллса, и там тоже одна из рас бывшего человечества ушла жить под землю, а другая осталась на поверхности. Американцы как раз самая агрессивная нация, и как рассказывает Трам, и самая работящая, вот они уже и готовятся к жизни кротовьей. drinks
    1. sabakina
      sabakina 30 апреля 2020 18:40 Новый
      0
      Недавно пересматривал фильм. Нормально смотрится.
  13. businessv
    businessv 30 апреля 2020 19:24 Новый
    0
    Сейчас в DARPA всерьез рассчитывают, что новые технологии обеспечат прорыв в развитии системы подземной инфраструктуры.
    Отличный план! Особенно в период, который последует за обменом ядрёными ударами.
  14. Klingon
    Klingon 30 апреля 2020 20:52 Новый
    +2
    В СССР при Хрущёве был даже проект подземного танка или вернее подземной лодки- Крот
  15. Ryaruav
    Ryaruav 30 апреля 2020 21:05 Новый
    0
    кой какие ребята хорошо заработают за ниокр по данной теме главное поглубже
  16. Avior
    Avior 1 мая 2020 00:51 Новый
    -1
    Все уже давно придумано- боевые литостаты smile

    Последний сигнал: по всем кабинам звучит резкий звонок. Напряжение усиливается втрое… И литостат идет вверх, сокрушая цемент и железобетон, ломая фундаменты орудийных башен, расшвыривая блиндажи и пулеметные гнезда.
    Представляю себе, что творилось тогда во вражеских укреплениях.
    Кажется, твердо стоят вражеские армии и будущее сулит им победу. Бодро чувствуют себя их командиры. Крепко упираясь ногами в бетонированный пол артиллерийского каземата и следя за телеэлектроскопом, командир какой-то батареи раз за разом бросает приказы в телефонную трубку. Вдруг он чувствует, что под ним закачалась земля. Каземат начинает крениться и оседать. С грохотом обрушиваются соседние помещения, перестают стрелять тяжелые орудия батареи,.... снизу доносится какой-то скрежещущий гул. Земля под ногами качается все сильнее. Внезапно обваливается выходной туннель каземата. Бежать некуда. Офицер видит своих солдат. Лица их перекошены от ужаса. Тогда он вспоминает о своем долге и дрожащим голосом кричит: «Спокойствие!» Но в это время пол каземата идет трещинами и из земли, словно огромный крот, высовывается какое-то жуткое чудовище. Оно сокрушает подземную крепость, и оцепеневший гарнизон подземной крепости погибает, не успев даже сообразить, что это боевые советские литостаты прорывают линию вражеских укреплений

    smile
  17. sen
    sen 1 мая 2020 05:00 Новый
    +1
    В США собираются разработать новые технологические решения для быстрого строительства тактических туннелей. Важность туннельных сетей для пополнения запасов продовольствия, оружия, боеприпасов неоспорима.

    Думаю, что Underminer не только для решения транспортной проблемы, но и для борьбы с туннелями противника. Для боя и транспортировки в узких туннелях нужны специализированные роботы.