Features of the work of Soviet foreign intelligence in Persia in the 1920-1930s


Among the first countries on the territory of which the Soviet Republic began to conduct intelligence activities were the countries of the Muslim East. In 1923, a legal residency was established in Persia [1].


The activities of the residencies in Persia were led by the 5th (Eastern) sector of the Foreign Department of the OGPU. At the same time, the INO was working to send its agents to Persia.

Of great importance as a historical source are the Notes of a Chekist by G. S. Agabekov, a Soviet resident in the Middle East [2], published in Russian [3] in Berlin in 1930. The Notes in detail reflect the political situation in the Near and Middle In the East, in 1923-1930, they disclose the methods of work of the non-profit organization, characterize the direct organizers and participants of Soviet intelligence and counterintelligence events in these regions and describe the operations they carried out. Agabekov personally took part in the preparation for the destruction of the Turkish adventurer Enver Pasha [4], who became one of the leaders of Basmachism. Later, Agabekov led the creation of intelligence networks of the OGPU in Afghanistan, Persia and Turkey.


G. S. Agabekov

Features of the work of Soviet foreign intelligence in Persia in the 1920-1930s

Enver pasha

Most Soviet residencies in Persia had their own "specialization." Residency in Tehran, in addition to the overall coordination of intelligence, through its point in Kermanshah (not to be confused with the city of Kerman) operated in Iraq [5].

“The threat of a global conflict with England was the reason for Moscow’s insistent demands that the GPU penetrate and gain a foothold in Iraq. According to available information, the British built two air bases in Northern Iraq, from where they aviation without much difficulty could reach Baku, bomb the oil fields and return. Therefore, intelligence began to work actively among Iraqi Kurds, hoping, if necessary, to raise an anti-British uprising in Iraqi Kurdistan and disable both the oil fields in Mosul and the airfields from which British planes could fly to bomb Baku ”[6].

Kermanshah’s residency worked against white emigration and British authorities in Iraq. In Kermanshah, from 1925 to 1928, under the cover of the post of secretary of the Soviet consulate, M.A. Allakhverdov showed himself as a talented intelligence officer [7], who in 1928 became a resident of INO in Persia. Here he managed to organize penetration into white-emigre circles, obtain information about German, Polish, Turkish and Japanese intelligence who worked against the USSR from the territory of Persia, and also acquire valuable agents in the ruling circles of Persia. [8]


M.A. Allahverdov

The residency in Urmia [9] monitored the activities of the British in the surrounding territories (in Urmia, the future diplomatic agent and consul general in Yemen A. B. Dubson [10] began intelligence activities). The tasks of the Tauris [11] residency included the development of Dashnaks [12], Musavatists [13] and White emigre circles. The Ardabil and Resht residences also worked not only against the Musavatists, but also against white emigration. Bender-Bushehr’s [14] residency monitored the situation in the area of ​​the southern Persian tribes, which were a kind of lever in the hands of the British for pressure on the Persian government, and also monitored the situation in the ports of the Persian Gulf.


A. B. Dubson

The main task of the residency in Mashhad was to work against British “colleagues” [15] and their local agents (in Mashhad in 1921, the future diplomatic agent and consul general in Yemen K. A. Khakimov began his intelligence activities [16]). In addition, she was engaged in identifying British ties with Basmachi gangs and white emigration. In the late 20s, Mashhad became the base of various white-emigrant organizations. It housed the branches of the Russian All-Military Union, Turkestan Insurgent Committee, and the Uzbek Nationalist Movement, which conducted subversive work against the USSR in close contact with British intelligence services. [17] The OGPU officers in Mashhad were also involved in identifying British agents operating in the strip of the Soviet-Persian border and in Turkestan.


K. A. Khakimov

Mashhad residency was particularly successful. Here in 1931-1936. A. M. Otroshchenko [18] an agent of the plenipotentiary representative of the OGPU for Central Asia, who was in charge of the Mashhad residency since 1934, worked under the cover of a post of an employee of the Soviet Consulate General. He managed to get important information about the anti-Soviet activities of the white emigration, as well as about the subversive activities of the British and Japanese intelligence against the USSR. [nineteen]


