Military Review

How you can knock out an armored car "Wolverine" of the Polish army: vulnerability and protection

29

Poland intends to extend the contract for the supply of KTO Rosomak - the famous Wolverine. In this connection, the question of how and from which these armored vehicles, which are in service with the Polish Army and the armies of several other states, remains relevant.


Wolverine is a wheeled armored vehicle developed by the Finnish company Patria in 2001. In 2003, Poland entered into a contract with a Finnish company for the supply of 997 Wolverines. The modular design allows you to modify the armored vehicle depending on the intended purpose: there are Wolverines - infantry fighting vehicles, engineering and chemical reconnaissance, command and staff vehicles, medical vehicles and so on.

The basic modification of KTO Rosomak, used in the Polish army, is distinguished by the absence of an additional reservation. In its main version, the combat vehicle has ballistic protection of 60 degrees of the turret at level 4, the remaining defense at level 3 according to STANAG 4569 standards used by NATO to assess the security of light armored vehicles.

This means that the armored vehicle is protected from fragments of artillery shells, bullets, anti-personnel landmines. In fact, the level of protection of the basic modification of an armored car is not much different from the level of protection of Striker wheeled armored vehicles used in the US Army.

At the same time, Wolverine remains vulnerable to ammunition, protection against which is provided for by higher levels - 4th, 5th and 6th according to the STANAG 4569 standard. That is, an armored car can be hit by an armor-piercing projectile, an armor-piercing operable sub-caliber shell, high-explosive fragmentation shell. Considering that the characteristics of the KTO Rosomak protection levels generally coincide with the American Stryker combat vehicle, we can turn to the experience of using the latter by the US armed forces in numerous conflicts.


So, during the Iraq war, the Stryker armored vehicles showed themselves far from the best in terms of security. Iraqi soldiers calmly knocked out the "Strikers" from the RPG-7. The armored car could not stand the hit from the grenade launcher, as a result it was the Stryker crews that suffered very serious losses. The exact same scenario took place in Afghanistan: the Stryker crews suffered heavy losses, and armored vehicles were often knocked out from old anti-tank grenade launchers.

Thus, real hostilities have shown - light wheeled armored vehicles need additional protection. Even the Polish public demanded to strengthen the protection of Wolverines, which at one time criticized the armored vehicle as dangerous for Polish soldiers.

Therefore, the "Afghan" version of the Wolverine armored car, modified specifically for the participation of the Polish contingent in the hostilities in Afghanistan, already has additional armor of Israeli production.

Ballistic protection in the "Wolverines" of the "Afghan" version was strengthened to full level 4 throughout the armored car. The front armor was also reinforced, which made it possible to provide protection against RPG-7 grenades. Indeed, there have been cases in Afghanistan when Polish armored vehicles with additional protection withstood RPG-7 grenades.

However, in any case, like the other wheeled armored vehicles, the Wolverine can be used either against irregular formations with weak weapons, or, in the case of military operations against a more serious enemy, with solid support aviation, tank units and artillery. Providing reliable protection against bullets, "Wolverines" in the basic modification (not Afghan) are defenseless against RPGs, and in all modifications against heavier weapons.
Author:
29 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Cruorvult
    Cruorvult 15 May 2020 13: 04 New
    +8
    It would be better if Polonsky did not write this. Not a single caliber, how many holds in a circle, in the frontal projection, what are the sub-caliber shells, and the 57 mm armor-piercing will probably withstand !?
    1. zelon
      zelon 16 May 2020 13: 35 New
      0
      the forehead holds up to 30 mm BOPTS, but nothing else to say about the rest
  2. fn34440
    fn34440 15 May 2020 13: 04 New
    -8
    Why destroy them piece by piece, exposing the lives of motorized rifles to danger, when you can do this in bulk, good for that there are modern means of warfare !?
    1. seregatara1969
      seregatara1969 18 May 2020 22: 04 New
      0
      and why 997 pieces? 3 more pieces will not pull?
  3. Nehist
    Nehist 15 May 2020 13: 36 New
    +6
    Gg read by laughing !!! The author apparently does not know the range of shots for RPG-7 ?! Especially in recent years 15
    1. svp67
      svp67 15 May 2020 13: 43 New
      +1
      Quote: Nehist
      The author apparently does not know the range of shots for RPG-7 ?! Especially in recent years 15

