Military Review

Grillo torpedo boats: failed marine tanks

11

All built boats like Tank Marino. The photo was taken no later than mid-April 1918, before the first operation and the first losses. Photo Dieselfutures.tumblr.com


During the First World War, the so-called positional deadlock, which required the creation of a special technique. Similar processes were observed in some naval theaters of operations. To solve special problems in typical conditions in Italy, created “marine Tanks"- torpedo boats of the Grillo type.

Defense and attack


The Kingdom of Italy entered the war in May 1915, and the Austro-Hungarian Empire became its main opponent. The fighting took place both on land and in the Adriatic. Over time, the Royal Italian Navy was able to form a powerful group of torpedo boats, which actually locked the Austro-Hungarian fleet at its bases. However, a complete victory was far away.

The Austro-Hungarian Navy took into account the existing risks and took measures. At the bases of Pula and Split, all available defenses were deployed, from booms to coastal artillery. Ships or boats of Italy could not safely approach the distance of a gun firing or launching a torpedo.


General view of the boat. Figure Naval-encyclopedia.com

The port of Pula, where the main forces of the enemy fleet. A successful strike on this object could dramatically change the situation in the region - or even withdraw the Austro-Hungarian fleet from the war. However, an attack by existing means was not possible.

The original solution


Torpedo boats were seen as the most effective means against the enemy’s surface forces, but they couldn’t get into the Pula waters because of several lines of boom barriers. However, this problem was resolved in 1917. Engineer Attilio Bizio from SVAN suggested creating a torpedo boat of a special design, adapted to overcome floating barriers.

The essence of the new concept was to equip a light flat-bottomed boat with a pair of caterpillar chains, with which he could climb over the booms. Such opportunities are reflected in the name of the concept - “barchino saltatore” (“jumping boat”). Later, the finished equipment was officially called Tank Marino ("marine tank"). By the name of the lead boat, the entire series is often referred to as Grillo ("Cricket").

Grillo torpedo boats: failed marine tanks

Projections of the boat. Figure Naval-encyclopedia.com

At the turn of 1917-18. plans were formed. SVAN had to conduct some tests, complete the “marine tank” project, and then build a series of four boats. In the coming months, the finished equipment was to take part for the first time in a real attack on the Pula base.

design Features


Development work began with the search for optimal solutions. We tested several variants of the "caterpillar mover", and also determined the most advantageous contours of the hull. The most successful options have found application in the finished project.

The Grillo project included the construction of a medium-sized, all-wood flat-bottomed boat. The length of the vessel is 16 m with a width of 3,1 m. Draft is only 700 mm. Displacement - 8 tons. The crew throughout the state included four people.


Grillo head boat before launching. Photo Pinterest.com

In the central and aft parts of the hull were placed two electric motors of the brand Rognini and Balbo with a capacity of 10 hp. One of them was connected to the propeller and accelerated the boat to 4 knots, the other was responsible for overcoming obstacles. A significant part of the internal volume of the hull was given for rechargeable batteries, capable of providing a range of up to 30 nautical miles.

Near the sides of the hull, on the deck and on the bottom, two narrow longitudinal guides in the form of metal profiles were provided. Guide wheels were installed in the bow and guide and drive wheels in the stern. It was proposed to install two narrow roller track chains on these devices. Some parts of the chain were equipped with bent hooks to interact with an obstacle. The chain was driven from its own electric motor through one of the rear wheels.

Armament Grillo consisted of two standard 450-mm torpedoes, which were armed with the Italian fleet. Torpedoes were carried on tow-type airborne vehicles. The boat was supposed to go on a combat course, open the locks of vehicles and reset weapon in water.


Grasshopper on the water. Photo Dieselfutures.tumblr.com

The special design of torpedo boats provided for specific working methods. Due to the limited battery capacity and short range, it was proposed to deliver them to the area of ​​the enemy port by tug. Then, with a maximum speed of 4 knots, the boat had to approach the booms and turn on the “tracks”. With their help, obstacles were overcome, after which the crew could continue swimming. After launching the torpedoes, the Cricket could return to the tow in the same way.