A. M. Otroshchenko

Based on the prevailing situation in this region, the state security organs decided to penetrate the British intelligence office in Mashhad, to intercept the channels for sending agents to Soviet territory and, ultimately, to paralyze its hostile activities. As a result of a number of successful operations carried out in the 30s, including with the participation of the Soviet legal residence in Mashhad, where the Soviet consulate general functioned, the accomplices of the British resident from among the Russian emigrants were detained and the supply channels were blocked weapons Turkmen Yomut tribe, who rebelled against Soviet power. [twenty]

Information obtained by Soviet intelligence was also used to carry out anti-smuggling activities. So, “our residency in Tehran established that Iranian merchants, using the agreement with Soviet Russia on cross-border trade, are exporting a large amount of gold, precious stones, and foreign currency from the USSR. <...>

The cargo presented for inspection was fully consistent with customs declarations. This went on for quite some time, until V. Gridnev [21] noticed that the goods were being transported by the Iranians in new woolen bags, on which patches were sewn here and there. The audit showed that it was under these patches that jewelry and considerable amounts in foreign currency were hidden. The currency smuggling channel was suppressed ”[22].


V.V. Gridnev

* * *


Thanks to the experience gained by Soviet intelligence in the 1920s and 1930s in Persia, German agents were able to outplay here during World War II, including ensuring that the Tehran Conference was held in 1943.

Notes

[1] In 1935, Persia was officially renamed Iran.
[2] Agabekov (Arutyunov), George (Grigory) Sergeevich (1895–1938) - reconnaissance defector. In the years 1924-1926. - Resident in Afghanistan, in 1928 - in Persia, in 1929-1930. - illegal resident in Istanbul. I fled to Paris. Eliminated, allegedly, by the NKVD agents. For more details see: Prokhorov D.P. How much does it cost to sell the motherland? SPb. —M., 2005, p. 50 – 64.
[3] The book has been translated into many languages, including Persian (Farsi).
[4] Enver Pasha (Ismail Enver; 1881–1922) - Turkish military and political figure. He graduated from the General Staff Academy in Istanbul (1903). In 1913, carried out a coup. During the First World War he served as deputy. commander in chief (formally, the sultan was the commander in chief). After the defeat of Turkey, he fled to Germany, and later for some time was on the territory of Soviet Russia. In 1921 he took part in the anti-Soviet Basmach rebellion in Central Asia and was killed in battle with the Soviet troops.
[5] Essays stories Russian foreign intelligence. T. 2.M., 2006, p. 242.
[6] Arabajyan Z. A. Iran: Confronting Empires (1918–1941). M., 1996, p. 129.
[7] Allakhverdov, Mikhail Andriasovich (Andreevich) (1900–1968) - scout. He graduated from the eastern branch of the Military Academy of the Red Army (1925). In the Red Army since 1918. Member of the Civil War. In the Cheka since 1919 he worked in Central Asia. Since January 1923 - in the Eastern Department of the OGPU. Resident in Persia (1928–1930), Afghanistan (1934–1936; 1941–1943), Turkey (1936–1938). He performed tasks in Austria, Switzerland, France, Yugoslavia. In the years 1947-1955. - on pedagogical work at the Higher Intelligence School.
[8] Degtyarev K., Kolpakidi A. Foreign intelligence of the USSR. M., 2009, p. 350.
[9] From 1926 to 1980, the city of Urmia was called Rezaye.
