S-400: why are Russian air defense systems for Iraq and what hinders the conclusion of a deal


The Iraqi authorities are considering the possibility of acquiring S-400 anti-aircraft missile systems from Russia. This was announced immediately by a number of Russian and foreign media. However, the deal has not yet been concluded.


The desire of the Iraqi leadership to acquire modern air defense systems is associated with the need to improve the country's air defense system. At one time, Iraq was one of the main buyers of Soviet weapons: the late Saddam Hussein took care to equip his army with the most effective weapons and he didn’t skimp on military expenses.

The overthrow of Saddam Hussein as a result of the US-Iraq war for many years turned Iraq into a country controlled by the United States. However, now the Iraqi leadership is increasingly striving to designate the sovereignty of its country. One of the best evidence of this will be the diversification of arms supply channels, as stated by the representative of the Iraqi Parliament’s Committee on Security and Defense Badr al-Ziyadi.

According to the Iraqi politician, the country cannot focus solely on the development of relations with the West, it needs to cooperate with the “eastern camp”, by which Ziyadi, apparently, understands both Russia and China. However, the very need to acquire the S-400 air defense system raises questions. Indeed, now an impressive contingent of American troops is deployed in Iraq.

A few days ago, the whole world spread information: the United States began to transfer Patriot air defense systems to Iraq. The Americans are going to place them at the Ain al-Assad military base in Anbar province. The head of the Central Command of the US Armed Forces, General Kenneth Mackenzie, bluntly stated that the Patriot would be deployed to Iraq with the aim of intercepting Iranian missiles if they could be launched at US military facilities or oil fields in the Persian Gulf. But in Iraq they say that the Americans were not given permission to deploy the air defense systems on their territory. Thus, Baghdad does not really trust the American air defense systems in Baghdad, hence the idea of ​​acquiring the S-400 air defense system.

Russian anti-aircraft missile systems attract Iraqis not only for their technical characteristics. The Iraqi military noted that the S-400 air defense regiment is actually a self-sufficient unit and is capable of independently performing tasks to protect the country's airspace.

Probably, the acquisition of S-400 by its neighbor Turkey served as an example for Iraq. Baghdad, as you know, has far from the best relations with Ankara. It is possible that it is against the Turkish aviation Iraqi leadership and expects to use the S-400. After all, Iraq, like any other country, needs to be prepared to defend its borders. Moreover, Turkish aviation often violates the air borders of Iraq, striking at targets of Kurdish armed forces.

Who today, besides Turkey, threatens the borders of Iraq?



The IG (banned in Russia) and other radical aviation groups, against which the S-400 could be used, do not. Relations with Syria are quite neutral. But if we talk about Turkey, it is here that we need our own air defense systems. After all, the Americans are unlikely to defend Iraqi territories from their NATO ally, and Turkey, as already noted, has repeatedly violated and continues to violate the territorial integrity of Iraq, including by invading its airspace.

By the way, the American side was already worried about the possible purchase of the S-400. US Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Middle East Affairs Joey Hood did not fail to warn the Iraqi leadership about the possible consequences of acquiring anti-aircraft missile systems from Russia. The fact that the United States, as well as Israel, are trying to force Baghdad to abandon the idea of ​​buying the S-400, was also mentioned by Ziyadi, who we quoted above.

But the US position, according to the Iraqi politician, will not become an obstacle for Iraq to develop military-technical cooperation with Russia, China and other countries. Moreover, if, in accordance with the plan of Donald Trump, the American troops nevertheless leave Iraq, then the country will lose even the little benefit that it received from the American military presence. After all, US troops on Iraqi territory served as a kind of guarantee against aggression by neighbors.

However, talking about a real contract for the purchase of S-400 is still premature. Baghdad has too much pro-American lobby, and the Iraqi authorities, unlike Recep Erdogan, do not feel so confident as to go against Washington.