Insect flotilla


Tank Marino boats had a simple construction, so their construction did not take much time. In March 1918, SVAN delivered the KVMS a series of four boats that were fully operational. Almost immediately, preparations began for the first operations.

Light "jumping" boats reminded the sailors of some insects. Therefore, they were assigned the names Grille, Cavalletta ("Grasshopper"), Locusta ("Locust") and Pulce ("Flea").

Three operations


The first combat operation involving new torpedo boats took place on the night of April 13-14, 1918. The Cavalletta and Pulce boats with the help of towing destroyers reached the minimum distance to the Austro-Hungarian base of Pula. The crews made an attempt to cross the booms and attack ships in the harbor. However, it was not possible to find a passage and enter the water area, and the crews decided to return.


Cricket after its first and last mission. Photo Dieselfutures.tumblr.com

The return trip took some time, and the meeting with the escort ships took place at dawn. The command of the operation considered that the destroyers with boats in tow would not have time to leave at a safe distance in time - the enemy could notice and attack them. A difficult decision was made. For their own salvation and secrecy, unique boats were flooded in place.

Exactly one month later, on the night of May 14, the Grillo boat set off for Pula. His crew, led by Captain Mario Pellegrini, managed to find a suitable place and begin the transition through the booms. On the first line of four obstacles, the "secretive" boat made a lot of noise and attracted the attention of the enemy. However, the commander decided to continue the operation until the boat was noticed.

Behind the second obstacle of the Italians, an Austro-Hungarian watchman was waiting. He tried to ram the boat, but he managed to dodge the blow. The watchman opened fire and pretty quickly hit his target. Captain Pellegrini ordered a torpedo reply. In the confusion, the crew did not carry out all the necessary operations, and the torpedoes, having gone to the guard, did not explode. The Italian boat sank, and his crew was captured. After the war, the sailors returned home, where military awards awaited them.


The artillery turned the stern of the boat - and made it possible to consider the drive chains. Photo Dieselfutures.tumblr.com

The last episode of the combat use of Tank Marino took place the next night, May 15th. This time, the Lokusta boat set off on its first trip. Already on the campaign to the barriers he was noticed, spotlights illuminated and fired. There was no talk of any covert attack. The operation command recalled the boat, and he safely returned home.

Original failure


As part of the study of the original concept, the Italian Marines Naval Forces ordered and received four torpedo boats capable of overcoming obstacles. All of them managed to participate in real operations and show completely non-positive results. Three boats were lost in their first exits. The fourth managed to be saved - because the enemy noticed him too early, when he could still leave.

The boat Locusta was kept in the combat structure of the fleet, but was no longer used for its intended purpose. Three operations of April-May 1918 showed the presence of a mass of problems and the inability of the cash "jumping boats" to solve combat missions. In addition, due to the use of an electric power plant and low characteristics, the boat was unsuitable for other operations.


Austro-Hungarian boat, copied from Italian. Unlike its predecessors, it was not even tested. Photo Naval-encyclopedia.com

New boats of this type, of course, were not built. Unusual "tracked" vehicles command preferred traditional high-speed torpedo boats. Soon, this technique once again confirmed its high potential. The Locust remained in the KVMS until 1920, after which it was decommissioned as unnecessary.

It should be noted that in Austria-Hungary did not know all the features of the operation of "sea tanks", and therefore became interested in the original concept. The sunken boat Grille was raised to the surface, studied and even tried to copy. However, the Austro-Hungarian copy of the Italian boat did not manage to go to sea until the end of the war. And soon this project was simply forgotten due to the presence of more important matters.