[10] Dubson, Arkady Borisovich (1895–1938) - scout, diplomat, orientalist. He graduated from the 1st year of the Petrograd Psychoneurological Institute (1915), the 2nd Moscow School of Ensigns (1917), the 1st year of the eastern branch of the Military Academy of the Red Army (1921). Member of the First World War and Civil War. Since 1919 - in the Cheka. Since 1920 - at diplomatic work (Secretary of the Persian Department of the NKID, from 1921-1928 - at consular posts in Urmia, Tabriz and Mashhad). In 1930–1931 - at the scientific and pedagogical work. In the years 1931-1933. - Representative of the USSR in the Kingdom of Yemen, Mutavakkiliy Kingdom. Since 1935 - the head. print department of Intourist JSC, professor at the Moscow Institute of Oriental Studies.
[11] Modern transcription of Tabriz - Tabriz.
[12] Armenian nationalists, united in 1890 in the party “Dashnaktsutyun” (“Armenian Revolutionary Union”).
[13] Azerbaijani pan-Turkists and pan-Islamists, united in 1911 in the Musavat (Equality) party.
[14] In the 1st ed. TSB (vol. I, M., 1926) gives the names “Aboucher,” “Bushir,” and “Abu Shikhir.” The modern name is “Bushir”.
[15] For the activities of the British special services in the period under review, see: Deacon R. A History of the British Secret Service. L., 1969; West N. MI5: The True Story of the Most Secret Counterespionage Organization in the World. N.-Y., 1982; West N. MI6: British Secret Intelligence Service Operations 1909–1945. N.-Y., 1983.
[16] Khakimov, Karim Abdraufovich (1892-1938) - intelligence officer, consular, diplomatic and trade representative of the USSR in the countries of the Near and Middle East. For more details see: Gusterin P. In memory of Karim Khakimov - diplomat and scientist // Diplomatic service. 2008, No. 1.
[17] Essays on the history of Russian foreign intelligence. T. 2, p. 242.
[18] Otroshchenko, Andrei Makarovich (1902–1993) - scout. At the OGPU since 1924, in 1931–1936 and 1937–1939. - in intelligence in Persia / Iran (deputy resident and resident in Mashhad, resident in Tehran). In 1939–1941 - beginning counterintelligence department of the NKVD in Odessa region Since 1941 - in senior positions in the state security organs of the USSR.
[19] Degtyarev K., Kolpakidi A., with. 527; Essays on the history of Russian foreign intelligence. T. 3.M., 2007, p. 206.
[20] Essays on the history of Russian foreign intelligence. T. 2, p. 246 – 247.
[21] Gridnev, Vyacheslav Vasilievich (1898–1991) - scout. He graduated from the Higher Border School of the OGPU (1924). In 1917 he was drafted into the army. Member of the Civil War. In 1921 he was sent to work in the Moscow Cheka, later - in the border units of ZakVO. In 1932–1936 and 1943–1949 - missions in Mongolia. Member of the Great Patriotic and Soviet-Japanese Wars. In 1949 - the beginning. Information Committee of the Council of Ministers of the USSR. In 1950-1960 - beginning Graduate School of Intelligence. (Note.P.G.).
[22] Antonov V., Karpov V. Secret informants of the Kremlin - 2. Intelligence began with them. M., 2003, p. 290.
Author:
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Olgovich 7 May 2020 05: 52 New
    • 5
    • 1
    +4
    As a historical source great importance have “Chekist Notes” by a Soviet resident in the Middle East G. S. Agabekova [2] published in Russian [3] in Berlin in 1930. "Notes" in detail reflect the political situation in the Near and Middle East in 1923-1930, disclose the working methods of the INO, characterize the direct organizers and participants of Soviet intelligence and counterintelligence activities in these regions and describe their operations. Agabekov personally participated in the preparation for the destruction of the Turkish adventurer Enver Pasha [4], who became one of the leaders of Basmachism. Later, Agabekov led the creation of intelligence networks of the OGPU in Afghanistan, Persia and Turkey.