Finally, one should not forget that Iraq, unlike Turkey, is a much less stable country and American troops are on its territory. It is possible that the S-400 air defense missile system will fall into the hands of both Americans - for their own purposes, and terrorists - in this case, the consequences can be very unpredictable. Therefore, it is not a fact that Russia, despite its obvious financial gain, will agree with Iraq if the latter declares its readiness to sign the contract.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Mavrikiy 7 May 2020 10: 25 New
    • 0
    • 1
    -1
    Yes, I want to, but my mother doesn’t order it. The news is not about anything. Everyone wants a S-400. request
    1. Victor_B 7 May 2020 10: 35 New
      • 1
      • 1
      0
      Quote: Mavrikiy
      Everyone wants a S-400.

      Want is not harmful!
      It’s interesting for me - when and from whom will the Americans get full access to the S-400?
      Well, about the degree of castration, we also do not know.
      Erdogan will die and the course will change again friendship with the Americans.
      About the S-300, here the Israelis regularly train in Greece.
      1. Doccor18 7 May 2020 10: 46 New
        • 3
        • 0
        +3
        It looks like export systems
        not quite the same as in service with the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation. Must be
        they are more "truncated" according to their capabilities.
  2. Radikal 7 May 2020 10: 27 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Finally, do not forget that Iraq, unlike Turkey, is a much less stable country and American troops are on its territory
    Strange logic - Turkey, unlike Iraq, is a member of NATO, and on its territory there are also American military bases .... sad
  3. lisiy prapor 7 May 2020 10: 40 New
    • 1
    • 5
    -4
    The conclusion of the transaction is prevented by the accounts of "our ilita", located in US banks, and real estate on the continent of North America.
  4. Sergei 777 7 May 2020 10: 42 New
    • 3
    • 2
    +1
    Wangyu: in about 5 years after delivery to Iraq, part of the complex will be in the United States at the training ground. And the US Air Force will work out counteractions to it. Well, or all the same only in Iraq.
    1. strelokmira 7 May 2020 15: 50 New
      • 3
      • 1
      +2
      Wangyu: 5 years after delivery to Iraq, part of the complex will be in the USA at the training ground

      Why do they need Iraqi in 5 years, if they already have Turkish at the landfills?
  5. knn54 7 May 2020 10: 47 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    At the beginning of the year, Igor Korotchenko, member of the Public Council at the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation. stated:
    "Iraq is a partner of Russia in the field of military-technical cooperation, and the Russian Federation can supply the necessary funds to ensure the sovereignty of the country and reliable protection of airspace, including the supply of S-400 missiles and other components of the air defense system, such as Buk-M3, Tor -M2 "and so on."
    There is political instability in the country. The availability of money is also in doubt.
    But Iran should think, an interesting scheme is looming.
    And why don't the Americans want to sell the Patriot to Iraq?
    1. alone 7 May 2020 12: 03 New
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Quote: knn54
      And why don't the Americans want to sell the Patriot to Iraq?

      You yourself answered your own question ... Political instability is the main reason.
      1. Lopatov 7 May 2020 12: 36 New
        • 2
        • 1
        +1
        Turkey is stable. But the Patriots also do not want to sell them.
        1. alone 7 May 2020 12: 56 New
          • 1
          • 0
          +1
          Quote: Spade
          Turkey is stable. But the Patriots also do not want to sell them.

          Everything is clear with Turkey .. There Erdogan and his policy towards Europe and the USA .. And still the Turks want to establish production of Patrites at home .. And this is not weather-resistant the USA
          1. Lopatov 7 May 2020 13: 11 New
            • 1
            • 0
            +1
            Quote: lonely
            There Erdogan and his policy towards Europe and the USA.

            2012 year.
            It was then that Turkey stated that it urgently needed a Patriot type air defense system
            1. alone 7 May 2020 13: 18 New
              • 2
              • 0
              +2
              Quote: Spade
              2012 year.
              It was then that Turkey stated that it urgently needed a Patriot type air defense system

              That's right .. But before that, Erdogan already quarreled with Israel, Europe .. By the way, to fix this problem in Turkey, the Patriots of Germany and the Netherlands unfolded .. And then the disagreements went on growing and the peak of exacerbation was a failed coup .. The Germans and the Dutch "politely" "asked to leave.
    2. CSKA 8 May 2020 11: 31 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Quote: knn54
      There is political instability in the country. The availability of money is also in doubt.

      They have the money, enough for one maximum two regiments.
      Quote: knn54
      But Iran should think, an interesting scheme is looming.
      And why don't the Americans want to sell the Patriot to Iraq?