      I'm wondering, but what about the Russian army only RPG-7 from the means of countering such an armored personnel carrier is there? The nomenclature is much larger and even the armor protection of this "pepelatsa", increased to the 4th level, is not an obstacle
    2. The comment was deleted.
      1. The comment was deleted.
      2. The comment was deleted.
    3. volodimer
      volodimer 16 May 2020 14: 05 New
      +1
      Alexander, the point here is not what we created over the past 15 years, but the fact that the Poles, having bought Wolverine, thought that this was not a Soviet BTR-70 or 80, but a super-duper means in which now you can not be afraid of anything . Well, something has been corrected thanks to the Israelis, you can fasten the grating screens, but is there now wheeled armored vehicles that can withstand everything that has been created.
      Sergey rightly remarks that RPG-7 is not one ...
  4. Machete
    Machete 15 May 2020 14: 36 New
    +4
    On the RPG-7 light wedge, or something converged?
    No other grenade launchers?
    In battle, armored personnel carriers can also meet with a tank. And with aviation. And with the barrel artillery, finally.
    The name is strange.
    What to knock out? What will be at hand will be beaten.
    1. neri73-r
      neri73-r 15 May 2020 15: 30 New
      +1
      It’s not possible to knock it out, set it on fire! Molotov cocktails have not forgotten how to do it yet! wassat
    2. Lopatov
      Lopatov 15 May 2020 18: 15 New
      +2
      Quote: Machete
      In battle, armored personnel carriers can also meet with a tank. And with aviation. And with the barrel artillery, finally.

      And the APC is very biting. And the tank may suffer.
    3. volodimer
      volodimer 16 May 2020 14: 10 New
      0
      Judging by the concerns of the Poles, their main concern is to help mattresses, and there the main danger is landmines and RPG-7. Where there will be aviation and artillery, you will not see these misters closely.
  5. Karaul73
    Karaul73 15 May 2020 14: 55 New
    +1
    Quote: fn34440
    Why destroy them piece by piece, exposing the lives of motorized rifles to danger, when you can do this in bulk, good for that there are modern means of warfare !?