    source. truly unique, because there are no more such ones. shows the details and mechanism of intelligence work.

    . True, on the basis of this and his other book * "OGPU. Soviet Secret Terror", printed in the west. Hundreds of Soviet agents in Iran and Afghanistan were arrested and destroyed.

    And they were printed in the West because this security officer fled there. A traitor is a traitor, for which he was destroyed in 1937 ...
    1. rich 7 May 2020 07: 27 New
      • 6
      • 1
      +5
      In August 1937, he was killed by a special group of the INO NKVD in France. According to Pavel Sudoplatov, the assassination of Agabekov was organized with the help of a Turkish militant (possibly revenge for Enver), an employee of the NKVD, later a KGB general and foreign intelligence chief A. M. Korotkov. According to the version set forth by Boris Bazhanov, the NKVD provoked Agabekov to participate in the resale of the values ​​stolen in Spain, and he was "liquidated" by the NKVD special group in the area of ​​the Spanish-French border. Agabekov’s corpse was not found (according to Bazhanov, the corpse was found a few months later on Spanish territory).
      1. vladcub 7 May 2020 15: 39 New
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        Dmitry (rich), in fact, Bazhenov as a source of information is doubtful: he has been in exile since 1928. I doubt that Yezhov would call him and report to him: we eliminated Agabekov today. Sudoplatov as a source of information is more reliable.
        Bazhenov could know until 1928, while he was in Moscow, and then. The grandmother in the market heard about him.
  2. Free wind 7 May 2020 08: 12 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Interesting old cards to consider. Look, there are state borders, but there are borders of influence. Russian influence seems to be quite large. There are Kurdistan, but it is not clear why there is not a single settlement on the territory, or is it such a place ... Bogdad, Kuwait in Turkey. Syria also probably in Turkey?
  3. knn54 7 May 2020 08: 41 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Boris Parmuzin: “Until further notice” and “Anger of other people's winds”. The prototype is a real person.
    The grandfather of one of his colleagues (an Uzbek from the "parallel" department of the Special Design Bureau) was a contact person for the protagonist.
    He told a lot of interesting things, especially about the Germans, who took deep root in Iran even before the WWII.
  4. Alex013 7 May 2020 10: 39 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Thanks to the author for the articles. And for this and about the raids in Afghanistan. Very interesting. In the 20-40s, our intelligence in Iran sat tight, like the German one. The Germans pushed Iran all the time for themselves, but failed. Recently I read about Georg Vartanyan, also a topic for an article ...
    1. Pavel Gusterin 7 May 2020 12: 09 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Please.
    2. ccsr 7 May 2020 13: 15 New
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Quote: Alex013
      In the 20-40s, our intelligence in Iran sat tight, like the German one.