      It seems to me that they just don’t want to sell because the Shiites in power have very good relations with Iran.
  6. Roman1970_1 7 May 2020 12: 45 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The fact that the United States, as well as Israel, are trying to force Baghdad to abandon the idea of ​​buying the S-400, was also mentioned by Ziyadi, who we quoted above.

    And why is Israel affttor vtulit here. How can Israel influence Iraq?
    No relationship, no relationship.
  7. Ros 56 7 May 2020 12: 55 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Yes, it’s clear why not to get striped and their company.
  8. Iris 7 May 2020 14: 49 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    The most valuable part of the article in terms of meaning is its last paragraph. Iraq is a country entirely consisting of zones of interests of diverse armed clans, the state integrity of which exists only on the map. Their main and most difficult task is to consolidate society in order to at least begin to restore the economy in a shaky world. They have nothing to pay for modern weapons. And even if you put him on a “lease”, which has become fashionable lately, there are no guarantees that with the next sudden change of power this weapon will not fall into the hands of “figures” that are far from state interests. Of course, the S-400 is not an RPG, you cannot launch it with your right finger, but the very possibility of getting a modern system to third parties can have extremely undesirable consequences.
  9. Tuzik 7 May 2020 15: 29 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    so Iraq seems to be under the occupation of minke whales, they need air defense at all unnecessarily

Военное обозрение

С-400: для чего Ираку российские ЗРК и что мешает заключению сделки

18

Власти Ирака рассматривают возможность приобретения у России зенитных ракетных комплексов С-400. Об этом сообщил сразу целый ряд и российских, и зарубежных СМИ. Впрочем, пока еще сделка не заключена.


Желание иракского руководства обзавестись современными ЗРК связано с потребностью усовершенствования системы противовоздушной обороны страны. В свое время Ирак являлся одним из главных покупателей советского вооружения: покойный Саддам Хусейн заботился о том, чтобы оснастить свою армию самым эффективным оружием и на военные расходы не скупился.

Свержение Саддама Хусейна в результате американо-иракской войны на долгие годы превратило Ирак в страну, подконтрольную США. Однако сейчас иракское руководство все больше стремится к обозначению суверенитета своей страны. Одним из лучших подтверждений тому станет диверсификация каналов поставки оружия, о чем заявил представитель Комитета парламента Ирака по безопасности и обороне Бадр аль-Зияди.

По мнению иракского политика, страна не может ориентироваться исключительно на развитие связей с Западом, ей необходимо сотрудничать и с «восточным лагерем», под которым Зияди, судя по всему, понимает как Россию, так и Китай. Однако сама потребность в приобретении ЗРК С-400 вызывает вопросы. Ведь сейчас на территории Ирака дислоцируется внушительный контингент американских войск.

Несколько дней назад весь мир облетела информация: США начали переброску в Ирак ЗРК Patriot. Американцы собираются разместить их на военной базе Айн-аль-Асад в провинции Анбар. Руководитель Центрального командования ВС США генерал Кеннет Маккензи прямо заявил, что переброска Patriot в Ирак будет осуществлена с целью перехвата иранских ракет в случае их возможного запуска по американским военным объектам или нефтяным месторождениям стран Персидского залива. Но в Ираке заявляют, что разрешение американцам на размещение ЗРК на своей территории не давали. Таким образом, не очень и доверяют в Багдаде американским системам противовоздушной обороны, отсюда и идея приобретения ЗРК С-400.

Российские зенитные ракетные комплексы привлекают иракцев не только своими техническими характеристиками. Иракские военные отмечают, что полк ЗРК С-400 фактически является самодостаточной единицей и способен самостоятельно выполнять задачи по защите воздушного пространства страны.

Вероятно, примером для Ирака послужило и приобретение С-400 его соседом Турцией. С Анкарой, как известно, у Багдада отношения далеко не из лучших. Возможно, что именно против турецкой авиации иракское руководство и рассчитывает использовать С-400. Ведь Ираку, как и любой другой стране, нужно быть готовым к защите своих границ. Мало того, турецкая авиация часто нарушает воздушные границы Ирака, нанося удары по объектам курдских вооружённых формирований.