Thus, the project of the "marine tank" quickly showed its failure, and it was abandoned. All advanced maritime powers continued to use torpedo boats of a traditional look. And the problem of barriers at the entrance to the water area soon found its solution - it became a bomber aviation.
Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Undecim
    Undecim 6 May 2020 18: 34 New
    +5
    In the central and aft parts of the hull were placed two electric motors of the brand Rognini and Balbo with a capacity of 10 hp. One of them was connected to the propeller and accelerated the boat to 4 knots, the other was responsible for overcoming obstacles. A significant part of the internal volume of the hull was given for rechargeable batteries, capable of providing a range of up to 30 nautical miles.
    It is amazing how the author, having placed so many photographs in the text, including from the stern, did not understand that the boat did not have a propeller, otherwise it would not overcome the obstacle.

    The boat had two electric motors of 5 horsepower, which set in motion chains with hooks. The movement through the water was carried out by rewinding the chains, as in a BMP, because the speed was very low - 4 knots.
    1. Reader 2013
      Reader 2013 6 May 2020 19: 04 New
      +5
      The diagram seems to show how the screw is installed
    2. Errr
      Errr 6 May 2020 19: 41 New
      +5
      hi I welcome you categorically! smile
      It is believed that this "Cricket" had the same propeller.
      https://pikabu.ru/story/torpednyie_katera_tipa_grillo_s_gusenitsami_5754620
      The torpedo boat had a very raised bow, bottom propeller, folding steering wheel and side track links (articulated chains with spikes). The rotation of both claw-shaped chains was carried out by means of two gears mounted on the stern of the boat
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 6 May 2020 20: 09 New
        +5
        Yes, I agree, I was mistaken.
        Key Features:
        Dislocamento: 8 T
        Lunghezza: 16 m
        Immersione: 0,40 m
        Apparato motore: Motore elettrico con batteria di accumulazione
        Elica: in tunnel
        Timone: Sollevabile
        Armamento: 2 siluri da 450.
  2. Thrifty
    Thrifty 6 May 2020 19: 04 New
    +2
    Yes, Italians knew how to invent, and even now the descendants of Leonardo Da Vinci also know how to think their own way. ..
  3. knn54
    knn54 6 May 2020 19: 32 New
    +3
    I would say the original FAILURE.
    Not a single technique so ingloriously and quickly ended its existence.
    To the credit of the creators we can say ONE-this was not a "financial cut."
    1. AllBiBek
      AllBiBek 6 May 2020 20: 30 New
      +1
      Uh ... Have you heard anything about Lebedenko’s tank?)
  4. bubalik
    bubalik 6 May 2020 20: 02 New
    +6
    ,, the Germans tried to do something similar, underwater. "Zeetoifel"
  5. Cypa
    Cypa 7 May 2020 09: 10 New
    0
    ugliness
  6. Narak-zempo
    Narak-zempo 7 May 2020 17: 19 New
    0
    The Italian boat sank, and his crew was captured. After the war, the sailors returned home, where military awards awaited them.

    Why not a tribunal?
    The task failed, the materiel lost, and even surrendered.
  7. Boratsagdiev
    Boratsagdiev 4 August 2020 16: 15 New
    0
    There was a large series of articles about such creations and experiments in "Technique of Youth".
    But that was in another life.

Военное обозрение

Торпедные катера типа Grillo: неудавшиеся «морские танки»

11

Все построенные катера типа Tank Marino. Фото сделано не позднее середины апреля 1918 г., до первой операции и первых потерь. Фото Dieselfutures.tumblr.com


Во время Первой мировой войны одной из главных проблем на суше стал т.н. позиционный тупик, потребовавший создания особой техники. Схожие процессы наблюдались и на некоторых морских театрах военных действий. Для решения особых задач в характерных условиях в Италии создали «морские танки» – торпедные катера типа Grillo.

Защита и нападение


Королевство Италия вступило в войну в мае 1915 г., и его основным противником стала Австро-Венгерская империя. Бои шли как на суше, так и в Адриатическом море. Со временем Королевские ВМС Италии смогли сформировать мощную группировку торпедных катеров, которая фактически заперла австро-венгерский флот на его базах. Однако до полной победы было далеко.

ВМС Австро-Венгрии учитывали существующие риски и принимали меры. На базах Пула и Сплит были развернуты все доступные средства защиты, от боновых заграждений до береговой артиллерии. Корабли или катера Италии не могли безопасно приблизиться на дистанцию выстрела пушки или пуска торпеды.