      In addition to the NKVD in Iran, the Red Army intelligence agency worked, it’s just not mentioned much, although there was a military attaché in the embassy.
      Here is a scan of the report for August 1926, which gives an idea of ​​what was reported then:
  5. Trilobite Master 7 May 2020 13: 08 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    Intelligence is a specific topic, but very interesting and grateful. Personally, I was interested in reading, but again, after reading it, I got the impression of some understatement, as if I had been deceived in something.
    The article is called "Features of the work", but about the features I, in fact, did not find anything in it. There is a listing of the structural units of intelligence in Iran, the tasks that these units faced were listed, the persons listed, those units headed and some of the results of intelligence were briefly described.
    And, in fact, what were the features? Maybe there were some significant differences in the specifics of the work, for example, from residency in Germany, Britain or Japan? What are the features of undercover or recruitment in Persia compared to Europe? What are the reasons for the successes (failures) of Soviet intelligence during this period in this region?
    Or do I want too much?
    In any case, it seems to me that the title for the article needs to be invented after all after writing it in accordance with its content.
  6. vladcub 7 May 2020 16: 14 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    “took part in the preparations for the destruction of the Turkish adventurer Enverpasha” is one of the most prominent Basmachi leaders. Killed either in battle or as a result of an OGPU special operation
  7. Andrey Zhdanov-Nedilko 8 May 2020 07: 33 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    While working in those countries (Iran, Iraq and Turkmenistan) in the early 2000s, he did occasionally meet with locals, make friends with someone and have not lost relations to this day, by the way. I asked old people from local about the events of the war and the pre-war years. Basmachism (until 1939) from Iran was encouraged by the central government in Tehran. The Basmachians had many bases and the composition of the gangs was so mixed that they were stunned - Kurds, Turkmens, Iranians, Azerbaijanis, sometimes former white (from the local), sometimes the British. But Great Britain stuffed weapons in this region and supported everyone and everything, if only against the USSR. According to locals, the hidden old weapons in some villages remained even before the 1990s ... Personally, I did not see these weapons, but I heard from the Kurds, whom the central government in Tehran was unloved at all times. My driver was an old Kurd and he provoked me to these conversations, but I gently stopped, they say, we are here to help you, and your affairs are yours and Allah Akbar is always, and everything else is from the Iblis, Satan and the English.

Военное обозрение

Особенности работы советской внешней разведки в Персии в 1920—1930-х годах

11

Среди первых стран, на территории которых Советской Республикой стали проводиться разведывательные мероприятия, были и страны мусульманского Востока. В 1923 г. легальная резидентура была создана в Персии [1].


Деятельностью резидентур в Персии руководил 5-й (Восточный) сектор Иностранного отдела ОГПУ. Одновременно ИНО вел работу по засылке в Персию своей агентуры.

В качестве исторического источника большое значение имеют «Записки чекиста» советского резидента на Ближнем Востоке Г. С. Агабекова [2], опубликованные на русском языке [3] в Берлине в 1930 г. «Записки» в деталях отражают политическую ситуацию на Ближнем и Среднем Востоке в 1923—1930 гг., раскрывают методы работы ИНО, характеризуют непосредственных организаторов и участников советских разведывательных и контрразведывательных мероприятий в названных регионах и описывают проведенные ими операции. Агабеков лично принимал участие в подготовке уничтожения турецкого авантюриста Энвер-паши [4], ставшего одним из предводителей басмачества. Позже Агабеков руководил созданием агентурных сетей ОГПУ в Афганистане, Персии и Турции.