Кто сегодня, помимо Турции, угрожает границам Ирака?



У ИГ (запрещено в России) и других радикальных группировок авиации, против которой могли бы быть использованы С-400, нет. С Сирией отношения вполне нейтральные. А вот если говорить о Турции, то здесь как раз и нужны свои средства ПВО. Ведь американцы вряд ли будут оборонять иракские территории от своего союзника по НАТО, а Турция, как уже было отмечено, неоднократно нарушала и продолжает нарушать территориальную целостность Ирака, в том числе и вторгаясь в его воздушное пространство.

Кстати, американская сторона уже забеспокоилась по поводу возможной покупки С-400. Заместитель помощника госсекретаря США по делам Ближнего Востока Джоуи Худ не преминул предупредить иракское руководство о возможных последствиях в случае приобретения у России зенитных ракетных комплексов. О том, что США, а также Израиль, пытаются заставить Багдад отказаться от реализации идеи покупки С-400, говорил и цитировавшийся нами выше Зияди.

Но позиция США, если верить словам иракского политика, не станет препятствием для того, чтобы Ирак развивал военно-техническое сотрудничество с Россией, Китаем и другими странами. К тому же, если, сообразно плану Дональда Трампа, американские войска все же покинут Ирак, то страна лишится даже той малой пользы, которую получала от американского военного присутствия. Ведь войска США на иракской территории служили своего рода гарантией от агрессии со стороны соседей.

Впрочем, говорить о реальном контракте на покупку С-400 пока еще преждевременно. В Багдаде слишком сильно проамериканское лобби, а иракские власти, в отличие от того же Реджепа Эрдогана, не чувствуют себя столь уверенными, чтобы идти против Вашингтона.

Наконец, не стоит забывать и о том, что Ирак, в отличие от Турции, страна куда менее стабильная и на ее территории находятся американские войска. Не исключен факт попадания ЗРК С-400 в руки как американцев – для изучения в своих целях, так и террористов – в этом случае последствия могут быть весьма непредсказуемыми. Поэтому не факт, что и Россия, несмотря на очевидную финансовую выгоду, согласится с Ираком, если последний заявит о готовности к подписанию контракта.
Автор:
18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 7 мая 2020 10:25
    -1
    Да хочется, но колется и мама не велит. Новость не о чем. Все хотят С-400. request
    1. Victor_B
      Victor_B 7 мая 2020 10:35
      0
      Цитата: Mavrikiy
      Все хотят С-400.

      Хотеть не вредно!
      Для меня интересно - когда и у кого американцы получат полный доступ к С-400?
      Ну и про степень кастрации мы ведь тоже не ведаем.
      Помрет(ут) Эрдоган и курс сменится снова дружба с американцами.
      Про С-300, вот израильтяне регулярно в Греции тренируются.
      1. Doccor18
        Doccor18 7 мая 2020 10:46
        +3
        Похоже, экспортные системы
        не совсем такие, какие на вооружении ВС РФ. Должно быть
        они более "урезанные" по возможностям.
  2. Radikal
    Radikal 7 мая 2020 10:27
    +3
    Наконец, не стоит забывать и о том, что Ирак, в отличие от Турции, страна куда менее стабильная и на ее территории находятся американские войск
    Странная логика - Турция, в отличии от Ирака является членом НАТО, и на её территории также имеются американские военные базы... . sad
  3. lisiy prapor
    lisiy prapor 7 мая 2020 10:40
    -4
    Заключению сделки мешают счета "нашей илиты", находящиеся в банках США, и недвижимость на континенте Северная Америка.
  4. Сергей 777
    Сергей 777 7 мая 2020 10:42
    +1
    Вангую : через лет 5 после поставки в Ирак часть комплекса будет в США на полигоне. И ВВС США будут отрабатывать противодействия ей. Ну или всё тоже самое только на территории Ирака.
    1. strelokmira
      strelokmira 7 мая 2020 15:50
      +2
      Вангую : через лет 5 после поставки в Ирак часть комплекса будет в США на полигоне