    Enough of boasting a nuclear bomb! Russia will never apply it. First one. And armed conflicts of low and medium intensity will always go on.
    1. IS-80_RVGK2
      IS-80_RVGK2 15 May 2020 16: 17 New
      +3
      Why is it so certain? If there is no way, it will even apply. Or do you think that if all of a sudden, we will only fight non-nuclear weapons with NATO?
  6. DDT
    DDT 15 May 2020 16: 52 New
    -2
    How can you knock out an armored car "Wolverine" of the Polish army ...
    I would crawl, and commander a stone on the head ... Well, or a bottle of vodka in the hatch, but for now they are moving away from the vapors wassat I would drink all their stocks of Zubrovka and puke them all with the motor-transmission compartment. In the meantime, they pump me out, the comrade would take out the entire materiel from their armored personnel carrier. fool
    1. awdrgy
      awdrgy 15 May 2020 17: 49 New
      +1
      It used to be (there were times))) - now it's stupidly lazy))
      1. DDT
        DDT 16 May 2020 11: 30 New
        +1
        Yes, and with humor on the site, it somehow became sad ... wassat
        1. awdrgy
          awdrgy 16 May 2020 13: 05 New
          +1
          Aging and young is not necessary, they are different
  7. Radikal
    Radikal 15 May 2020 18: 08 New
    +1
    How you can knock out an armored car "Wolverine" of the Polish army: vulnerability and protection
    A strange question - all that is in service. If we are talking about our army, then the nomenclature of anti-tank weapons is now in the public domain. Even the old RPG-7V and other derivatives can handle it. Why the article? winked
  8. tagil
    tagil 15 May 2020 18: 40 New
    +1
    Considering that the characteristics of the KTO Rosomak protection levels generally coincide with the American Stryker combat vehicle, we can turn to the experience of using the latter by the US armed forces in numerous conflicts.
    If Wolverine is identical in armor to Stryker, then this pepelats will riddle the KPVT. And the article simply does not stand up to any criticism.
  9. iouris
    iouris 15 May 2020 23: 48 New
    0
    The title and theme are somehow provocative. Apparently, someone should refer to the publication.
  10. Konatantin 1992
    Konatantin 1992 16 May 2020 16: 09 New
    0
    What is the meaning of the article? Then write an article about the vulnerabilities of BMP 2, BMP 3, BTR 82, 82A and so on. Of these, all BMPs 3 hold themselves in the forehead (2A72) only who will shoot at it is not clear. And so the article is about nothing ... Sorry
  11. 75 Sergey
    75 Sergey 17 May 2020 12: 53 New
    0
    In general, modularity is good during the war in the countries of the 4th and further world, because they have to carry the modules with them, they need to be stored, and how often it is necessary to urgently make a reconnaissance from the headquarters vehicle, the only thing is to install a ready-made platform at the factory, and even that. the design will initially be heavier in weight than it could be.
  12. Egor-dis
    Egor-dis 17 May 2020 12: 59 New
    +1
    "Bassoon" her.

Военное обозрение

Чем можно подбить бронемашину «Росомаха» армии Польши: уязвимость и защита

29

Польша собирается продлить контракт на поставки KTO Rosomak – знаменитой «Росомахи». В этой связи остается актуальным вопрос о том, как и из чего можно подбивать эти бронированные машины, находящиеся на вооружении Войска Польского и армий ряда других государств.


«Росомаха» представляет собой колесную бронированную машину, разработанную финской компанией «Патрия» в 2001 году. В 2003 году Польша заключила с финской компанией контракт на поставку 997 «Росомах». Модульная конструкция позволяет модифицировать бронемашину в зависимости от предполагаемого предназначения: есть «Росомахи» - боевые машины пехоты, инженерной и химической разведки, командно-штабные машины, медицинские машины и так далее.

Базовая модификация KTO Rosomak, используемая в польской армии, отличается отсутствием дополнительного бронирования. В своей основной версии боевая машина имеет баллистическую защиту 60 градусов башни на уровне 4, остальную защиту на уровне 3 по стандартам STANAG 4569, применяемым в НАТО для оценки защищенности легких бронированных машин.

Это означает, что бронемашина защищена от осколков артиллерийских снарядов, пуль, противопехотных наземных мин. Фактически уровень защиты базовой модификации бронемашины мало чем отличается от уровня защиты колесных бронемашин Striker, используемых в американской армии.

В то же время, «Росомаха» остается уязвимой для боеприпасов, защита от которых предусмотрена более высокими уровнями – 4-м, 5-м и 6-м по стандарту STANAG 4569. То есть, бронемашину можно подбить бронебойным подкалиберным снарядом, бронебойным оперенным подкалиберным снарядом, осколочно-фугасным снарядом. Учитывая, что характеристики уровней защиты KTO Rosomak в целом совпадают с американской боевой машиной Stryker, можно обратиться к опыту использования последних вооруженными силами США в многочисленных конфликтах.


Так, во время войны в Ираке бронемашины Stryker показали себя далеко не с лучшей стороны в плане защищенности. Иракские солдаты спокойно подбивали «Страйкеры» из РПГ-7. Попадание из гранатомёта бронемашина выдержать не могла, в итоге именно экипажи «Страйкеров» несли очень серьезные потери. В Афганистане имел место точно такой же сценарий: экипажи «Страйкеров» несли тяжелые потери, а бронемашины часто подбивали из старых противотанковых гранатометов.