Г. С. Агабеков

Особенности работы советской внешней разведки в Персии в 1920—1930-х годах

Энвер-паша

У большинства советских резидентур в Персии была своя «специализация». Резидентура в Тегеране, кроме общей координации разведработы, через свой пункт в Керманшахе (не путать с городом Керман) действовала в Ираке [5].

«Угроза глобального конфликта с Англией была причиной настойчивых требований Москвы, чтобы ГПУ проникло и закрепилось в Ираке. По имевшейся информации англичане строили в Северном Ираке две военно-воздушные базы, откуда их авиация без особого труда могла достигнуть Баку, разбомбить нефтепромыслы и вернуться обратно. Поэтому разведка начала вести активную работу среди иракских курдов, рассчитывая в случае необходимости поднять в иракском Курдистане антианглийское восстание и вывести из строя, как нефтепромыслы в Мосуле, так и аэродромы, с которых английские самолеты могли бы летать бомбить Баку» [6].

Керманшахская резидентура работала против белой эмиграции и британских властей в Ираке. В Керманшахе в период с 1925 по 1928 г. под прикрытием должности секретаря советского консульства себя как талантливый разведчик проявил М. А. Аллахвердов [7], ставший в 1928 г. резидентом ИНО в Персии. Здесь ему удалось организовать проникновение в белоэмигрантские круги, получение сведений о работавших против СССР с территории Персии германской, польской, турецкой и японской разведках, а также приобрести ценных агентов в правящих кругах Персии. [8]


М. А. Аллахвердов

Резидентура в Урмии [9] следила за деятельностью британцев на близлежащих территориях (в Урмии разведдеятельность начинал будущий дипломатический агент и генеральный консул в Йемене А. Б. Дубсон [10]). В задачи тавризской [11] резидентуры входила разработка дашнаков [12], мусаватистов [13] и белоэмигрантских кругов. Ардебильская и рештская резидентуры также работали не только против мусаватистов, но и против белой эмиграции. Бендер-бушерская [14] резидентура отслеживала ситуацию в районе проживания племен юга Персии, являвшихся своего рода рычагом в руках британцев для давления на правительство Персии, а также наблюдала за обстановкой в портах Персидского залива.


А. Б. Дубсон

Главной задачей резидентуры в Мешхеде была работа против британских «коллег» [15] и их агентуры из числа местных жителей (в Мешхеде в 1921 г. начинал свою разведдеятельность будущий дипломатический агент и генеральный консул в Йемене К. А. Хакимов [16]). Кроме этого, она занималась выявлением связей британцев с бандами басмачей и белой эмиграцией. В конце 20-х годов Мешхед стал базой различных белоэмигрантских организаций. Здесь размещались отделения «Российского общевоинского союза», «Туркестанского повстанческого комитета», «Узбекского националистического движения», которые вели подрывную работу против СССР в тесном контакте с британскими спецслужбами. [17] Сотрудники ОГПУ в Мешхеде занимались также выявлением британской агентуры, действовавшей в полосе советско-персидской границы и в Туркестане.


К. А. Хакимов

Мешхедская резидентура действовала особенно успешно. Здесь в 1931—1936 гг. под прикрытием должности сотрудника советского генерального консульства работал А. М. Отрощенко [18] агент полномочного представителя ОГПУ по Средней Азии, с 1934 г. руководивший мешхедской резидентурой. Ему удалось получить важные сведения об антисоветской деятельности белой эмиграции, а также о подрывной деятельности британской и японской разведок против СССР. [19]


А. М. Отрощенко

Исходя из сложившегося положения в этом регионе органы государственной безопасности приняли решение проникнуть в резидентуру британской разведки в Мешхеде, перехватить каналы заброски агентуры на советскую территорию и, в конечном счете, парализовать ее враждебную деятельность. В результате ряда успешных операций, проведенных в 30-х годах, в том числе при участии советской легальной резидентуры в Мешхеде, где функционировало советское генеральное консульство, были задержаны пособники британского резидента из числа русских эмигрантов, и перекрыты каналы снабжения оружием племени туркмен-йомутов, поднявших восстание против советской власти. [20]