      Зачем им через 5 лет иракский, если уже сейчас есть турецкий на полигонах ?
  5. knn54
    knn54 7 мая 2020 10:47
    +1
    В начале года член общественного совета при Минобороны РФ Игорь Коротченко. заявил:
    "Ирак - партнер России в области военно-технического сотрудничества, и РФ может поставить необходимые средства для обеспечения суверенитета страны и надежной охраны воздушного пространства, включая поставку ракет С-400 и других компонентов комплекса ПВО, таких как "Бук-М3", "Тор-М2" и так далее".
    В стране политическая нестабильность.Наличие денег тоже под сомнением.
    А вот Ирану стоит подумать-интересная схема вырисовывается.
    И почему американцы не хотят продать Ираку "Пэтриот"?
    1. одинокий
      одинокий 7 мая 2020 12:03
      +3
      Цитата: knn54
      И почему американцы не хотят продать Ираку "Пэтриот"?

      Вы сами ответили на свой вопрос...Политическая нестабильность-вот главная причина.
      1. Лопатов
        Лопатов 7 мая 2020 12:36
        +1
        Турция стабильна. Но им "Пэтриоты" тоже не хотят продавать.
        1. одинокий
          одинокий 7 мая 2020 12:56
          +1
          Цитата: Лопатов
          Турция стабильна. Но им "Пэтриоты" тоже не хотят продавать.

          С Турцией все ясно..Там Эрдоган и его политика по отношению к Европе и США..И еще турки хотят наладить производство Пэтритов у себя..А это невогодно США
          1. Лопатов
            Лопатов 7 мая 2020 13:11
            +1
            Цитата: одинокий
            Там Эрдоган и его политика по отношению к Европе и США.

            2012 год.
            Именно тогда Турция заявила, что ей СРОЧНО нужны ЗРК типа "Пэтриота"
            1. одинокий
              одинокий 7 мая 2020 13:18
              +2
              Цитата: Лопатов
              2012 год.
              Именно тогда Турция заявила, что ей СРОЧНО нужны ЗРК типа "Пэтриота"

              Верно..Но до этого Эрдоган уже поссорился с Израилем,Европой..Кстати чтоб как то уладить эту проблему в Турции развернули Пэтриоты Германии и Нидерландов..А потом разногласия пошли по нарастающей и пиком обострения стал неудавшийся переворот..Немцев с голландцами "вежливо" попросили уйти.
    2. CSKA
      CSKA 8 мая 2020 11:31
      +1
      Цитата: knn54
      В стране политическая нестабильность.Наличие денег тоже под сомнением.

      Деньги то у них есть, на один максимум два полка хватит.
      Цитата: knn54
      А вот Ирану стоит подумать-интересная схема вырисовывается.
      И почему американцы не хотят продать Ираку "Пэтриот"?

      Мне кажется, что как раз продавать и не хотят по той причине, что в Ираке у власти шииты, у которых очень хорошие отношения с Ираном.
  6. Роман1970_1
    Роман1970_1 7 мая 2020 12:45
    +2
    О том, что США, а также Израиль, пытаются заставить Багдад отказаться от реализации идеи покупки С-400, говорил и цитировавшийся нами выше Зияди.

    А для чего сюда Израиль афффтор втулил. Каким образом Израиль может влиять на Ирак?
    Отношений нет, связей нет.
  7. Ros 56
    Ros 56 7 мая 2020 12:55
    +1
    Да ясно почему, чтобы не досталось полосатым и их компашке.
  8. Iris
    Iris 7 мая 2020 14:49
    0
    Наиболее ценная в смысловом плане часть статьи - её последний абзац. Ирак - страна, целиком состоящая из зон интересов разнородных вооружённых кланов, государственная целостность которой существует только на карте. Их главная и самая сложная задача - консолидация общества для того, чтобы хотя бы начать восстанавливать экономику в условиях зыбкого мира. Платить за современное оружие им нечем. И если даже поставить его в "лизинг", что стало модным в последнее время, то нет никаких гарантий, что при очередной внезапной смене власти это оружие не попадёт в руки далёких от государственных интересов "деятелей". Конечно, С-400 не РПГ, правым пальцем не запустишь, но сама возможность попадания современной системы к третьим лицам может иметь крайне нежелательные последствия.
  9. Тузик
    Тузик 7 мая 2020 15:29
    0
    так Ирак вроде под оккупацией полосатиков, им пво вообще без надобности