Таким образом, реальные боевые действия показали – лёгкие колесные бронемашины нуждаются в дополнительной защите. Усилить защиту «Росомах» потребовала даже польская общественность, раскритиковавшая в свое время бронемашину как опасную для польских солдат.

Поэтому «афганская» версия бронемашины «Росомаха», модифицированная специально для участия польского контингента в боевых действиях в Афганистане, уже обладает дополнительным бронированием израильского производства.

Баллистическая защита в «Росомахах» «афганской» версии была усилена до полного уровня 4 на всей бронемашине. Также была усилена передняя броня, что позволило обеспечить защиту от гранат РПГ-7. И действительно, в Афганистане имели место случаи, когда польские бронемашины с дополнительной защитой выдерживали попадания гранат РПГ-7.

Однако в любом случае, как и остальные колесные бронемашины, «Росомаха» может использоваться либо против нерегулярных формирований со слабым вооружением, либо, если речь идет о боевых действиях против более серьезного противника, при солидной поддержке авиации, танковых частей и артиллерии. Обеспечивая надежную защиту от пуль, «Росомахи» в базовой модификации (не «афганской») беззащитны против РПГ, а во всех модификациях – против более тяжелого вооружения.
Автор:
29 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. CruorVult
    CruorVult 15 мая 2020 13:04
    +8
    Лучше бы Полонский не писал такое. Ни одного калибра, сколько держит в круг, в лобовой проекции, какие подкалиберные снаряды, а 57 мм бронебойный наверное выдержит!?
    1. zelon
      zelon 16 мая 2020 13:35
      0
      лоб держит до 30-мм БОПТС, а про остальное и говорить не чего
  2. fn34440
    fn34440 15 мая 2020 13:04
    -8
    Зачем их уничтожать штучно,подвергая жизнь мотострелков опасности,когда можно это сделать оптом,благо для этого есть современные средства ведения боя!?
    1. seregatara1969
      seregatara1969 18 мая 2020 22:04
      0
      а почему 997 штук?ещё 3 штуки не потянут?
  3. Nehist
    Nehist 15 мая 2020 13:36
    +6
    Гг почитал по смеялся!!! Автор видемо не в курсе номенклатуры выстрелов к РПГ-7?! Особенно за последние лет 15
    1. svp67
      svp67 15 мая 2020 13:43
      +1
      Цитата: Nehist
      Автор видемо не в курсе номенклатуры выстрелов к РПГ-7?! Особенно за последние лет 15

      Мне вот интересно, а что а российской армии только РПГ-7 из средств противодействия такому бронетранспортеру имеется? Номенклатура намного больше и им даже повышенная до 4-го уровня бронезащита этого "пепелаца" не преграда
    2. Комментарий был удален.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
      2. Комментарий был удален.
    3. volodimer
      volodimer 16 мая 2020 14:05
      +1
      Александр, тут же дело не в том, что мы создали за последние 15 лет, а в том, что поляки купив Россомаху думали, что это не советский БТР-70 или 80, а супер-пупер средство, в котором теперь можно ничего не бояться. Ну поправили кое-что благодаря израильтянам, можно решеток-экранов нацеплять, но есть ли сейчас колёсная бронетехника, которая выдержит всё, что созданно.
      Сергей вон справедливо замечает, что не РПГ-7 единым...
  4. Machete
    Machete 15 мая 2020 14:36
    +4
    На РПГ-7 свет клином, что ли сошелся?
    Других гранатомётов нет?
    В бою БТРы могут и с танком встретиться. И с авиацией. И со ствольной артиллерией, наконец.
    Название странное.
    Чем подбить? Что будет под рукой, тем и прибьют.
    1. neri73-r
      neri73-r 15 мая 2020 15:30
      +1
      Не получится подбить, подожжём! Коктели Молотова ещё не разучились делать! wassat
    2. Лопатов
      Лопатов 15 мая 2020 18:15
      +2
      Цитата: Machete
      В бою БТРы могут и с танком встретиться. И с авиацией. И со ствольной артиллерией, наконец.