Сведения, добываемые советской разведкой, использовались и для проведения мероприятий по борьбе с контрабандой. Так, «нашей резидентурой в Тегеране было установлено, что иранские купцы, пользуясь договором с Советской Россией о приграничной торговле, вывозят из СССР большое количество золота, драгоценных камней, иностранной валюты. <…>

Предъявляемые к досмотру грузы полностью соответствовали таможенным декларациям. Так продолжалось довольно долго, пока В. Гриднев [21] не обратил внимание на то, что товары перевозятся иранцами в новых шерстяных мешках, на которых кое-где нашиты заплаты. Проверка показала, что именно под этими заплатами были спрятаны драгоценности и немалые суммы в иностранной валюте. Канал валютной контрабанды был пресечен» [22].


В. В. Гриднев

* * *


Благодаря опыту работы, полученному советскими разведчиками в 1920—1930-е годы в Персии, во время Второй мировой войны здесь удалось переиграть германских агентов, в том числе обеспечить в 1943 г. проведение Тегеранской конференции.

Примечания

[1] В 1935 г. Персия была официально переименована в Иран.
[2] Агабеков (Арутюнов), Георгий (Григорий) Сергеевич (1895–1938) — разведчик-перебежчик. В 1924–1926 гг. — резидент в Афганистане, в 1928 г. — в Персии, в 1929–1930 гг. — нелегальный резидент в Стамбуле. Бежал в Париж. Ликвидирован, предположительно, агентами НКВД. Подробнее см.: Прохоров Д. П. Сколько стоит продать Родину. СПб.—М., 2005, с. 50–64.
[3] Книга была переведена на многие языки, в том числе на персидский (фарси).
[4] Энвер-паша (Исмаил Энвер; 1881–1922) — турецкий военный и политический деятель. Окончил Академию Генштаба в Стамбуле (1903). В 1913 г. осуществил государственный переворот. Во время Первой мировой войны занимал пост зам. главнокомандующего (главнокомандующим формально являлся султан). После поражения Турции бежал в Германию, позже некоторое время находился на территории Советской России. В 1921 г. принял участие в антисоветском басмаческом мятеже в Средней Азии и был убит в бою с советскими войсками.
[5] Очерки истории российской внешней разведки. Т. 2. М., 2006, с. 242.
[6] Арабаджян З. А. Иран: противостояние империям (1918–1941). М., 1996, с. 129.
[7] Аллахвердов, Михаил Андриасович (Андреевич) (1900–1968) — разведчик. Окончил восточное отделение Военной академии РККА (1925). В РККА с 1918 г. Участник Гражданской войны. В ВЧК с 1919 г. Работал в Средней Азии. С января 1923 г. — в Восточном отделе ОГПУ. Резидент в Персии (1928–1930), Афганистане (1934–1936; 1941–1943), Турции (1936–1938). Выполнял задания в Австрии, Швейцарии, Франции, Югославии. В 1947–1955 гг. — на педагогической работе в Высшей разведывательной школе.
[8] Дегтярев К., Колпакиди А. Внешняя разведка СССР. М., 2009, с. 350.
[9] С 1926 по 1980 г. город Урмия назывался Резайе.
[10] Дубсон, Аркадий Борисович (1895–1938) — разведчик, дипломат, востоковед. Окончил 1-й курс Петроградского психоневрологического института (1915), 2-ю Московскую школу прапорщиков (1917), 1-й курс восточного отделения Военной академии РККА (1921). Участник Первой мировой и Гражданской войн. С 1919 г. — в ВЧК. С 1920 г. — на дипломатической работе (секретарь Персидского отдела НКИД, в 1921–1928 гг. — на консульских должностях в Урмии, Тебризе и Мешхеде). В 1930–1931 гг. — на научно-педагогической работе. В 1931–1933 гг. — представитель СССР в Йеменском Мутаваккилийском королевстве. С 1935 г. — зав. отделом печати АО «Интурист», профессор Московского института востоковедения.
[11] Современная транскрипция Тавриза — Тебриз.
[12] Армянские националисты, объединившиеся в 1890 г. в партию «Дашнакцютюн» («Армянский Революционный Союз»).
[13] Азербайджанские пантюркисты и панисламисты, объединившиеся в 1911 г. в партию «Мусават» («Равенство»).
[14] В 1-м изд. БСЭ (т. I, М., 1926) приводятся названия «Абушер», «Бушир», «Абу-Шихир». Современное название — «Бушир».
[15] О деятельности британских спецслужб в рассматриваемый период см.: Deacon R. A History of the British Secret Service. L., 1969; West N. MI5: The True Story of the Most Secret Counterespionage Organization in the World. N.-Y., 1982; West N. MI6: British Secret Intelligence Service Operations 1909–1945. N.-Y., 1983.
[16] Хакимов, Карим Абдрауфович (1892–1938) — разведчик, консульский, дипломатический и торговый представитель СССР в странах Ближнего и Среднего Востока. Подробнее см.: Густерин П. Памяти Карима Хакимова — дипломата и ученого // Дипломатическая служба. 2008, № 1.
[17] Очерки истории российской внешней разведки. Т. 2, с. 242.
[18] Отрощенко, Андрей Макарович (1902–1993) — разведчик. В ОГПУ с 1924 г. В 1931–1936 и 1937–1939 гг. — на разведработе в Персии/Иране (зам. резидента и резидент в Мешхеде, резидент в Тегеране). В 1939–1941 гг. — нач. контрразведывательного отдела НКВД по Одесской обл. С 1941 г. — на руководящих должностях в органах госбезопасности СССР.
[19] Дегтярев К., Колпакиди А., с. 527; Очерки истории российской внешней разведки. Т. 3. М., 2007, с. 206.
[20] Очерки истории российской внешней разведки. Т. 2, с. 246–247.
[21] Гриднев, Вячеслав Васильевич (1898–1991) — разведчик. Окончил Высшую пограничную школу ОГПУ (1924). В 1917 г. был призван в армию. Участник Гражданской войны. В 1921 г. направлен на работу в Московскую ЧК, позже — в пограничные части ЗакВО. В 1932–1936 и 1943–1949 гг. — задания в Монголии. Участник Великой Отечественной и Советско-японской войн. В 1949 г. — нач. отдела Комитета информации при Совете министров СССР. В 1950–1960 гг. — нач. Высшей разведывательной школы. (Прим. П.Г.).
[22] Антонов В., Карпов В. Тайные информаторы Кремля – 2. С них начиналась разведка. М., 2003, с. 290.
Автор:
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Ольгович
    Ольгович 7 мая 2020 05:52
    +4
    В качестве исторического источника большое значение имеют «Записки чекиста» советского резидента на Ближнем Востоке Г. С. Агабекова [2], опубликованные на русском языке [3] в Берлине в 1930 г. «Записки» в деталях отражают политическую ситуацию на Ближнем и Среднем Востоке в 1923—1930 гг., раскрывают методы работы ИНО, характеризуют непосредственных организаторов и участников советских разведывательных и контрразведывательных мероприятий в названных регионах и описывают проведенные ими операции. Агабеков лично принимал участие в подготовке уничтожения турецкого авантюриста Энвер-паши [4], ставшего одним из предводителей басмачества. Позже Агабеков руководил созданием агентурных сетей ОГПУ в Афганистане, Персии и Турции.