Общий вид катера. Рисунок Naval-encyclopedia.com

Наибольший интерес для КВМС Италии представлял порт Пула, где были сосредоточены основные силы вражеского флота. Успешный удар по этому объекту мог резко изменить ситуацию в регионе – или даже вывести австро-венгерский флот из войны. Тем не менее, атака существующими средствами не представлялась возможной.

Оригинальное решение


Наиболее эффективным средством против надводных сил противника виделись торпедные катера, но они не могли пройти в акваторию Пулы из-за нескольких линий боновых заграждений. Однако эта проблема нашла свое решение в 1917 г. Инженер Аттилио Бизио из компании SVAN предложил создать торпедный катер особой конструкции, приспособленный для преодоления плавучих заграждений.

Суть новой концепции заключалась в оснащении легкого плоскодонного катера парой цепей-гусениц, при помощи которых он мог бы перелезать через боны. Такие возможности отразили в названии концепции – «barchino saltatore» («прыгающая лодка»). Позже готовую технику официально назвали Tank Marino («морской танк»). По имени головного катера всю серию нередко именуют Grillo («Сверчок»).

Торпедные катера типа Grillo: неудавшиеся «морские танки»

Проекции катера. Рисунок Naval-encyclopedia.com

На рубеже 1917-18 гг. были сформированы планы. Компания SVAN должна была провести некоторые испытания, выполнить проект «морского танка», а затем построить серию из четырех катеров. В ближайшие месяцы готовая техника должна была впервые принять участие в реальной атаке на базу Пула.

Особенности конструкции


Опытно-конструкторские работы начались с поиска оптимальных решений. Провели испытания нескольких вариантов «гусеничного движителя», также определили самые выгодные обводы корпуса. Наиболее удачные варианты нашли применение в готовом проекте.

Проект Grillo предусматривал строительство цельнодеревянного плоскодонного катера средних размеров. Длина судна – 16 м при ширине 3,1 м. Осадка – всего 700 мм. Водоизмещение – 8 т. Экипаж по штату включал четырех человек.


Головной катер Grillo перед спуском на воду. Фото Pinterest.com

В центральной и кормовой частях корпуса помещались два электромотора марки Rognini and Balbo мощностью по 10 л.с. Один из них был связан с гребным винтом и разгонял катер до 4 узлов, другой – отвечал за преодоление препятствий. Значительная часть внутренних объемов корпуса отдавалась под аккумуляторные батареи, способные обеспечить дальность хода до 30 морских миль.

Вблизи бортов корпуса, на палубе и на днище, предусматривались две узкие продольные направляющие в виде металлических профилей. В носовой части установили направляющие колеса, в корме – направляющие и ведущие. На этих устройствах предлагалось установить две узкие роликовые цепи-гусеницы. Часть звеньев цепи оснащалась загнутыми зацепами для взаимодействия с препятствием. Привод цепи осуществлялся от собственного электромотора через одно из задних колес.

Вооружение Grillo состояло из двух стандартных 450-мм торпед, состоявших на вооружении итальянского флота. Торпеды перевозились на бортовых аппаратах бугельного типа. Катер должен был выходить на боевой курс, открывать замки аппаратов и сбрасывать оружие в воду.


"Кузнечик" на воде. Фото Dieselfutures.tumblr.com

Особая конструкция торпедных катеров предусматривала специфические методы работы. Ввиду ограниченной емкости аккумуляторов и небольшой дальности хода, их предлагалось доставлять в район вражеского порта при помощи буксира. Затем с максимальной скоростью 4 узла катер должен был подходить к бонам и включать «гусеницы». С их помощью обеспечивалось преодоление препятствия, после чего экипаж мог продолжать плавание. После пуска торпед «Сверчок» мог вернуться к буксировщику тем же образом.