      А БТР весьма кусачий. И танк пострадать может.
    3. volodimer
      volodimer 16 мая 2020 14:10
      0
      Судя по озабоченности поляков, их главная забота матрасам помогать, а там главная опасность это фугасы и РПГ-7. Там где будут авиация и артиллерия, вы этих панов и близко не увидите.
  5. Караул73
    Караул73 15 мая 2020 14:55
    +1
    Цитата: fn34440
    Зачем их уничтожать штучно,подвергая жизнь мотострелков опасности,когда можно это сделать оптом,благо для этого есть современные средства ведения боя!?

    Да хватит уже кичиться ядерной бомбой! Никогда Россия ее не применит. Первой. А вооруженные конфликты малой и средней интенсивности будут идти всегда.
    1. IS-80_RVGK2
      IS-80_RVGK2 15 мая 2020 16:17
      +3
      С чего это такая уверенность? Если выхода не будет очень даже применит. Или вы считаете что если вдруг, мы будем с НАТО только неядерным оружием воевать?
  6. DDT
    DDT 15 мая 2020 16:52
    -2
    Чем можно подбить бронемашину «Росомаха» армии Польши...
    Я бы подполз, и камнем по башке командиру... Ну или бутылкой водки в люк, а пока они от паров отходЮт wassat выпил бы все их запасы Зубровки и заблевал бы им всё моторно.трансмиссионое отделение. А пока они меня откачивают, тоарище бы вынесли всю матчасть из их БТР. fool
    1. awdrgy
      awdrgy 15 мая 2020 17:49
      +1
      Это раньше (были времена)))-теперь тупо лень))
      1. DDT
        DDT 16 мая 2020 11:30
        +1
        Да и с юмором на сайте, как то уныло стало... wassat
        1. awdrgy
          awdrgy 16 мая 2020 13:05
          +1
          Стареем а молодым это все не надо-они другие
  7. Radikal
    Radikal 15 мая 2020 18:08
    +1
    Чем можно подбить бронемашину «Росомаха» армии Польши: уязвимость и защита
    Странный вопрос - всем тем, что есть на вооружении. Если речь о нашей армии, то номенклатура противотанковых средств теперь в открытом доступе. Даже старичок РПГ-7В, и другие производные справятся. К чему статья? winked
  8. тагил
    тагил 15 мая 2020 18:40
    +1
    Учитывая, что характеристики уровней защиты KTO Rosomak в целом совпадают с американской боевой машиной Stryker, можно обратиться к опыту использования последних вооруженными силами США в многочисленных конфликтах.
    Если Росомаха идентична по бронезащите Страйкеру, то этот пепелац изрешетит КПВТ. А статья просто не выдерживает никакой критике.
  9. iouris
    iouris 15 мая 2020 23:48
    0
    Название и тема какая-то провокационная. Видимо, на публикацию кто-то должен сослаться.
  10. Konatantin 1992
    Konatantin 1992 16 мая 2020 16:09
    0
    Смысл статьи в чём? Тогда напишите статью про уязвимые места БМП 2, БМП 3, БТР 82, 82А и тд. Из них всех БМП 3 себя же в лоб держит (2А72) только кто в неё будет стрелять не понятно. А так статья ни о чём... Уж извините
  11. 75Сергей
    75Сергей 17 мая 2020 12:53
    0
    А вообще, модульность хороша при войне в странах 4-ого и далее мира, т.к. с собой модули таскать, их хранить надо, да и как часто надо из штабной машины срочно сделать разведчика, единственное, это на заводе устанавливать готовую платформу, да и то. конструкция изначально будет тяжелее по весу, чем могла бы быть.
  12. Egor-dis
    Egor-dis 17 мая 2020 12:59
    +1
    "Фаготом" ее.