    источник. действительно-уникальный, ибо подобных более просто нет. показывает детали и механизм работы разведки.

    . Правда , на основании этой и другой его книги *" ОГПУ. советский тайный террор", напечатанной на западе. были арестованы и уничтожены сотни советских агентов в Иране и афганистане.

    А на Запале напечатаны -потому, что этот чекист туда бежал. Предатель есть предатель-за что и был уничтожен в 1937...
    1. costo
      costo 7 мая 2020 07:27
      +5
      В августе 1937 года убит спецгруппой ИНО НКВД во Франции. По информации Павла Судоплатова, убийство Агабекова было организовано с помощью турецкого боевика (возможно, месть за Энвера) сотрудником НКВД, впоследствии генералом КГБ и начальником внешней разведки А. М. Коротковым. По версии, изложенной Борисом Бажановым, НКВД спровоцировал Агабекова на участие в перепродаже ценностей, награбленных в Испании, и он был «ликвидирован» спецгруппой НКВД в районе испано-французской границы. Труп Агабекова не был найден (по Бажанову, труп найден через несколько месяцев на испанской территории).
      1. vladcub
        vladcub 7 мая 2020 15:39
        +1
        Дмитрий (рич) вообще-то Баженов как источник информации сомнителен:он с 1928 в эмиграции. Сомневаюсь, чтобы Ежов ему звонил и докладывал: мы сегодня ликвидировали Агабекова. Судоплатов как источник информации надёжнее.
        Баженов мог знать до 1928 г,пока был в Москве, а потом. Бабка на базаре слышала о ему сообщила
  2. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 7 мая 2020 08:12
    +3
    Интересно карты старые рассматривать. Вот смотрите, есть госграницы, а есть границы влияния. влияние России судя по всему довольно велико. Курдистан есть, только не понятно, почему на территории нет ни одного поселения, или это местность такая.. Богдад , Кувейт в турции. сирия так же наверное в турции?
  3. knn54
    knn54 7 мая 2020 08:41
    +1
    Борис Пармузин: "До особого распоряжения"и "Злость чужих ветров". Прототип реальная личность.
    Дедушка одного из коллег( узбек из "параллельного" отдела СКБ) был связником у главного героя.
    Рассказал немало интересного.Особенно про немцев,которые пустили в Иране глубокие корне еще до ПМВ.
  4. Alex013
    Alex013 7 мая 2020 10:39
    +2
    Спасибо автору за статьи. И за эту и про рейды в Афганистане. Очень интересно. В 20-40-е годы наша разведка в Иране плотно сидела, как и германская. Немцы все время Иран подталкивали под себя, но не получилось. Недавно читал про Георга Вартаняна, тоже тема для статьи...
    1. Павел Густерин
      7 мая 2020 12:09
      +1
      Пожалуйста.
    2. ccsr
      ccsr 7 мая 2020 13:15
      +3
      Цитата: Alex013
      В 20-40-е годы наша разведка в Иране плотно сидела, как и германская.

      Помимо НКВД по Ирану работало разведуправление РККА, просто об этом мало где упоминается, хотя военный атташе в посольстве был.
      Вот скан сводки за август 1926 года, который дает представление о том что докладывали тогда:
  5. Хозяин Трилобита
    Хозяин Трилобита 7 мая 2020 13:08
    +1
    Разведка - тема специфическая, но очень интересная и благодарная. Лично мне читать было интересно, но опять по окончании прочтения сложилось впечатление какой-то недосказанности, как-будто меня в чем-то обманули.
    Статья называется "Особенности работы", но об особенностях я ничего в ней, собственно, не нашел. Есть перечисление структурных подразделений разведки в Иране, перечислены задачи, которые перед этими подразделениями стояли, перечислены лица, эти подразделения возглавлявшие и самым кратким образом освещены некоторые итоги работы разведки.
    А, собственно, в чем особенности-то заключались? Может быть были какие-то существенные отличия в специфике работы, например, от резидентуры в Германии, Британии или Японии? Каковы особенности агентурной или вербовочной работы в Персии по сравнению с Европой? Каковы причины успехов (неудач) советской разведки в этот период в этом регионе?
    Или я слишком многого хочу?
    В любом случае, мне кажется, что название для статьи нужно придумывать все-таки после ее написания в соответствии с ее содержанием.
  6. vladcub
    vladcub 7 мая 2020 16:14
    +3
    "принимал участие в подготовке уничтожения турецкого авантюриста Энвер- паши"один из самых заметных лидеров басмачей. Убит либо в бою либо в результате спецоперации ОГПУ
  7. Андрей Жданов-Недилько
    +2
    Работая в тех странах (Иран, Ирак и Туркменистан) в начале 2000-х, все-таки изредка встречался с местными, кое с кем подружился и отношения не утерял и по сей день, кстати. Расспрашивал у стариков из местных о событиях войны и предвоенных лет. Басмачество (до 1939 года) со стороны Ирана поощрялось центральным правительством в Тегеране. У басмачей было немало баз и состав банд был такой смешанный, что обалдеть - курды, туркмены, иранцы, азербайджанцы, иногда и бывшие белые ( из местных ), иногда и англичане. А Великобритания пичкала оружие в этот регион и поддерживала всех и вся, лишь бы против СССР. По рассказам местных, спрятанное старое оружие у некоторых в аулах долежало даже до 1990-х... Лично я это оружие не видел, но слышал от курдов, которым центральное правительство в Тегеране было нелюбимым во все времена. У меня водитель был старый курд и он меня провоцировал на эти разговоры, но я мягко пресек, мол, мы тут у вас гости и помогаем, а ваши дела - это ваши и Аллах акбар всегда, а все прочее - то от иблиса, сатаны и англичан.