Флотилия насекомых


Катера Tank Marino отличались простой конструкцией, благодаря чему их строительство не заняло много времени. В марте 1918 г. фирма SVAN сдала КВМС серию из четырех катеров, полностью пригодных к боевой работе. Почти сразу началась подготовка к первым операциям.

Легкие «прыгающие» катера напомнили морякам некоторых насекомых. Поэтому за ними закрепились имена Grille, Cavalletta («Кузнечик»), Locusta («Саранча») и Pulce («Блоха»).

Три операции


Первая боевая операция с участием новых торпедных катеров состоялась в ночь с 13 на 14 апреля 1918 г. Катера «Каваллетта» и «Пульче» при помощи эсминцев-буксировщиков подобрались на минимальное расстояние к австро-венгерской базе Пула. Экипажи предприняли попытку перебраться через боновые заграждения и атаковать корабли в гавани. Однако найти проход и выйти в акваторию не удалось, и экипажи решили возвращаться.


"Сверчок" после своей первой и последней миссии. Фото Dieselfutures.tumblr.com

Обратный путь занял некоторое время, и встреча с кораблями сопровождения состоялась уже на рассвете. Командование операции посчитало, что эсминцы с катерами на буксире не успеют вовремя уйти на безопасное расстояние – противник мог заметить и атаковать их. Было принято тяжелое решение. Для собственного спасения и соблюдения секретности уникальные катера затопили на месте.

Ровно через месяц, в ночь на 14 мая в Пулу отправился катер Grillo. Его экипажу во главе с капитаном Марио Пеллегрини удалось найти подходящее место и начать переход через боны. На первой линии заграждений из четырех «скрытный» катер наделал немало шума и привлек внимание противника. Тем не менее, командир принял решение продолжать операцию, пока катер не заметили.

За вторым заграждением итальянцев поджидал австро-венгерский сторожевик. Он попытался протаранить катер, но тому удалось увернуться от удара. Сторожевик открыл огонь и довольно быстро поразил свою цель. Капитан Пеллегрини приказал ответить торпедами. В суматохе экипаж не провел все необходимые операции, и торпеды, уйдя к сторожевику, не взорвались. Итальянский катер затонул, а его экипаж попал в плен. После войны моряки вернулись домой, где их ждали боевые награды.


Артиллерия разворотила корму катера - и дала возможность рассмотреть привод цепей. Фото Dieselfutures.tumblr.com

Последний эпизод боевого применения Tank Marino состоялся в следующую ночь, 15 мая. На этот раз в свой первый поход отправился катер «Локуста». Уже на походе к заграждениям его заметили, осветили прожекторами и обстреляли. Ни о каком скрытном нападении речи уже не шло. Командование операции отозвало катер, и он благополучно вернулся домой.

Оригинальная неудача


В рамках изучения оригинальной концепции КВМС Италии заказал и получил четыре торпедных катера, способных преодолевать заграждения. Все они успели поучаствовать в реальных операциях и показать совсем не положительные результаты. Три катера были потеряны в своих первых выходах. Четвертый удалось сохранить – потому что противник заметил его слишком рано, когда он еще мог уйти.

Катер Locusta сохранили в боевом составе флота, но уже не использовали по прямому назначению. Три операции апреля-мая 1918 г. показали наличие массы проблем и неспособность наличных «прыгающих лодок» решать боевые задачи. Кроме того, по причине использования электрической силовой установки и невысоких характеристик катер оказался непригодным и для другой эксплуатации.


Австро-венгерский катер, скопированный с итальянского. В отличие от предшественников, даже не испытывался. Фото Naval-encyclopedia.com

Новые катера этого типа, естественно, не строились. Необычным «гусеничным» аппаратам командование предпочло традиционные скоростные торпедные катера. Вскоре такая техника вновь подтвердила свой высокий потенциал. «Саранча» оставалась в составе КВМС до 1920 г., после чего ее списали за ненадобностью.

Следует отметить, что в Австро-Венгрии не знали всех особенностей эксплуатации «морских танков», и потому заинтересовались оригинальной концепцией. Потопленный катер Grille подняли на поверхность, изучили и даже попытались скопировать. Однако австро-венгерская копия итальянского катера не успела выйти в море до конца войны. А вскоре об этом проекте попросту забыли ввиду наличия более важных дел.

Таким образом, проект «морского танка» достаточно быстро показал свою несостоятельность, и от него отказались. Все передовые морские державы продолжили использовать торпедные катера традиционного облика. А проблема заграждений на входе в акватории вскоре нашла свое решение – им стала бомбардировочная авиация.
Автор:
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Undecim
    Undecim 6 мая 2020 18:34 Новый
    +5
    В центральной и кормовой частях корпуса помещались два электромотора марки Rognini and Balbo мощностью по 10 л.с. Один из них был связан с гребным винтом и разгонял катер до 4 узлов, другой – отвечал за преодоление препятствий. Значительная часть внутренних объемов корпуса отдавалась под аккумуляторные батареи, способные обеспечить дальность хода до 30 морских миль.
    Удивительно, как автор, поместив в текст столько фотографий, в том числе и с кормы, так и не понял, что катер гребного винта не имел, иначе не преодолеет заграждения.

    У катера было два электродвигателя по 5 лошадинных сил, которые приводили в движение цепи с зацепами. Движение по воде осуществлялось за счет перемотки цепей, как у БМП, потому скорость была очень низкая - 4 узла.
    1. Читатель 2013
      Читатель 2013 6 мая 2020 19:04 Новый
      +5
      На схеме вроде видно, как винт установлен
    2. Эррр
      Эррр 6 мая 2020 19:41 Новый
      +5
      hi Приветствую Вас категорически! smile
      Имеется мнение, что данный "Сверчок" имел таки гребной винт.
      https://pikabu.ru/story/torpednyie_katera_tipa_grillo_s_gusenitsami_5754620
      Торпедный катер-танк имел сильно приподнятую носовую часть, гребной винт, входящий в углубление днища, складной руль и бортовую гусеничную тягу (шарнирные цепи с шипами). Вращение обеих когтеобразных цепей производилось посредством двух зубчатых колес, установленных на корме катера
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 6 мая 2020 20:09 Новый
        +5
        Да, согласен, я ошибся.
        Caratteristiche principali:
        Dislocamento: 8 T

        Lunghezza: 16 m

        Immersione: 0,40 m

        Apparato motore: Motore elettrico con batteria di accumulazione

        Elica: in tunnel

        Timone: Sollevabile

        Armamento: 2 siluri da 450.
  2. Бережливый
    Бережливый 6 мая 2020 19:04 Новый
    +2
    Да, итальянцы умели придумывать, да и сейчас потомки Леонардо Да Винчи тоже умеют как следует думать головой -своей. ..
  3. knn54
    knn54 6 мая 2020 19:32 Новый
    +3
    Я бы сказал оригинальный ПРОВАЛ.
    Ни одна техника так бесславно и быстро не заканчивала свое существование.
    К чести создателей можно сказать ОДНО-это не было "финансовым распилом".
    1. AllBiBek
      AllBiBek 6 мая 2020 20:30 Новый
      +1
      Э... Вы что-нибудь слышали про танк Лебеденко?)
  4. bubalik
    bubalik 6 мая 2020 20:02 Новый
    +6
    ,,немцы что то похожее пытались сделать,подводное.«Зеетойфель»
  5. Cypa
    Cypa 7 мая 2020 09:10 Новый
    0
    уродство, не годное ни на что
  6. Narak-zempo
    Narak-zempo 7 мая 2020 17:19 Новый
    0
    Итальянский катер затонул, а его экипаж попал в плен. После войны моряки вернулись домой, где их ждали боевые награды.

    А почему не трибунал?
    Задачу провалили, матчасть потеряли, да ещё и сдались в плен.
  7. BoratSagdiev
    BoratSagdiev 4 августа 2020 16:15 Новый
    0
    В "Технике Молодежи" про подобные творения и эксперименты была большая серия статей.
    Но это было в другой жизни.